DETAILED ACTION
RCE
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghothaman (US 2020/0260403) and further in view of Ghanbarinejad (US 2020/0067615).
Referring to claim 1, Raghothaman discloses a method of operating a network device (FIG. 2, Par. 16, “communication system … to determine a user's/wireless device's physical location within the site. At the same time (or nearly the same time), a signature vector may be determined for the user/wireless device at the site, e.g., based on SRSs received at the RPs from the user/wireless device”), comprising:
Obtaining, one or more uplink composite radio frequency fingerprint (RFFP) measurements (Par. 16, 21, “receive uplink RF signals transmitted by wireless devices 110”, “a signature vector may be determined for the user/wireless device at the site, e.g., based on SRSs received at the RPs from the user/wireless device”, “the signature vector 130 for a wireless device 110 may be based on: (1) the angle of arrival measured at different RPs 106, e.g., for an SRS 132”, “A signature vector 130 may be determined (e.g., periodically) for each wireless device 110 connected to the system”. Par. 47, “uplink SRS 132 sent by the wireless device 110 may reach the RPs 106”. Par. 46, “RPs 106 may receive SRSs 132 from the wireless devices 110 connected to the system 100A. Each RP 106 may use relative SRS power (received at the respective RP 106) as an input to determine a “signature vector” (SV) 130 for the wireless device 110”. Note that the uplink SRS (Sounding Reference Signal) transmitted by the wireless device is utilized to construct or derive uplink composite RF fingerprints. It serves as a foundational metric for physical-layer authentication and localization. The RPs uses the uplink SRS to determine a “signature vector” (SV) 130 for the wireless device 110”, thus, the signature vector is equivalent to claimed uplink composite RF fingerprint. Thus, signature vector is equivalent to uplink composite radio frequency fingerprint (RFFP) determined based on SRS, the uplink sounding reference signal because the SRS is transmitted by wireless device to the network on an uplink channel. Further note that RP or Radio Points receive the SRS from the wireless devices and obtains the uplink RF signature vector, which is equivalent to the uplink RF fingerprint, based on the uplink reference signals (or SRS). With regard to composite RFFP, note that in par. 62, the baseband controller 104, aggregates the SRS metric(s) 134 and determines a signature vector 130 based on the SRS metric(s) 134, thus the signature vector is a composite of several SRS metrics),
the one or more uplink RFFP measurements being based on multiple uplink reference signals observed at one or more Transmission / Reception Points (TRPs) (Par. 21, receive uplink RF signals transmitted by wireless devices 110. Par. 15, “transmit a training signal to the RPs”. Par. 36, “Upon receiving an SRS 132 from a connected wireless device 110, each RP 106 may report a power metric of the received SRS 132”, note that the RPs (Radio Points) receive Uplink signals and SRS (also known as uplink positioning reference signals) and determines the uplink metrics and transmit reports about the uplink signal metrics, thus, the RPs are equivalent to the transmission/reception points (TRPs)),
the uplink reference signals being transmitted by target device over an uplink reference signal resource (Par. 16, “of uplink-sounding reference signal (UL-SRS) transmitted from a UE”); and
determining estimated positions of the target devices based on applying a machine learning model to the one or more uplink composite RFFP measurements (Par. 16, 47, “determine a user's/wireless device's physical location based on an RF signature/fingerprint (e.g., signature vector)”. Par. 32, “machine learning computing”, “the RF fingerprinting component 198 may estimate the position of the UE based at least in part on matching the at least one second RF fingerprint to at least one of the plurality of first RF fingerprints”, “a machine learning model 124, e.g., that performs … location determination and/or tracking”. Par. 62, “signature vector 130 is determined, it may be transmitted to the machine learning computing system”, note that location determination system is a machine learning system based on evaluating radio fingerprinting).
Raghothaman is not relied on for the specific limitation: obtaining from an uplink composite transmission by multiple target devices and the uplink reference signals being transmitted by multiple target devices.
In an analogous art, Ghanbarinejad discloses obtaining from an uplink composite transmission by multiple target devices and uplink reference signals being transmitted by multiple target devices (Par. 133, “plurality of uplink composite reference signals from a UE or a plurality of UEs … TRP may perform measurements through different antenna panel combinations or different beam combinations and use the measurement results”, note that the uplink reference signals are transmitted by multiple UEs (or devices) so that the TRP can make measurements based on multiple uplink signals. Note that the “plurality of uplink composite reference signals from a UE or a plurality of UEs“ reads on the limitation “from an uplink composite transmission by multiple target devices”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Raghothaman by incorporating the teachings of Ghanbarinejad for the purpose of determining the RF fingerprint/or signature multiple device and based on a plurality of devices in the vicinity and thus providing a more reliable RF fingerprinting. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 3, the combination of Raghothaman/Ghanbarinejad discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the uplink reference signals include a sounding reference signal (SRS), an uplink channel signal carrying data, or an uplink channel reference signal (Raghothaman, Par. 61, “a wireless device 110 may periodically transmit a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) 132A-C, e.g., every 80-160 ms.”. Par. 49, “Each signature vector 130 for a wireless device 110 may be iteratively determined/updated (while that wireless device 110 is connected to the system 100A) based on SRSs 132 transmitted by the wireless device 110.”).
Referring to claim 26, Raghothaman discloses a network device (FIGS. 1A-1B, Par. 13, 20, base station … that employs at least one (and optionally multiple) baseband unit 104 and multiple (e.g., N=2-100) radio points (RPs) ), comprising: a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (Par. 116, “ a processor will receive instructions and data from a read-only memory and/or a random access memory. For example, where a computing device is described as performing an action, the computing device may carry out this action using at least one processor”), the at least one processor configured to:
obtain one or more uplink composite radio frequency fingerprint (RFFP) measurements (Par. 16, 21, “receive uplink RF signals transmitted by wireless devices 110”, “a signature vector may be determined for the user/wireless device at the site, e.g., based on SRSs received at the RPs from the user/wireless device”, “the signature vector 130 for a wireless device 110 may be based on: (1) the angle of arrival measured at different RPs 106, e.g., for an SRS 132”, “A signature vector 130 may be determined (e.g., periodically) for each wireless device 110 connected to the system”. Par. 47, “uplink SRS 132 sent by the wireless device 110 may reach the RPs 106”, Note that the signature vector is equivalent to radio frequency fingerprint (RFFP) and SRS is the uplink sounding reference signal because the SRS is transmitted by wireless device to the network on an uplink channel. Further note that RP or Radio Points receive the SRS from the wireless devices and obtains the uplink RF signature vector, which is equivalent to the RF fingerprint, based on the uplink reference signals (or SRS)
the uplink reference signals being transmitted by target device over an uplink reference signal resource (Par. 16, “of uplink-sounding reference signal (UL-SRS) transmitted from a UE”); and
determine estimated positions of the target devices based on applying a machine learning model to the one or more uplink composite RFFP measurements (Par. 16, 47, “determine a user's/wireless device's physical location based on an RF signature/fingerprint (e.g., signature vector)”. Par. 32, “machine learning computing”, “the RF fingerprinting component 198 may estimate the position of the UE based at least in part on matching the at least one second RF fingerprint to at least one of the plurality of first RF fingerprints”, “a machine learning model 124, e.g., that performs … location determination and/or tracking”. Par. 62, “signature vector 130 is determined, it may be transmitted to the machine learning computing system”, note that location determination system is a machine learning system based on evaluating radio fingerprinting).
Raghothaman is not relied on for the specific limitation: obtaining from an uplink composite transmission by multiple target devices and the uplink reference signals being transmitted by multiple target devices.
In an analogous art, Ghanbarinejad discloses obtaining from an uplink composite transmission by multiple target devices and uplink reference signals being transmitted by multiple target devices (Par. 133, “plurality of uplink composite reference signals from a UE or a plurality of UEs … TRP may perform measurements through different antenna panel combinations or different beam combinations and use the measurement results”, note that the uplink reference signals are transmitted by multiple UEs (or devices) so that the TRP can make measurements based on multiple uplink signals. Note that the “plurality of uplink composite reference signals from a UE or a plurality of UEs“ reads on the limitation “from an uplink composite transmission by multiple target devices”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Raghothaman by incorporating the teachings of Ghanbarinejad for the purpose of determining the RF fingerprint/or signature multiple device and based on a plurality of devices in the vicinity and thus providing a more reliable RF fingerprinting. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 2 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghothaman (US 2020/0260403) and further in view of Ghanbarinejad (US 2020/0067615) and further in view of HUANG (US 2024/0188029).
Referring to claim 2, the combination of Raghothaman/Ghanbarinejad discloses the method of claim 1.
The above combination is not relied on for wherein the uplink reference signals are based on a same reference sequence.
In an analogous art, HUANG discloses uplink reference signals are based on a same reference sequence (Par. 536, “each triggered SRS resource set corresponds to the same sequence number,” note that SRS or sounding Reference Signal (RS) is defined as uplink reference signal transmitted by UE on the uplink to the base station and each SRS are at least based on the same sequence)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of HUANG for the purpose of allowing the uplink reference signals to be mapped to the sequences easily. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 27, the combination of Raghothaman/Ghanbarinejad discloses the network device of claim 26.
The above combination is not relied on for wherein the uplink reference signals are based on a same reference sequence.
In an analogous art, HUANG discloses uplink reference signals are based on a same reference sequence (Par. 536, “each triggered SRS resource set corresponds to the same sequence number,” note that SRS or sounding Reference Signal (RS) is defined as uplink reference signal transmitted by UE on the uplink to the base station and each SRS are at least based on the same sequence)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of HUANG for the purpose of allowing the uplink reference signals to be mapped to the sequences easily. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8-15 and 28 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claims 8 and 28:
The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the limitation “obtaining a sidelink composite RFFP measurement, the sidelink composite RFFP measurement being based on multiple sidelink reference signals observed at a first target device of the target devices, the multiple sidelink reference signals being transmitted by two or more target devices of the target devices different from the first target device over a sidelink reference signal resource, wherein the determining the estimated positions of the target devices is based on applying the machine learning model to the one or more uplink composite RFFP measurements and the sidelink composite RFFP measurement”, as recited in claims 8 and 28, along with the limitations of the intermediate and/or base claims.
Regarding claims 9-15:
Claims 9-15 depend on allowable subject matter of claim 8, thus, they are allowable for being dependent upon allowable claims.
Claims 16-18, 21-25 and 29-30 are allowed.
The following is the examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Independent claims 16 and 29:
The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the limitations “obtaining one or more training uplink composite radio frequency fingerprint (RFFP) measurements, the one or more training uplink composite RFFP measurements being based on multiple training uplink reference signals observed at one or more Transmission / Reception Points(TRPs), the training uplink reference signals being transmitted by multiple observed devices over an uplink reference signal resource; obtaining training positions of the observed devices, the training positions being associated with the one or more training uplink composite RFFP measurements; and training a machine learning model based on training input data and reference output data, the training input data including the one or more training uplink composite RFFP measurements, and the reference output data including the training positions of the observed devices, wherein estimated positions of multiple target devices are determinable based on applying the machine learning model to one or more uplink composite RFFP measurements, the one or more uplink composite RFFP measurements being based on multiple uplink reference signals transmitted by the target devices”, as recited in claims 16 and 29 along with the limitations of the claims.
Claims 17-18, 21-25 and 30 depend on allowable subject matter of claims 16 and 29, thus, they are allowable for being dependent upon allowable claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted 09/10/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Applicant is invited to contact examiner and discuss claim amendments in order to place claims in condition for allowance and thereby expedite prosecution. Applicant’s specification paragraph 133, describes: “the target devices may send the uplink reference signals simultaneously using the same resource, and a network device may learn and infer the mapping between this composite transmission and target devices' positions. Accordingly, the uplink reference signal resource requirement for positioning multiple target devices may be reduced. In some aspects, one positioning session with a common resource may be used to determine the estimate positions of multiple target devices, while requiring the same overhead and latency as those for positioning a single target device.” These concepts can be incorporated into independent claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Fred Casca, whose telephone number is (571) 272-7918. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 9 to 5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/FRED A CASCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644