DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita et al. (English machine translation of JP 2018098183 A).
Regarding Claims 1 and 7-9: Kurita et al. teaches a method of making a positive electrode active material comprising spraying an alkaline solution comprising a tungsten compound (spraying agent containing at least one element) onto a composite metal compound powder (precursor compound of a positive electrode active material) ([0001] and [0047]-[0049]). Kurita et al. teaches that the resultant product is then mixed with a lithium salt (lithium compound) ([0055]).
Kurita et al. does not teach the method wherein the lithium salt is first mixed with the composite metal compound powder. In the present case, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to mix the lithium salt in any of the claimed process steps of Kurita et al. and would have been motivated to do so because the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results, and selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claims 2-4: Kurita et al. teaches evaporation of the alkaline solution upon spraying (drying step) at a temperature of 100-150 °C ([0049]). While Kurita et al. does not specify an internal pressure less than atmospheric pressure, it is well known in the art to use techniques such as partial vacuum (pressure lower than atmospheric pressure) to aid in the removal of solvents by ubiquitous laboratory equipment such as vacuum lines.
Regarding Claim 5: Kurita et al. teaches that the tungsten is in the form of a compound such as tungsten oxide ([0051]).
Kurita et al. does not teach the wt% of tungsten in the solution. However, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the present case, Kurita et al. teaches that the concentration of tungsten can be adjusted to provide the desired amount of tungsten in the final product ([0138]).
Regarding Claim 6: Kurita et al. teaches that the composite metal compound powder comprises nickel ([0125]). Kurita et al. teaches that the resultant electrode material made by mixing the composite metal compound powder and lithium compound has an average particle size of 4.5 µm ([0125]), therefore, the composite metal compound powder would have a particle size of 5.5 µm or less.
Regarding Claim 10: Kurita et al. teaches the lithium compound as a powder ([0125]).
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 February 6, 2026