Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claim rejections under 35 USC 112(a)
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the applicant has adequate support in the present application for the claim limitation of claim 2 which recites “wherein at least one of an outer surface of said shaft and an inner surface of said bushing are coated with a material which reduces friction between mating surfaces to an amount of friction which is less than an amount of friction without said material applied to said at least one of said outer surface of said shaft and said inner surface of said bushing” as opposed to the lubricant taught in Baumann which also serves to reduce friction in a rotating apparatus. Applicant has not pointed to any limitation in the claim language which distinguishes the bushing coated with a material to reduce friction of applicant's invention from those taught by Baumann. As such, the applicant has also not established adequate support in the claims nor specification of the instant application for what said friction reduction material is meant to be. The applicant is respectfully reminded that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The examiner would expect a material to be identified in the specification of the instant application with adequate properties to reduce friction. With this being absent in the specification, the interpretation of “….a material which reduces friction between mating surfaces to an amount of friction which is less than an amount of friction without said material applied to said at least one of said outer surface of said shaft and said inner surface of said bushing” is extremely broad because of the applicant’s lack of disclosure and is met by the “obvious to try” rejection of Baumann herein.
Claim rejections under 35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, and 3-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s towards Baumann the examiner respectfully reminds the applicant of the 112(a) rejection herein and further argues that the examiner would expect a material to be identified in the specification of the instant application with adequate properties to reduce friction. With this being absent in the specification, the interpretation of “….a material which reduces friction between mating surfaces to an amount of friction which is less than an amount of friction without said material applied to said at least one of said outer surface of said shaft and said inner surface of said bushing” is extremely broad because of the applicant’s lack of disclosure and is met by the “obvious to try” rejection of Baumann herein.
Claim objections
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/9/2026, with respect to claim objections for claim 2 has been fully considered and are moot in light of the recent amendments to the claims. The objection of 11/10/2025 has been withdrawn because the claims were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 2, the recitation of “at least one of an outer surface of said shaft and an inner surface of said bushing are coated with a material which reduces friction between mating surfaces to an amount of friction which is less than an amount of friction without said material applied to said at least one of said outer surface of said shaft and said inner surface of said bushing” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In particular, no disclosure of “….a material which reduces friction between mating surfaces to an amount of friction which is leass[sic] than an amount of friction without said material applied to said at least one of said outer surface of said shaft and said inner surface of said bushing” was found in the original specification. The examiner would expect a material to be identified in the specification of the instant application with adequate properties to reduce friction. With this being absent in the specification, the interpretation of “….a material which reduces friction between mating surfaces to an amount of friction which is less than an amount of friction without said material applied to said at least one of said outer surface of said shaft and said inner surface of said bushing” is extremely broad because of the applicant’s lack of disclosure.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the recitation of “said opening extending into said bushing a distance sufficient to receive a length portion of said shaft sufficient to maintain said top surface of said heater plate in a plane parallel to said plane extending across said open top portion” is unclear what length the length portion has to be to be considered of sufficient length.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20230225541 A1 Priya
Regarding claim 1,
Priya teaches,
An electrically powered crepe maker (cooking apparatus 100) comprising:
a) a cylindrical base unit (heater plate assembly 102) having an open top portion (upper surface of front heater plate 102a) and a closed bottom portion (plate support frame 110), including an electrical heater element (heating element 146, in the alternative induction coil 166) disposed adjacent said top portion (figs. 1a, 1b, 2, 3, 4, and 5), a base plate (rear surface 148) disposed between said heater element and said closed bottom portion (fig. 4) and a bushing (see annotated fig. 2 below) centered on said base plate herein a portion of said bushing is directly adjacent to and fixedly connected to a bottom portion of said base plate (fig. 4), said bushing having one end extending through said base plate ending below a plane extending across said open top portion (figs. 2 and 4);
b) a cylindrical heater plate (heater plate 102a) having a top surface and a bottom surface (fig. 2, this is also discussed in the rejection of “having an open top portion (upper surface of front heater plate 102a)”) including a shaft (rotary connector 130) extending from said bottom surface and centered on said bottom surface (par. 73 and see cutaway of fig. 3);
c) at least one handle connected to an outer edge of said heater plate (feeder drive housing 120 is capable of functioning as a handle), wherein said shaft engages with said bushing so that said heater plate is rotatable on said base unit as said shaft rotates within said bushing (par. 73), said at least one handle usable for stopping and starting a rotation of said heater plate (par. 73 teaches feeder drive housing causing rotating force to heater plate 102a).
Regarding claim 3,
Priya teaches,
The electrically powered crepe maker defined by claim 1 (as discussed above)
wherein said bushing extends in a direction perpendicular to said bottom portion of said base unit and said shaft extends in a direction perpendicular to said bottom surface of said heater plate such that said shaft is received by said an opening formed at said second end of said bushing, said opening extending into said bushing a distance sufficient to receive a length portion of said shaft sufficient to maintain said top surface of said heater plate in a plane parallel to said plane extending across said open top portion (figs. 2, 3, and 4).
Regarding claim 4,
Priya teaches,
The electrically powered crepe maker defined by claim 1 (as discussed above)
further comprising a second handle (control panel 124 is capable of functioning as a handle) connected to said outer edge of the heater plate (fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 5,
Priya teaches,
The electrically powered crepe maker defined by claim 4 (as discussed above)
wherein said first handle and said second handle are connected to said outer edge of the heater plate in a symmetrical relationship (fig. 1a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230225541 A1 Priya in view of US 20110062672 A1 to Baumann.
Regarding claim 2, see 112(a) above.
Priya teaches, The electrically powered crepe maker defined by claim 1 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Priya does not teach: wherein at least one of an outer surface of said shaft and an inner surface of said bushing are coated with a material which reduces friction between mating surfaces to an amount of friction which is less than an amount of friction without said material applied to said at least one of said outer surface of said shaft and said inner surface of said bushing.
Baumann teaches an upper sealing potion 15 and guide bushing 37 fitted with a rotary shaft 8 that needs to rotate within upper sealing portion 15 and guide bushing 37 to facilitate the turning off and on of the conventional globe valve of the invention of Baumann.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art to solve the problem of friction reduction (Baumann par. 27).
There were a finite number of identified and predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem evidenced by Baumann teaching that a lubricant can be applied to a shaft to bushing and shaft to seal interface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try the lubricant of Baumann at the interface of the rotary connector 130 and the bushing of Priya as discussed above to meet the limitation of wherein at least one of an outer surface of said shaft and an inner surface of said bushing are coated with a material which reduces friction between mating surfaces to an amount of friction which is less than an amount of friction without said material applied to said at least one of said outer surface of said shaft and said inner surface of said bushing.
The results would have been predictable, since Baumann teaches a recognized problem or need in the art to solve the problem of friction reduction (Baumann par. 25-27).
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce friction and facilitate rotational movement.
Conclusion
ADAM MICHAEL. ECKARDT
Assistant Examiner
Art Unit 3761
/ADAM M ECKARDT/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761