DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Appeal Brief filed on 08/27/2025 and the claims filed on 06/11/2024. After considering Appellant’s arguments presented in the Appeal Brief, the Final Rejection mailed on 09/25/2024 has been withdrawn. Claims 27-35, 37-44, 46, and 47 are pending. Claims 27 and 41 are independent.
Claim Objections
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 27, line 5, “a side port of an irrigation line” should be amended to --a side port or an irrigation line-- to correct the typo to avoid new matter issue because the specification describes “a side port or an irrigation line.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a lockout mechanism configured to prevent an actuator configured to retract the expandable structure from being actuated when the expandable structure is in an expanded state” in claim 39. Based on the specification (Para. 0077]), the lockout mechanism is a blocking segment or protrusion 140.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 37-40 and 46 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the vessel wall" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 38, line 3, the limitation “a vessel wall of the arteriotomy” should be amended to --the vessel wall--. Otherwise, claim 37 should amend "the vessel wall" to --a vessel wall of arteriotomy--. So, the limitation “a vessel wall of the arteriotomy” in claim 38 can be amended to --the vessel wall of arteriotomy--.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the expandable structure" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 39 recites the limitation "the expandable structure" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation "the expandable structure" appears two times in line 2 of claim 39. Claim 40 also recites "the expandable structure" in line 3 of the claim.
Claim 46 recites the limitation "the vessel wall" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 46 recites the limitation "the expandable structure " in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The art rejection(s) below is/are made as best understood by the examiner because of the 35 U.S.C. 112 stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27, 28, 30, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maruyama et al. (US Pub. No.: 2009/0270885).
Regarding claims 27, 28, 30, and 31, Maruyama discloses a closure system (1, Figs. 34-39) for closing an arteriotomy, the closure system comprising: a handle portion (9, Fig. 39); a sheath adapter (inner tube portion 311, Figs. 34-39; alternatively, the whole connector 31, Figs. 34-39 and Para. [0190]) comprising an attachment structure (structure of 311 defining the slot 313, Fig. 34 and Paras. [0191] and [0194]; alternatively, the structure of 31 defining the slot 314, Fig. 34 and Para. [0191] and [0194]) defining a passageway (slot 314, Fig. 34) configured to engage a side port (e.g. 53, Fig. 34 and Para. [0194]) of an irrigation line / a side port (e.g. 53, Fig. 34 and Para. [0194]) or an irrigation line of a procedural sheath (5, Fig. 34) for releasable attachment to the procedural sheath (Para. [0194]); an outer catheter (6, Figs. 6(a) and 10) extending distally from the handle portion, the outer catheter comprising a proximal section (proximal section of 6, Fig. 5) and a distal section (distal section of 6, Figs. 6(a) and 10); an inner catheter (7, Figs. 5 and 30) extending through the outer catheter, the outer catheter axially movable with respect to the inner catheter (Para. [0059]); and a sealant (4, Figs. 6A, clip 4 is a sealant because it seals the puncture, Para. [0052]) positioned in the distal section of the outer catheter;
[claim 28] wherein the sheath adapter comprises a proximal flange (such as a proximal flange at the proximal end of 311, Figs. 31 and 34) configured to engage the handle portion;
[claim 30] wherein the distal section of the outer catheter comprises an inner sleeve (inner sleeve layer of distal section of outer catheter 6, Fig. 6) and an outer sleeve (outer sleeve layer of distal section of outer catheter 6, Fig. 6) surrounding the inner sleeve; and
[claim 31] wherein the proximal section of the outer catheter comprises a single layer (Figs. 5 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama et al. (US Pub. No.: 2009/0270885).
Regarding claim 29, Maruyama discloses all the limitations of claim 27 but fails to disclose that the sheath adapter and the handle portion are integral. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the claimed invention to modify the sheath adapter, such as the inner tube portion 311, and the handle portion of Maruyama to be integral, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 V
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 41-44 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance on claims 41-44: the prior art fails to teach or render obvious closure system for closing an arteriotomy, the closure system comprising, inter alia, the distal section of the outer catheter comprising an inner sleeve and an outer sleeve surrounding the inner sleeve, the inner sleeve comprising a first slit, the outer sleeve comprising a second slit circumferentially displaced from the first slit; and a sealant positioned in the distal section of the outer catheter.
Claims 37-40 and 46 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 32-35 and 47 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the claim objection stated above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 27-31, 37, 38, and 46 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maruyama et al. (US Pub. No.: 2009/0216266) discloses a tissue closing device comprising a handle, sheath adapter, outer catheter, inner catheter, and a sealant.
/JING RUI OU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771