DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Paley fails to teach or suggest the composition of claim 1. However, the instant claims are rejected in view of Paley and Lammerschop. Regarding the combination the applicant argues that the resulting combination fails to teach that the mixing and curing is done in such a way as to have a glass transition temperature of -95°C ± 10°C. However, Paley and Lammerschop teach the same combination made with the same compounds. There is nothing of record in the instant specification that would provide guidance to a person having ordinary skill in the art to believe that the glass transition temperature would not be achieved through the combination of Paley and Lammerschop. Specifically, the dependent claims to curing temperature and curing duration are both met by the teachings of Paley. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the glass transition temperature would be the same if the same components are mixed under the same conditions.
Accordingly, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paley et al. (US 2010/0004389, hereinafter referred to as “Paley ‘389”) in view of Lammerschop et al. (US 2007/0231582, hereinafter referred to as “Lammerschop”).
As to Claims 1, 4, and 24: Paley teaches a method of making cured elastomer comprising mixing an ionic liquid epoxy and a curing agent [0019]. Paley further teaches that the resin cures in 1-2 hours at 150-200°C which reads on a curing duration and a curing temperature [0019]. Paley further teaches that the ionic liquid epoxy monomer resins are cured using curing agents such as diamine, triamine, or tetraamine compounds [0016]. Paley further teaches that the ionic liquid epoxy is 1,3-bis(glycidyl)imidazolium trifluoromethanesulfonimide [0018].
Paley does not teach an example wherein the curing agent has a molecular weight of greater than 300 grams per mol.
However, Lammerschop teaches suitable curing agents for epoxy compositions include triamines such as T-403 which is a polyetheramine compound having a molecular weight of greater than 300 grams per mol [0040]. Paley and Lammerschop are analogous art in that they are from the same field of endeavor, namely epoxy compositions. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the T-403 curing agent of Lammerschop as the curing agent in the ionic liquid epoxy composition of Paley because Paley teaches that any diamine, triamine or tetramine compound can be used as a curing agent [0016] and Lammerschop teaches that T-403 is a known triamine curing agent for epoxy compositions [0040].
As to Claims 5 and 6: Paley and Lammerschop render obvious the composition of claim 1 (supra). Paley further teaches that the ratio of the ionic liquid epoxy to the curing agent can be 2:1 [0022].
As to Claim 7: Paley and Lammerschop render obvious the composition of claim 1 (supra). Paley further teaches that the curing temperature can be 150-200°C [0019].
As to Claim 8: Paley and Lammerschop render obvious the composition of claim 1 (supra). Paley further teaches that the curing duration can be 1-2 hours [0019].
Claims 16-18, 23, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paley et al. (US 2010/0004389, hereinafter referred to as “Paley ‘389”) in view of Lammerschop et al. (US 2007/0231582, hereinafter referred to as “Lammerschop”).
As to Claims 16-18, 23, and 26: Paley teaches a method of making cured elastomer comprising mixing an ionic liquid epoxy and a curing agent [0019]. Paley further teaches that the resin cures in 1-2 hours at 150-200°C which reads on a curing duration and a curing temperature [0019]. Paley further teaches that the ionic liquid epoxy is 1,3-bis(glycidyl)imidazolium trifluoromethanesulfonimide [0018]. Paley further teaches that the liquid mixture can be applied between two surfaces and cured at room temperature [0021]. Paley further teaches that the ionic liquid epoxy monomer resins are cured using curing agents such as diamine, triamine, or tetraamine compounds [0016].
Paley does not teach an example wherein the curing agent has a molecular weight of greater than 300 grams per mol.
However, Lammerschop teaches suitable curing agents for epoxy compositions include triamines such as T-403 which is a polyetheramine compound having a molecular weight of greater than 300 grams per mol [0040]. Paley and Lammerschop are analogous art in that they are from the same field of endeavor, namely epoxy compositions. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the T-403 curing agent of Lammerschop as the curing agent in the ionic liquid epoxy composition of Paley because Paley teaches that any diamine, triamine or tetramine compound can be used as a curing agent [0016] and Lammerschop teaches that T-403 is a known triamine curing agent for epoxy compositions [0040].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/Andrew J. Oyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767