DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 11 has been amended. No claims have been newly added or newly canceled.
Claims 11-16 and 18-24 are currently pending.
Claims 18-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/01/2025.
Claims 11-16 have been examined on their merits.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn due to amendment. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 is dependent upon claim 11 and requires wherein the first degradation rate is about 1 week and the second degradation rate is about 4 months. This provides a faster degradation rate of 1 week for the first degradation rate and a slower degradation rate of 4 months for the second degradation rate.
However, parent claim 11 requires wherein the second degradation rate is about 15 times to about 18 times greater (faster) than the first degradation rate.
This contradiction between claims 11 and 12 with regard to which degradation is faster and which is slower renders the scope of claim 12 unclear and therefore indefinite.
For examination purposes the claims will be interpreted as requiring at least one polymer with a degradation rate that is 15 times to about 18 times greater (faster) than the other polymer and wherein one polymer has a degradation rate of 1 week (16 times faster) and the other polymer a degradation rate of 4 months (16 times slower).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
In the current case, claim 12, as written, does not require the second degradation rate is about 15 times to about 18 times greater (faster) than the first degradation rate and thus fails to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US 2014/0072951-from IDS filed 01/30/2023) in view of Mauck et al (US 2012/0093717-from IDS filed 01/30/2023) and El-Kurdi et al (WO 2008/094971).
Regarding claims 11-16, Johnson disclose an electrospun polymer scaffold comprising a plurality of polymer fibers seeded with biological cells (differentiated cells for example)(page 1 para 14) which include an embodiment comprising blends of different polymers electrospun together (co-spun) and one polymer preferentially dissolved (degraded) to increase scaffold porosity (page 2 para 16). The precursor solution may be controlled to optimize the degradation rate (page 2 para 16). A properly constructed scaffold will permit substantially complete cellular penetration (and provide an optimal cell infiltration rate) and uniform seeding for proper function and prevention of necrotic areas developing (page 2 para 16). The degradation rate of the polymer that degrades first inherently forms pores in the scaffold and this will correlate (correspond) with the rate that the cells are able to infiltrate into the scaffold.
The degradable polymers include polylactic acid and polyglycolic acid (polyglycolide) which degrade upon implantation and exposure to tissue (page 2 para 15, page 3 para 21). Exemplary embodiments and variants include one with separate scaffold layers or sheets seeded independently to form different types of tissue and an electrospun fiber scaffold made from a single layer of orientated fibers or a composite comprising a plurality of layers of orientated fibers to correspond to a native structure and help orient and differentiate cells (page 3 para 23).
The specific combination of features claimed is disclosed within the broad genera of polymer types, scaffold shapes (sheet and layers) and cell types taught by Johnson, but such “picking and choosing” within several variables does not necessarily give rise to anticipation. Corning Glass Works v. Sumitomo Elec., 868 F.2d 1251, 1262 (Fed. Circ. 1989). Where, as here, the reference does not provide any specific teaching to select this specific combination of variables, anticipation cannot be found.
That being said, however, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected various combinations of polymer types, scaffold shapes (sheet and layers) and cell types from within the disclosure of Johnson to arrive at methods and compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement”.
The motivation and reasonable expectation of success in making these combinations comes from the fact that Johnson suggests that all these cited variables are suitable for inclusion in their method/composition.
The teaching of Johnson renders obvious the claimed invention as described above, but does not specifically disclose all the claimed polymers or wherein the first degradation rate is about 1 week and the second degradation rate is about 4 months or wherein one degradation rate is 15 times to about 18 times greater than the other degradation rate.
Mauck teaches an engineered fibrous scaffold compositions that comprises one or more first fibers comprising a first polymeric material (polycaprolactone (PCL)), the first polymeric material having a first rate of degradation when contacted with an fluid medium and one or more second fibers comprising a second polymeric material, the second polymeric material (polyethylene oxide) having a second rate of degradation when contacted with an fluid medium, where the second rate of degradation being faster than the first rate of degradation (i.e., a degradation rate different from the first; paragraphs 7, 52 and 86).
Mauck teaches that the scaffold may be formulated such that one or more polymeric materials remain in place for days or even weeks, where if needed the polymeric materials are chosen and formulated so as to achieve faster degradation of the scaffold (paragraph 51). Mauck also teaches that the second fibers have a second rate of degradation that is slower (i.e., longer) than the first rate of degradation (paragraph 52).
Further, Mauck teaches that the optimal degradation profile will be dictated by the user's needs and will be easily achieved by manipulation of the polymeric materials and of process parameters, such as fiber thickness (which is controlled by, e.g., electrospinning process parameters) and the overall density of fibers (paragraph 51).
Mauck teaches that one or more first fibers are suitably intertwined with one or more second fibers which provides that the enhanced porosity that results from erosion of one fiber component of a scaffold (leaving behind the second fiber) enhances the ability of cells to infiltrate into the scaffold so as to proliferate and grow within the scaffold (i.e., the first degradation rate substantially corresponds to a cell infiltration rate; paragraph 44).
El-Kurdi teaches bioerodible electrospun vascular graft compositions (i.e. a scaffold) that can be tubular and used for arterial (venous) graft (AVG) applications (Abstract). El-Kurdi also teaches the graft (implantable scaffold) is prepared by electrospinning, where the polymer fibers can comprise any useful bioerodible polymer composition including the fibers that comprise a polymer chosen from one or more of a polylactide (PLA), a poly(lactide-co-glycolide) (PLCL), a poly(L- lactide-co-caprolactone) (PLGA), a polyglycolic acid (PGA), (page 13 last paragraph to page 14 first paragraph). These bioerodible polymers once implanted and placed in contact with bodily fluids and tissues will degrade typically and preferably over a time period of days, weeks, or months (page 28 last paragraph). El-Kurdi also teaches that cells can be associated with the matrix (scaffold), where the one or more of cells include differentiated cells and stems cells (e.g. mesenchymal stem cells) (page 14 last paragraph).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select polymers from polylactide (PLA), a poly(lactide-co-glycolide) (PLGA), a poly(L- lactide-co-caprolactone) (PLCL), a polyglycolic acid (PGA) with a reasonable expectation of success for the method of Johnson because El-Kurdi teach and suggest that these bioerodible polymers are beneficial and suitable for use in an electrospun scaffold and both Johnson and El-Kurdi are drawn to electrospun scaffolds that include polylactide and polyglycolide. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select a first degradation rate of about 1 week and a second degradation rate of about 4 months (one degradation rate is 16 times greater than the other degradation rate) for the method of Johnson because Mauck also teaches that the other fibers have a different rate of degradation that is slower (i.e., longer) than the rate of degradation of one of the polymers (paragraph 52). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Johnson also suggests using polymers with different degradation rates to provide for porosity in the scaffold and El-Kurdi teach that these bioerodible polymers will degrade typically and preferably over a time period of days, weeks, or months (page 28 last paragraph).
Therefore, the combined teachings of Johnson, Mauck et al and El-Kurdi et al render obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Johnson fails to teach or suggest an electrospun polymer sheet as claimed. Applicant argues that Johnson fails to teach or suggest any specific degradation rate of a polymer or any ratio between the degradation rates of two polymers and thus fails to teach or suggest all aspects of amended claim 11.
This is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The teachings of Mauck and El-Kurdi provide motivation and a reasonable expectation of success to modify the invention of Johnson to select those polymers with the degradation rates that will provide a construct with the optimal porosity, including polymers with degradation rates that vary by 1 week to 4 months (one polymer degrades 16 times faster than the other). Applicant has indicated that PGA degrades at about 1 week and PLCL degrades at about 4 months (page 16 para 95 of the Specification) and these two polymers are taught by the prior art to be suitable and beneficial for selection as described above.
Applicant argues that Mauck fails to teach or suggest an electrospun polymer sheet as claimed. Applicant argues that Mauck disclose first fibers having a first degradation rate and second fibers having a second degradation rate, where the second degradation rate is slower than the first degradation rate and point to paragraph 52 as evidence.
This is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The prior art teaches and suggests the use of two polymers that have different degradation rates and wherein one is substantially faster than the other. The designation of first and second appears to be arbitrary and does not mean that the polymers are actually in any kind of order.
Mauck’s disclosure is relevant because they provide for the selection of polymers based on their degradation rates wherein one polymer degrades at a much slower rate than another polymer.
Applicant argues that El-Kurdi fails to teach or suggest any specific ratios between the degradation rates of first fibers and second fibers and thus El-Kurdi fails to teach and suggest an electrospun polymer sheet as claimed. Applicant asserts that El-Kurdi fails to remedy the deficiencies of Johnson and Mauck.
This is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
El-Kurdi disclose that polymers, such as the claimed polymers PLA, PLGA, PLCL and PGA, are employed together in electrospinning because once implanted and placed in contact with bodily fluids and tissue will degrade over time periods of days, weeks, or months (Pages 13-14, Page 28).
The claimed polymers are well known in the prior art for selection in electrospun scaffolds wherein the various degradation rates allow for scaffolds with a porosity that allows for cell infiltration once implanted as described above. The prior art specifically teaches and suggests the optimization of the polymer degradation rates to control the effects of the transplanted electropsun polymer implant.
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wulkersdorfer et al., “Bimodal Porous Scaffolds by Sequential Electrospinning of Poly(glycolic acid) with Sucrose Particles”, International Journal of Polymer Science, 2010, Volume 2010, Article ID 436178, 9 pages.
Wulkersdorfer disclose that polymers PGA and PLGA can be completely degraded from two to four weeks, whereas PCL and PLA may take up to 12 to 24 months for complete mass loss (page 1, column 2).
Kim et al., “Control of degradation rate and hydrophilicity in electrospun non-woven poly(d,l-lactide) nanofiber scaffolds for biomedical applications”, Biomaterials, 2003, Vol. 24, pp. 4977–4985.
Kim disclose the selection of suitable chemical compositions in conjunction with a non-ivasive electrospinning process in the production of biodegradable scaffolds for different biomedical applications. Polymers include PLA and PLGA (abstract).
Bottino et al., “A novel spatially designed and functionally graded electrospun membrane for periodontal regeneration”, Acta Biomaterialia, 2011, Vol. 7, pp. 216–224.
Bottino disclose multilayer electrospun membranes made from polymers such as PLCL and PLA that are biodegradable and allow tissue integration (abstract, page 216).
LAURA J. SCHUBERG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1631
/LAURA SCHUBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631