DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement of Papers Received: Amendment/Response dated 8/12/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined disclosures of Andino et al (WO 2015/196085 hereafter Andino) in view of Jarrett et al (US 2016/0166504 hereafter Jarrett).
Andino discloses a method for expanding a suprachoroidal space (SCS) of an eye comprising inserting a microneedle into the eye at an insertion site and infusing through the microneedle into the suprachoroidal space with a fluid with sufficient viscosity to expand the space to a thickness of at least 500 microns [abstract, 01048]. The viscosity of the fluid forms a gel with a viscosity of at least 1000 cP (1057, 1059]. The fluid comprises a polyethylene oxide [1137]. The method comprises multiple microneedles comprising multiple injection fluids [1137].
While the reference discloses a liquid formulation injected into the suprachoroidal space that can form a solid insert, the reference is silent to specific crosslinking or an additional insertion into the space. The presence of such components are well known in the art as seen in the Jarret patent.
Jarrett discloses an injectable liquid formulation comprising a pharmaceutical agent and a carrier where the components are covalently bound together and form a solid that precipitates its active agents into the eye over time [abstract. Fig. 1-2, 0023]. The hydrogel comprises materials such as carboxymethyl cellulose present at least 20% of the formulation (0014, 0017]. The hydrogel crosslinks after insertion [0022]. The molecular weight of the macromolecules used can be up to 1 million Daltons [0025, 0038-0040]. The forms hydrogel will degrade over time from 1 to 30 days [0063]. The pharmaceutical agents include VEGF [0089-0095]. The solidified hydrogel acts as an implant and prosthetic in the eye [0121]. It would have been obvious to combine these components into a releasable formulation as they solve the same problem of Andino.
Regarding the specific thickness of the suprachoroidal space as recited in claims 8, 9 and 18, the claims recite that the liquid is sufficient to expand the SCS of the eye, however there are no further limitations to the fluid other than viscosity and molecular weight. The fluids of the prior art combination meet these limitations as they are of the same viscosity and volume and are injected into the same space for the same purpose. The fluids are allowed to remain in place for the same amount of time for the same purpose and as such must complete the same tasks. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With these aspects in mind it would have been obvious to combine the prior art with an expected result of a stable means of expanding the SCS space for drug delivery. It would have been obvious to include the crosslinked hydrogel formulation of Jarrett into the method of Andino as it solves the same problem and the injected fluids are of similar use and viscosity. It would have been obvious to both inject a material into the suprachoroidal space as seen in Andino and inserting an additional implant into the same space to maintain the space as seen in Jarrett. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art with an expected result of a stable means of drug delivery to the eye.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/12/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of the prior art does not render the claims obvious as the prior art does not disclose a method for expanding a suprachoroidal space by both infusing into a suprachoroidal space a liquid and further disposing a pharmaceutical agents or device into the space.
However, the combination of Andino and Jarrett discloses these limitations where Andino discloses that an fluid is infused through a microneedle into the suprachoroidal space of the eye [1048], while Jarrett discloses the implantation of a pharmaceutical agent into the same space [0121]. It would have been obvious to include the crosslinked hydrogel formulation of Jarrett into the method of Andino as it solves the same problem and the injected fluids are of similar use and viscosity. It would have been obvious to both inject a material into the suprachoroidal space as seen in Andino and inserting an additional implant into the same space to maintain the space as seen in Jarrett. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art with an expected result of a stable means of drug delivery to the eye. For these reasons, the claims are rendered obvious.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICAH PAUL YOUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618