Response to Argument
2.Applicant argues that Shin does not teach or suggest anything to do with a vehicle management device configured i) select vehicles remaining after excluding first x vehicles and last y vehicles from a vehicle group traveling in the travel lane as selection candidates and (ii) select at least one of the selection candidates as the balancing vehicle in the vehicle selection. Because the start point 10a and end point 10 b in Shin are both positions designated by the same vehicle, Shin does not teach selecting some vehicles from the vehicles traveling in the travel lane.
This is not found persuasive. Shin teaches the vehicle management device is configured to (i) select vehicles remaining after excluding first x vehicles ( see Fig, 12, the value x is the car in the slot drive out of 10b but still in 10,) and last y vehicles ( ( see Fig. 12, since y is the number of car in the lane but not reach 10a,) from a vehicle group traveling in the travel lane ( travel lane 10, Fig. 12) as selection candidates ( the selection candidates are all the cars are permitted to enter 10a and travel from 10a to 10 b ) and (ii) select at least one of the selection candidates as the balancing vehicle in the vehicle selection( all the cars 200 at CA area are selected as the balancing vehicle to be charged/power balancing with the external power supply, Fig. 12, as Fig. 10 and Fig. 10 shows in order to be allowed in driving in the CA areas, the vehicles needs an entry permission signals to become selection candidates and they can all be balancing vehicles, see applicant’s specification para [0107] the control device 250 may select all the selection candidates as balancing vehicles )
Para [0134] of Shin describes the number of the vehicles 200 in the charging lane can be equal or greater than a reference number. This indicates that there are a group of vehicles travel in the charging lane. All the vehicles 200 driving between charging area (between 10a and 10b) are given transmit entry permission signal and therefore are selection candidates. And Fig. 10 and Fig. 12 of Shin discloses all the selection candidates that are permitted in driving in the charging areas are selected as the balancing vehicle to be charged/power balancing with the external power supply.
Applicant further argues that the office action appears to consider that “ a position, at which the Imaginary area starts, as the available entry point” in Shin discloses “the selection candidates” in claim 1 . And this is not correct since “the selection candidates” and the “balancing vehicle” in claim 1, 16 and 17 are actual vehicles, not positions or locations of vehicle.
The office action does not consider that “a position, at which the Imaginary area starts, as the available entry point” in Shin discloses “the selection candidates” in claim 1. Instead, the Examiner interpretated the selection candidates as all the cars are permitted to enter 10a and travel in between 10a and 10 b. And all the cars 200 at CA area are selected as the balancing vehicles to be charged/power balancing with the external power supply.
Since Applicant’s argument are not persuasive and thus the rejection of claims 1, 16 and 17 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-5, 8-12, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin ( US 20170334296A1) in view of Shin( US20190381903A1)
With regard to claim 1, Martin teaches a power supply system, comprising:
power supply equipment (62, Fig. 2) configured to be supplied with electric power from an external power supply( 58, Fig. 2) and supply the electric power to a vehicle (12A, 12B, Fig. 2) traveling in a travel lane ( e.g., 51, 52, Fig. 2); and
a vehicle management device ( e.g., 65, Fig. 2)configured to manage vehicles ( e.g., 51, 52, Fig. 2) configured to use the power supply equipment ( e.g., 62, Fig. 2), and perform vehicle selection in which the vehicle management device selects a balancing vehicle for power balancing of the external power supply ( e.g., 58, Fig. 2) from the vehicles ( e.g., 12A, 12B, Fig. 2) ([0058]the control strategy 100 can be performed to control operation of the electrified vehicle 12 in a manner that balances the electrical grid 58 during an inductive roadway event) , wherein:
Martin does not teach the vehicle management device is configured to (i) select vehicles remaining after excluding first x vehicles and last y vehicles from a vehicle group traveling in the travel lane as selection candidates and (ii) select at least one of the selection candidates as the balancing vehicle in the vehicle selection; the vehicle group traveling in the travel lane includes a plurality of vehicles, the travel lane in which the vehicle group travels is provided with the power supply equipment, and each of the values x and y is an integer of 1 or more.
However, Shin teaches the vehicle management device is configured to (i) select vehicles remaining after excluding first x vehicles ( see Fig, 12, the value x is the car in the slot drive out of 10b but still in 10,) and last y vehicles ( ( see Fig. 12, since y is the number of car in the lane but not reach 10a,) from a vehicle group traveling in the travel lane( travel lane 10, Fig. 12) as selection candidates ( the selection candidates are all the cars are permitted to enter 10a and travel from 10a to 10 b ) and (ii) select at least one of the selection candidates as the balancing vehicle in the vehicle selection( all the cars 200 at CA area are selected as the balancing vehicle to be charged/power balancing with the external power supply, Fig. 12, as Fig. 10 and Fig. 10 shows in order to be allowed in driving in the CA areas, the vehicles needs an entry permission signals to become selection candidates and they can all be balancing vehicles, see applicant’s specification para [0107] the control device 250 may select all the selection candidates as balancing vehicles ) the vehicle group traveling in the travel lane includes a plurality of vehicles ( [0148] the number of vehicles 200 which are driving between the charging start point 10 a and the charging end 10b, also see [0149] a plurality of vehicles 200 which are driving between the charging start point 10 a and the charging end point 10 b.), the travel lane in which the vehicle group travels is provided with the power supply equipment ( see Fig. 1, 11), and each of the values y is an integer of 1 or more ( see Fig. 12 as y is integer of 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Martin, to configure the vehicle management device is configured to (i) select vehicles remaining after excluding first x vehicles and last y vehicles from a vehicle group traveling in the travel lane as selection candidates and (ii) select at least one of the selection candidates as the balancing vehicle in the vehicle selection; the vehicle group traveling in the travel lane includes a plurality of vehicles, the travel lane in which the vehicle group travels is provided with the power supply equipment, and each of the values y is an integer of 1 or more., as taught by Shin, in order to evaluate the information of vehicle on the charging lane[0158].
The combination of Martin and Shin discloses the claimed invention except for the value x is an integer of 1 or more. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to select the x to be 1 or more, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In this case, the change of the number of the exit car from lane does not change the method/functionality of the system.
With regard to claim 2, the combination of Martin and Shin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Shin further teaches wherein the vehicle management device is configured to determine either or both of the value x and the value y using a number of vehicles traveling in the travel lane. (see Fig, 12, the value x is the car in the slot between top of 10-10b, the value of y is the number of car in the lane but not reach 10a, therefore the value of x and y are determined by the number of vehicle travel in the travel lane 10)
With regard to claim 3, the combination of Martin and Shin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Shin further teaches the vehicle management device is configured to increase either or both of the value x and the value y as the number of vehicles traveling in the travel lane increases ( see Fig. 10, the server only permit a reference number of vehicle in the charging lane, therefore, when the number of vehicles in the travel lane increases, the excluding charging vehicle number x and y will increase to keep a fixed/reference number of car to be charged)
With regard to claim 4, the combination of Martin and Shin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Shin further teaches the vehicle management device is configured to determine either or both of the value x and the value y based on an entry and exit status of the vehicles to and from the travel lane (see Fig, 12, the value x is the car in the slot between top of10-10b, therefore, the value of x is based on/related to the vehicle exit the lane, y is the number of car in the lane but not reach 10a, therefore the value of y is based on entry status of the vehicle)
With regard to claim 5, the combination of Martin and Shin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Shin further teaches the vehicle management device is configured to: increase the value x as a number of vehicles leaving the travel lane per unit time increases (see Fig, 12, the value x is the car in the slot between the top of10-10b and the car in 10-10b will exit the travel lane, therefore, the value of x increases when the number of vehicle leaves lane per unit time increases); and increase the value y as a number of vehicles entering the travel lane per unit time increases ( see Fig. 12, y is the number of car in the lane but not reach 10a and represents that car the enter the lane, therefore the value of y increases when the number of vehicle enter lane per unit time increases)
With regard to claim 8, the combination of Martin and Shin teaches all the limitations of claim 1
Shin further teaches the vehicle management device is configured to:
reduce the value x when a first vehicle has left the travel lane ( see Fig, 12, since the value x is the car in the slot between top of 10-10b, therefore, when a first vehicle left the travel lane, the x value is reduce); and
increase the value y when a new vehicle has entered the travel lane ( see Fig. 12, since y is the number of car in the lane but not reach 10a, so if a new vehicle has enter the lane, y will increase) such that a number of selection candidates is fixed ( e.g., Fig. 10, fixed at reference number).
With regard to claim 9, the combination of Martin and Shin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Martin teaches wherein when power balancing of the external power supply for a predetermined balancing duration is requested ( see Fig. 3, 119, is electrical shortage still occurring, and [0065] using a time period between the time T1 and a time T2, the electrical grid 58 is able to draw power from the battery pack 57, through the interface with the inductive roadway 54, to help balance the electrical grid 58 (see graph (b)). Shin teaches the vehicle management device performs update of the values x and y and the vehicle selection at least at a first timing a first vehicle leaves the travel lane and at a second timing a new vehicle enters the travel lane during the predetermined balancing duration ( the server 100 may receive an entry request signal, which includes a charging start point 10 a and a charging end point 10 b, from the target vehicle 200.[0144], [0148] the server calculate the number of vehicles in the CA region based on the entry and exit signal to keep the vehicle numbers in the charging line within the reference number Fig. 10).
With regard to claim 10, the combination of Martin and Shin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Martin does not teach the vehicle management device performs the vehicle selection when a number of vehicles traveling in the travel lane is equal to or larger than a predetermined value; and the vehicle management device does not perform the vehicle selection when a number of vehicles traveling in the travel lane is less than the predetermined value.
Shin teaches the vehicle management device performs the vehicle selection when a number of vehicles traveling in the travel lane is equal to or larger than a predetermined value Fig. 10, S22 number of vehicles in the charging line equal to or greater than the reference number, S230 transmit entry non-permission signal, this means not selecting to attend the power balance ); and the vehicle management device does not perform the vehicle selection when a number of vehicles traveling in the travel lane is less than the predetermined value ( Fig. 10, S220, S240 number of vehicles in charging lane less than the reference number, S240 transmit entry permission signal, this means all the car are entering the power balancing processing and no need to select).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 1, to perform the vehicle selection when a number of vehicles traveling in the travel lane is equal to or larger than a predetermined value; and the vehicle management device does not perform the vehicle selection when a number of vehicles traveling in the travel lane is less than the predetermined value, as taught by Shin, in order to avoid the congestion of the charging lane adversely affect the traffic safety ([0124]
With regard to claim 11, the combination of Martin and Shin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Martin further teaches wherein the vehicle management device is configured to select the balancing vehicle from the selection candidates based on a magnitude of requested balancing power, when power balancing of the external power supply is requested ( Fig. 3, 119, 121,. In another non-limiting embodiment, the power output of the power source 55 can be controlled during block 110 to generate a greater amount of power than is necessary to propel the electrified vehicle 12 to charge the battery pack 57 to a greater SOC during certain grid conditions, such as extreme grid shortages).
With regard to claim 12, the combination of Martin and Shin teaches all the limitations of claim 11, Martin further teaches the vehicle management device is configured to select, as the balancing vehicle, a vehicle that is able to deal with a magnitude of the requested balancing power from the selection candidates based on at least one of a state of charge, rated charge power, and rated discharge power of an energy storage device of the vehicles of the selection candidates( see Fig. 4, SOC of the battery of the vehicle is considered when grid 58 needs to draw power from battery pack, [0065].
With regard to claim 14, the combination of Martin and Shin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Martin further teaches each of the vehicles that is selected as the balancing vehicle when charging for power balancing of the external power supply is requested includes an energy storage device ( e.g., 57, Fig. 2) configured to be charged with electric power from the power supply equipment ( e.g., 58, Fig. 2) while the vehicle is traveling in the travel lane ( e.g., 51 or 52, Fig. 2); and
the vehicle management device ( e.g., 65, Fig. 2) is configured to:
determine charge power for the balancing vehicle when charging for power balancing of the external power supply is requested ([0055] another exemplary function of the control systems 60 is to communicate with the inductive roadway interface 65 of the inductive roadway 54. In a non-limiting embodiment, each control system 60 communicates information to the inductive roadway interface 65 for coordinating the exchange of energy between the charging modules 62 and the inductive charging system 68. This information includes, but is not limited to, … and charging data. The charging data may include requested power, maximum charging power, maximum discharge power, priority of charge or discharge, etc).
; and
send a command to perform charging with the determined charge power to the balancing vehicle traveling in the travel lane ([0063] Excess power can then be received from the inductive roadway at block 125. The control strategy 100 can then yet again confirm that an electrical surplus is occurring at block 127. Finally, the battery pack 57 can be charged with power received by the inductive charging system 68 from the charging modules 62 of the inductive roadway 54, which is first communicated from the electrical grid 58 to the inductive roadway 54, to address the energy surplus at block 116.)
With regard to claim 15, the combination of Martin and Shin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Martin further teaches each of the vehicles that is selected as the balancing vehicle when discharging for power balancing of the external power supply is requested includes an energy storage device ( e.g., 57, Fig. 2) configured to discharge electric power to the external power supply ( e.g., 58, Fig. 2) via the power supply equipment (62, Fig. 2)while the vehicle is traveling in the travel lane ( e.g., 51, 52, Fig. 2); and
the vehicle management device (e.g., 65, Fig. 2) is configured to:
determine discharge power for the balancing vehicle when discharging for power balancing of the external power supply is requested([0055] another exemplary function of the control systems 60 is to communicate with the inductive roadway interface 65 of the inductive roadway 54. In a non-limiting embodiment, each control system 60 communicates information to the inductive roadway interface 65 for coordinating the exchange of energy between the charging modules 62 and the inductive charging system 68. This information includes, but is not limited to, … and charging data. The charging data may include requested power, maximum charging power, maximum discharge power, priority of charge or discharge, etc).; and
send a command to perform discharging of the determined discharge power or stop charging to the balancing vehicle traveling in the travel lane ([0061] After confirming whether the electrified vehicle 12 is still traveling on an inductive roadway or confirming that the electrical shortage is still occurring at block 111, the power output of the power source 55 is increased to greater than the propulsion power required to propel the electrified vehicle 12 at block 112. Excess power can be added to the inductive roadway at block 117. Fig. 4, step 119, 121)
With regard to claim 16, Martin teaches a server for managing vehicles configured to use power supply equipment (e.g., 62, Fig. 2) that is supplied with electric power from an external power supply (e.g., 58, Fig. 2) and supply the electric power to a vehicle ( e.g., 12A, 12B, Fig. 2) traveling in a travel lane ( e.g., 51, 52, Fig. 2), wherein:
the server is configured to perform vehicle selection in which the server selects a balancing vehicle for power balancing of the external power supply ( e.g., 58, Fig. 2) from the vehicles([0058]the control strategy 100 can be performed to control operation of the electrified vehicle 12 in a manner that balances the electrical grid 58 during an inductive roadway event)
Martin does not teach the server is configured to (i) select vehicles remaining after excluding first x vehicles and last y vehicles from a vehicle group traveling in the travel lane as selection candidates and (ii) select at least one of the selection candidates as the balancing vehicle in the vehicle selection; the vehicle group traveling in the travel lane includes a plurality of vehicles, the travel lane in which the vehicle group travels is provided with the power supply equipment, and each of the values x and y is an integer of 1 or more.
However, Shin teaches the vehicle management device is configured to (i) select vehicles remaining after excluding first x vehicles ( see Fig, 12, the value x is the car in the slot drive out of 10b but still in 10,) and last y vehicles ( ( see Fig. 12, since y is the number of car in the lane but not reach 10a,) from a vehicle group traveling in the travel lane( travel lane 10, Fig. 12) as selection candidates ( the selection candidates are all the cars are permitted to enter 10a and travel from 10a to 10 b ) and (ii) select at least one of the selection candidates as the balancing vehicle in the vehicle selection( all the cars 200 at CA area are selected as the balancing vehicle to be charged/power balancing with the external power supply, Fig. 12, as Fig. 10 and Fig. 10 shows in order to be allowed in driving in the CA areas, the vehicles needs an entry permission signals to become selection candidates and they can all be balancing vehicles, see applicant’s specification para [0107] the control device 250 may select all the selection candidates as balancing vehicles ) the vehicle group traveling in the travel lane includes a plurality of vehicles ( [0148] the number of vehicles 200 which are driving between the charging start point 10 a and the charging end 10b, also see [0149] a plurality of vehicles 200 which are driving between the charging start point 10 a and the charging end point 10 b.), the travel lane in which the vehicle group travels is provided with the power supply equipment ( see Fig. 1, 11), and each of the values y is an integer of 1 or more ( see Fig. 12 as y is integer of 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Martin, to configure the vehicle management device is configured to (i) select vehicles remaining after excluding first x vehicles and last y vehicles from a vehicle group traveling in the travel lane as selection candidates and (ii) select at least one of the selection candidates as the balancing vehicle in the vehicle selection; the vehicle group traveling in the travel lane includes a plurality of vehicles, the travel lane in which the vehicle group travels is provided with the power supply equipment, and each of the values y is an integer of 1 or more., as taught by Shin, in order to evaluate the information of vehicle on the charging lane[0158].
The combination of Martin and Shin discloses the claimed invention except for the value x is an integer of 1 or more. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to select the x to be 1 or more, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In this case, the number of the exit car from lane does not change the method/functionality of the system.
With regard to claim 17, Martin teaches selecting , vehicles ( e.g., from 12A, 12B, Fig. 2) a vehicle group traveling in a travel lane ( e.g., 51, 52, Fig. 2) equipped with power supply equipment ( e.g., 62, Fig. 2) that is supplied with electric power from an external power supply ( e.g., 58, Fig. 2); selecting at least one of the selection candidates ( 12A, 12B, Fig. 2) as a balancing vehicle for power balancing of the external power supply([0058]the control strategy 100 can be performed to control operation of the electrified vehicle 12 in a manner that balances the electrical grid 58 during an inductive roadway event); and
causing the balancing vehicle to operate for power balancing of the external power supply([0058]the control strategy 100 can be performed to control operation of the electrified vehicle 12 in a manner that balances the electrical grid 58 during an inductive roadway event).
Martin does not teach determining x and y, each of the value x and y is an integer of 1 or more; selecting, as selection candidates, vehicles remaining after excluding first x vehicles and last y vehicles from a vehicle group traveling in a travel lane equipped with power supply equipment that is supplied with electric power from an external power supply; the vehicle group traveling in the travel lane includes a plurality of vehicles, the travel lane in which the vehicle group travels is provided with the power supply equipment,
However, Shin teaches determining x( see Fig, 12, the value x is the car in the slot between top of 10 to 10b,) and y( ( see Fig. 12, since y is the number of car in the lane but not reach 10a,) ; selecting, as selection candidates( the selection candidates are all the cars are permitted to enter 10a and travel from 10a to 10 b ), vehicles remaining after excluding first x vehicles and last y vehicles from a vehicle group traveling in a travel lane ( Fig. 12, 10) equipped with power supply equipment (11, Fig. 1) that is supplied with electric power from an external power supply ( Martin teaches about external power supply above).
selecting at least one of the selection candidates as the balancing vehicle in the vehicle selection( all the cars 200 at CA area are selected as the balancing vehicle to be charged/power balancing with the external power supply, Fig. 12, as Fig. 10 and Fig. 10 shows in order to be allowed in driving in the CA areas, the vehicles needs an entry permission signals to become selection candidates and they can all be balancing vehicles, see applicant’s specification para [0107] the control device 250 may select all the selection candidates as balancing vehicles ) the vehicle group traveling in the travel lane includes a plurality of vehicles ( [0148] the number of vehicles 200 which are driving between the charging start point 10 a and the charging end 10b, also see [0149] a plurality of vehicles 200 which are driving between the charging start point 10 a and the charging end point 10 b.), the travel lane in which the vehicle group travels is provided with the power supply equipment ( see Fig. 1, 11), and each of the values y is an integer of 1 or more ( see Fig. 12 as y is integer of 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Martin, to determine x and y; selecting, as selection candidates, vehicles remaining after excluding first x vehicles and last y vehicles from a vehicle group traveling in a travel lane equipped with power supply equipment that is supplied with electric power from an external power supply, the vehicle group traveling in the travel lane includes a plurality of vehicles, the travel lane in which the vehicle group travels is provided with the power supply equipment, as taught by Shin, in order to evaluate the information of vehicle on the charging lane[0158].
The combination of Martin and Shin discloses the claimed invention except for the value x is an integer of 1 or more. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to select the x to be 1 or more, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In this case, the number of the exit car from lane does not change the method/functionality of the system.
4. Claim(s) 6-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin ( US 20170334296) and Shin( US20190381903A1) further in view of Hershkovitz (US20150039391A1)
With regard to claim 6, the combination of Martin and Shin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but not the vehicle management device is configured to determine either or both of the value x and the value y based on a type of requested power balancing when power balancing of the external power supply is requested.
However, Hershkovitz teaches the vehicle management device is configured to determine either or both of the value x and the value y based on a type of requested power balancing when power balancing of the external power supply is requested ( [0201] the stability of charging load is related to the charging vehicle in the network. And based on Shin the value x is the car in the slot between the10-10b and y is the number of cars in the lane but not reach 10a,) the value of x and y vehicle is the vehicle that excluding from charging, and therefore the combination of Shin and Hershkovitz teaches the x and y value related to the stability of charging)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 1, to determine either or both of the value x and the value y based on a type of requested power balancing when power balancing of the external power supply is requested, as taught by Hershkovitz, in order to consider the impact of the vehicle on the grid to provide a stable electric vehicle network[0201]
With regard to claim 7, the combination of Martin, Shin and Hershkovitz teaches all the limitations of claim 6, Hershkovitz further teaches the vehicle management device is configured to increase either or both of the value x and the value y as more stable balancing power is requested ( less vehicles in the electric vehicle network, the relative impact of vehicles on the power grid will be lower, and increasing the stability of the maximum charging load, [0201],based on Shin, increase the x and/or y reduce the number of cars in the charging lane since the x and y are the numbers of car are excluded in the charging, the combination of Shin and Hershkovitz teaches the limitation increase the x, y, less cars need charge and the system are at more stable balancing power)
5. Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Martin ( US 20170334296) and Shin( US20190381903A1) further in view of Otogasako et al. (US 20210304300 A1).
With regard to claim 13, the combination of Martin and Shin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but not the vehicle management device is configured to predict a number of vehicles that are going to be traveling in the travel lane during a predetermined period, and bid on balancing power for the predetermined period on an electricity market by using the predicted number of vehicles.
Otogasako teaches vehicle management device is configured to predict a number of vehicles that are going to be traveling in the travel lane during a predetermined period ((¶[44] “The data indicated by the broken line in FIG. 5A indicates the number of vehicles to be connected at each point in time in the future predicted from the data indicated by the solid line”, and bid on balancing power for the predetermined period on an electricity market by using the predicted number of vehicles ((¶[66] “In a case where the information received from the bid determination unit 116 indicates that the bid can be made, the control unit (not illustrated) of the aggregator 5 performs the bid to the power transaction market”, [0068] calculation unit 114 configured to calculate a prediction value of an amount of power suppliable to the power grid by each of the batteries ( including the on-vehicle batteries 13) in connection with the power grid 2 at a predetermined point in time in future at which a power transaction is performed),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 1, to predict a number of vehicles that are going to be traveling in the travel lane during a predetermined period, and bid on balancing power for the predetermined period on an electricity market by using the predicted number of vehicles as taught by Otogasako, in order to manage a bid for power supplied to a power grid to a power transaction market[0002].
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mizutani (US 20190130751 A1) teaches the server is configured to communicate with a plurality of power-supplying vehicles and a plurality of power-receiving vehicles. The server is configured to notify, to matched vehicles (candidate power-receiving vehicle and candidate power-supplying vehicle), a candidate gathering location list including respective pieces of information of a plurality of parking areas owned by third parties different from users of the matched vehicles.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PINPING SUN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872