DETAILED ACTION
Formal Matters
This office action is issued in response to the claim set filed on November 21, 2022. Claims 1-11 are pending. Claims 1-11 are under consideration in the instant office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 21, 2022 is noted and the submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the references. A signed copy is attached herein.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 recites “The composition according to claim 1 comprising less than 5% of other cannabinoids relative to the combined weight of THC, CBD and CBN in the composition.” For purpose of clarity the examiner recommends Applicant to consider amending the claim to recite “The composition according to claim 1, wherein the composition comprises less than 5% of other cannabinoids relative to the combined weight of THC, CBD and CBN in the composition.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant should add a comma after “claim 5”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7 recites the proposition “the” before the term parenteral. As the term parenteral was not recited before in claim 1 where claim 7 depends from, the use of the proposition “the” is grammatically incorrect. Furthermore, Applicant should consider adding a comma after “claim 1” and “anal”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the listing of forms, there is inconsistent use of articles (“a” or “an”) before each recited form. For example, “liquid filled capsule” lacks a preceding “a”, “emulsion” lacks a preceding “an”, and “suspension or syrup” lacks before each term or phrase. For clarity and grammatical consistency, appropriate articles should be inserted before each form in the list to maintain parallel structure. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-11 are objected to because of the following informalities: For clarity and grammatical consistency, the examiner recommends to consider the use of comma after for e.g., “The composition according to claim 1,” and to use “wherein” to define the additional features in each of the dependent claims 2-11. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FINLEY et al. (WO2017091764).
Applicants’ claims
Applicants claim a cold-liquid wettable solid formulation.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP 2141.01)
FINLEY et al. teach cannabis oil extracts, compositions containing blended mixtures of the extracts, and methods for preparing the extracts and compositions. In particular, a method is disclosed for preparing a cannabis oil composition comprising eluting cannabinoids from cannabis plant material with a solvent to produce an eluate, filtering the eluate with a filter to produce a filtrate, evaporating the solvent from the filtrate with a distiller to produce a distillate, and dehydrating/purging the distillate with a dehydrator or vacuum oven to produce an extract. In some embodiments, the method further includes mixing a quantity of vitamin E with the extract. In some embodiments, the quantity of vitamin E is sufficient to reduce the viscosity of the composition to less than 3500 cP. In some embodiments, the method includes eluting cannabinoids and terpenes from cannabis plant material to produce the eluate. In some embodiments, the method includes mixing the extract with essential oils (see paragraph 0006). The term "cannabis oil" refers to a mixture of compounds obtained from the extraction of cannabis plants. Such compounds include, but are not limited to, cannabinoids, terpenes, terpenoids, and other compounds found in the cannabis plant. The exact composition of cannabis oil will depend on the strain of cannabis that is used for extraction, the efficiency and process of the extraction itself, and any additives that might be incorporated to alter the palatability or improve administration of the cannabis oil (paragraph 0053). The term "cannabinoid" refers to a chemical compound that shows direct or indirect activity at a cannabinoid receptor. There are two main cannabinoid receptors, CNR1 (also known as CB1) and CNR2 (also known as CB2). Other receptors that research suggests have cannabinoid activity include the GPR55, GPR18, and TRPVl receptors. The term "phytocannabinoid" refers to cannabinoids that occur in a plant species or are derived from cannabinoids occurring in a plant species. Examples of cannabinoids include, but are not limited to, tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), cannabidiol (CBD), cannabinol (CBN), cannabigerol (CBG), cannabichromene (CBC), cannabicyclol (CBL), cannabivarin (CBV), tetrahydrocannabivarin (THCV), cannabidivarin (CBDV), cannabichromevarin (CBCV), cannabigerovarin (CBGV), and cannabigerol monomethyl ether (CBGM) (paragraph 0054). The term "neutral cannabinoid" refers to a cannabinoid without carboxylic acid functional groups. Examples of neutral cannabinoids include, but are not limited to, THC, CBD, CBG, CBC, and CBN (paragraph 0056). In some embodiments the invention provides a cannabis oil prepared from the AC/DC cannabis strain, wherein the oil contains: THC in an amount ranging from about 1% (w/w) to about 3% (w/w); CBD in an amount ranging from about 58% (w/w) to about 66% (w/w); CBG in an amount ranging from 2% (w/w) to about 4% (w/w); and CBN in an amount ranging from about 0.05% (w/w) to about 0.15% (w/w) (paragraph 0163). In some embodiments the invention provides a cannabis oil prepared from the Cannatonic cannabis strain, wherein the oil contains: THC in an amount ranging from about 2% (w/w) to about 40% (w/w); CBD in an amount ranging from about 30% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w); CBG in an amount ranging from 1% (w/w) to about 4% (w/w); and CBN in an amount ranging from about 0.01% (w/w) to about 2% (w/w) (paragraph 0165). In some embodiments the invention provides a cannabis oil prepared from the Blueberry cannabis strain, wherein the oil contains: THC in an amount ranging from about 60% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w); CBD in an amount ranging from about 0.5% (w/w) to about 2.5% (w/w); CBG in an amount ranging from 1 % (w/w) to about 2% (w/w); and CBN in an amount ranging from about 0.5% (w/w) to about 1.5% (w/w) (paragraph 0167).
With regard to the amounts of THC, CBD, and CBN FINLEY et al. teach in general, neutral cannabinoids (such as THC, CBD, CBG, CBN, and other neutral cannabinoids) are present in the oils of the present invention (e.g., cannabis oil extracts or compositions comprising same) in amounts ranging from about 0.001% (w/w) to about 99% (w/w). In certain embodiments, a neutral cannabinoid (such as THC, CBD, CBG, CBN, or another neutral cannabinoid) will be present in an amount ranging from about 1 % (w/w) to about 99% (w/w). A neutral cannabinoid (such as THC, CBD, CBG, CBN, or another neutral cannabinoid) can be present, for example, in an amount ranging from about 0.01% (w/w) to about 0.05% (w/w), or from about 0.05% (w/w) to about 0.1% (w/w), or from about 0.1% (w/w) to about 0.2% (w/w), or from about 0.2% (w/w) to about 0.3% (w/w), or from about 0.3% (w/w) to about 0.4% (w/w), or from about 0.4% (w/w) to about 0.5% (w/w), or from about 0.5% (w/w) to about 0.6% (w/w), or from about 0.6% (w/w) to about 0.7% (w/w), or from about 0.7% (w/w) to about 0.8% (w/w), or from about 0.8% (w/w) to about 0.9% (w/w), or from about 0.9% (w/w) to about 1% (w/w), or from about 1% (w/w) to about 5% (w/w), or from about 5% (w/w) to about 10% (w/w), or from about 10% (w/w) to about 15% (w/w), or from about 15% (w/w) to about 20% (w/w), or from about 20% (w/w) to about 25% (w/w), or from about 25% (w/w) to about 30% (w/w), or from about 30% (w/w) to about 35% (w/w), or from about 35% (w/w) to about 40% (w/w), or from about 40% (w/w) to about 45% (w/w), or from about 45% (w/w) to about 50% (w/w), or from about 50% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), or from about 55% (w/w) to about 60% (w/w), or from about 60% (w/w) to about 65% (w/w), or from about 65% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w), or from about 70% (w/w) to about 75% (w/w), or from about 75% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w), or from about 80% (w/w) to about 85% (w/w), or from about 85% (w/w) to about 90% (w/w), or from about 90% (w/w) to about 95% (w/w), or from about 95% (w/w) to about 99% (w/w) (see paragraph 0137).
Based on the above teachings, for instance, the examiner can calculate range of ratios of THC:CBD:CBN by picking e.g., THC: from about 1% (w/w) to about 5% (w/w), CBD: from about 50% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), and CBN: from about from about 5% (w/w) to about 99% (w/w) which will be equivalent to THC: from about 1/50 to about 5/55, CBD: from about 50/50 to about 55/55 (w/w), and CBN: from about 5/50 to about 99/55 which is equivalent to a ratio of THC: from about 0.02 to about 0.09, CBD: from about 1 to about 1 (w/w), and CBN: from about from about 0.1 to about 1.8. These ratios clearly overlap in scope with the claimed ratios.
With regard to the amount of THC, FINLEY et al. teach typically, THC will be present in an oil of the invention in an amount ranging from about 1% (w/w) to about 95% (w/w). Typically, THC is present in an amount ranging from about 10% (w/w) to about 95% (w/w). THC can be present, for example, in an amount ranging from about 1% (w/w) to about 5% (w/w), or from about 5% (w/w) to about 10% (w/w), or from about 10% (w/w) to about 15% (w/w), or from about 15% (w/w) to about 20% (w/w), or from about 20% (w/w) to about 25% (w/w), or from about 25% (w/w) to about 30% (w/w), or from about 30% (w/w) to about 35% (w/w), or from about 35% (w/w) to about 40% (w/w), or from about 40% (w/w) to about 45% (w/w), or from about 45% (w/w) to about 50% (w/w), or from about 50% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), or from about 55% (w/w) to about 60% (w/w), or from about 60% (w/w) to about 65% (w/w), or from about 65% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w), or from about 70% (w/w) to about 75% (w/w), or from about 75% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w), or from about 80% (w/w) to about 85% (w/w), or from about 85% (w/w) to about 90% (w/w), or from about 90% (w/w) to about 95% (w/w). THC can be present in an amount ranging from about 5% (w/w) to about 95% (w/w), or from about 10% (w/w) to about 90% (w/w), or from about 15% (w/w) to about 85% (w/w), or from about 20% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w), or from about 25% (w/w) to about 75% (w/w), or from about 30% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w), or from about 35% (w/w) to about 65% (w/w), or from about 40% (w/w) to about 60% (w/w), or from about 45% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w) (paragraph 0139). In some embodiments, THC is present in an amount ranging from about 2% (w/w) to about 4% (w/w). In some embodiments, THC is present in an amount of about 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7% (w/w). In some embodiments, oils containing about 1-7% (w/w) THC (or other ranges between about 1% and about 7%) are prepared using the AC/DC cannabis strain (paragraph 0140).
With regard to the amount of CBD, FINLEY et al. teach CBD will be present in an oil of the invention in an amount ranging from about 0.1% (w/w) to about 99% (w/w). In some embodiments, CBD is present in an amount ranging from about 0.1% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w). CBD can be present, for example, in an amount ranging from about 0.1% (w/w) to about 1% (w/w), or from about 1% (w/w) to about 5% (w/w), or from about 5% (w/w) to about 10% (w/w), or from about 10% (w/w) to about 15% (w/w), or from about 15% (w/w) to about 20% (w/w), or from about 20% (w/w) to about 25% (w/w), or from about 25% (w/w) to about 30% (w/w), or from about 30% (w/w) to about 35% (w/w), or from about 35% (w/w) to about 40% (w/w), or from about 40% (w/w) to about 45% (w/w), or from about 45% (w/w) to about 50% (w/w), or from about 50% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), or from about 55% (w/w) to about 60% (w/w), or from about 60% (w/w) to about 65% (w/w), or from about 65% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w), or from about 70% (w/w) to about 75% (w/w), or from about 75% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w). CBD can be present, for example, in an amount ranging from about 5% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w), or from about 10% (w/w) to about 75% (w/w), or from about 15% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w), or from about 20% (w/w) to about 65% (w/w), or from about 25% (w/w) to about 60% (w/w), or from about 30% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), or from about 35% (w/w) to about 50% (w/w) (paragraph 0143). In some embodiments, CBD is present in an amount ranging from about 25% (w/w) to about 30% (w/w), or from about 30% (w/w) to about 35% (w/w), or from about 35% (w/w) to about 40% (w/w), or from about 40% (w/w) to about 45% (w/w), or from about 45% (w/w) to about 50% (w/w), or from about 50% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w). In some embodiments, CBD is present in an amount ranging from about 25% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), or from about 28% (w/w) to about 52% (w/w), or from about 31 % (w/w) to about 49% (w/w), or from about 34% (w/w) to about 46% (w/w), or from about 37% (w/w) to about 43% (w/w). In some embodiments, CBD is present in an amount of about 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, or 50% (w/w). In some embodiments, oils containing about 25-55% (w/w) CBD (or other ranges between about 25% and about 55%) are prepared using a cannabis strain selected from Cannatonic, Medihaze, and Harlequin. In some embodiments, oils containing about 25-55% (w/w) CBD (or other ranges between about 25% and about 55%) are prepared using the Cannatonic cannabis strain (paragraph 0145). In some embodiments, CBD is present in an amount ranging from about from about 50% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), or from about 55% (w/w) to about 60% (w/w), or from about 60% (w/w) to about 65% (w/w), or from about 65% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w), or from about 70% (w/w) to about 75% (w/w), or from about 75% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w). In some embodiments, CBD is present in an amount from about 50% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w), or from about 53% (w/w) to about 77% (w/w), or from about 56% (w/w) to about 74% (w/w), or from about 59% (w/w) to about 71% (w/w), or from about 62% (w/w) to about 68% (w/w). In some embodiments, CBD is present in an amount of about 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, or 70% (w/w). In some embodiments, oils containing about 50-80% (w/w) CBD (or other ranges between about 50% and about 80%) are prepared using a cannabis strain selected from Cannatonic, Harle OG, Harle Tsu, and AC/DC. In some embodiments, oils containing about 50-80% (w/w) CBD (or other ranges between about 50% and about 80%) are prepared using the AC/DC cannabis strain (paragraph 0146).
Pharmaceutical compositions or medicaments for use in the present invention can be formulated by standard techniques or methods well-known in the art of pharmacy using one or more physiologically acceptable carriers or excipients. Suitable pharmaceutical carriers are described herein and in, e.g., "Remington's Pharmaceutical Sciences" by E.W. Martin. Cannabis oil extracts can be formulated for administration by any suitable route, including, but not limited to, orally, topically, nasally, rectally, vaginally, pulmonary, parenterally (e.g., intravenously, subcutaneously, intramuscularly, etc.), and combinations thereof. In some embodiments, the cannabis oil is diluted in a liquid, e.g., a carrier oil. The most suitable route of administration in any given case will depend in part on the condition being treated as well as the response of the subject to the particular route of treatment (paragraph 0188). For oral administration, a pharmaceutical composition or a medicament can take the form of, e.g., a tablet or a capsule prepared by conventional means with a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (paragraph 0190). The cannabis plant material 103 can include cannabis flowers, buds, trichomes, leaves, stems, portions therein or combinations thereof (paragraph 0079).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
FINLEY et al. do not specifically teach in a single embodiment or example the claimed composition in with a ratio as recited. However, FINLEY et al. as described above clearly teach the ratio in overlapping and obvious manner. Additional explanation is provided below in the prima facie argument section.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rational and Motivation
(MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the instant invention to produce the instant invention by following the teachings of FINLEY et al. FINLEY et al. teach cannabis oil extracts, compositions containing blended mixtures of the extracts, and methods for preparing the extracts and compositions. In particular, a method is disclosed for preparing a cannabis oil composition comprising eluting cannabinoids from cannabis plant material with a solvent to produce an eluate, filtering the eluate with a filter to produce a filtrate, evaporating the solvent from the filtrate with a distiller to produce a distillate, and dehydrating/purging the distillate with a dehydrator or vacuum oven to produce an extract. In some embodiments, the method further includes mixing a quantity of vitamin E with the extract. In some embodiments, the quantity of vitamin E is sufficient to reduce the viscosity of the composition to less than 3500 cP. In some embodiments, the method includes eluting cannabinoids and terpenes from cannabis plant material to produce the eluate. In some embodiments, the method includes mixing the extract with essential oils (see paragraph 0006). The term "cannabis oil" refers to a mixture of compounds obtained from the extraction of cannabis plants. Such compounds include, but are not limited to, cannabinoids, terpenes, terpenoids, and other compounds found in the cannabis plant. The exact composition of cannabis oil will depend on the strain of cannabis that is used for extraction, the efficiency and process of the extraction itself, and any additives that might be incorporated to alter the palatability or improve administration of the cannabis oil (paragraph 0053). The term "cannabinoid" refers to a chemical compound that shows direct or indirect activity at a cannabinoid receptor. There are two main cannabinoid receptors, CNR1 (also known as CB1) and CNR2 (also known as CB2). Other receptors that research suggests have cannabinoid activity include the GPR55, GPR18, and TRPVl receptors. The term "phytocannabinoid" refers to cannabinoids that occur in a plant species or are derived from cannabinoids occurring in a plant species. Examples of cannabinoids include, but are not limited to, tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), cannabidiol (CBD), cannabinol (CBN), cannabigerol (CBG), cannabichromene (CBC), cannabicyclol (CBL), cannabivarin (CBV), tetrahydrocannabivarin (THCV), cannabidivarin (CBDV), cannabichromevarin (CBCV), cannabigerovarin (CBGV), and cannabigerol monomethyl ether (CBGM) (paragraph 0054). The term "neutral cannabinoid" refers to a cannabinoid without carboxylic acid functional groups. Examples of neutral cannabinoids include, but are not limited to, THC, CBD, CBG, CBC, and CBN (paragraph 0056). In some embodiments the invention provides a cannabis oil prepared from the AC/DC cannabis strain, wherein the oil contains: THC in an amount ranging from about 1% (w/w) to about 3% (w/w); CBD in an amount ranging from about 58% (w/w) to about 66% (w/w); CBG in an amount ranging from 2% (w/w) to about 4% (w/w); and CBN in an amount ranging from about 0.05% (w/w) to about 0.15% (w/w) (paragraph 0163). In some embodiments the invention provides a cannabis oil prepared from the Cannatonic cannabis strain, wherein the oil contains: THC in an amount ranging from about 2% (w/w) to about 40% (w/w); CBD in an amount ranging from about 30% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w); CBG in an amount ranging from 1% (w/w) to about 4% (w/w); and CBN in an amount ranging from about 0.01% (w/w) to about 2% (w/w) (paragraph 0165). In some embodiments the invention provides a cannabis oil prepared from the Blueberry cannabis strain, wherein the oil contains: THC in an amount ranging from about 60% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w); CBD in an amount ranging from about 0.5% (w/w) to about 2.5% (w/w); CBG in an amount ranging from 1 % (w/w) to about 2% (w/w); and CBN in an amount ranging from about 0.5% (w/w) to about 1.5% (w/w) (paragraph 0167).
With regard to the amounts of THC, CBD, and CBN FINLEY et al. teach in general, neutral cannabinoids (such as THC, CBD, CBG, CBN, and other neutral cannabinoids) are present in the oils of the present invention (e.g., cannabis oil extracts or compositions comprising same) in amounts ranging from about 0.001% (w/w) to about 99% (w/w). In certain embodiments, a neutral cannabinoid (such as THC, CBD, CBG, CBN, or another neutral cannabinoid) will be present in an amount ranging from about 1 % (w/w) to about 99% (w/w). A neutral cannabinoid (such as THC, CBD, CBG, CBN, or another neutral cannabinoid) can be present, for example, in an amount ranging from about 0.01% (w/w) to about 0.05% (w/w), or from about 0.05% (w/w) to about 0.1% (w/w), or from about 0.1% (w/w) to about 0.2% (w/w), or from about 0.2% (w/w) to about 0.3% (w/w), or from about 0.3% (w/w) to about 0.4% (w/w), or from about 0.4% (w/w) to about 0.5% (w/w), or from about 0.5% (w/w) to about 0.6% (w/w), or from about 0.6% (w/w) to about 0.7% (w/w), or from about 0.7% (w/w) to about 0.8% (w/w), or from about 0.8% (w/w) to about 0.9% (w/w), or from about 0.9% (w/w) to about 1% (w/w), or from about 1% (w/w) to about 5% (w/w), or from about 5% (w/w) to about 10% (w/w), or from about 10% (w/w) to about 15% (w/w), or from about 15% (w/w) to about 20% (w/w), or from about 20% (w/w) to about 25% (w/w), or from about 25% (w/w) to about 30% (w/w), or from about 30% (w/w) to about 35% (w/w), or from about 35% (w/w) to about 40% (w/w), or from about 40% (w/w) to about 45% (w/w), or from about 45% (w/w) to about 50% (w/w), or from about 50% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), or from about 55% (w/w) to about 60% (w/w), or from about 60% (w/w) to about 65% (w/w), or from about 65% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w), or from about 70% (w/w) to about 75% (w/w), or from about 75% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w), or from about 80% (w/w) to about 85% (w/w), or from about 85% (w/w) to about 90% (w/w), or from about 90% (w/w) to about 95% (w/w), or from about 95% (w/w) to about 99% (w/w) (see paragraph 0137).
Based on the above teachings, for instance, the examiner can calculate range of ratios of THC:CBD:CBN by picking e.g., THC: from about 1% (w/w) to about 5% (w/w), CBD: from about 50% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), and CBN: from about from about 5% (w/w) to about 99% (w/w) which will be equivalent to THC: from about 1/50 to about 5/55, CBD: from about 50/50 to about 55/55 (w/w), and CBN: from about 5/50 to about 99/55 which is equivalent to a ratio of THC: from about 0.02 to about 0.09, CBD: from about 1 to about 1 (w/w), and CBN: from about from about 0.1 to about 1.8. These ratios clearly overlap in scope with the claimed ratios.
With regard to the amount of THC, FINLEY et al. teach typically, THC will be present in an oil of the invention in an amount ranging from about 1% (w/w) to about 95% (w/w). Typically, THC is present in an amount ranging from about 10% (w/w) to about 95% (w/w). THC can be present, for example, in an amount ranging from about 1% (w/w) to about 5% (w/w), or from about 5% (w/w) to about 10% (w/w), or from about 10% (w/w) to about 15% (w/w), or from about 15% (w/w) to about 20% (w/w), or from about 20% (w/w) to about 25% (w/w), or from about 25% (w/w) to about 30% (w/w), or from about 30% (w/w) to about 35% (w/w), or from about 35% (w/w) to about 40% (w/w), or from about 40% (w/w) to about 45% (w/w), or from about 45% (w/w) to about 50% (w/w), or from about 50% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), or from about 55% (w/w) to about 60% (w/w), or from about 60% (w/w) to about 65% (w/w), or from about 65% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w), or from about 70% (w/w) to about 75% (w/w), or from about 75% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w), or from about 80% (w/w) to about 85% (w/w), or from about 85% (w/w) to about 90% (w/w), or from about 90% (w/w) to about 95% (w/w). THC can be present in an amount ranging from about 5% (w/w) to about 95% (w/w), or from about 10% (w/w) to about 90% (w/w), or from about 15% (w/w) to about 85% (w/w), or from about 20% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w), or from about 25% (w/w) to about 75% (w/w), or from about 30% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w), or from about 35% (w/w) to about 65% (w/w), or from about 40% (w/w) to about 60% (w/w), or from about 45% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w) (paragraph 0139). In some embodiments, THC is present in an amount ranging from about 2% (w/w) to about 4% (w/w). In some embodiments, THC is present in an amount of about 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7% (w/w). In some embodiments, oils containing about 1-7% (w/w) THC (or other ranges between about 1% and about 7%) are prepared using the AC/DC cannabis strain (paragraph 0140).
With regard to the amount of CBD, FINLEY et al. teach CBD will be present in an oil of the invention in an amount ranging from about 0.1% (w/w) to about 99% (w/w). In some embodiments, CBD is present in an amount ranging from about 0.1% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w). CBD can be present, for example, in an amount ranging from about 0.1% (w/w) to about 1% (w/w), or from about 1% (w/w) to about 5% (w/w), or from about 5% (w/w) to about 10% (w/w), or from about 10% (w/w) to about 15% (w/w), or from about 15% (w/w) to about 20% (w/w), or from about 20% (w/w) to about 25% (w/w), or from about 25% (w/w) to about 30% (w/w), or from about 30% (w/w) to about 35% (w/w), or from about 35% (w/w) to about 40% (w/w), or from about 40% (w/w) to about 45% (w/w), or from about 45% (w/w) to about 50% (w/w), or from about 50% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), or from about 55% (w/w) to about 60% (w/w), or from about 60% (w/w) to about 65% (w/w), or from about 65% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w), or from about 70% (w/w) to about 75% (w/w), or from about 75% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w). CBD can be present, for example, in an amount ranging from about 5% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w), or from about 10% (w/w) to about 75% (w/w), or from about 15% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w), or from about 20% (w/w) to about 65% (w/w), or from about 25% (w/w) to about 60% (w/w), or from about 30% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), or from about 35% (w/w) to about 50% (w/w) (paragraph 0143). In some embodiments, CBD is present in an amount ranging from about 25% (w/w) to about 30% (w/w), or from about 30% (w/w) to about 35% (w/w), or from about 35% (w/w) to about 40% (w/w), or from about 40% (w/w) to about 45% (w/w), or from about 45% (w/w) to about 50% (w/w), or from about 50% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w). In some embodiments, CBD is present in an amount ranging from about 25% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), or from about 28% (w/w) to about 52% (w/w), or from about 31 % (w/w) to about 49% (w/w), or from about 34% (w/w) to about 46% (w/w), or from about 37% (w/w) to about 43% (w/w). In some embodiments, CBD is present in an amount of about 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, or 50% (w/w). In some embodiments, oils containing about 25-55% (w/w) CBD (or other ranges between about 25% and about 55%) are prepared using a cannabis strain selected from Cannatonic, Medihaze, and Harlequin. In some embodiments, oils containing about 25-55% (w/w) CBD (or other ranges between about 25% and about 55%) are prepared using the Cannatonic cannabis strain (paragraph 0145). In some embodiments, CBD is present in an amount ranging from about from about 50% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), or from about 55% (w/w) to about 60% (w/w), or from about 60% (w/w) to about 65% (w/w), or from about 65% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w), or from about 70% (w/w) to about 75% (w/w), or from about 75% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w). In some embodiments, CBD is present in an amount from about 50% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w), or from about 53% (w/w) to about 77% (w/w), or from about 56% (w/w) to about 74% (w/w), or from about 59% (w/w) to about 71% (w/w), or from about 62% (w/w) to about 68% (w/w). In some embodiments, CBD is present in an amount of about 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, or 70% (w/w). In some embodiments, oils containing about 50-80% (w/w) CBD (or other ranges between about 50% and about 80%) are prepared using a cannabis strain selected from Cannatonic, Harle OG, Harle Tsu, and AC/DC. In some embodiments, oils containing about 50-80% (w/w) CBD (or other ranges between about 50% and about 80%) are prepared using the AC/DC cannabis strain (paragraph 0146).
Pharmaceutical compositions or medicaments for use in the present invention can be formulated by standard techniques or methods well-known in the art of pharmacy using one or more physiologically acceptable carriers or excipients. Suitable pharmaceutical carriers are described herein and in, e.g., "Remington's Pharmaceutical Sciences" by E.W. Martin. Cannabis oil extracts can be formulated for administration by any suitable route, including, but not limited to, orally, topically, nasally, rectally, vaginally, pulmonary, parenterally (e.g., intravenously, subcutaneously, intramuscularly, etc.), and combinations thereof. In some embodiments, the cannabis oil is diluted in a liquid, e.g., a carrier oil. The most suitable route of administration in any given case will depend in part on the condition being treated as well as the response of the subject to the particular route of treatment (paragraph 0188). For oral administration, a pharmaceutical composition or a medicament can take the form of, e.g., a tablet or a capsule prepared by conventional means with a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (paragraph 0190). The cannabis plant material 103 can include cannabis flowers, buds, trichomes, leaves, stems, portions therein or combinations thereof (paragraph 0079). The selection of a known material(s) such as the mixture of THC, CBD, and CBN in a ratio as recited in the instant claims from the teachings of FINLEY et al. based on their suitability (being a cannabinoid) for their intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (Claims to a printing ink comprising a solvent having the vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol so that the ink would not dry at room temperature but would dry quickly upon heating were held invalid over a reference teaching a printing ink made with a different solvent that was nonvolatile at room temperature but highly volatile when heated in view of an article which taught the desired boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of a solvent for printing inks and a catalog teaching the boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol.) The examiner also brings applicant’s attention that the concept of picking any of the amounts to each of the individual components from FINELY et al. to construct the recited ratio is prima facie obvious and is within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art as the specific combination of features claimed are taught by FNELY et al. If applicants resort to argue the reference does not provide any motivation to select the recited ratios, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. It is within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the ratios absent evidence to the contrary or absent a showing of criticality to the claimed ratio. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the instant invention by following the teachings of the teachings of FINELY et al. because FINELY et al. teach a substantially identical or similar composition.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of Levine et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,504,350).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Levine et al. and the instant invention teach substantially identical or similar claims.
Instant claim 1 recites a composition comprising a tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), a cannabidiol (CBD), and a cannabinol (CBN), wherein the ratio of THC:CBD:CBN by weight is A:B:C where A is 0.02, B is 1 and C is between 0.2 and 0.7. Instant claim 2 recites the composition according to 1 wherein C is 0.25. Instant claim 3 recites the composition according to 1 wherein C is 0.2. Instant claim 4 recites the composition according to claim 1 wherein C is 0.5. Instant claim 5 recites the composition according to claim 1 comprising less than 5% of other cannabinoids relative to the combined weight of THC, CBD and CBN in the composition. Instant claim 6 recites the composition according to claim 5 wherein the composition comprises no cannabinoids other than THC, CBD and CBN.
Levine et al. in claim 20 recites a composition comprising a tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), a cannabidiol (CBD), and a cannabinol (CBN), wherein the ratio of THC:CBD:CBN by weight is A:B:C where A is between 0.0001 and 1, B is 1, and C is between 0.05 and 1.
The recitations of instant claims 1-6 clearly anticipate the limitations of instant claim 20 of Levine et al. as the limitations are a narrower or species of claim 20 of Levine et al.
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Levine et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,504,35) in view of FINLEY et al. (WO2017091764).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Levine et al. and the instant invention teach substantially identical or similar claims.
The recitations of instant claims 1-6 is described above. Instant claims 7-8 and 10-11 recite different forms of the composition while claim 9 recites the inclusion of a carrier or inactive ingredient with the composition.
The teachings of Levine et al. in claim 20 is described above.
Levine et al. differs from instant claims 7-11 that Levine et al. do not teach the different forms of the composition and the incorporation of a carrier or inactive ingredient. These deficiencies are cured by the teachings of FINLEY et al. (WO2017091764).
The detailed teachings of FINLEY et al. are described above and are incorporated herein by reference.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Levine et al. by preparing the composition in different forms and incorporate a carrier or inactive ingredient in the composition to arrive at the instant invention as claimed in claims 1-11 because FINLEY et al. teach cannabis oil extracts, compositions containing blended mixtures of the extracts, and methods for preparing the extracts and compositions. In particular, a method is disclosed for preparing a cannabis oil composition comprising eluting cannabinoids from cannabis plant material with a solvent to produce an eluate, filtering the eluate with a filter to produce a filtrate, evaporating the solvent from the filtrate with a distiller to produce a distillate, and dehydrating/purging the distillate with a dehydrator or vacuum oven to produce an extract. In some embodiments, the method further includes mixing a quantity of vitamin E with the extract. In some embodiments, the quantity of vitamin E is sufficient to reduce the viscosity of the composition to less than 3500 cP. In some embodiments, the method includes eluting cannabinoids and terpenes from cannabis plant material to produce the eluate. In some embodiments, the method includes mixing the extract with essential oils (see paragraph 0006). The term "cannabis oil" refers to a mixture of compounds obtained from the extraction of cannabis plants. Such compounds include, but are not limited to, cannabinoids, terpenes, terpenoids, and other compounds found in the cannabis plant. The exact composition of cannabis oil will depend on the strain of cannabis that is used for extraction, the efficiency and process of the extraction itself, and any additives that might be incorporated to alter the palatability or improve administration of the cannabis oil (paragraph 0053). The term "cannabinoid" refers to a chemical compound that shows direct or indirect activity at a cannabinoid receptor. There are two main cannabinoid receptors, CNR1 (also known as CB1) and CNR2 (also known as CB2). Other receptors that research suggests have cannabinoid activity include the GPR55, GPR18, and TRPVl receptors. The term "phytocannabinoid" refers to cannabinoids that occur in a plant species or are derived from cannabinoids occurring in a plant species. Examples of cannabinoids include, but are not limited to, tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), cannabidiol (CBD), cannabinol (CBN), cannabigerol (CBG), cannabichromene (CBC), cannabicyclol (CBL), cannabivarin (CBV), tetrahydrocannabivarin (THCV), cannabidivarin (CBDV), cannabichromevarin (CBCV), cannabigerovarin (CBGV), and cannabigerol monomethyl ether (CBGM) (paragraph 0054). The term "neutral cannabinoid" refers to a cannabinoid without carboxylic acid functional groups. Examples of neutral cannabinoids include, but are not limited to, THC, CBD, CBG, CBC, and CBN (paragraph 0056). In some embodiments the invention provides a cannabis oil prepared from the AC/DC cannabis strain, wherein the oil contains: THC in an amount ranging from about 1% (w/w) to about 3% (w/w); CBD in an amount ranging from about 58% (w/w) to about 66% (w/w); CBG in an amount ranging from 2% (w/w) to about 4% (w/w); and CBN in an amount ranging from about 0.05% (w/w) to about 0.15% (w/w) (paragraph 0163). In some embodiments the invention provides a cannabis oil prepared from the Cannatonic cannabis strain, wherein the oil contains: THC in an amount ranging from about 2% (w/w) to about 40% (w/w); CBD in an amount ranging from about 30% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w); CBG in an amount ranging from 1% (w/w) to about 4% (w/w); and CBN in an amount ranging from about 0.01% (w/w) to about 2% (w/w) (paragraph 0165). In some embodiments the invention provides a cannabis oil prepared from the Blueberry cannabis strain, wherein the oil contains: THC in an amount ranging from about 60% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w); CBD in an amount ranging from about 0.5% (w/w) to about 2.5% (w/w); CBG in an amount ranging from 1 % (w/w) to about 2% (w/w); and CBN in an amount ranging from about 0.5% (w/w) to about 1.5% (w/w) (paragraph 0167).
With regard to the amounts of THC, CBD, and CBN FINLEY et al. teach in general, neutral cannabinoids (such as THC, CBD, CBG, CBN, and other neutral cannabinoids) are present in the oils of the present invention (e.g., cannabis oil extracts or compositions comprising same) in amounts ranging from about 0.001% (w/w) to about 99% (w/w). In certain embodiments, a neutral cannabinoid (such as THC, CBD, CBG, CBN, or another neutral cannabinoid) will be present in an amount ranging from about 1 % (w/w) to about 99% (w/w). A neutral cannabinoid (such as THC, CBD, CBG, CBN, or another neutral cannabinoid) can be present, for example, in an amount ranging from about 0.01% (w/w) to about 0.05% (w/w), or from about 0.05% (w/w) to about 0.1% (w/w), or from about 0.1% (w/w) to about 0.2% (w/w), or from about 0.2% (w/w) to about 0.3% (w/w), or from about 0.3% (w/w) to about 0.4% (w/w), or from about 0.4% (w/w) to about 0.5% (w/w), or from about 0.5% (w/w) to about 0.6% (w/w), or from about 0.6% (w/w) to about 0.7% (w/w), or from about 0.7% (w/w) to about 0.8% (w/w), or from about 0.8% (w/w) to about 0.9% (w/w), or from about 0.9% (w/w) to about 1% (w/w), or from about 1% (w/w) to about 5% (w/w), or from about 5% (w/w) to about 10% (w/w), or from about 10% (w/w) to about 15% (w/w), or from about 15% (w/w) to about 20% (w/w), or from about 20% (w/w) to about 25% (w/w), or from about 25% (w/w) to about 30% (w/w), or from about 30% (w/w) to about 35% (w/w), or from about 35% (w/w) to about 40% (w/w), or from about 40% (w/w) to about 45% (w/w), or from about 45% (w/w) to about 50% (w/w), or from about 50% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), or from about 55% (w/w) to about 60% (w/w), or from about 60% (w/w) to about 65% (w/w), or from about 65% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w), or from about 70% (w/w) to about 75% (w/w), or from about 75% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w), or from about 80% (w/w) to about 85% (w/w), or from about 85% (w/w) to about 90% (w/w), or from about 90% (w/w) to about 95% (w/w), or from about 95% (w/w) to about 99% (w/w) (see paragraph 0137).
Based on the above teachings, for instance, the examiner can calculate range of ratios of THC:CBD:CBN by picking e.g., THC: from about 1% (w/w) to about 5% (w/w), CBD: from about 50% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), and CBN: from about from about 5% (w/w) to about 99% (w/w) which will be equivalent to THC: from about 1/50 to about 5/55, CBD: from about 50/50 to about 55/55 (w/w), and CBN: from about 5/50 to about 99/55 which is equivalent to a ratio of THC: from about 0.02 to about 0.09, CBD: from about 1 to about 1 (w/w), and CBN: from about from about 0.1 to about 1.8. These ratios clearly overlap in scope with the claimed ratios.
With regard to the amount of THC, FINLEY et al. teach typically, THC will be present in an oil of the invention in an amount ranging from about 1% (w/w) to about 95% (w/w). Typically, THC is present in an amount ranging from about 10% (w/w) to about 95% (w/w). THC can be present, for example, in an amount ranging from about 1% (w/w) to about 5% (w/w), or from about 5% (w/w) to about 10% (w/w), or from about 10% (w/w) to about 15% (w/w), or from about 15% (w/w) to about 20% (w/w), or from about 20% (w/w) to about 25% (w/w), or from about 25% (w/w) to about 30% (w/w), or from about 30% (w/w) to about 35% (w/w), or from about 35% (w/w) to about 40% (w/w), or from about 40% (w/w) to about 45% (w/w), or from about 45% (w/w) to about 50% (w/w), or from about 50% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w), or from about 55% (w/w) to about 60% (w/w), or from about 60% (w/w) to about 65% (w/w), or from about 65% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w), or from about 70% (w/w) to about 75% (w/w), or from about 75% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w), or from about 80% (w/w) to about 85% (w/w), or from about 85% (w/w) to about 90% (w/w), or from about 90% (w/w) to about 95% (w/w). THC can be present in an amount ranging from about 5% (w/w) to about 95% (w/w), or from about 10% (w/w) to about 90% (w/w), or from about 15% (w/w) to about 85% (w/w), or from about 20% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w), or from about 25% (w/w) to about 75% (w/w), or from about 30% (w/w) to about 70% (w/w), or from about 35% (w/w) to about 65% (w/w), or from about 40% (w/w) to about 60% (w/w), or from about 45% (w/w) to about 55% (w/w) (paragraph 0139). In some embodiments, THC is present in an amount ranging from about 2% (w/w) to about 4% (w/w). In some embodiments, THC is present in an amount of about 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7% (w/w). In some embodiments, oils containing about 1-7% (w/w) THC (or other ranges between about 1% and about 7%) are prepared using the AC/DC cannabis strain (paragraph 0140).
With regard to the amount of CBD, FINLEY et al. teach CBD will be present in an oil of the invention in an amount ranging from about 0.1% (w/w) to about 99% (w/w). In some embodiments, CBD is present in an amount ranging from about 0.1% (w/w) to about 80% (w/w). CBD can be present, for example, in an amount ranging from about 0.1% (w/w) to about 1% (w/w), or from about 1% (w/w) to about 5% (w/w), or from about 5% (w/w) to about 10% (w/w), or from about 10% (w/w) to about 15% (w/w), or from about 15% (w/w) to about 20% (w/w), or from about 20% (w/w) to about 25% (w/w), or from about 25% (w/w) to about 30% (w/w), or from about 30% (w/w) to about 35% (w/w), or from about 35% (w/w) to about 40% (w/w), or from about 40% (w/w) to a