DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s amendment filed 3/19/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-14 are pending. Claim 11 is withdrawn. Claims 1-10 and 12-14 are examined herein.
Priority
Applicant is reminded that in order for a patent issuing on the instant application to obtain priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a) or (b), based on priority papers filed in a parent or related Application No. 16/304580 (to which the present application claims the benefit under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) or is a reissue application of a patent issued on the related application), a claim for such foreign priority must be timely made in this application. To satisfy the requirement of 37 CFR 1.55 for a certified copy of the foreign application, applicant may simply identify the parent nonprovisional application or patent for which reissue is sought containing the certified copy.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the following distinct species in the reply filed on 3/19/2026 is acknowledged: Group A: CRISPR--associated proteins, claims 5-7 specifically read on this election; Group B: (i) a CRISPR-associated (Cas) polypeptide with intact nuclease activity, claim 6 specifically reads on this election; Group C: tetraspanins, claim 9 specifically reads on this election; Group D: serum starvation, claim 10 specifically reads on this election; and Group E: None required due to withdrawal of claim by Applicant.
Upon further consideration, hypoxia in claim 10 has been rejoined with the elected species.
The non-elected species in claims 5, 6, 9 and 10 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/19/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they are in color (Figure 14) but no petition to accept color drawings filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) or (b)(2) has been accepted. See MPEP 608.02, part VIII which states:
Color drawings and color photographs are not accepted in utility applications filed under 35 U.S.C. 111 unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) or (b)(2) is granted. Color drawings and color photographs are not permitted in international applications (see PCT Rule 11.13 ).
Unless a petition is filed and granted, color drawings or color photographs will not be accepted in a utility patent application filed under 35 U.S.C. 111. The examiner must object to the color drawings or color photographs as being improper and require applicant either to cancel the drawings or to provide substitute black and white drawings.
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons:
37 CFR 1.84 (u)(1) states “View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG."” In the current case, the view numbers for Figures 1-14 are preceded by the word "Figure" instead of the abbreviation "FIG.".
37 C.F.R. 1.84 states “Character of lines, numbers, and letters. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined.” In the current case, the words in the X axis in Figure 12 are illegible.
Specification
The use of the terms OPTI-MEM™ (p. 36), NOVEX™ (p. 37), ODYSSEY® (p. 37), IMMOBILON® (p. 37), VIVAFLOW® (p. 37), ÄKTAPURE® (p. 38), HISCREEN™ (p. 38), HITRAP™ (p. 38), SEPHAROSE™ (p. 38), and AMICON® (p. 38) which are trade names or marks used in commerce, have been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1, reciting “Evs” in line 8 appears to have a typographical error with the “v” in lower case; claim 4 appears to have a clerical error with “the” following “wherein” in line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein the purifying comprises a procedure selected from the group consisting of liquid chromatography (LC), bead-elute LC, size-exclusion LC, high-performance liquid chromatography (HPLC), spin filtration, tangential flow filtration, hollow fiber filtration, centrifugation, immunoprecipitation.” There is no “and” or “or” to indicate a proper Markush grouping of alternatives. The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined and are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiklander et al. (WO2014168548A2; Cite No. 012 on IDS filed 7/6/2023), in view of Fong et al. (Trends in Biotech. 2015. Cite No. 021 on IDS filed 7/6/2023).
Wiklander’s disclosure is directed to therapeutic delivery vesicles, for instance exosomes or microvesicles, comprising polypeptide constructs, methods for producing said therapeutic delivery vesicles, pharmaceutical compositions and medical uses thereof (Technical Field; entire document).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 14, Wiklander teaches methods of producing therapeutic EVs comprising introducing into an EV-producing cell at least one polynucleotide construct comprising at least one polynucleotide construct comprising at least one polypeptide construct comprising at least one polypeptide of interest into a cell capable of producing exosomes and collecting (harvesting) at least one delivery vesicle produced by the cells and teaches increasing the yield of extracellular vesicles (p. 5, paras 3-4; p. 29, para 2; p. 42, para 3; Examples). Wiklander further teaches polynucleotide constructs comprising exosomal proteins to transport a polypeptide construct to a suitable vesicular location (p.13, para 2).
However, Wiklander does not teach the polypeptide construct comprising an endogenously activatable polypeptide-based release system.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 14, Fong teaches self-cleaving intein-based tags that can be used to release the PoI (p. 273, right column, para 1; p. 274, Fig. 1 and pages 273-275). Fong teaches the advantages of self-cleaving intein-based tags in protein production in bacteria and eukaryotes (p. 276, right column, paras 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wiklander’s EVs and method of producing EVs by adding the intein release system of Fong in order to improve therapeutic delivery because it would have amounted to a simple combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Wiklander and Fong are directed to improvements in EV delivery of therapeutic proteins.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claims 8-9, Wiklander teaches exosomal polypeptides selected from the tetraspanins CD9, CD63, and CD81 (Examples).
Regarding claim 10, Wiklander teaches stress-inducing culturing conditions such as serum starvation and hypoxia (p. 36, para 3; claims 16-17).
Regarding claims 12-13, Wiklander teaches purifying EVs by ultrafiltration and by size exclusion liquid chromatography (claim 13).
Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiklander et al. (WO2014168548A2; Cite No. 012 on IDS filed 7/6/2023), in view of Fong et al. (Trends in Biotech. 2015. Cite No. 021 on IDS filed 7/6/2023), as applied to claims 1-4, 8-10 and 12-14 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (CRISPR/ Cas9 in genome editing and beyond. Annual review of biochemistry, 85(1), pp.227-264; published 4/25/2016).
The teachings of Wiklander and Fong are applied to claims 5-7 as they have been applied to claims 1-4, 8-10 and 12-14 in the 103 discussion above.
Wiklander further teaches exosomes comprising therapeutic polypeptides comprising receptors (p. 20, para 3) and to deliver treatment of diseases and disorders (p. 23, para 3; and p. 38, para 2).
However, Wiklander and Fong do not specifically teach that the protein of interest is a therapeutic polypeptide selected from CRISPR-associated proteins (claim 5), (i) a CRISPR-associated (Cas) polypeptide with intact nuclease activity or (ii) a catalytically inactive CRISPR-associated (Cas) polypeptide (claim 6), or a catalytically inactive CRISPR-associated (Cas) polypeptide capable of enabling targeted genetic engineering (claim 7).
Wang’s disclosure is directed to genome editing, regulation, and imaging with CRISPR/Cas9 (entire document).
Regarding claims 5-6, Wang teaches vectors encoding Cas9 or catalytically inactive dCas9 can be delivered for gene editing therapies and regulation (pp. 236-242; Fig. 3; pp. 250-252).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches that catalytically inactive dCas9 can be used for targeted genetic engineering (Fig. 1; pp. 232-233).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wiklander and Fong’s method of producing EVs comprising therapeutic polynucleotides encoding therapeutic polypeptides with Wang’s Cas9 and catalytically inactive dCas because it would have amounted to simple substitution of known therapeutic polypeptides to obtain predictable results of treating a disease or disorder by genetic engineering. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Wiklander, Fong, and Wang are directed to improved compositions and methods of genetic engineering and delivering therapeutics. Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/KHALEDA B HASAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1636
/BRIAN WHITEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636