Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 27 March 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Acknowledgment
Response filed on 18 November 2025 has been entered. Applicant has amended claims 1, 8, 11, and 20, added claim 21, and canceled claims 3-6, 9-10. Claims 1-2, 7-8, and 11-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 18 November 2025 have been considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Zhai does not disclose the amended limitations of claim 1 including a color filter layer comprising color filter units and a black matrix. The additional art of Leng was relied upon to disclose these features. Further, Leng discloses the relative heights between first and second portions of the light blocking structures and the second light blocking structure occupying the gap between first and second color filter units.
Applicant asserts claim 1 with Schemes I and II, where Zhai in view of Leng does not disclose two separate critical emergence angles in the first light blocking structure as part of Scheme I. Examiner agrees that Zhai in view of Leng does not disclose Scheme I.
Applicant further asserts that Leng discloses light blocking structures within a single display area for differing color pixels. Zhai discloses separate regions in the display area as shown in fig. 7 (where the outer column pixel regions include the additional isolation element 30). Zhai in view of the Leng provides light blocking elements of Leng in the different portions of the display area of Zhai.
Applicant further asserts Leng fig. 6 does not disclose Scheme I and Leng fig. 7 does not disclose Scheme II. However, it is from Leng fig. 6 that the elements of Scheme II are disclosed as claimed in claim 1, as the second condition after ‘or’ does not include the color filter layer with stacks of multiple color filter layers.
Applicant further asserts that Zhai and Leng do not disclose the light-blocking structure includes two stacked color filters with different colors. The reference Wu was relied upon, disclosing the light blocking structure (shown in fig. 13) comprised of black matrix 520 and layers 542a-542c, “the first photoresist 542 a is made of the same material and during the same manufacturing process as the first color filter unit 530 a. The second photoresist 542 b is made of the same material and during the same manufacturing process as the second color filter unit 530 b. The third photoresist 542 c is made of the same material and during the same manufacturing process as the third color filter unit 530 c” (Wu ¶42). Therefore, Zhai in view of Leng and Wu does disclose the black matrix and two-color filter layers making the light blocking structure. While Wu does not disclose widths for this overlap, the overlapping width of the color filter within a given pixel region disclosed by Leng shows this difference in width.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, 12, 17-18, and 20-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai et al. US PGPUB No. 20190237523 (hereinafter Zhai) in view of Leng CN113299721A (hereinafter Leng).
Regarding claim 1, Zhai discloses (fig. 1-15) a display panel, comprising:
a display region (AA) and a non-display region (BB) (¶38),
wherein the display region comprises a first display region and a second display region, and the second display region is located between the first display region and the non-display region (where the first display region is the inner columns where the OLED are disposed in the openings 11 and the second display area includes the outer columns where some pixels include an isolation element 30, figs. 2-3 ¶39-41);
a substrate (00, ¶33, 36);
a light-emitting device layer (21, ¶33-37) located on a side of the substrate (00),
wherein the light-emitting device layer (21) comprises light-emitting devices (OLED with light emitting material 212, ¶34-37),
the light-emitting devices comprise a first light-emitting device (a subpixel 20 from an inner column, fig. 2 ¶33-35) and a second light-emitting device (a subpixel 20 from the outer column, fig. 2 ¶33-35),
the first light-emitting device is located in the first display region (fig. 2, where the inner columns are the first display area), and
the second light-emitting device is located in the second display region (fig. 2, where the outer columns are the second display area).
Zhai does not disclose light-blocking structures located on a side of the light-emitting device layer away from the substrate,
wherein the light-blocking structures comprise a first light-blocking structure and a second light-blocking structure,
the first light-blocking structure is provided adjacent to the first light-emitting device, and the second light-blocking structure is provided adjacent to the second light-emitting device; and a color filter layer located on the side of the light-emitting device layer away from the substrate, wherein the color filter layer comprises a black matrix and color filter units,
wherein a thickness of the first light-blocking structure is greater than a thickness of the second light-blocking structure, the first light-blocking structure comprises a stacking structure consisting of the black matrix and a color filter portion, the color filter portion is located on a side of the black matrix away from the substrate, the color filter portion comprises the color filter units, the color filter portion comprises a first stacking structure consisting of the color filter units of at least two colors, and the second light-blocking structure comprises the black matrix, in the first light-blocking structure, the color filter portion corresponds to a critical emergence angle 61 of the first light-emitting device, and the black matrix corresponds to a first critical emergence angle 6o of the first light-emitting device, which satisfy: θ1 < θo,
or, a height of the first light-blocking structure is higher than a height of the second light-blocking structure, the light-blocking structure comprises the black matrix, a height of the black matrix in the first light- blocking structure is greater than a height of the black matrix in the second light-blocking structure, and a layer of the color filter units is located on a side of a layer of the black matrix adjacent to the substrate, and the first light-blocking structure overlaps with the color filter units, and a gap is formed between two color filter units that are adjacent to the second light-blocking structure, and the second light-blocking structure is located in the gap.
In the same field of endeavor, Leng discloses (figs. 1-12) light-blocking structures (70, Leng 3:52) located on a side of the light-emitting device layer away from the substrate,
wherein the light-blocking structures comprise a first light-blocking structure (72 or 73, Leng 3:54) and a second light-blocking structure (71, Leng 3:54), the first light-blocking structure (72 or 73) is provided adjacent to the first light-emitting device (P2, Leng 3:55-59), and the second light-blocking structure (71) is provided adjacent to the second light-emitting device (P1, Leng 3:55-59); and
a color filter layer located on the side of the light-emitting device layer away from the substrate, wherein the color filter layer comprises a black matrix and color filter units (Leng 7:1-3, figs. 6 or 7, where the light-blocking structures 70 are the black matrix and are within the color filter layer 80 opposite the substrate on the outside of the light-emitting device region),
wherein a thickness of the first light-blocking structure is greater than a thickness of the second light-blocking structure, the first light-blocking structure comprises a stacking structure consisting of the black matrix and a color filter portion, the color filter portion is located on a side of the black matrix away from the substrate, the color filter portion comprises the color filter units, the color filter portion comprises a first stacking structure consisting of the color filter units of at least two colors, and the second light-blocking structure comprises the black matrix, in the first light-blocking structure, the color filter portion corresponds to a critical emergence angle θ1 of the first light-emitting device, and the black matrix corresponds to a first critical emergence angle θo of the first light-emitting device, which satisfy: θ1 < θo,
or, (Leng discloses this second condition) a height of the first light-blocking structure is higher than a height of the second light-blocking structure (where the thickness/height 72/70 is h2 and 71/70 is h1, and h2>h1, Leng 3:58-59),
the light-blocking structure comprises the black matrix, a height of the black matrix in the first light- blocking structure is greater than a height of the black matrix in the second light-blocking structure, and
a layer of the color filter units is located on a side of a layer of the black matrix adjacent to the substrate, and the first light-blocking structure overlaps with the color filter units (a layer of color filter units 80 are on the substrate side of the black matrix 70 with 72/70 overlapping 82/80, Leng fig. 3/5 or 6),
and a gap is formed between two color filter units that are adjacent to the second light-blocking structure, and the second light-blocking structure is located in the gap (Leng fig. 6, where a gap is explicitly shown and the black matrix portion 71/70 of the second light blocking structure occupies this space between two color filter units 81/80 and 82/80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the display panel of Zhai to include light blocking elements disclosed by Leng between light-emitting devices in the adjacent, improving device performance by increasing contrast between adjacent light-emitting elements.
Regarding claim 2, Zhai in view of Leng discloses the display panel according to claim 1.
Leng discloses wherein a critical emergence angle θ1 of the first light-emitting device and a critical emergence angle θ2 of the second light-emitting device satisfy: θ1 <θ2. (Leng fig. 3, 5:38-45, where Leng discloses θ1 as the largest angle due to the shortest light blocking element with height h1).
Regarding claim 8, Zhai in view of Leng discloses the display panel according to claim 1,
wherein the color filter layer comprises a black matrix and color filter units (Leng 7:1-3, fig. 5, where the light-blocking structures such as 72/70 are the black matrix and are within the color filter layer opposite the substrate on the outside of the light-emitting device region);
the light-blocking structure comprises the black matrix; and a thickness of the black matrix in the first light-blocking structure is greater than a thickness of the black matrix in the second light-blocking structure (where 72/70 has thickness h2 greater than the thickness h1 of 71/70, Leng fig. 5, 3:58-59).
Regarding claim 12, Zhai in view of Leng discloses the display panel according to claim 1.
Leng discloses wherein the display region further comprises a transition display region located between the first display region and the second display region;
the light-emitting devices further comprise a third light-emitting device located in the transition display region (Leng figs. 1, 11, where the column of third light-emitting devices P2 is the transition region between the first display region, shown as a column of light-emitting devices P3, and the second display region is a column of light-emitting devices P1);
the light-blocking structures further comprise a third light-blocking structure adjacent to the third light-emitting device (Leng, fig. 11, where 72 is the third light-blocking structure); and
the display panel further comprises a color filter layer located on the side of the light-emitting device layer away from the substrate, and the color filter layer comprises a black matrix and color filter units (Leng 7:1-3, where the light-blocking structures such 71, 72, and are the black matrix and are within the color filter layer 80 opposite the substrate on the outside of the light-emitting device region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the display region of Zhai modified by Leng in claim 1 to include a third display region in repeating column arrangement, reducing cost of manufacture by simplifying the repeated pattern of light-blocking structures.
Regarding claim 17, Zhai in view of Leng discloses the display panel according to claim 1,
wherein the light-emitting device layer further comprises a pixel definition layer (10, Zhai ¶33), the pixel definition layer provides openings (11, Zhai ¶33) in which the light-emitting devices are located, and the light-blocking structure overlaps with the pixel definition layer (Zhai fig 3).
Regarding claim 18, Zhai in view of Leng discloses the display panel according to claim 2,
wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a first color first light-emitting device; the second light-emitting device comprises a first color second light-emitting device; the light-emitting color of the first color first light-emitting device and the light-emitting color of the first color second light-emitting device are the same (Zhai fig. 2, where the pixels repeat in the same pattern of colors, such as with the first and third column R, G, B, where the first column is the second display area and the third column is the first display area).
Regarding claim 20, Zhai discloses a display apparatus (1000, ¶71), comprising a display panel (1001, ¶71), wherein the display panel according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, Zhai discloses A display panel (1001, ¶71), comprising:
a display region (AA) and a non-display region (BB) (¶38), wherein the display region comprises a first display region and a second display region, and the second display region is located between the first display region and the non-display region (where the first display region is the inner columns where the OLED are disposed in the openings 11 and the second display area includes the outer columns where some pixels include an isolation element 30, figs. 2-3 ¶39-41);
a substrate (00, ¶33, 36);
a light-emitting device layer (21, ¶33-37) located on a side of the substrate (00), wherein the light-emitting device layer (21) comprises light-emitting devices (OLED with light emitting material 212, ¶34-37), the light-emitting devices comprise a first light-emitting device (a subpixel 20 from an inner column, fig. 2 ¶33-35) and a second light-emitting device (a subpixel 20 from the outer column, fig. 2 ¶33-35), the first light-emitting device is located in the first display region (fig. 2, where the inner columns are the first display area), and the second light-emitting device is located in the second display region (fig. 2, where the outer columns are the second display area); wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a first color first light-emitting device; the second light-emitting device comprises a first color second light-emitting device; the light-emitting color of the first color first light-emitting device and the light-emitting color of the first color second light-emitting device are the same. (fig. 2, where pixel elements from first light-emitting device in the central columns produce the same number of each color output as the light-emitting device elements of the outer columns).
Zhai does not disclose light-blocking structures located on a side of the light-emitting device layer away from the substrate, wherein the light-blocking structures comprise a first light-blocking structure and a second light-blocking structure, the first light-blocking structure is provided adjacent to the first light-emitting device, and the second light-blocking structure is provided adjacent to the second light-emitting device; wherein a thickness of the first light-blocking structure is greater than a thickness of the second light-blocking structure, or a height of the first light-blocking structure is higher than a height of the second light-blocking structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Leng discloses (figs. 1-12) light-blocking structures (70, Leng 3:52) located on a side of the light-emitting device layer away from the substrate,
wherein the light-blocking structures comprise a first light-blocking structure (72 or 73, Leng 3:54) and a second light-blocking structure (71, Leng 3:54), the first light-blocking structure (72 or 73) is provided adjacent to the first light-emitting device (P2, Leng 3:55-59), and the second light-blocking structure (71) is provided adjacent to the second light-emitting device (P1, Leng 3:55-59);
wherein a thickness of the first light-blocking structure is greater than a thickness of the second light-blocking structure, or a height of the first light-blocking structure is higher than a height of the second light-blocking structure (where the thickness/height 72/70 is h2 and 71/70 is h1, and h2>h1, Leng 3:58-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the display panel of Zhai to include light blocking elements between light-emitting devices, improving device performance by increasing contrast between adjacent light-emitting elements.
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai and Leng in view of Kim et al. US PGPUB No. 20180182814 (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 7, Zhai in view of Leng discloses the display panel according to claim 1,
wherein the first light-blocking structure comprises a stacking structure consisting of the black matrix and a color filter portion (Leng fig. 6, where black matrix 72/70 is stacked on color filter 82/80).
Zhai in view of Leng does not disclose a color filter unit with a largest distance from the black matrix among the color filter units of the color filter portion is a red color filter unit or a blue color filter unit.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses (fig. 8), a stack of color filter units, where a color filter unit with a largest distance from the black matrix among the color filter units of the color filter portion is a red color filter unit or a blue color filter unit (Kim fig. 8 ¶70, where the third filter color CF3 is furthest from the black matrix 294, Kim ¶73, and “the light of the third color may be blue light.” Kim ¶70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the color filter stack to be arranged as disclosed by Kim, improving device output by having the outer most color filter in the first light-blocking structure cover wavelengths toward the outside of the visible spectrum.
Claims 11 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai in view of Leng and Cao US PGPUB No. 20190163011 (hereinafter Cao).
Regarding claim 11, Zhai in view of Leng discloses the display panel according to claim 1,
wherein a height of the black matrix in the first light-blocking structure is greater than a height of the black matrix in the second light-blocking structure (where 72/70 has height h2 greater than the height h1 of 71/70, 3:58-59);
in a region where the first light-blocking structure is located, a color filter unit of the color filter units has a first surface and a first side surface, the first surface is a surface at a side of the color filter unit away from the substrate, the first side surface is connected to the first surface, and the first side surface and the first surface jointly form an angle (Leng fig. 6, where 82/80 forms an angle at the left side where the second light-blocking structure occupies the gap between adjacent color filters). Leng discloses covering a first surface (Leng fig. 6) or a side surface (Leng fig. 7), but not both within the same embodiment.
Therefore, Zhai in view of Leng does not disclose the first light-blocking structure covers at least a portion of the first surface and at least a portion of the first side surface [of the color filter].
In the same field of endeavor, Cao discloses (figs. 1-5) the first light-blocking structure (3, Cao ¶33-34) covers at least a portion of the first surface (21 Cao ¶37) and at least a portion of the first side surface (side below 21, Cao fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the black matrix partially overlapping the color filter as disclosed by Cao, reducing cost by reducing total device thickness while maintaining light-blocking between adjacent pixels.
Regarding claim 16, Zhai in view of Leng discloses the display panel according to claim 12,
wherein the light-blocking structure comprises the black matrix (Leng 7:1-3, where the light-blocking structures 70 are the black matrix);
the first light-blocking structure (73/70) and the third light-blocking structure (72/70) each overlap with the color filter unit (Leng fig. 11, Leng 11:4-8, where light-blocking structures 73 and 72 are shown over color filters); and
a width of the first light-blocking structure is greater than a width of the third light-blocking structure (Leng fig. 11, where b is the non-overlapped region of the third-light blocking structure and c is the non-overlapped region of the first light-blocking structure. As b > c, Leng 11:9-12, the overlap width of the first structure is greater than the third).
Zhai in view of Leng does not disclose a layer of the color filter unit is located on a side of a layer of the black matrix adjacent to the substrate;
In the same field of endeavor, Cao discloses (figs. 1-5) a layer of the color filter unit (23 and 24, Cao ¶45) located on a side of a layer of the black matrix adjacent to the substrate (1, Cao ¶33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply color filter units on a side of the black matrix, adjacent to the substrate as disclosed by Cao for the third light-blocking structure, reducing cost by reducing total device thickness while maintaining light-blocking between adjacent pixels.
Claims 13-14, and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai in view of Leng and Wu US PGPUB No. 20160349419 (hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 13, Zhai in view of Leng discloses the display panel according to claim 12,
wherein the second light-blocking structure comprises the black matrix (Leng fig. 6, 7:1-3, where 71/70 extends to the encapsulation layer 60 through 81/80).
Zhai in view of Leng does not disclose wherein the first light-blocking structure comprises a stacking structure consisting of the black matrix and the color filter units of three colors; the third light-blocking structure comprises a stacking structure consisting of the black matrix and the color filter units of two colors.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu discloses (figs. 7 and 13) wherein the first light-blocking structure (520 and 540) comprises a stacking structure consisting of the black matrix (520) and the color filter units of three colors (542a, 542b, 542c) (Wu, fig. 11, ¶42); the third light-blocking structure (320 and 340) comprises a stacking structure consisting of the black matrix (320) and the color filter units of two colors (342a and 342b) (Wu fig. 7 ¶34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use stack the photoresist color filter modules of Wu to form the height of the light-blocking structures of Zhai modified by Leng, " improving efficiency of manufacturing the color filter substrate and improving a display uniformity of the display panel," Wu ¶49).
Regarding claim 14, Zhai in view of Leng discloses the display panel according to claim 12.
Leng discloses wherein a width of an overlapping region of each of the color filter units in the first light-blocking structure is greater than a width of an overlapping region of each of the color filter units in the third light-blocking structure (Leng fig. 11, where b is the non-overlapped region of the third-light blocking structure and c is the non-overlapped region of the first light-blocking structure. As b > c, Leng 11:9-12, the overlap width of the first structure is greater than the third).
Leng also discloses the second light-blocking structure comprises the black matrix (Leng fig. 6, where 71/70 extends to the encapsulation layer 60 through 81/80). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the black matrix as the second light-blocking structure without additional height from portions of the color filter, improving device performance by maximizing viewing angle of pixels in the second display region.
Zhai in view of Leng does not disclose the first light-blocking structure and the third light-blocking structure each comprises a stacking structure consisting of the black matrix and color filter units of at least two colors.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu discloses (figs. 7 and 13) the first light-blocking structure (520 and 540, Wu fig. 11 ¶42) and the third light-blocking structure (320 and 340, Wu fig. 7 ¶34) each comprises a stacking structure consisting of the black matrix (520 for the first light-blocking structure, and 320 for the third light-blocking structure) and color filter units of at least two colors (542a, 542b, 542c for the first light-blocking structure, Wu ¶42, and 342a, 342b for the third light-blocking structure, Wu ¶34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use stack the photoresist color filter modules of Wu to form the height of the light-blocking structures of Zhai modified by Leng, " improving efficiency of manufacturing the color filter substrate and improving a display uniformity of the display panel," Wu ¶49).
Regarding claim 19, Zhai discloses a display panel (1001, ¶71), comprising:
a display region (AA) and a non-display region (BB) (¶38), wherein the display region comprises a first display region and a second display region, and the second display region is located between the first display region and the non-display region (where the first display region is the inner columns where the OLED are disposed in the openings 11 and the second display area includes the outer columns where some pixels include an isolation element 30, figs. 2-3 ¶39-41);
a substrate (00, ¶33, 36);
a light-emitting device layer (21, ¶33-37) located on a side of the substrate (00), wherein the light-emitting device layer (21) comprises light-emitting devices (OLED with light emitting material 212, ¶34-37), the light-emitting devices comprise a first light-emitting device (a subpixel 20 from an inner column, fig. 2 ¶33-35) and a second light-emitting device (a subpixel 20 from the outer column, fig. 2 ¶33-35), the first light-emitting device is located in the first display region (fig. 2, where the inner columns are the first display area), and the second light-emitting device is located in the second display region (fig. 2, where the outer columns are the second display area);
Zhai does not disclose light-blocking structures located on a side of the light-emitting device layer away from the substrate, wherein the light-blocking structures comprise a first light-blocking structure and a second light-blocking structure, the first light-blocking structure is provided adjacent to the first light-emitting device, and the second light-blocking structure is provided adjacent to the second light-emitting device; and a color filter layer located on the side of the light-emitting device layer away from the substrate, the color filter layer comprising a black matrix and color filter units;
wherein the light-blocking structure comprises a stacking structure consisting of the black matrix and the color filter units of at least two colors; and
a width of an overlapping region of each of the color filter units in the first light-blocking structure is greater than a width of an overlapping region of each of the color filter units in the second light-blocking structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Leng discloses (figs. 1-12) light-blocking structures (70, Leng 3:52) located on a side of the light-emitting device layer away from the substrate,
wherein the light-blocking structures comprise a first light-blocking structure (72 or 73, Leng 3:54) and a second light-blocking structure (71, Leng 3:54),
the first light-blocking structure (72 or 73) is provided adjacent to the first light-emitting device (P2, Leng 3:55-59), and the second light-blocking structure (71) is provided adjacent to the second light-emitting device (P1, Leng 3:55-59); and
a color filter layer (80) located on the side of the light-emitting device layer away from the substrate, the color filter layer comprising a black matrix and color filter units (Leng 7:1-3, figs. 6 or 7, where the light-blocking structures 70 are the black matrix and are within the color filter layer 80 opposite the substrate on the outside of the light-emitting device region);
a width of an overlapping region of each of the color filter units in the first light-blocking structure is greater than a width of an overlapping region of each of the color filter units in the second light-blocking structure (Leng fig. 10, 10:38-42, where the non-overlapped width of the second light-blocking structure has a width a, and the non-overlapped width of the first light-blocking structure has a width b, and a>b, therefore, the overlapped width of the first light-blocking structure is greater than the width of the second light-blocking structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the display panel of Zhai to include light blocking elements between light-emitting devices, improving device performance by increasing contrast between adjacent light-emitting elements.
Zhai in view of Leng does not disclose wherein the light-blocking structure comprises a stacking structure consisting of the black matrix and the color filter units of at least two colors.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu discloses wherein the light-blocking structure (320 and 340) comprises a stacking structure consisting of the black matrix (320) and the color filter units of at least two colors (342a and 342b) (Wu fig. 7 ¶34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use stack the photoresist color filter modules of Wu to form the height of the light-blocking structures of Zhai modified by Leng, "improving efficiency of manufacturing the color filter substrate and improving a display uniformity of the display panel," Wu ¶49).
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai in view of Leng, Cao, and Wu.
Regarding claim 15, Zhai in view of Leng discloses the display panel according to claim 12.
Leng discloses wherein the light-blocking structure comprises the black matrix (Leng 7:1-3, where the light-blocking structures 70 are the black matrix); a gap is formed between two color filter units adjacent to the second light-blocking structure, and the second light-blocking structure is located in the gap (Leng fig. 6, 7:1-3, where 71/70 extends to the encapsulation layer 60 through 81/80).
Zhai in view of Leng does not disclose a layer of the color filter units is located on a side of a layer of the black matrix adjacent to the substrate; a gap is formed between two color filter units adjacent to the third light-blocking structure, and the third light-blocking structure comprises a portion located in the gap and a portion covering the color filter unit.
In the same field of endeavor, Cao discloses (figs. 1-5) a layer of the color filter units (23 and 24, Cao ¶45) is located on a side of a layer of the black matrix adjacent to the substrate (1, Cao ¶33);
a gap is formed between two color filter units (23 and 24) adjacent to the third light-blocking structure (3, Cao ¶33-34), and the third light-blocking structure comprises a portion located in the gap and a portion covering the color filter unit (Cao fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply color filter units on a side of the black matrix, adjacent to the substrate as disclosed by Cao for the third light-blocking structure, reducing cost by reducing total device thickness while maintaining light-blocking between adjacent pixels.
Zhai in view of Leng and Cao does not disclose the first light-blocking structure overlaps with a stacking structure formed by at least two color filter units.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu discloses (figs. 7 and 13) the first light-blocking structure (520 and 540, Wu fig. 11 ¶42) overlaps with a stacking structure formed by at least two color filter units (542a, 542b, 542c, Wu, fig. 11, ¶42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use stack the photoresist color filter modules of Wu to form the height of the light-blocking structures of Zhai modified by Leng, " improving efficiency of manufacturing the color filter substrate and improving a display uniformity of the display panel," Wu ¶49).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Seth D Lawson/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893