DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s arguments and amendments dated 1/20/26 have been received and entered in the application.
Claims 5, 10, and 16-21 are currently pending and examined on the merits.
Claims 5, 10 are currently amended.
Claims 16-21 are newly added.
Withdrawn Objections & Rejections
The objections and rejections presented herein represent the full set of objections and rejections currently pending in this application. Any objections rejections not specifically reiterated are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inlow et al., US Patent No. 6,048,728 (hereinafter Inlow).
Regarding claims 5, 10, and 16-21, Inlow discloses culture media for enhanced cell growth, culture longevity, and product expression. Inlow explains that adding trace metal ions, such as iron in the form of iron choline citrate may improve culture growth and/or product expression (col 3 ln 10-16, col 11 ln 39-47). In some embodiments, the iron choline citrate may be present at about 0.1 to 10 mM (col 3 ln 10-16, col 11 ln 39-47).
With respect to the preamble of claims 5 and 10, claim scope is not limited by language that does not limit the claim to a particular structure. That is, intended use of an apparatus or composition is insufficient to distinguish the structure of the apparatus or composition from the prior art. See MPEP §§ 2111.02 and 2111.04. Therefore, only language that clearly defines structural limitations is considered with respect to patentability analysis. The only structure present in the recited claims refer to a media comprising iron choline citrate at a particular concentration. The terms ”feed” and “basal” do not impart any structural differences on the claimed media. Consequently, the preambles of claims 5 and 10 are not considered in analyzing the patentability of the apparatus or composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 10, 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inlow.
Regarding claims 5, 10, and 16-21, Inlow discloses culture media for enhanced cell growth, culture longevity, and product expression. Inlow explains that adding trace metal ions, such as iron in the form of iron choline citrate may improve culture growth and/or product expression (col 3 ln 10-16, col 11 ln 39-47). In some embodiments, the iron choline citrate may be present at about 0.1 to 10 mM (col 3 ln 10-16, col 11 ln 39-47).
With respect to the preamble of claims 5 and 10, claim scope is not limited by language that does not limit the claim to a particular structure. That is, intended use of an apparatus or composition is insufficient to distinguish the structure of the apparatus or composition from the prior art. See MPEP §§ 2111.02 and 2111.04. Therefore, only language that clearly defines structural limitations is considered with respect to patentability analysis. The only structure present in the recited claims refer to a media comprising iron choline citrate at a particular concentration. The terms ”feed” and “basal” do not impart any structural differences on the claimed media. Consequently, the preambles of claims 5 and 10 are not considered in analyzing the patentability of the apparatus or composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments dated have been fully considered but are not persuasive as explained in detail below.
Claim(s) 5 and 10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inlow. Claim(s) 5, 10, 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inlow.
Applicant argues that Inlow fails to disclose the narrower claimed ranges of iron choline citrate with sufficient specificity to qualify as an anticipatory reference (Response p5-6). Applicants have not advanced any arguments explaining why Inlow fails to obviate the claims as presented.
In response, claims 5 and 10 each encompass a broad range of concentrations of iron choline citrate (0.1 mM to 5 mM and 0.4 mM to 5 mM). Inlow discloses a broad range of iron choline citrate may be present at about 0.1 to 10 mM (col 3 ln 10-16, col 11 ln 39-47). While Inlow does disclose a broader range, the overlap, amounts to significantly more than a slight overlap with the range presently claimed (See MPEP § 2131.01). Further, applicants have not alleged any unexpected results or criticality of the claimed ranges. Therefore, Inlow is deemed to read on the claims as presented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARA D JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632