DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous 102 and 103 rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitations are interpreted under 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 20, the length is specified as “greater than 100.” There are no units provided; thus, the length cannot be determined. For the purpose of examination, the limitation has been interpreted as and may be corrected to –greater than 100 mm.--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 9-13, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 202555950 U) in view of Landis (US 2,721,249).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses:
An electrode assembly for submerged arc welding (SAW) (¶2 “submerged arc,” ¶21 “flow of flux”), comprising:
a head portion (conductive rod 2 with conductive nozzle 3, ¶19) and an extension portion (ceramic insulating guide tube 5 together with stainless steel sleeve 4) arranged serially and configured to feed a consumable electrode therethrough (¶19, “The welding wire 7 is fed out by the wire feeder 1 and passes through the conductive rod 2, the conductive nozzle 3, and the ceramic insulating guide tube 5 in sequence”), wherein during welding, the head portion (2, 3) is disposed to be distal to an arcing tip (left end of 7 adjacent 6 in Yang Fig 1) of the consumable electrode (7) and the extension portion (4, 5) is disposed to be proximal to the arcing tip of the consumable electrode,
wherein the extension portion is elongated in a wire feed direction and comprises an insulating sleeve (ceramic insulating guide tube 5) and a substantially non-magnetic steel-based envelope (stainless steel sleeve 4; common stainless steels are not magnetic) that forms an outer surface of the extension portion, wherein the insulating sleeve is configured to surround and electrically insulate the consumable electrode (¶12 “the ceramic insulating guide tube has excellent wear resistance and insulation, effectively preheating the welding wire,” because the ceramic surrounds the wire, it also provides electrical insulation) from a work piece (6) during welding,
… wherein the insulating sleeve and the non-magnetic steel-based envelope each have a first end (right end in Fig 1) and a second end (left end in Fig 1) that are separated in the wire (7) feed direction,
wherein the first ends are configured to be proximal to the head portion (2, 3) and the second ends are configured to be proximal to the arcing tip (left end of 7 adjacent 6 in Fig 1), and
wherein the second end of the insulating sleeve (5) does not extend past the second end of the non-magnetic steel-based envelope (4, see Fig 1) toward the arcing tip.
Yang does not disclose:
the extension portion has a length greater than 100 mm.
Yang is silent as to the specific length of the extension portion and diameter of the wire, but does teach that “[t]he length of the ceramic insulating guide tube 5 is approximately 25mm less than the required welding wire elongation” (¶20) and “[t]he diameter of the bore in the ceramic insulating guide tube is equal to the diameter of the welding wire plus 0.3 mm” (¶10). Thus, the length can be selected as required to generate the needed preheat (¶4 “The greater the current and the longer the welding wire extends, the higher the temperature generated. The higher the temperature of the welding wire, the easier it is to fully melt the alloy in the welding wire during welding, and the faster the melting speed is.”).
Landis teaches a submerged arc welding method (col 9 lines 4-6 “layer of granular flux”) wherein the stick-out is adjusted to increase the electrode temperature by resistance heating, and thereby increase the melt rate and welding speed (col 1 line 43-col 2 line 6). Landis teaches that stick-out lengths of up to 8 inches may be desirable (see Fig 5). Landis teaches that increasing the stick-out may be beneficial with welding wire having a diameter of up to 1/8 inch (col 11 line 71-col 12 line 11). Landis teaches a stick-out to diameter ratio exceeding 30, up to 85 (see Fig 5, 8” stick-out/(3/32” diameter) = 85.3).
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the extension portion of Yang to have different embodiments to accommodate various wire diameters and stick-outs applicable to submerged arc welding for different applications, as taught by Landis, including a wire diameter of up to 1/8 inch (3.25 mm), stick-outs up to 8 inches (203 mm), and stick-out to diameter ratios of up to 85. Since Landis teaches a stick-out of up to 203 mm, and Yang teaches that the extension portion is 25 mm shorter than the stick-out, the combination teaches that the extension portion may be up to 178 mm long.
Regarding claim 3, Yang as modified by the dimension of Landis teaches:
the insulating sleeve is formed of a ceramic material (Yang ¶19 “ceramic insulating guide tube 5”).
Regarding claim 6, Yang as modified by the dimension of Landis teaches:
the electrode assembly is configured for the electrical stick-out distance exceeding 125 mm (see combination statement with Landis, up to 203 mm).
Regarding claim 9, Yang as modified by the dimension of Landis teaches:
a width of the non-magnetic steel-based envelope (4) tapers inwards towards the second end (left end in Yang Fig 1) of the non-magnetic steel-based envelope (Yang ¶21 “The outer end of the stainless steel sleeve 4 is also designed to be tapered, which facilitates the flow of flux to the melting part of the welding wire”).
Regarding claim 10, Yang as modified by the dimension of Landis teaches:
the electrode assembly is configured to achieve a deposition rate per current exceeding 0.05 lbs./hr./A during welding.
According to Landis Fig 5:
At 800 Amps (line B) and about 5 inches of stick-out, 2 pounds per minute can be deposited. This is 120 pounds per hour, or 0.12 lb./hr./A..
Regarding claim 11, Yang as modified by the dimension of Landis teaches:
the electrode assembly is configured to achieve a deposition rate exceeding 35 lbs./hr. (60 pounds/hr., see example for claim 10, from Landis Fig 5) at a current (800 A) less than 900A during welding.
Regarding claim 12, Yang as modified by the dimension of Landis teaches:
the electrode assembly is configured to drop at least 5% of a total voltage drop across a distance between the head portion and the arcing tip of the consumable electrode (The voltage drop is affected by many factors, including some external to the electrode assembly. As to the electrode assembly, Landis’ teaching of an insulated extension portion having a length up to 8 inches supports this function.).
Regarding claim 13, Yang as modified by the dimension of Landis teaches:
the electrode assembly is configured to heat the consumable electrode by Joule heating within the extension portion to a temperature up to 800°C. (The temperature is affected by many factors, including some external to the electrode assembly, see Landis col 9 lines 1-44. As to the electrode assembly, Landis’ teaching of an insulated extension portion having a length up to 8 inches supports this function.)
Regarding claim 35, Yang as modified by the dimensions of Landis teaches:
the second end (left end in Yang Fig 1) of the insulating sleeve (Yang 5) is substantially coextensive with the second end of the non-magnetic steel-based envelope (Yang 4, although the envelope 4 extends slightly past the sleeve 5 to capture it, this is within the allowable variance for “substantially” coextensive).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 202555950 U) in view of Landis (US 2,721,249) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Offer (US 5,958,261).
Regarding claim 4, Yang as modified by the dimension of Landis does not teach:
the insulating sleeve and the non-magnetic steel-based envelope are held together by an adhesive layer.
Yang teaches that the envelope (stainless steel sleeve 4) partially surrounds the second (left) end of the insulating sleeve (ceramic insulating guide tube 5) but is otherwise silent on how the sleeve and the envelope are attached together.
Offer teaches bonding by brazing (col 7 lines 1-16, “bonding (such as braze)…sheet material pinched or bonded”) as a way of connecting a stainless steel (col 6 lines 49-54) hot wire feed tube sheath 68 to an interior or exterior insulation, such as a ceramic insulation (col 7 lines 12-14).
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the extension portion of Yang by including an adhesive layer in the form of a brazed, i.e. a metallic, connection between the ceramic tube 5 and the stainless steel envelope 4 to obtain the benefit of securely attaching them.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 202555950 U) in view of Landis (US 2,721,249) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Zhao (CN 208961189 U).
Regarding claim 15, Yang as modified by the dimensions of Landis does not teach:
the insulating sleeve is formed of a ceramic material selected from the group consisting of silicon nitride, magnesia-stabilized zirconia, yttria-stabilized zirconia, silicon carbide, magnesium oxide, alumina, or a zirconia-toughened alumina.
Yang teaches that the ceramic guide tube provides both electrical and thermal insulation (¶19), but is silent on the specific type of ceramic.
Zhao teaches a ceramic guide tube 7 for a submerged arc welding (¶55) to provide preheating by increasing the extension of the welding wire (¶38). “The ceramic tube is made of alumina, which ensures its insulation, high temperature resistance, wear resistance and high strength” (¶53).
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the electrode assembly of Yang by making the ceramic insulating guide tube 5 out of alumina to obtain the benefits of insulation, high temperature resistance, wear resistance and high strength.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 202555950 U) in view of Landis (US 2,721,249) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Alberini (US 20180093343).
Regarding claim 16, Yang does not disclose:
a flux delivery system fixedly attached to the extension portion and configured such that the flux delivery system does not limit a lower limit of a width of a groove of a workpiece the extension portion is capable of being inserted into.
Yang teaches submerged arc welding (¶4), and that the extension portion is tapered for “facilitating flux flow” (¶12), but is silent on delivering the flux.
Alberini teaches:
a submerged arc welding torch (abstract), specially adapted for narrow grooves (¶8), wherein a narrow delivery duct 8 (¶28 Note that “flow” appears to be a mistranslation of a term for flux. Nonetheless, the purpose of the duct is clear because the torch is specified for submerged arc welding.) is arranged in parallel and fixedly attached (not that the spring mentioned are at the top, see Fig 3, and the torch tilts as a whole, relative to the springs, ¶32) to a welding wire guide 13 (¶30) by pins (see Fig 4). The overall torch is narrow (see Fig 3) to fit into the groove, and the delivery duct does not protrude outward from the overall torch (see Fig 3).
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode assembly of Yang by including a narrow delivery duct fixedly attached to the wire guide, i.e., extension portion, as taught by Alberini, to obtain the benefit of delivering flux to enable submerged arc welding, and to allow welding in narrow grooves.
Claims 17, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 202555950 U) in view of Alberini (US 20180093343).
Regarding claim 17, Yang discloses:
An electrode assembly for submerged arc welding, comprising:
a head portion (conductive rod 2 with conductive nozzle 3, ¶19); an extension portion (ceramic insulating guide tube 5 together with stainless steel sleeve 4) arranged serially with the head portion in a wire feed direction (see Fig 1),
wherein the head portion and the extension portion are configured to feed a consumable electrode therethrough (¶19, “The welding wire 7 is fed out by the wire feeder 1 and passes through the conductive rod 2, the conductive nozzle 3, and the ceramic insulating guide tube 5 in sequence”), wherein the extension portion is configured to be disposed closer to an arcing tip (left end of wire 7 in Fig 1) of the consumable electrode relative to the head portion and comprises:
an envelope (stainless steel sleeve 4, ¶21) formed of a nonmagnetic material (common stainless steels are not magnetic); and an insulating sleeve (ceramic insulating guide tube 5, ¶12) disposed within the envelope and comprising a solid insulating material (ceramic) configured to surround the consumable electrode (¶20 “Generally, the diameter of the ceramic insulating guide tube 5 is designed to be about 0.3 mm larger than the diameter of the welding wire.”)…
Yang does not disclose:
a flux delivery system fixedly attached to the extension portion and configured such that the flux delivery system does not limit a lower limit of a width of a groove of a workpiece that the extension portion is capable of being inserted into.
Yang teaches submerged arc welding (¶4), and that the extension portion is tapered for “facilitating flux flow” (¶12), but is silent on delivering the flux.
Alberini teaches:
a submerged arc welding torch (abstract), specially adapted for narrow grooves (¶8), wherein a narrow delivery duct 8 (¶28 Note that “flow” appears to be a mistranslation of a term for flux. Nonetheless, the purpose of the duct is clear because the torch is specified for submerged arc welding.) is arranged in parallel and fixedly attached (not that the spring mentioned are at the top, see Fig 3, and the torch tilts as a whole, relative to the springs, ¶32) to a welding wire guide 13 (¶30) by pins (see Fig 4). The overall torch is narrow (see Fig 3) to fit into the groove, and the delivery duct does not protrude outward from the overall torch (see Fig 3).
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode assembly of Yang by including a narrow delivery duct fixedly attached to the wire guide, i.e., extension portion, as taught by Alberini, to obtain the benefit of delivering flux to enable submerged arc welding, and to allow welding in narrow grooves.
Regarding claim 18, Yang as modified by the duct of Alberini teaches:
the extension portion (Yang 4, 5) comprises opposing first (right end in Yang Fig 1) and second (left end in Yang Fig 1) ends separated in the wire (7) feed direction,
the head portion (Yang 2, 3) comprises a contact tip portion (conductive nozzle 3) configured to apply a voltage and pass current (indicated by arrows in Yang Fig 1, Yang ¶4 “contact tip,” ¶4 and ¶6 provide sufficient context) to the consumable electrode (7) and configured to be proximal to the first end of the extension portion and distal to the second end of the extension portion,
when the consumable electrode (7) is fed through the electrode assembly, the arcing tip (end of 7 adjacent 6) of the consumable electrode is configured to be proximal to the second end (left end in Yang Fig 1) of the extension portion and distal to the first end of the extension portion, and
the extension portion (Yang 4, 5) is disposed between the arcing tip (end of 7 adjacent 6) and the contact tip portion (3).
Regarding claim 21, Yang as modified by the duct of Alberini teaches:
the solid insulating material comprises a ceramic material (Yang ¶19 “ceramic insulating guide tube”).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 202555950 U) in view of Alberini (US 20180093343) as applied to claim 17, and further in view of Landis (US 2,721,249).
Regarding claim 19, Yang as modified by duct of Alberini does not teach:
the electrode assembly is configured for an electrical stick-out distance, measured between the contact tip portion and the arcing tip of the consumable electrode, exceeding 125 mm.
Yang is silent as to the specific length of the extension portion and diameter of the wire, but does teach that “[t]he length of the ceramic insulating guide tube 5 is approximately 25mm less than the required welding wire elongation” (¶20) and “[t]he diameter of the bore in the ceramic insulating guide tube is equal to the diameter of the welding wire plus 0.3 mm” (¶10). Thus, the length can be selected as required to generate the needed preheat (¶4 “The greater the current and the longer the welding wire extends, the higher the temperature generated. The higher the temperature of the welding wire, the easier it is to fully melt the alloy in the welding wire during welding, and the faster the melting speed is.”).
Landis teaches a submerged arc welding method (col 9 lines 4-6 “layer of granular flux”) wherein the stick-out is adjusted to increase the electrode temperature by resistance heating, and thereby increase the melt rate and welding speed (col 1 line 43-col 2 line 6). Landis teaches that stick-out lengths of up to 8 inches may be desirable (see Fig 5). Landis teaches that increasing the stick-out may be beneficial with welding wire having a diameter of up to 1/8 inch (col 11 line 71-col 12 line 11). Landis teaches a stick-out to diameter ratio exceeding 30, up to 85 (see Fig 5, 8” stick-out/(3/32” diameter) = 85.3).
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the extension portion of Yang to have different embodiments to accommodate various wire diameters and stick-outs applicable to submerged arc welding for different applications, as taught by Landis, including a wire diameter of up to 1/8 inch (3.25 mm), stick-outs up to 8 inches (203 mm), and stick-out to diameter ratios of up to 85. Since Landis teaches a stick-out of up to 203 mm, and Yang teaches that the extension portion is 25 mm shorter than the stick-out, the combination teaches that the extension portion may be up to 178 mm long.
Regarding claim 20, Yang as modified by duct of Alberini and the dimensions of Landis teaches:
the extension portion has a length greater than 100 (up to 178 mm, as described in the combination statement above).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 202555950 U) in view of Alberini (US 20180093343) as applied to claim 17, and further in view of Offer (US 5,958,261).
Regarding claim 22, Yang as modified by the duct of Alberini does not teach:
the insulating sleeve is fixedly attached to the envelope by an adhesive layer that comprises a brazed metallic joint.
Yang teaches that the envelope (stainless steel sleeve 4) partially surrounds the second (left) end of the insulating sleeve (ceramic insulating guide tube 5) but is otherwise silent on how the sleeve and the envelope are attached together.
Offer teaches bonding by brazing (col 7 lines 1-16, “bonding (such as braze)…sheet material pinched or bonded”) as a way of connecting a stainless steel (col 6 lines 49-54) hot wire feed tube sheath 68 to an interior or exterior insulation, such as a ceramic insulation (col 7 lines 12-14).
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the extension portion of Yang by including an adhesive layer in the form of a brazed, i.e. a metallic, connection between the ceramic tube 5 and the stainless steel envelope 4 to obtain the benefit of securely attaching them.
Claims 24, 28, 29, 33, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 202555950 U) in view of Offer (US 5,958,261).
Regarding claim 24, Yang discloses:
An extension portion configured for a submerged arc welding (¶2 “submerged arc,” ¶21 “flow of flux”) electrode assembly, the extension portion comprising:
an envelope (“stainless steel sleeve 4,” ¶18) formed of a nonmagnetic material (common stainless steels are not magnetic); and
an insulating sleeve (“ceramic insulating guide tube 5,” ¶21) disposed within the envelope and comprising a solid insulating material (ceramic) configured to surround a consumable electrode (¶10 “The diameter of the bore in the ceramic insulating guide tube is equal to the diameter of the welding wire plus 0.3 mm.”),…
wherein the extension portion is configured to be arranged serially with a head portion (conductive nozzle 3) of the electrode assembly and to receive the consumable electrode from the head portion (¶19 “The welding wire 7 is fed out by the wire feeder 1 and passes through the conductive rod 2, the conductive nozzle 3, and the ceramic insulating guide tube 5”),
wherein the insulating sleeve and the envelope each have a first end (right end in Fig 1) and a second end (left end in Fig 1) that are separated in a wire feed direction,
wherein the first ends are configured to be proximal to the head portion (3) and the second ends are configured to be distal to the head portion, and
wherein the second end of the insulating sleeve (5) does not extend past the second end of the envelope (4) toward the arcing tip (metal envelope 4 encases and extends slightly beyond ceramic insulating sleeve 5).
Yang does not disclose:
the insulating sleeve and the envelope are held together by an adhesive layer
Yang teaches that the envelope (stainless steel sleeve 4) partially surrounds the second (left) end of the insulating sleeve (ceramic insulating guide tube 5) but is otherwise silent on how the sleeve and the envelope are attached together.
Offer teaches bonding by brazing (col 7 lines 1-16, “bonding (such as braze)…sheet material pinched or bonded”) as a way of connecting a stainless steel (col 6 lines 49-54) hot wire feed tube sheath 68 to an interior or exterior insulation, such as a ceramic insulation (col 7 lines 12-14).
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the extension portion of Yang by including an adhesive layer in the form of a brazed connection between the ceramic tube 5 and the stainless steel envelope 4 to obtain the benefit of securely attaching them.
Regarding claim 28, Yang as modified by the adhesive layer of Offer teaches:
the insulating sleeve is formed of a ceramic material (¶19 “ceramic insulating guide tube”).
Regarding claim 29, Yang as modified by the adhesive layer of Offer teaches:
the envelope is formed of a substantially non-magnetic steel-based material (“stainless steel sleeve 4,” ¶18. Common stainless steels are not magnetic.).
Regarding claim 33, Yang as modified by the adhesive layer of Offer teaches:
wherein the extension portion has a maximum width (of the cylindrical portion) and wherein a width of the extension portion at the second end is less than the maximum width (¶21 “The outer end of the stainless steel sleeve 4 is also designed to be tapered, which facilitates the flow of flux to the melting part of the welding wire, effectively protects the weld layer, prevents harmful gases from entering the weld layer, and prevents arc light from being exposed.”).
Regarding claim 34, Yang as modified by the adhesive layer of Offer teaches:
the second end (left end in Yang Fig 1) of the insulating sleeve (Yang 5) is substantially coextensive with the second end of the envelope (Yang 4, although the envelope 4 extends slightly past the sleeve 5 to capture it, this is within the allowable variance for “substantially” coextensive).
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 202555950 U) in view of Offer (US 5,958,261), as applied to claim 24, and further in view of Landis (US 2,721,249).
Regarding claim 25, Yang as modified by the adhesive layer of Offer does not teach:
the extension portion has a length greater than 100 mm.
Yang is silent as to the specific length of the extension portion and diameter of the wire, but does teach that “[t]he length of the ceramic insulating guide tube 5 is approximately 25mm less than the required welding wire elongation” (¶20) and “[t]he diameter of the bore in the ceramic insulating guide tube is equal to the diameter of the welding wire plus 0.3 mm” (¶10). Thus, the length can be selected as required to generate the needed preheat (¶4 “The greater the current and the longer the welding wire extends, the higher the temperature generated. The higher the temperature of the welding wire, the easier it is to fully melt the alloy in the welding wire during welding, and the faster the melting speed is.”).
Landis teaches a submerged arc welding method (col 9 lines 4-6 “layer of granular flux”) wherein the stick-out is adjusted to increase the electrode temperature by resistance heating, and thereby increase the melt rate and welding speed (col 1 line 43-col 2 line 6). Landis teaches that stick-out lengths of up to 8 inches may be desirable (see Fig 5). Landis teaches that increasing the stick-out may be beneficial with welding wire having a diameter of up to 1/8 inch (col 11 line 71-col 12 line 11). Landis teaches a stick-out to diameter ratio exceeding 30, up to 85 (see Fig 5, 8” stick-out/(3/32” diameter) = 85.3).
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the extension portion of Yang to have different embodiments to accommodate various wire diameters and stick-outs applicable to submerged arc welding for different applications, as taught by Landis, including a wire diameter of up to 1/8 inch (3.25 mm), stick-outs up to 8 inches (203 mm), and stick-out to diameter ratios of up to 85. Since Landis teaches a stick-out of up to 203 mm, and Yang teaches that the extension portion is 25 mm shorter than the stick-out, the combination teaches that the extension portion may be up to 178 mm long.
Regarding claim 26, Yang as modified by the adhesive layer of Offer and the dimensions of Landis teaches:
the extension portion is configured for a diameter of the consumable electrode exceeding 3 mm (as taught by Landis col 11 line 71-col 12 line 11).
Conclusion
/TOPAZ L. ELLIOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761