DETAILED ACTION
Reopening of Prosecution
The previous rejection has been withdrawn and a new non-final rejection has been provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells (U.S. PGPUB 2003/0064805) in view of Elmqvst (U.S. PGPUB 2018/0218564).
Re claim 1: Wells discloses a local arcade machine having real-time interactive streaming software for enabling remote play, comprising:
a local cabinet having a local display, local speakers & amplifier, local input devices, local computer, and local power supplies contained within it and/or mounted to it (see Fig, 2, object 2: a gaming machine having each of the components listed)
a local computer contained within local cabinet, having local Internet connection, local content software, and local thin-client software having network linkage to a remote computer and server-side computer and local payment-capture mechanism (see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0070]: the game machine has a processor and an internet connection for viewing material from the world wide web. Additionally, the game machine presents a game of chance on the remote display, i.e. remote thin-client software, see paragraph [0020]);
a local payment-capture mechanism having network linkage to local computer (see paragraph [0070]: bill and coin accepters)
a remote thin-client software having real-time interactive streaming function than can run on any number of disparate remote computers, each having remote display, remote input devices, and network linkage to local computer and server-side computer and remote payment-capture mechanism (see [0022]: the game machine performs “4) sending operating instructions to the wireless game player where the operating instructions are used by the wireless game player to present the game outcome for the game of chance” wherein the “gaming machine may support simultaneously a plurality of remote gaming devices for game play and not just a single remote gaming device. Finally, gaming machine may be used that simultaneously provide both remote game play and local game play.” Thus, the gaming machine supports a multitude of remote players, wherein each remote players have the ability to make wagers);
Although, Wells discloses a game server, cashless server, and payout server, Wells fails to disclose a server-side computer, having server-side database, server-side payment-capture mechanism, server-side adjustable software algorithm to determine payout, and server-side software having server-side payment capture mechanism and network linkage to local computer and remote computer. Each of the servers listed have the ability perform the limitation, however Wells lacks teaching them in one server. Elmqvist teaches a game server that captures payments in the form of wagers and determines payouts based on the wager (see paragraph [0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to modify the system of Wells with the game server of Elmqvist for alleviating the bandwidth on the local devices of Wells by giving some tasks to a game server.
Re claim 2: Wells discloses a local arcade machine having real-time interactive streaming software according to claim 1, wherein the real-time interactive streaming software comprises a global software-defined firs player slot (see [0058] “gaming machine may support simultaneously a plurality of remote gaming devices for game play and not just a single remote gaming device. Finally, gaming machine may be used that simultaneously provide both remote game play and local game play.”).
Re claim 3: Wells discloses with respect to a local arcade machine having real-time interactive streaming software according to claim 1, wherein the real-time interactive streaming software comprises a global software-defined second-player slot (see [0058] “gaming machine may support simultaneously a plurality of remote gaming devices for game play and not just a single remote gaming device. Finally, gaming machine may be used that simultaneously provide both remote game play and local game play.”)
Re claim 4: Wells discloses with respect to a local arcade machine having real-time interactive streaming software according to claim 1, wherein the real-time interactive streaming software comprises a global software-defined sequence of player slots (see paragraph [0058]).
Re claim 6: Wells discloses a local arcade machine having real-time interactive streaming software according to claim 1, wherein the real-time interactive streaming software comprises a global-to-local software- defined input assignment map (a defined input assignment map is inherent to the real-time streaming software as Wells as a map is necessary to translate game input from the remote gaming device to the software at the gaming machine).
Re claim 8: Wells discloses with respect to a local arcade machine having real-time interactive streaming software according to claim 1, wherein the real-time interactive streaming software comprises a global software-defined disconnect input devices mechanism (see paragraph [0045]: “When the gaming machine detects that the wireless game player is in a restricted area, it may discontinue communications with the wireless game player.”).
Re claim 9: Wells discloses with respect to a local arcade machine having real-time interactive streaming software according to claim 1, wherein the real-time interactive streaming software comprises a global-to-content software- defined input assignment bridge (it is inherent, that Wells performs these functions as inputted information from Wells is sent and interacts with the gaming device. Thus, when a user presses a specific button on their wireless device, it performs an operation within the game hosted on the gaming device)
Re claim 10: Wells discloses with respect to a local arcade machine having real-time interactive streaming software according to claim 1, wherein the real-time interactive streaming software comprises a local content software intended inputs (see paragraph [0022]: the game can be played simultaneously at the local gaming device, wherein said gaming device has its own inputs for local gaming device content).
Claim(s) 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells in view of Elmqvst in further view of Gupta (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0036692).
Re claims 5: Wells fails to discloses with respect to a local arcade machine having real-time interactive streaming software according to claim 1, wherein the real-time interactive streaming software comprises a global software-defined maximum number of player slots. However, Gupta teaches a mobile game wagering server wherein mobile devices are connected to a game network, wherein a maximum number of mobile devices are allowed to be connected (see paragraph [0102]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, to modify the the system of Wells a maximum number of slots feature as taught by Gupta, for the purpose of limiting the bandwidth burden on the hosting local computer.
Re claim 7. Wells fails to disclose with respect to the local arcade machine having real-time interactive streaming software according to claim 1, wherein the real-time interactive streaming software comprises a global software-defined maximum number of local and remote thin-client instances. However, Gupta teaches a mobile game wagering server wherein mobile devices are connected to a game network, wherein a maximum number of mobile devices are allowed to be connected (see paragraph [0102]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, to modify the system of Wells a maximum number of slots feature as taught by Gupta, for the purpose of limiting the bandwidth burden on the hosting local computer.
Conclusion
REGINALD A. RENWICK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3714
/REGINALD A RENWICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715