DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 10/28/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1, 3, 6-13, 21-27 are currently pending. Claims 1, 6, and 13 are amended.
Claims 2, 4, 14, and 16-20 were previously cancelled. Claims 5 and 15 are cancelled.
Claims 25-27 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument states that a heater was not disclosed or suggested. However, a heater was addressed in claim 15 of the prior office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0014873 (henceforth referred to as Higuchi) in view of Nishide et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0091640 (henceforth referred to as Nishide), Masaki KR20110102149 (henceforth referred to as Masaki), and Honda KR20080108040 (henceforth referred to as Honda).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Higuchi teaches an apparatus for treating a substrate, the apparatus comprising:
a cup providing a treatment space therein (FIG. 1 paragraph [0074] cup 33);
a support unit configured to support the substrate and configured to rotate the substrate in the treatment space (FIG. 1 paragraph [0074] substrate holder 32);
a nozzle configured to supply a treatment liquid to the substrate (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] nozzle 34); and
a liquid supply unit configured to supply the treatment liquid to the nozzle (FIG. 19 paragraph [0075] liquid supply unit 2),
wherein the liquid supply unit includes a tank configured to store the treatment liquid (FIG. 19 paragraph [0070] processing liquid tanks 21), and
the tank includes:
a housing having a space configured to store the treatment liquid therein (paragraph [0070] tank 21 holds liquid);
a circulation line coupled to the housing and configured to circulate the treatment liquid in the housing (FIG. 19 paragraph [0071] pipe P13 for liquid circulation); and
a first gas supply line directly connected to the circulation line downstream of the heater unit and configured to supply first gas into the circulation line (FIG. 19 paragraph [0125] supplier S41 is connected to the circulation path to supply gas).
Higuchi differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a heater unit installed in the circulation line and configured to heat the treatment liquid; the circulation line is configured to eject the first gas and the heated treatment liquid from a common outlet in the circulation line into the tank at a level below an upper surface of the treatment liquid, wherein a heater for heating gas is installed in the gas supply line, and the apparatus is configured to have the first gas supplied to the circulation line in a heated state.
Nishide teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0083] substrate processing device 1). Nishide teaches a heater unit installed in the circulation line and configured to heat the treatment liquid (FIG. 1 paragraph [0093] temperature adjusting unit 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Higuchi with a heater unit as taught by Nishide. It is known in the art to use a heater unit to adjust the temperature of a treatment liquid in order to reach a desired temperature (paragraph [0093]).
The heater unit taught by Nishide and the gas supply line taught by Higuchi can be combined to have a gas supply line downstream from the heater in order for the gas to be supplied to a heated liquid solution.
Masaki teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (paragraph [0028] substrate processing device 1). Masaki teaches the circulation line is configured to eject the first gas and the heated treatment liquid from a common outlet (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] introduction tube 36, which reads on the common outlet) in the circulation line into the tank at a level below an upper surface of the treatment liquid (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] the gas-liquid mixture is introduced into the chemical liquid from the lower part of the stored chemical liquid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Higuchi with a common outlet in the circulation line to be at a level below an upper surface of the treatment liquid as taught by Masaki. It is known in the art to introduce the gas-liquid mixture below a surface of a liquid level as it will suppress the liquid level from shaking, which improves the accuracy of liquid level reading (paragraph [0034]).
Honda teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (page 1 of translation line 15). Honda teaches a heater (page 6 of translation line 338: ribbon heater 282) is installed in the gas supply line (page 6 of translation line 338: ribbon heater is wrapped around gas supply line).
The combination of Masaki and Honda would result in the first gas supplied to the circulation line in a heated state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Higuchi with a heater as taught by Honda to heat the gas supply line. It is known in the art to add a heater to lines/pipes to adjust or maintain the temperature being flowed through the lines/pipes.
As to claim 13, (Currently Amended) Higuchi teaches an apparatus for treating a substrate, the apparatus comprising:
a cup providing a treatment space therein (FIG. 1 paragraph [0074] cup 33);
a support unit configured to support the substrate and to rotate the substrate in the treatment space (FIG. 1 paragraph [0074] substrate holder 32);
a nozzle configured to supply a treatment liquid to the substrate (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] nozzle 34); and
a liquid supply unit (FIG. 19 paragraph [0075] liquid supply unit 2) configured to supply the treatment liquid of which a concentration and a temperature are configured to be controlled to the nozzle (examiner regards the operation of the substrate treating apparatus as intended use of the apparatus’ structure. The liquid supply unit would be capable of containing a specific concentration and temperature),
wherein the liquid supply unit includes a tank for storing configured to store the treatment liquid (FIG. 19 paragraph [0070] processing liquid tanks 21),
wherein the treatment liquid includes a chemical liquid and water (examiner regards the operation of the substrate treating apparatus as intended use of the apparatus’ structure. The treatment liquid can include a chemical liquid and water), and
the liquid supply unit includes:
a housing having a space configured to store the treatment liquid therein (paragraph [0070] tank 21 holds liquid);
a circulation line coupled to the housing and configured to circulate the treatment liquid in the housing (FIG. 19 paragraph [0071] pipe P13 for liquid circulation).
Higuchi differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a heater unit installed in the circulation line and configured to heat the treatment liquid; a common outlet located lower than a liquid level of the treatment liquid in the housing; the circulation line is configured to eject the gas and the heated treatment liquid from a common outlet in the circulation line into the tank at a level below an upper surface of the treatment liquid, wherein a heater for heating the gas is installed in the gas supply line, and the apparatus is configured to have the first gas supplied to the circulation line in a heated state.
Nishide teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0083] substrate processing device 1). Nishide teaches a heater unit installed in the circulation line and configured to heat the treatment liquid (FIG. 1 paragraph [0093] temperature adjusting unit 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Higuchi with a heater unit as taught by Nishide. It is known in the art to use a heater unit to adjust the temperature of a treatment liquid in order to reach a desired temperature (paragraph [0093]).
The heater unit taught by Nishide and the gas supply line taught by Higuchi can be combined to have a gas supply line downstream from the heater in order for the gas to be supplied to a heated liquid solution.
Masaki teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (paragraph [0028] substrate processing device 1). Masaki teaches a common outlet (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] introduction tube 36, which reads on the common outlet) located lower than a liquid level of the treatment liquid in the housing (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] the gas-liquid mixture is introduced into the chemical liquid from the lower part of the stored chemical liquid); the circulation line is configured to eject the first gas and the heated treatment liquid from a common outlet (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] introduction tube 36, which reads on the common outlet) in the circulation line into the tank at a level below an upper surface of the treatment liquid (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] the gas-liquid mixture is introduced into the chemical liquid from the lower part of the stored chemical liquid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Higuchi with a common outlet in the circulation line to be at a level below an upper surface of the treatment liquid as taught by Masaki. It is known in the art to introduce the gas-liquid mixture below a surface of a liquid level as it will suppress the liquid level from shaking, which improves the accuracy of liquid level reading (paragraph [0034]).
Honda teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (page 1 of translation line 15). Honda teaches a heater (page 6 of translation line 338: ribbon heater 282) is installed in the gas supply line (page 6 of translation line 338: ribbon heater is wrapped around gas supply line).
The combination of Masaki and Honda would result in the first gas supplied to the circulation line in a heated state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Higuchi with a heater as taught by Honda to heat the gas supply line. It is known in the art to add a heater to lines/pipes to adjust or maintain the temperature being flowed through the lines/pipes.
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0161147 in view of Nishide et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0091640 (henceforth referred to as Nishide), Masaki KR20110102149 (henceforth referred to as Masaki), and Honda KR20080108040 (henceforth referred to as Honda).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Yoshida teaches an apparatus for treating a substrate, the apparatus comprising:
a cup providing a treatment space therein (FIG. 2 paragraph [0038] processing chamber 500); and
a liquid supply unit configured to supply the treatment liquid (FIG. 2 paragraph [0041] main pipe 2 extends from the tank 140 to the processing chamber 500 to supply the treatment liquid to the processing chamber 500),
wherein the liquid supply unit includes a tank configured to store the treatment liquid (FIG. 2 paragraph [0038] tank 140), and
the tank includes:
a housing having a space configured to store the treatment liquid therein (FIG. 2 paragraph [0041] tank 140 holds a liquid);
a circulation line coupled to the housing and configured to circulate the treatment liquid in the housing (FIG. 2 paragraphs [0031] and [0038] a liquid is circulated via pipes 2 and 3).
Yoshida differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a support unit configured to support the substrate and rotating configured to rotate the substrate in the treatment space; a nozzle for supplying configured to supply a treatment liquid to the substrate; a heater unit installed in the circulation line and configured to heat the treatment liquid; a first gas supply line directly connected to the circulation line downstream of the heater unit and configured to supply first gas into the circulation line, wherein the circulation line is configured to eject the first gas and the heated treatment liquid from a common outlet in the circulation line into the tank at a level below an upper surface of the treatment liquid; and a heater for heating gas is installed in the gas supply line, and the apparatus is configured to have the first gas supplied to the circulation line in a heated state.
Nishide teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0083] substrate processing device 1). Nishide teaches a support unit configured to support the substrate and rotating configured to rotate the substrate in the treatment space (FIG. 1 paragraph [0087] spin chuck 6); a nozzle for supplying configured to supply a treatment liquid to the substrate(FIG. 1 paragraph [0087] liquid nozzle 9); and a heater unit installed in the circulation line and configured to heat the treatment liquid (FIG. 1 paragraph [0093] temperature adjusting unit 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Yoshida with a support unit, nozzle, and heater unit as taught by Nishide. It is known in the art for processing spaces to include a support unit to hold a wafer and a nozzle to supply a treatment liquid to a wafer. Additionally, it is known in the art to use a heater unit to adjust the temperature of a treatment liquid in order to reach a desired temperature (paragraph [0093]).
The heater unit taught by Nishide and the gas supply line taught by Yoshida can be combined to have a gas supply line downstream from the heater in order for the gas to be supplied to a heated liquid solution.
Masaki teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (paragraph [0028] substrate processing device 1). Masaki teaches a first gas supply line (FIG. 1 paragraph [0036] first gas supply line 41) directly connected to the circulation line to supply first gas into the circulation line (FIG. 1 [0028] gas source 40 supplies gas to circulation line 30 via mixture unit 31), wherein the circulation line is configured to eject the first gas and the heated treatment liquid from a common outlet (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] introduction tube 36, which reads on the common outlet) in the circulation line into the tank at a level below an upper surface of the treatment liquid (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] the gas-liquid mixture is introduced into the chemical liquid from the lower part of the stored chemical liquid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Yoshida with a gas supply line as taught by Masaki in order to create a gas-liquid mixture (Masaki paragraph [0033]). It is known in the art to introduce gas to a system and having the gas supply line connected to the circulation is one of the ways to introduce gas into a system. It is known in the art to introduce gas to a system and having the gas supply line connected to the circulation is one of the ways to introduce gas into a system. Additionally, introducing the gas-liquid mixture below a surface of a liquid level will suppress the liquid level from shaking, which improves the accuracy of liquid level reading (paragraph [0034]).
Honda teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (page 1 of translation line 15). Honda teaches a heater (page 6 of translation line 338: ribbon heater 282) is installed in the gas supply line (page 6 of translation line 338: ribbon heater is wrapped around gas supply line).
The combination of Masaki and Honda would result in the first gas supplied to the circulation line in a heated state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Higuchi with a heater as taught by Honda to heat the gas supply line. It is known in the art to add a heater to lines/pipes to adjust or maintain the temperature being flowed through the lines/pipes.
As to claim 13, (Currently Amended) Yoshida teaches an apparatus for treating a substrate, the apparatus comprising:
a cup providing a treatment space therein (FIG. 2 paragraph [0038] processing chamber 500); and
a liquid supply unit (FIG. 2 paragraph [0041] main pipe 2 extends from the tank 140 to the processing chamber 500 to supply the treatment liquid to the processing chamber 500) configured to supply the treatment liquid of which a concentration and a temperature are configured to be controlled to the nozzle (examiner regards the operation of the substrate treating apparatus as intended use of the apparatus’ structure. The liquid supply unit would be capable of containing a specific concentration and temperature),
wherein the liquid supply unit includes a tank for storing configured to store the treatment liquid (FIG. 19 paragraph [0070] processing liquid tanks 21),
wherein the treatment liquid includes a chemical liquid and water (examiner regards the operation of the substrate treating apparatus as intended use of the apparatus’ structure. The treatment liquid can include a chemical liquid and water), and
the liquid supply unit includes:
a housing having a space configured to store the treatment liquid therein (FIG. 2 paragraph [0041] tank 140 holds a liquid);
a circulation line coupled to the housing and configured to circulate the treatment liquid in the housing (FIG. 2 paragraphs [0031] and [0038] a liquid is circulated via pipes 2 and 3).
Yoshida differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a support unit configured to support the substrate and rotating configured to rotate the substrate in the treatment space; a nozzle for supplying configured to supply a treatment liquid to the substrate; a heater unit installed in the circulation line and configured to heat the treatment liquid; and a first gas supply line directly connected to the circulation line downstream of the heater unit and configured to supply first gas into the circulation line, wherein the circulation line is configured to eject the first gas and the heated treatment liquid from a common outlet in the circulation line into the tank at a level below an upper surface of the treatment liquid, wherein a heater for heating the gas is installed in the gas supply line, and the apparatus is configured to have the first gas supplied to the circulation line in a heated state.
Nishide teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0083] substrate processing device 1). Nishide teaches a support unit configured to support the substrate and rotating configured to rotate the substrate in the treatment space (FIG.1 paragraph [0087] spin chuck 6); a nozzle for supplying configured to supply a treatment liquid to the substrate (FIG. 1 paragraph [0087] liquid nozzle 9); and a heater unit installed in the circulation line and configured to heat the treatment liquid (FIG. 1 paragraph [0093] temperature adjusting unit 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Yoshida with a support unit, nozzle, and heater unit as taught by Nishide. It is known in the art for processing spaces to include a support unit to hold a wafer and a nozzle to supply a treatment liquid to a wafer. Additionally, it is known in the art to use a heater unit to adjust the temperature of a treatment liquid in order to reach a desired temperature (paragraph [0093]).
Masaki teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (paragraph [0028] substrate processing device 1). Masaki further teaches the circulation line has a common outlet (FIG. 1 paragraph [0057] introduction pipe 36) located lower than a liquid level of the treatment liquid in the housing (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] introduction pipe 36 is below liquid level in storage container 20); and a gas supply line (FIG. 1 paragraph [0036] first gas supply line 41) directly connected to the circulation line and configured to supply gas into the circulation line (FIG. 1 [0028] gas source 40 supplies gas to circulation line 30 via mixture unit 31), wherein the circulation line is configured to eject the gas and the heated treatment liquid from a common outlet (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] introduction tube 36, which reads on the common outlet) in the circulation line into the housing at a level below an upper surface of the treatment liquid (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] the gas-liquid mixture is introduced into the chemical liquid from the lower part of the stored chemical liquid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Yoshida with a circulation line with an outlet located lower than a liquid level of the treatment liquid in the housing and a gas supply line as taught by Masaki. The gas supply line is used to create a gas-liquid mixture (Masaki paragraph [0033]) which can aid in the circulation of the treatment liquid in the housing (Masaki paragraph [0034]). It is known in the art to introduce gas to a system and having the gas supply line connected to the circulation is one of the ways to introduce gas into a system. Additionally, introducing the gas-liquid mixture below a surface of a liquid level will suppress the liquid level from shaking, which improves the accuracy of liquid level reading (paragraph [0034]).
The heater unit taught by Nishide and the gas supply line taught by Masaki can be combined to have a gas supply line downstream from the heater in order for the gas to be supplied to a heated liquid solution.
Honda teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (page 1 of translation line 15). Honda teaches a heater (page 6 of translation line 338: ribbon heater 282) is installed in the gas supply line (page 6 of translation line 338: ribbon heater is wrapped around gas supply line).
The combination of Masaki and Honda would result in the first gas supplied to the circulation line in a heated state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Higuchi with a heater as taught by Honda to heat the gas supply line. It is known in the art to add a heater to lines/pipes to adjust or maintain the temperature being flowed through the lines/pipes.
Claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10-12, 21-22, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishide et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0091640 (henceforth referred to as Nishide) in view of Masaki KR20110102149 (henceforth referred to as Masaki) and Honda KR20080108040 (henceforth referred to as Honda).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Nishide teaches an apparatus for treating a substrate, the apparatus comprising:
a cup providing a treatment space therein (FIG. 1 paragraph [0087] processing cup 8);
a support unit configured to support the substrate and configured to rotate the substrate in the treatment space (FIG. 1 paragraph [0087] spin chuck 6);
a nozzle configured to supply a treatment liquid to the substrate (FIG. 1 paragraph [0087] liquid nozzle 9); and
a liquid supply unit configured to supply the treatment liquid to the nozzle (FIG. 2 paragraph [0093] liquid preparation unit 3),
wherein the liquid supply unit includes a tank configured to store the treatment liquid (FIG. 1 paragraph [0093] tank 16), and
the tank includes:
a housing having a space configured to store the treatment liquid therein (FIG. 1 tank 16 holds a liquid);
a circulation line coupled to the housing and configured to circulate the treatment liquid in the housing (FIG. 1 paragraph [0093] circulation piping 19).
a heater unit installed in the circulation line and configured to heat the treatment liquid (FIG. 1 paragraph [0093] temperature adjusting unit 20).
Nishide differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a first gas supply line directly connected to the circulation line downstream of the heater unit and configured to supply first gas into the circulation line, wherein the circulation line is configured to eject the first gas and the heated treatment liquid from a common outlet in the circulation line into the tank at a level below an upper surface of the treatment liquid, wherein a heater for heating gas is installed in the gas supply line, and the apparatus is configured to have the first gas supplied to the circulation line in a heated state.
Masaki teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (paragraph [0028] substrate processing device 1). Masaki teaches a first gas supply line (FIG. 1 paragraph [0036] first gas supply line 41) directly connected to the circulation line to supply first gas into the circulation line (FIG. 1 [0028] gas source 40 supplies gas to circulation line 30 via mixture unit 31), wherein the circulation line is configured to eject the first gas and the heated treatment liquid from a common outlet (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] introduction tube 36, which reads on the common outlet) in the circulation line into the tank at a level below an upper surface of the treatment liquid (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] the gas-liquid mixture is introduced into the chemical liquid from the lower part of the stored chemical liquid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Nishide with a gas supply line as taught by Masaki in order to create a gas-liquid mixture (Masaki paragraph [0033]). It is known in the art to introduce gas to a system and having the gas supply line connected to the circulation is one of the ways to introduce gas into a system. It is known in the art to introduce gas to a system and having the gas supply line connected to the circulation is one of the ways to introduce gas into a system. Additionally, introducing the gas-liquid mixture below a surface of a liquid level will suppress the liquid level from shaking, which improves the accuracy of liquid level reading (paragraph [0034]).
The heater unit taught by Nishide and the gas supply line taught by Masaki can be combined to have a gas supply line downstream from the heater in order for the gas to be supplied to a heated liquid solution.
Honda teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (page 1 of translation line 15). Honda teaches a heater (page 6 of translation line 338: ribbon heater 282) is installed in the gas supply line (page 6 of translation line 338: ribbon heater is wrapped around gas supply line).
The combination of Masaki and Honda would result in the first gas supplied to the circulation line in a heated state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Higuchi with a heater as taught by Honda to heat the gas supply line. It is known in the art to add a heater to lines/pipes to adjust or maintain the temperature being flowed through the lines/pipes.
As to claim 3, (Previously Presented) Masaki further teaches a first line of which a longitudinal direction is provided in a vertical direction (FIG. 1 paragraph [0032] line 33 reads on the claimed first line); a second line extending from the first line and connected to the housing so as to be provided upstream from the first line (FIG. 1 paragraph [0032] line 32 reads on the claimed second line); and a third line extending from the first line and coupled to the housing so as to be provided downstream of the first line (see annotated FIG. 1 below).
The first gas supply line is not directly connected to the third line. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
As to claim 6, (Currently Amended) Examiner regards the operation of the claimed substrate treating apparatus as intended use of the apparatus’ structure. The circulation line would be capable of handling a gas at a temperature that is the same state as the treatment liquid (Nishide paragraph [0093] circulation piping 19 is designed to handle a liquid in varying temperatures). Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. An apparatus claim may be unobvious even if it operates in the same way as the prior art, as long as there are structural differences. Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. 15 USPQ 2d 1525 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to claim 7, (Previously Presented) examiner regards the operation of the substrate treating apparatus as intended use of the apparatus’ structure. The circulation line is capable of handling a gas at a room temperature state (Nishide paragraph [0093] circulation piping 19 is designed to handle a liquid in varying temperatures).
As to claim 8, (Previously Presented) The combination of Nishide and Masaki further teach the liquid supply unit further includes a second gas supply line coupled to the housing (Nishide FIG. 1 paragraph [0098] gas dissolving unit 26 reads on the claimed second gas supply line coupled to the housing) and configured to supply second gas to the housing, the second gas different from the first gas (the second gas as taught by Nishide is a combination of air and N2 while the first gas as taught by Masaki is an inert gas.).
As to claim 10, (Original) examiner regards the operation of the substrate treating apparatus as intended use of the apparatus’ structure. The second gas can be a low-humidity gas.
As to claim 11, (Previously Presented) Examiner regards the operation of the substrate treating apparatus as intended use of the apparatus’ structure. The treatment liquid can include a chemical liquid and water, and the heater unit is capable of heating the treatment liquid to a temperature higher than a boiling point of water.
As to claim 12, (Original) examiner regards the operation of the substrate treating apparatus as intended use of the apparatus’ structure. The treatment liquid can be an aqueous phosphoric acid solution.
As to claim 21, (Previously Presented) Nishide teaches a pump unit (FIG. 1 paragraph [0093] a liquid feeding pump 21).
Nishide does not teach a pump unit in the second line that Is configured to pump the treatment liquid to the second line. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
It is known in the art to add a pump to any part of a system that needs aid in moving fluids.
As to claim 22, (Previously Presented) Masaki further teaches a first mouth of the circulation line is configured to be inserted into the treatment liquid stored in the tank (FIG. 1 introduction pipe 36 is below liquid level in storage container 20).
As to claim 24, (Previously Presented) examiner regards the operation of the substrate treating apparatus as intended use of the apparatus’ structure. The first gas can be air and the second gas can be dry air.
As to claim 25, (New) Masaki further teaches the circulation line comprises a first valve (FIG. 1 paragraph [0035] valve 34) upstream from the heating unit and a second valve downstream from a connection point with the first gas supply line (FIG. 1 paragraph [0035] valve 35).
As to claim 26, (New) Masaki further teaches the first gas supply line comprises a third valve upstream from the connection point (FIG. 1 paragraph [0037] valve 43).
As to claim 27, (New) The combination of Nishide and Masaki further teaches a second gas line configured to supply a second gas to the tank (Nishide FIG. 1 paragraph [0098] gas dissolving unit 26 reads on the claimed second gas supply line coupled to the housing), the second gas line comprising a fourth valve (Nishide FIG. 1 paragraph [0099] valves 31 and/or 32 read on the claimed fourth valve); and a controller (Masaki paragraph [0043] control device 70 controls each of the valves and Nishide paragraph [0083] controller 4) configured to control the first valve, the second valve, the third valve, and the fourth valve such that each of the first valve, the second valve, the third valve (Masaki paragraphs [0035] and [0037] when valve 22 is closed, valves 34, 35, and 43 are opened), and the fourth valve are open at a same time (Nishide paragraphs [0096]-[0097] when liquid valve 18 is closed, gas dissolving unit 26 supplies gas to tank 16).
It would have been obvious to have all of the valves open at the same time as the third and fourth valves would replenish the gas within the tank and circulation system, while the first and second valves would be used to circulate the liquid to ensure that the gases are continuously and evenly mixed within the system. The combination of Nishide and Masaki would result in the four valves being open at the same time, as the valves are only opened as long as there is no liquid being supplied to treatment chambers (processing unit 2 or cleaning tank 10 as taught by Nishide and Masaki, respectively).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishide et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0091640 (henceforth referred to as Nishide), Masaki KR20110102149 (henceforth referred to as Masaki), and Honda KR20080108040 (henceforth referred to as Honda) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Hashizume et al. JP2006269668 (henceforth referred to as Hashizume).
As to claim 9, (Original) Nishide, Masaki, and Honda differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the second gas supply line is provided to supply the second gas to a position higher than a liquid level of the treatment liquid stored in the housing.
Hashizume teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0022] substrate processing apparatus). Hashizume teaches the second gas supply line is provided to supply the second gas to a position higher than a liquid level of the treatment liquid stored in the housing (FIG. 1 paragraph [0027] inert gas supply path 40 supplies gas above the liquid level of the tank).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Nishide, Masaki, and Honda with a way to supply gas above a liquid level as taught by Hashizume. It is known in the art to introduce gas to a system and having the gas supplied above the liquid level in a tank is one of the ways to introduce gas into a system.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishide et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0091640 (henceforth referred to as Nishide), Masaki KR20110102149 (henceforth referred to as Masaki), and Honda KR20080108040 (henceforth referred to as Honda) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Yamazaki JP2003121023 (henceforth referred to as Yamazaki).
As to claim 23, (Previously Presented) Nishide, Masaki, and Honda differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the heater unit comprise: a body; a heater inside of the body; a first port configured to receive the treatment liquid and configured to route the treatment liquid through a channel defined by a space between the body and the heater; and a second port configured to transmit the treatment liquid to the first gas supply line.
Yamazaki teaches a similar wafer treatment apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0010] heat treatment apparatus for a wafer). Yamazaki teaches
a body (FIG. 2 paragraph [0019] container of heat exchanger 88);
a heater inside of the body (FIG. 2 paragraph [0017] inner pipe 89 through which the heat medium flows);
a first port (FIG. 2 paragraph [0019] the arrow into heat exchanger 88 defines a first port. Heat waste flow path 108 allows for flow through the container of the main heat exchanger 88.) configured to receive the treatment liquid and configured to route the treatment liquid through a channel defined by a space between the body and the heater (paragraph [0019] heat waste flow path 108 is formed to flow through the container of the main heat exchanger 88); and a second port (FIG. 2 paragraph [0019] the arrow out of heat exchanger 88 defines a second port) configured to transmit the treatment liquid to the first gas supply line.
[AltContent: oval]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Nishide, Masaki, and Honda with a heater as taught by Yamazaki. It would have been obvious to have a heater contained within a body in order to maintain the temperature produced by the heater and to prevent other parts of a system from being heated.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishide et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0091640 (henceforth referred to as Nishide) in view of Masaki KR20110102149 (henceforth referred to as Masaki) and Honda KR20080108040 (henceforth referred to as Honda).
As to claim 13, (Currently Amended) Nishide teaches an apparatus for treating a substrate, the apparatus comprising:
a cup providing a treatment space therein (FIG. 1 paragraph [0087] processing cup 8);
a support unit configured to support the substrate and to rotate the substrate in the treatment space (FIG. 1 paragraph [0087] spin chuck 6);
a nozzle configured to supply a treatment liquid to the substrate (FIG. 1 paragraph [0087] liquid nozzle 9); and
a liquid supply unit (FIG. 1 paragraph [0093] liquid preparation unit 3) configured to supply the treatment liquid of which a concentration and a temperature are configured to be controlled to the nozzle (examiner regards the operation of the substrate treating apparatus as intended use of the apparatus’ structure. The liquid supply unit would be capable of containing a specific concentration and temperature (paragraphs [0032] and [0093])),
wherein the treatment liquid includes a chemical liquid and water (examiner regards the operation of the substrate treating apparatus as intended use of the apparatus’ structure. The treatment liquid can include a chemical liquid and water), and
the liquid supply unit includes:
a housing having a space configured to store the treatment liquid therein (FIG. 1 tank 16 holds a liquid);
a circulation line coupled to the housing and configured to circulate the treatment liquid in the housing (FIG. 1 paragraph [0093] circulation piping 19);
a heater unit installed in the circulation line and configured to heat the treatment liquid to a temperature higher than a boiling point of the water (FIG. 1 paragraph [0093] temperature adjusting unit 20).
Nishide differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a common outlet located lower than a liquid level of the treatment liquid in the housing; a gas supply line directly connected to the circulation line downstream of the heater unit and configured to supply gas into the circulation line, wherein the circulation line is configured to eject the gas and the heated treatment liquid from a common outlet in the circulation line into the housing at a level below an upper surface of the treatment liquid, wherein a heater for heating the gas is installed in the gas supply line, and the apparatus is configured to have the first gas supplied to the circulation line in a heated state.
Masaki teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (paragraph [0028] substrate processing device 1). Masaki further teaches the circulation line has a common outlet (FIG. 1 paragraph [0057] introduction pipe 36) located lower than a liquid level of the treatment liquid in the housing (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] introduction pipe 36 is below liquid level in storage container 20); and a gas supply line (FIG. 1 paragraph [0036] first gas supply line 41) directly connected to the circulation line and configured to supply gas into the circulation line (FIG. 1 [0028] gas source 40 supplies gas to circulation line 30 via mixture unit 31), wherein the circulation line is configured to eject the gas and the heated treatment liquid from a common outlet (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] introduction tube 36, which reads on the common outlet) in the circulation line into the housing at a level below an upper surface of the treatment liquid (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] the gas-liquid mixture is introduced into the chemical liquid from the lower part of the stored chemical liquid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Nishide with a circulation line with an outlet located lower than a liquid level of the treatment liquid in the housing and a gas supply line as taught by Masaki. The gas supply line is used to create a gas-liquid mixture (Masaki paragraph [0033]) which can aid in the circulation of the treatment liquid in the housing (Masaki paragraph [0034]). It is known in the art to introduce gas to a system and having the gas supply line connected to the circulation is one of the ways to introduce gas into a system. Additionally, introducing the gas-liquid mixture below a surface of a liquid level will suppress the liquid level from shaking, which improves the accuracy of liquid level reading (paragraph [0034]).
The heater unit taught by Nishide and the gas supply line taught by Masaki can be combined to have a gas supply line downstream from the heater in order for the gas to be supplied to a heated liquid solution.
Honda teaches a similar substrate treating apparatus (page 1 of translation line 15). Honda teaches a heater (page 6 of translation line 338: ribbon heater 282) is installed in the gas supply line (page 6 of translation line 338: ribbon heater is wrapped around gas supply line).
The combination of Masaki and Honda would result in the first gas supplied to the circulation line in a heated state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Higuchi with a heater as taught by Honda to heat the gas supply line. It is known in the art to add a heater to lines/pipes to adjust or maintain the temperature being flowed through the lines/pipes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711