Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filed on 05/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11-13, 15-19, 21, 24, and 26-28 have been amended. Claims 10 and 25 canceled. Claims 1-9, 11-24, and 26-32 pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, 16 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US 2022/0109529 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0072973 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ye et al. teach an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, wherein the memory includes instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to (Figs. 1 and 3, [0042, 0045], UE 116 includes an antenna 305, a radio frequency (RF) transceiver 310, TX processing circuitry 315, a microphone 320, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 325. The UE 116 also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 345, a touchscreen 350, a display 355, and a memory 360. The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361 and one or more applications 362. The processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116),
Ye et al. teach receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) configuration for a Type 3 hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) codebook (CB) (Figs. 1 and 5, [0086, 0105], A size of a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook is determined to be the same as a number of HARQ processes with enabled HARQ-ACK information based on the configuration by higher layers, such as in a system information block or by UE-specific RRC signaling. The configuration information can be provided by UE-specific RRC signaling),
Ye et al. teach wherein the RRC configuration indicates, using a bitmap, a list of HARQ process identifiers (IDs) associated with the Type 3 HARQ CB (Figs. 1, 5 and 9, [0105, 0107, 0109], a size of a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook is determined to be the same as a number of HARQ processes with enabled HARQ-ACK information based on the configuration by higher layers, such as in a system information block or by UE-specific RRC signaling. Some or all of such fields and be partially or fully used to indicate the HARQ-ACK processes with HARQ-ACK information to be included in the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. In one example, a bitmap can be used when the number of configured HARQ processes is not larger than the number of bits in the DCI format that can be used for the bitmap. HARQ-ACK information is reported in a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook for a set of HARQ processes with successive IDs, where the starting ID and the ending ID),
Ye et al. teach and wherein the RRC configuration indicates a set of component carriers associated with the Type 3 HARQ CB (Figs. 1, 5 and 7, [0086], the configuration information can be provided by UE-specific RRC signaling and can be common among all configured DL/UL BWPs or can be BWP-specific for example when different BWPs use different sub-carrier spacing (SCS) configurations),
Ye et al. teach and transmit, to the base station, the Type 3 HARQ CB based at least in part on the RRC configuration that indicates the list of the HARQ process IDs associated with the Type 3 HARQ CB (Figs. 1, and 9, [00970109], the UE transmits a PUCCH or a PUSCH with a HARQ-ACK codebook. The contents of the HARQ-ACK codebook depend on whether HARQ-ACK information is enabled or disabled for HARQ processes of corresponding TBs. HARQ-ACK information is reported in a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook for a set of HARQ processes with successive IDs).
Ye et al. is teaching of a UE receiving, from a base station, a radio RRC) configuration for a Type-3 HARQ codebook with process ID and component carrier. Ye et al., however, fail to expressly disclose that the RRC configuration indicates the that UE transmits the Type-3 HARQ Codebook to the base station. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. teach transmit, to the base station, the Type 3 HARQ CB based at least in part on the RRC configuration that indicates the list of the HARQ process IDs associated with the Type 3 HARQ CB (Figs. 1 and 6, [0263, 0287, 0292], transmission of the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook may be indicated (triggered or requested) by a DCI format corresponding to a DL assignment. The DCI format may include a dedicated field that indicates (triggers, requests) the transmission of the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. The base station apparatus 3 indicates (requests), by using the HARQ trigger bit, that the terminal apparatus 1 transmit (report) the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook, the terminal apparatus 1 may transmit (report), to the base station apparatus 3 by using the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook, the HARQ-ACK information included in some or all of the HARQ processes configured for the terminal apparatus 1 and the value of the NDI included in some or all of the HARQ processes configured for the terminal apparatus 1. The multiple HARQ processes may mean multiple HARQ processes configured by RRC signaling. For example, the multiple HARQ processes may mean multiple HARQ processes indicated by the Downlink control information. HARQ control corresponding to one transport block may be referred to as a HARQ process. One HARQ process identifier may be provided for each HARQ process. The DCI format may include a field indicating the HARQ process identifier. The HARQ process identifier is also referred to as a HARQ process ID).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ye et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Lee et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting, to the base station, the Type 3 HARQ CB based at least in part on the RRC configuration that indicates the list of the HARQ process IDs associated with the Type 3 HARQ CB. The motivation is to support an improved method of receiving a PDCCH including DCI triggering a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. (see [0016]).
Regarding claim 11, Ye et al. teach an apparatus of a base station for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, wherein the memory includes instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the base station to (Figs. 1 and 3, [0042, 0045], UE 116 includes an antenna 305, a radio frequency (RF) transceiver 310, TX processing circuitry 315, a microphone 320, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 325. The UE 116 also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 345, a touchscreen 350, a display 355, and a memory 360. The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361 and one or more applications 362. The processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116),
Ye et al. teach transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) configuration for a Type 3 hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) codebook (CB) (Figs. 1 and 5, [0086, 0105], A size of a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook is determined to be the same as a number of HARQ processes with enabled HARQ-ACK information based on the configuration by higher layers, such as in a system information block or by UE-specific RRC signaling. The configuration information can be provided by UE-specific RRC signaling),
Ye et al. teach wherein the RRC configuration indicates, using a bitmap, a list of HARQ process identifiers (IDs) associated with the Type 3 HARQ CB (Figs. 1, 5 and 9, [0105, 0107, 0109], a size of a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook is determined to be the same as a number of HARQ processes with enabled HARQ-ACK information based on the configuration by higher layers, such as in a system information block or by UE-specific RRC signaling. Some or all of such fields and be partially or fully used to indicate the HARQ-ACK processes with HARQ-ACK information to be included in the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. In one example, a bitmap can be used when the number of configured HARQ processes is not larger than the number of bits in the DCI format that can be used for the bitmap. HARQ-ACK information is reported in a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook for a set of HARQ processes with successive IDs, where the starting ID and the ending ID),
Ye et al. teach and wherein the RRC configuration indicates a set of component carriers associated with the Type 3 HARQ CB (Figs. 1, 5 and 7, [0086], the configuration information can be provided by UE-specific RRC signaling and can be common among all configured DL/UL BWPs or can be BWP-specific for example when different BWPs use different sub-carrier spacing (SCS) configurations),
Ye et al. teach and receive, from the UE, the HARQ CB based at least in part on the RRC configuration that indicates the HARQ process IDs associated with the HARQ CB (Figs. 1, and 9, [00970109], the UE transmits a PUCCH or a PUSCH with a HARQ-ACK codebook. The contents of the HARQ-ACK codebook depend on whether HARQ-ACK information is enabled or disabled for HARQ processes of corresponding TBs. HARQ-ACK information is reported in a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook for a set of HARQ processes with successive IDs).
Ye et al. is teaching of a UE receiving, from a base station, a radio RRC) configuration for a HARQ codebook with process ID and component carrier. Ye et al., however, fail to expressly disclose that the RRC configuration indicates the HARQ process ID and component carrier associated with HARQ codebook. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. teach and receive, from the UE, the Type 3HARQ CB based at least in part on the RRC configuration that indicates the list of the HARQ process IDs associated with the Type 3 HARQ CB (Figs. 1 and 6, [0263, 0287, 0292], transmission of the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook may be indicated (triggered or requested) by a DCI format corresponding to a DL assignment. The DCI format may include a dedicated field that indicates (triggers, requests) the transmission of the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. The base station apparatus 3 indicates (requests), by using the HARQ trigger bit, that the terminal apparatus 1 transmit (report) the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook, the terminal apparatus 1 may transmit (report), to the base station apparatus 3 by using the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook, the HARQ-ACK information included in some or all of the HARQ processes configured for the terminal apparatus 1 and the value of the NDI included in some or all of the HARQ processes configured for the terminal apparatus 1. The multiple HARQ processes may mean multiple HARQ processes configured by RRC signaling. For example, the multiple HARQ processes may mean multiple HARQ processes indicated by the Downlink control information. HARQ control corresponding to one transport block may be referred to as a HARQ process. One HARQ process identifier may be provided for each HARQ process. The DCI format may include a field indicating the HARQ process identifier. The HARQ process identifier is also referred to as a HARQ process ID).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ye et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Lee et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting, to the base station, the Type 3 HARQ CB based at least in part on the RRC configuration that indicates the list of the HARQ process IDs associated with the Type 3 HARQ CB. The motivation is to support an improved method of receiving a PDCCH including DCI triggering a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. (see [0016]).
Regarding claim 16, Ye et al. teach a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising (Figs. 1 and 3, [0042, 0045], UE 116 includes an antenna 305, a radio frequency (RF) transceiver 310, TX processing circuitry 315, a microphone 320, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 325. The UE 116 also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 345, a touchscreen 350, a display 355, and a memory 360. The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361 and one or more applications 362. The processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116),
Ye et al. teach receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) configuration for a Type 3 hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) codebook (CB) (Figs. 1 and 5, [0086, 0105], A size of a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook is determined to be the same as a number of HARQ processes with enabled HARQ-ACK information based on the configuration by higher layers, such as in a system information block or by UE-specific RRC signaling. The configuration information can be provided by UE-specific RRC signaling),
Ye et al. teach wherein the RRC configuration indicates, using a bitmap, a list of HARQ process identifiers (IDs) associated with the Type 3 HARQ CB (Figs. 1, 5 and 9, [0105, 0107, 0109], a size of a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook is determined to be the same as a number of HARQ processes with enabled HARQ-ACK information based on the configuration by higher layers, such as in a system information block or by UE-specific RRC signaling. Some or all of such fields and be partially or fully used to indicate the HARQ-ACK processes with HARQ-ACK information to be included in the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. In one example, a bitmap can be used when the number of configured HARQ processes is not larger than the number of bits in the DCI format that can be used for the bitmap. HARQ-ACK information is reported in a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook for a set of HARQ processes with successive IDs, where the starting ID and the ending ID),
Ye et al. teach and wherein the RRC configuration indicates a set of component carriers associated with the Type 3 HARQ CB Figs. 1, 5 and 7, [0086], the configuration information can be provided by UE-specific RRC signaling and can be common among all configured DL/UL BWPs or can be BWP-specific for example when different BWPs use different sub-carrier spacing (SCS) configurations),
Ye et al. teach and transmitting, to the base station, the Type 3 HARQ CB based at least in part on the RRC configuration that indicates the list of the HARQ process IDs associated with the Type 3HARQ CB (Figs. 1, and 9, [00970109], the UE transmits a PUCCH or a PUSCH with a HARQ-ACK codebook. The contents of the HARQ-ACK codebook depend on whether HARQ-ACK information is enabled or disabled for HARQ processes of corresponding TBs. HARQ-ACK information is reported in a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook for a set of HARQ processes with successive IDs).
Ye et al. is teaching of a UE receiving, from a base station, a radio RRC) configuration for a Type-3 HARQ codebook with process ID and component carrier. Ye et al., however, fail to expressly disclose that the RRC configuration indicates the that UE transmits the Type-3 HARQ Codebook to the base station. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 16, Lei et al. teach transmitting, to the base station, the Type 3 HARQ CB based at least in part on the RRC configuration that indicates the list of the HARQ process IDs associated with the Type 3HARQ CB (Figs. 1 and 6, [0263, 0287, 0292], transmission of the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook may be indicated (triggered or requested) by a DCI format corresponding to a DL assignment. The DCI format may include a dedicated field that indicates (triggers, requests) the transmission of the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. The base station apparatus 3 indicates (requests), by using the HARQ trigger bit, that the terminal apparatus 1 transmit (report) the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook, the terminal apparatus 1 may transmit (report), to the base station apparatus 3 by using the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook, the HARQ-ACK information included in some or all of the HARQ processes configured for the terminal apparatus 1 and the value of the NDI included in some or all of the HARQ processes configured for the terminal apparatus 1. The multiple HARQ processes may mean multiple HARQ processes configured by RRC signaling. For example, the multiple HARQ processes may mean multiple HARQ processes indicated by the Downlink control information. HARQ control corresponding to one transport block may be referred to as a HARQ process. One HARQ process identifier may be provided for each HARQ process. The DCI format may include a field indicating the HARQ process identifier. The HARQ process identifier is also referred to as a HARQ process ID).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ye et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Lee et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting, to the base station, the Type 3 HARQ CB based at least in part on the RRC configuration that indicates the list of the HARQ process IDs associated with the Type 3 HARQ CB. The motivation is to support an improved method of receiving a PDCCH including DCI triggering a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. (see [0016]).
Regarding claim 26, Ye et al. teach method of wireless communication performed by a base station, comprising (Figs. 1 and 3, [0042, 0045], UE 116 includes an antenna 305, a radio frequency (RF) transceiver 310, TX processing circuitry 315, a microphone 320, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 325. The UE 116 also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 345, a touchscreen 350, a display 355, and a memory 360. The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361 and one or more applications 362. The processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116),
Ye et al. teach a radio resource control (RRC) configuration for a Type 3 hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) codebook (CB) (Figs. 1 and 5, [0086, 0105], A size of a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook is determined to be the same as a number of HARQ processes with enabled HARQ-ACK information based on the configuration by higher layers, such as in a system information block or by UE-specific RRC signaling. The configuration information can be provided by UE-specific RRC signaling),
Ye et al. teach wherein the RRC configuration indicates HARQ process identifiers (IDs) associated with the HARQ CB (Figs. 1, 5 and 9, [0105, 0107, 0109], a size of a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook is determined to be the same as a number of HARQ processes with enabled HARQ-ACK information based on the configuration by higher layers, such as in a system information block or by UE-specific RRC signaling. Some or all of such fields and be partially or fully used to indicate the HARQ-ACK processes with HARQ-ACK information to be included in the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. In one example, a bitmap can be used when the number of configured HARQ processes is not larger than the number of bits in the DCI format that can be used for the bitmap. HARQ-ACK information is reported in a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook for a set of HARQ processes with successive IDs, where the starting ID and the ending ID),
Ye et al. teach and wherein the RRC configuration indicates a set of component carriers associated with the Type 3 HARQ CB (Figs. 1, 5 and 7, [0086], the configuration information can be provided by UE-specific RRC signaling and can be common among all configured DL/UL BWPs or can be BWP-specific for example when different BWPs use different sub-carrier spacing (SCS) configurations),
Ye et al. teach and receiving, from the UE, the Type 3 HARQ CB based at least in part on the RRC configuration that indicates the list of the HARQ process IDs associated with the Type 3HARQ CB (Figs. 1, and 9, [00970109], the UE transmits a PUCCH or a PUSCH with a HARQ-ACK codebook. The contents of the HARQ-ACK codebook depend on whether HARQ-ACK information is enabled or disabled for HARQ processes of corresponding TBs. HARQ-ACK information is reported in a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook for a set of HARQ processes with successive IDs).
Ye et al. is teaching of a UE receiving, from a base station, a radio RRC) configuration for a Type-3 HARQ codebook with process ID and component carrier. Ye et al., however, fail to expressly disclose that the RRC configuration indicates the that UE transmits the Type-3 HARQ Codebook to the base station. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 26, Lee et al. teach receiving, from the UE, the Type 3 HARQ CB based at least in part on the RRC configuration that indicates the list of the HARQ process IDs associated with the Type 3HARQ CB (Figs. 1 and 6, [0263, 0287, 0292], transmission of the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook may be indicated (triggered or requested) by a DCI format corresponding to a DL assignment. The DCI format may include a dedicated field that indicates (triggers, requests) the transmission of the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. The base station apparatus 3 indicates (requests), by using the HARQ trigger bit, that the terminal apparatus 1 transmit (report) the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook, the terminal apparatus 1 may transmit (report), to the base station apparatus 3 by using the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook, the HARQ-ACK information included in some or all of the HARQ processes configured for the terminal apparatus 1 and the value of the NDI included in some or all of the HARQ processes configured for the terminal apparatus 1. The multiple HARQ processes may mean multiple HARQ processes configured by RRC signaling. For example, the multiple HARQ processes may mean multiple HARQ processes indicated by the Downlink control information. HARQ control corresponding to one transport block may be referred to as a HARQ process. One HARQ process identifier may be provided for each HARQ process. The DCI format may include a field indicating the HARQ process identifier. The HARQ process identifier is also referred to as a HARQ process ID).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ye et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Lee et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting, to the base station, the Type 3 HARQ CB based at least in part on the RRC configuration that indicates the list of the HARQ process IDs associated with the Type 3 HARQ CB. The motivation is to support an improved method of receiving a PDCCH including DCI triggering a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. (see [0016]).
Claim(s) 2-3, 6, 12, 15, 17-18, 21, 27 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US 2022/0109529 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0072973 A1) as applied to claims 1, 11, 16 and 26 above, and further in view of Alfarhan et al. (US 2023/0074723 A1).
Ye et al. and Lee et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 6 above. Ye et al. and Lee et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 2, wherein the memory includes instructions executable by the one or more processors to further cause the UE to: receive, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) that indicates a request for the Type 3 HARQ CB, wherein the Type 3 HARQ CB is transmitted based at least in part on the DCI; regarding claim 3, wherein the RRC configuration indicates: a list of component carriers, corresponding to the set of component carriers, having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3HARQ CB; regarding claim 6, wherein: the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a semi-persistent scheduling HARQ collision with a downlink; the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a low priority HARQ being dropped due to an intra-UE multiplexing; or the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a cancellation indication of an uplink channel containing HARQ; regarding claim 12, wherein the RRC configuration indicates: a list of component carriers, corresponding to the set of component carriers, having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3 HARQ CB; regarding claim 15, wherein: the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a semi-persistent scheduling HARQ collision with a downlink; the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a low priority HARQ being dropped due to an intra-UE multiplexing; or the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a cancellation indication of an uplink channel containing HARQ; regarding claim 17, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) that indicates a request for the Type 3 HARQ CB, wherein the HARQ CB is transmitted based at least in part on the DCI; regarding claim 18, wherein the RRC configuration indicates: a list of component carriers, corresponding to the set of component carriers, having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3 HARQ CB; regarding claim 21, wherein: the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a semi-persistent scheduling HARQ collision with a downlink; the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a low priority HARQ being dropped due to an intra-UE multiplexing; or the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a cancellation indication of an uplink channel containing HARQ; regarding claim 27, wherein the RRC configuration indicates: a list of component carriers, corresponding to the set of component carriers, having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3 HARQ CB; regarding claim 30, the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a semi-persistent scheduling HARQ collision with a downlink; the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a low priority HARQ being dropped due to an intra-UE multiplexing; or the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a cancellation indication of an uplink channel containing HARQ.
Regarding claim 2, Alfarhan et al. teach wherein the memory includes instructions executable by the one or more processors to further cause the UE to: receive, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) that indicates a request for the Type 3 HARQ CB, wherein the Type 3 HARQ CB is transmitted based at least in part on the DCI (Fig. 2, [0071, 0149] in addition, the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor. The WTRU may receive a request 235 for one-shot HARQ feedback with an indication of a priority level (e.g. priority 1) from the BS. The request 235 for the one-shot HARQ feedback may be included, for example, in scheduling DCI or non-scheduling DCI with the indication of the priority level. Specifically, a flag indicating the one-shot HARQ feedback and another flag indicating the priority level may be transmitted to the WTRU in the scheduling DCI or the non-scheduling DCI).
Regarding claim 3, Alfarhan et al. teach wherein the RRC configuration indicates: a list of component carriers, corresponding to the set of component carriers, having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3HARQ CB (Fig. 2, [0078, 0080, 0084], there may be an explicit indication for the HARQ feedback. A HARQ process may be included in or associated with a priority subset if it is indicated by L1, MAC, or RRC signaling. The WTRU may receive a bitmap of HARQ process IDs where 1 or 0 indicate whether the HARQ process ID is included in part of the priority subset. The WTRU may then include HARQ feedback only for the indicated HARQ process to be part of the priority subset, such as upon triggering one-shot HARQ feedback. There may be HARQ processes associated with certain serving cell(s). In one example, the WTRU may receive a one-shot HARQ feedback request for a group for HARQ processes associated with a subset of serving cell(s). The WTRU may receive a cross carrier request for HARQ feedback. For example, the WTRU may receive a one-shot HARQ feedback request with a carrier index or a control format indicator (CFI) field indicated for a different carrier than the one on which the request was received. Upon reception of such a request, the WTRU may include HARQ PIDs associated with the requested cells (e.g., part of the priority subset));
Regarding claim 6, Alfarhan et al. teach wherein: the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a semi-persistent scheduling HARQ collision with a downlink; the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a low priority HARQ being dropped due to an intra-UE multiplexing; or the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a cancellation indication of an uplink channel containing HARQ (Fig. 2, [0071, 0077] WTRU may fail to transmit the HARQ feedback 230 for the TB3/PID3 due to listen before talk (LBT) failure or dropped feedback due to collision with higher priority transmission. Alternatively or additionally, the BS may fail to receive the HARQ feedback 230 for any reason. The WTRU may receive a request 235 for one-shot HARQ feedback with an indication of a priority level (e.g. priority 1) from the BS. There may also be a benefit to bundle HARQ feedback for lower priority transmissions, given their relaxed latency timeline, while keeping unbundled (e.g., normal) HARQ feedback for prioritized transmissions. This may reduce the number of HARQ feedback collisions with other higher priority Uplink Control Information (UCI) or Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) transmissions. In addition, this may reduce the number of dropped HARQ feedback, while leaving room for the network to request the WTRU for HARQ feedback for less latency stringent transmissions. This may also be a useful tool for the network to request feedback for dropped low priority HARQ-ACK transmissions (e.g., due to the conflict with higher priority transmissions) without the need to retransmit the associated TBs again, as the BS (e.g., gNB) is aware that some HARQ-ACK feedback is missing, due to intra-WTRU or inter-WTRU prioritization, for example).
Regarding claim 12, Alfarhan et al. teach wherein the RRC configuration indicates: a list of component carriers, corresponding to the set of component carriers, having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3 HARQ CB (Fig. 2, [0078, 0080, 0084], there may be an explicit indication for the HARQ feedback. A HARQ process may be included in or associated with a priority subset if it is indicated by L1, MAC, or RRC signaling. The WTRU may receive a bitmap of HARQ process IDs where 1 or 0 indicate whether the HARQ process ID is included in part of the priority subset. The WTRU may then include HARQ feedback only for the indicated HARQ process to be part of the priority subset, such as upon triggering one-shot HARQ feedback. There may be HARQ processes associated with certain serving cell(s). In one example, the WTRU may receive a one-shot HARQ feedback request for a group for HARQ processes associated with a subset of serving cell(s). The WTRU may receive a cross carrier request for HARQ feedback. For example, the WTRU may receive a one-shot HARQ feedback request with a carrier index or a control format indicator (CFI) field indicated for a different carrier than the one on which the request was received. Upon reception of such a request, the WTRU may include HARQ PIDs associated with the requested cells (e.g., part of the priority subset));
Regarding claim 15, Alfarhan et al. teach wherein: the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a semi-persistent scheduling HARQ collision with a downlink; the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a low priority HARQ being dropped due to an intra-UE multiplexing; or the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a cancellation indication of an uplink channel containing HARQ (Fig. 2, [0071, 0077], WTRU may fail to transmit the HARQ feedback 230 for the TB3/PID3 due to listen before talk (LBT) failure or dropped feedback due to collision with higher priority transmission. Alternatively or additionally, the BS may fail to receive the HARQ feedback 230 for any reason. The WTRU may receive a request 235 for one-shot HARQ feedback with an indication of a priority level (e.g. priority 1) from the BS. There may also be a benefit to bundle HARQ feedback for lower priority transmissions, given their relaxed latency timeline, while keeping unbundled (e.g., normal) HARQ feedback for prioritized transmissions. This may reduce the number of HARQ feedback collisions with other higher priority Uplink Control Information (UCI) or Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) transmissions. In addition, this may reduce the number of dropped HARQ feedback, while leaving room for the network to request the WTRU for HARQ feedback for less latency stringent transmissions. This may also be a useful tool for the network to request feedback for dropped low priority HARQ-ACK transmissions (e.g., due to the conflict with higher priority transmissions) without the need to retransmit the associated TBs again, as the BS (e.g., gNB) is aware that some HARQ-ACK feedback is missing, due to intra-WTRU or inter-WTRU prioritization, for example).
Regarding claim 17, Alfarhan et al. teach further comprising: receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) that indicates a request for the Type 3 HARQ CB, wherein the HARQ CB is transmitted based at least in part on the DCI (Fig. 2, [0071, 0149], in addition, the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor. The WTRU may receive a request 235 for one-shot HARQ feedback with an indication of a priority level (e.g. priority 1) from the BS. The request 235 for the one-shot HARQ feedback may be included, for example, in scheduling DCI or non-scheduling DCI with the indication of the priority level. Specifically, a flag indicating the one-shot HARQ feedback and another flag indicating the priority level may be transmitted to the WTRU in the scheduling DCI or the non-scheduling DCI).
Regarding claim 18, Alfarhan et al. teach wherein the RRC configuration indicates: a list of component carriers, corresponding to the set of component carriers, having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3 HARQ CB (Fig. 2, [0078, 0080, 0084], there may be an explicit indication for the HARQ feedback. A HARQ process may be included in or associated with a priority subset if it is indicated by L1, MAC, or RRC signaling. The WTRU may receive a bitmap of HARQ process IDs where 1 or 0 indicate whether the HARQ process ID is included in part of the priority subset. The WTRU may then include HARQ feedback only for the indicated HARQ process to be part of the priority subset, such as upon triggering one-shot HARQ feedback. There may be HARQ processes associated with certain serving cell(s). In one example, the WTRU may receive a one-shot HARQ feedback request for a group for HARQ processes associated with a subset of serving cell(s). The WTRU may receive a cross carrier request for HARQ feedback. For example, the WTRU may receive a one-shot HARQ feedback request with a carrier index or a control format indicator (CFI) field indicated for a different carrier than the one on which the request was received. Upon reception of such a request, the WTRU may include HARQ PIDs associated with the requested cells (e.g., part of the priority subset)).
Regarding claim 21, Alfarhan et al. teach wherein: the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a semi-persistent scheduling HARQ collision with a downlink; the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a low priority HARQ being dropped due to an intra-UE multiplexing; or the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a cancellation indication of an uplink channel containing HARQ (Fig. 2, [0071, 0077], WTRU may fail to transmit the HARQ feedback 230 for the TB3/PID3 due to listen before talk (LBT) failure or dropped feedback due to collision with higher priority transmission. Alternatively or additionally, the BS may fail to receive the HARQ feedback 230 for any reason. The WTRU may receive a request 235 for one-shot HARQ feedback with an indication of a priority level (e.g. priority 1) from the BS. There may also be a benefit to bundle HARQ feedback for lower priority transmissions, given their relaxed latency timeline, while keeping unbundled (e.g., normal) HARQ feedback for prioritized transmissions. This may reduce the number of HARQ feedback collisions with other higher priority Uplink Control Information (UCI) or Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) transmissions. In addition, this may reduce the number of dropped HARQ feedback, while leaving room for the network to request the WTRU for HARQ feedback for less latency stringent transmissions. This may also be a useful tool for the network to request feedback for dropped low priority HARQ-ACK transmissions (e.g., due to the conflict with higher priority transmissions) without the need to retransmit the associated TBs again, as the BS (e.g., gNB) is aware that some HARQ-ACK feedback is missing, due to intra-WTRU or inter-WTRU prioritization, for example).
Regarding claim 27, Alfarhan et al. teach wherein the RRC configuration indicates: a list of component carriers, corresponding to the set of component carriers, having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3 HARQ CB (Fig. 2, [0078, 0080, 0084], there may be an explicit indication for the HARQ feedback. A HARQ process may be included in or associated with a priority subset if it is indicated by L1, MAC, or RRC signaling. The WTRU may receive a bitmap of HARQ process IDs where 1 or 0 indicate whether the HARQ process ID is included in part of the priority subset. The WTRU may then include HARQ feedback only for the indicated HARQ process to be part of the priority subset, such as upon triggering one-shot HARQ feedback. There may be HARQ processes associated with certain serving cell(s). In one example, the WTRU may receive a one-shot HARQ feedback request for a group for HARQ processes associated with a subset of serving cell(s). The WTRU may receive a cross carrier request for HARQ feedback. For example, the WTRU may receive a one-shot HARQ feedback request with a carrier index or a control format indicator (CFI) field indicated for a different carrier than the one on which the request was received. Upon reception of such a request, the WTRU may include HARQ PIDs associated with the requested cells (e.g., part of the priority subset)).
Regarding claim 30, Alfarhan et al. teach wherein: the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a semi-persistent scheduling HARQ collision with a downlink; the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a low priority HARQ being dropped due to an intra-UE multiplexing; or the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a cancellation indication of an uplink channel containing HARQ (Fig. 2, [0071, 0077], WTRU may fail to transmit the HARQ feedback 230 for the TB3/PID3 due to listen before talk (LBT) failure or dropped feedback due to collision with higher priority transmission. Alternatively or additionally, the BS may fail to receive the HARQ feedback 230 for any reason. The WTRU may receive a request 235 for one-shot HARQ feedback with an indication of a priority level (e.g. priority 1) from the BS. There may also be a benefit to bundle HARQ feedback for lower priority transmissions, given their relaxed latency timeline, while keeping unbundled (e.g., normal) HARQ feedback for prioritized transmissions. This may reduce the number of HARQ feedback collisions with other higher priority Uplink Control Information (UCI) or Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) transmissions. In addition, this may reduce the number of dropped HARQ feedback, while leaving room for the network to request the WTRU for HARQ feedback for less latency stringent transmissions. This may also be a useful tool for the network to request feedback for dropped low priority HARQ-ACK transmissions (e.g., due to the conflict with higher priority transmissions) without the need to retransmit the associated TBs again, as the BS (e.g., gNB) is aware that some HARQ-ACK feedback is missing, due to intra-WTRU or inter-WTRU prioritization, for example).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ye et al. with Lee et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Alfarhan et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of receiving, from the base station, DCI that indicates a request for the Type 3 HARQ CB, indicating, with RRC configuration, a list of component carriers having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3 HARQ CB; a starting HARQ process ID; and a size associated with consecutive HARQ process IDs in the Type 3 HARQ CB based at least in part on a SPS. HARQ collision with a downlink; the Type 3 HARQ CB is based at least in part on a low priority HARQ being dropped due to an intra-UE multiplexing. The motivation is to support an improved method for one-shot hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback by a priority level (see [0003]).
Claim(s) 4-5, 13-14, 19-20 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US 2022/0109529 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0072973 A1) as applied to claims 1, 11, 16 and 26 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0174707 A1).
Ye et al. and Lee et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 6 above. Ye et al. and Lee et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein the RRC configuration indicates: a list of component carriers corresponding to the set of component carriers, having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3 HARQ CB; a starting HARQ process ID; and a size associated with consecutive HARQ process IDs in the HARQ CB; claim 5, wherein the RRC configuration indicates an equal split of a plurality of HARQ processes from a plurality of component carriers corresponding to the set of component carriers, into a total quantity of configured Type 3 HARQ CBs; regarding claim 13, wherein the RRC configuration indicates: a list of component carriers corresponding to the set of component carriers, having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3 HARQ CB; a starting HARQ process ID; and a size associated with consecutive HARQ process IDs in the Type 3 HARQ CB; and a size associated with consecutive HARQ process IDs in the Type 3 HARQ CB; claim 14, wherein the RRC configuration indicates an equal split of a plurality of HARQ processes from a plurality of component carriers corresponding to the set of component carriers, into a total quantity of configured Type 3 HARQ CBs; regarding claim 19, wherein the RRC configuration indicates: a list of component carriers corresponding to the set of component carriers, having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3 HARQ CB; a starting HARQ process ID; and a size associated with consecutive HARQ process IDs in the Type 3 HARQ CB; regarding claim 20, wherein the RRC configuration indicates an equal split of a plurality of HARQ processes from a plurality of component carriers corresponding to the set of component carriers, into a total quantity of configured Type 3 HARQ CBs; regarding claim 28, wherein the RRC configuration indicates: a list of component carriers corresponding to the set of component carriers, having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3 HARQ CB; a starting HARQ process ID; and a size associated with consecutive HARQ process IDs in the Type 3 HARQ CB; regarding claim 29, wherein the RRC configuration indicates an equal split of a plurality of HARQ processes from a plurality of component carriers, corresponding to the set of component carriers, into a total quantity of configured HARQ CBs.
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al. teach wherein the RRC configuration indicates: a list of component carriers corresponding to the set of component carriers, having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3 HARQ CB; a starting HARQ process ID; and a size associated with consecutive HARQ process IDs in the HARQ CB (Fig. 13, [0065, 0083], a User Equipment (UE)) may receive information on the number M of code block groups per transport block from a Base Station (BS) via a higher layer signal (e.g., RRC signal). Thereafter, the UE may receive data initial transmission from the BS (on PDSCH)]. Here, data includes a transport block, the transport block includes a plurality of code blocks, and a plurality of the code blocks may be classified into one or more code block groups. C-DAI and T-DAI may increase by 1 for each (single-CC or multi-CC DL) DCI. In this case, an HARQ-ACK codebook size may be determined based on the maximum number N of CCs that can be scheduled by a corresponding DCI. Here, the N value may be predefined or configured by higher layer (e.g., RRC) signaling. Since a T-DAI value is 1, an (2*N)-bit HARQ-ACK codebook may be configured. Meanwhile, regarding N-bit HARQ-ACK corresponding to each DAI value, if the number of actually scheduled CCs is K (<N), HARQ-ACK information (e.g., ‘1’ in case of ACK or ‘0’ in case of NACK) corresponding to PDSCH on scheduled CC(s) is carried on first (i.e., MSB) K bits among N bits and NACK information (e.g., ‘0’) may be carried on the rest of (i.e., LSB) (N-K) bit(s). If the N value is equal to the maximum HARQ process ID number configured for the corresponding cell, N-bit HARQ-ACK corresponding to each DAI value may be configured as a bitmap corresponding to HARQ process index. Namely, each bit of the N-bit HARQ-ACK may indicate HARQ-ACK information on the corresponding HARQ process ID. In this case, with respect to N-bit HARQ-ACK, if the number of actually scheduled PDSCHs is K (≤N), corresponding HARQ-ACK information may be carried not on the first K bits but on K bits corresponding to the actually scheduled HARQ process ID and NACK information may be carried on the rest of (N-K) bit(s)).
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al. teach wherein the RRC configuration indicates an equal split of a plurality of HARQ processes from a plurality of component carriers corresponding to the set of component carriers, into a total quantity of configured Type 3 HARQ CBs (Fig. 13, [0083], C-DAI and T-DAI may increase by 1 for each (single-CC or multi-CC DL) DCI. In this case, an HARQ-ACK codebook size may be determined based on the maximum number N of CCs that can be scheduled by a corresponding DCI. Here, the N value may be predefined or configured by higher layer (e.g., RRC) signaling. Since a T-DAI value is 1 in FIG. 13, an (2*N)-bit HARQ-ACK codebook may be configured. Meanwhile, regarding N-bit HARQ-ACK corresponding to each DAI value, if the number of actually scheduled CCs is K (<N), HARQ-ACK information (e.g., ‘1’ in case of ACK or ‘0’ in case of NACK) corresponding to PDSCH on scheduled CC(s) is carried on first (i.e., MSB) K bits among N bits and NACK information (e.g., ‘0’) may be carried on the rest of (i.e., LSB) (N-K) bit(s). If the N value is equal to the maximum HARQ process ID number configured for the corresponding cell, N-bit HARQ-ACK corresponding to each DAI value may be configured as a bitmap corresponding to HARQ process index. Namely, each bit of the N-bit HARQ-ACK may indicate HARQ-ACK information on the corresponding HARQ process ID. In this case, with respect to N-bit HARQ-ACK, if the number of actually scheduled PDSCHs is K (≤N), corresponding HARQ-ACK information may be carried not on the first K bits but on K bits corresponding to the actually scheduled HARQ process ID and NACK information may be carried on the rest of (N-K) bit(s)).
Regarding claim 13, Kim et al. teach wherein the RRC configuration indicates: a list of component carriers corresponding to the set of component carriers, having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3 HARQ CB; a starting HARQ process ID; and a size associated with consecutive HARQ process IDs in the Type 3 HARQ CB; and a size associated with consecutive HARQ process IDs in the Type 3 HARQ CB (Fig. 13, [0065, 0083], a User Equipment (UE)) may receive information on the number M of code block groups per transport block from a Base Station (BS) via a higher layer signal (e.g., RRC signal). Thereafter, the UE may receive data initial transmission from the BS (on PDSCH)]. Here, data includes a transport block, the transport block includes a plurality of code blocks, and a plurality of the code blocks may be classified into one or more code block groups. C-DAI and T-DAI may increase by 1 for each (single-CC or multi-CC DL) DCI. In this case, an HARQ-ACK codebook size may be determined based on the maximum number N of CCs that can be scheduled by a corresponding DCI. Here, the N value may be predefined or configured by higher layer (e.g., RRC) signaling. Since a T-DAI value is 1, an (2*N)-bit HARQ-ACK codebook may be configured. Meanwhile, regarding N-bit HARQ-ACK corresponding to each DAI value, if the number of actually scheduled CCs is K (<N), HARQ-ACK information (e.g., ‘1’ in case of ACK or ‘0’ in case of NACK) corresponding to PDSCH on scheduled CC(s) is carried on first (i.e., MSB) K bits among N bits and NACK information (e.g., ‘0’) may be carried on the rest of (i.e., LSB) (N-K) bit(s). If the N value is equal to the maximum HARQ process ID number configured for the corresponding cell, N-bit HARQ-ACK corresponding to each DAI value may be configured as a bitmap corresponding to HARQ process index. Namely, each bit of the N-bit HARQ-ACK may indicate HARQ-ACK information on the corresponding HARQ process ID. In this case, with respect to N-bit HARQ-ACK, if the number of actually scheduled PDSCHs is K (≤N), corresponding HARQ-ACK information may be carried not on the first K bits but on K bits corresponding to the actually scheduled HARQ process ID and NACK information may be carried on the rest of (N-K) bit(s)).
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al. teach wherein the RRC configuration indicates an equal split of a plurality of HARQ processes from a plurality of component carriers corresponding to the set of component carriers, into a total quantity of configured Type 3 HARQ CBs (Fig. 13, [0083], C-DAI and T-DAI may increase by 1 for each (single-CC or multi-CC DL) DCI. In this case, an HARQ-ACK codebook size may be determined based on the maximum number N of CCs that can be scheduled by a corresponding DCI. Here, the N value may be predefined or configured by higher layer (e.g., RRC) signaling. Since a T-DAI value is 1 in FIG. 13, an (2*N)-bit HARQ-ACK codebook may be configured. Meanwhile, regarding N-bit HARQ-ACK corresponding to each DAI value, if the number of actually scheduled CCs is K (<N), HARQ-ACK information (e.g., ‘1’ in case of ACK or ‘0’ in case of NACK) corresponding to PDSCH on scheduled CC(s) is carried on first (i.e., MSB) K bits among N bits and NACK information (e.g., ‘0’) may be carried on the rest of (i.e., LSB) (N-K) bit(s). If the N value is equal to the maximum HARQ process ID number configured for the corresponding cell, N-bit HARQ-ACK corresponding to each DAI value may be configured as a bitmap corresponding to HARQ process index. Namely, each bit of the N-bit HARQ-ACK may indicate HARQ-ACK information on the corresponding HARQ process ID. In this case, with respect to N-bit HARQ-ACK, if the number of actually scheduled PDSCHs is K (≤N), corresponding HARQ-ACK information may be carried not on the first K bits but on K bits corresponding to the actually scheduled HARQ process ID and NACK information may be carried on the rest of (N-K) bit(s)”).
Regarding claim 19, Kim et al. teach wherein the RRC configuration indicates: a list of component carriers corresponding to the set of component carriers, having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3 HARQ CB; a starting HARQ process ID; and a size associated with consecutive HARQ process IDs in the Type 3 HARQ CB (Fig. 13, [0065, 0083] a User Equipment (UE)) may receive information on the number M of code block groups per transport block from a Base Station (BS) via a higher layer signal (e.g., RRC signal). Thereafter, the UE may receive data initial transmission from the BS (on PDSCH)]. Here, data includes a transport block, the transport block includes a plurality of code blocks, and a plurality of the code blocks may be classified into one or more code block groups. C-DAI and T-DAI may increase by 1 for each (single-CC or multi-CC DL) DCI. In this case, an HARQ-ACK codebook size may be determined based on the maximum number N of CCs that can be scheduled by a corresponding DCI. Here, the N value may be predefined or configured by higher layer (e.g., RRC) signaling. Since a T-DAI value is 1, an (2*N)-bit HARQ-ACK codebook may be configured. Meanwhile, regarding N-bit HARQ-ACK corresponding to each DAI value, if the number of actually scheduled CCs is K (<N), HARQ-ACK information (e.g., ‘1’ in case of ACK or ‘0’ in case of NACK) corresponding to PDSCH on scheduled CC(s) is carried on first (i.e., MSB) K bits among N bits and NACK information (e.g., ‘0’) may be carried on the rest of (i.e., LSB) (N-K) bit(s). If the N value is equal to the maximum HARQ process ID number configured for the corresponding cell, N-bit HARQ-ACK corresponding to each DAI value may be configured as a bitmap corresponding to HARQ process index. Namely, each bit of the N-bit HARQ-ACK may indicate HARQ-ACK information on the corresponding HARQ process ID. In this case, with respect to N-bit HARQ-ACK, if the number of actually scheduled PDSCHs is K (≤N), corresponding HARQ-ACK information may be carried not on the first K bits but on K bits corresponding to the actually scheduled HARQ process ID and NACK information may be carried on the rest of (N-K) bit(s)).
Regarding claim 20, Kim et al. teach wherein the RRC configuration indicates an equal split of a plurality of HARQ processes from a plurality of component carriers corresponding to the set of component carriers, into a total quantity of configured Type 3 HARQ CBs (Fig. 13, [0083], C-DAI and T-DAI may increase by 1 for each (single-CC or multi-CC DL) DCI. In this case, an HARQ-ACK codebook size may be determined based on the maximum number N of CCs that can be scheduled by a corresponding DCI. Here, the N value may be predefined or configured by higher layer (e.g., RRC) signaling. Since a T-DAI value is 1 in FIG. 13, an (2*N)-bit HARQ-ACK codebook may be configured. Meanwhile, regarding N-bit HARQ-ACK corresponding to each DAI value, if the number of actually scheduled CCs is K (<N), HARQ-ACK information (e.g., ‘1’ in case of ACK or ‘0’ in case of NACK) corresponding to PDSCH on scheduled CC(s) is carried on first (i.e., MSB) K bits among N bits and NACK information (e.g., ‘0’) may be carried on the rest of (i.e., LSB) (N-K) bit(s). If the N value is equal to the maximum HARQ process ID number configured for the corresponding cell, N-bit HARQ-ACK corresponding to each DAI value may be configured as a bitmap corresponding to HARQ process index. Namely, each bit of the N-bit HARQ-ACK may indicate HARQ-ACK information on the corresponding HARQ process ID. In this case, with respect to N-bit HARQ-ACK, if the number of actually scheduled PDSCHs is K (≤N), corresponding HARQ-ACK information may be carried not on the first K bits but on K bits corresponding to the actually scheduled HARQ process ID and NACK information may be carried on the rest of (N-K) bit(s)).
Regarding claim 28, Kim et al. teach wherein the RRC configuration indicates: a list of component carriers corresponding to the set of component carriers, having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3 HARQ CB; a starting HARQ process ID; and a size associated with consecutive HARQ process IDs in the Type 3 HARQ CB (Fig. 13, [0065, 0083], a User Equipment (UE)) may receive information on the number M of code block groups per transport block from a Base Station (BS) via a higher layer signal (e.g., RRC signal). Thereafter, the UE may receive data initial transmission from the BS (on PDSCH)]. Here, data includes a transport block, the transport block includes a plurality of code blocks, and a plurality of the code blocks may be classified into one or more code block groups. C-DAI and T-DAI may increase by 1 for each (single-CC or multi-CC DL) DCI. In this case, an HARQ-ACK codebook size may be determined based on the maximum number N of CCs that can be scheduled by a corresponding DCI. Here, the N value may be predefined or configured by higher layer (e.g., RRC) signaling. Since a T-DAI value is 1, an (2*N)-bit HARQ-ACK codebook may be configured. Meanwhile, regarding N-bit HARQ-ACK corresponding to each DAI value, if the number of actually scheduled CCs is K (<N), HARQ-ACK information (e.g., ‘1’ in case of ACK or ‘0’ in case of NACK) corresponding to PDSCH on scheduled CC(s) is carried on first (i.e., MSB) K bits among N bits and NACK information (e.g., ‘0’) may be carried on the rest of (i.e., LSB) (N-K) bit(s). If the N value is equal to the maximum HARQ process ID number configured for the corresponding cell, N-bit HARQ-ACK corresponding to each DAI value may be configured as a bitmap corresponding to HARQ process index. Namely, each bit of the N-bit HARQ-ACK may indicate HARQ-ACK information on the corresponding HARQ process ID. In this case, with respect to N-bit HARQ-ACK, if the number of actually scheduled PDSCHs is K (≤N), corresponding HARQ-ACK information may be carried not on the first K bits but on K bits corresponding to the actually scheduled HARQ process ID and NACK information may be carried on the rest of (N-K) bit(s));
Regarding claim 29, Kim et al. teach wherein the RRC configuration indicates an equal split of a plurality of HARQ processes from a plurality of component carriers, corresponding to the set of component carriers, into a total quantity of configured HARQ CBs (Fig. 13, [0083], C-DAI and T-DAI may increase by 1 for each (single-CC or multi-CC DL) DCI. In this case, an HARQ-ACK codebook size may be determined based on the maximum number N of CCs that can be scheduled by a corresponding DCI. Here, the N value may be predefined or configured by higher layer (e.g., RRC) signaling. Since a T-DAI value is 1 in FIG. 13, an (2*N)-bit HARQ-ACK codebook may be configured. Meanwhile, regarding N-bit HARQ-ACK corresponding to each DAI value, if the number of actually scheduled CCs is K (<N), HARQ-ACK information (e.g., ‘1’ in case of ACK or ‘0’ in case of NACK) corresponding to PDSCH on scheduled CC(s) is carried on first (i.e., MSB) K bits among N bits and NACK information (e.g., ‘0’) may be carried on the rest of (i.e., LSB) (N-K) bit(s). If the N value is equal to the maximum HARQ process ID number configured for the corresponding cell, N-bit HARQ-ACK corresponding to each DAI value may be configured as a bitmap corresponding to HARQ process index. Namely, each bit of the N-bit HARQ-ACK may indicate HARQ-ACK information on the corresponding HARQ process ID. In this case, with respect to N-bit HARQ-ACK, if the number of actually scheduled PDSCHs is K (≤N), corresponding HARQ-ACK information may be carried not on the first K bits but on K bits corresponding to the actually scheduled HARQ process ID and NACK information may be carried on the rest of (N-K) bit(s)”).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ye et al. with Lee et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Kim et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of indicating, with RRC configuration, a list of component carriers having HARQ process IDs included in the Type 3 HARQ CB; a starting HARQ process ID; and a size associated with consecutive HARQ process IDs in the Type 3 HARQ CB. The motivation is to support an improved method for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 7 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US 2022/0109529 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0072973 A1) as applied to claims 1, 11, 16 and 26 above, and further in view of Alfarhan et al. (US 20230097142 A1) (Alfarhan’142 hereinafter).
Ye et al. and Lee et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 6 above. Ye et al. and Lee et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 7, wherein the RRC configuration is based at least in part on a channel quality; regarding claim 22, wherein the RRC configuration is based at least in part on a channel quality.
Regarding claim 7, Alfarhan’142 teaches wherein the RRC configuration is based at least in part on a channel quality (Fig. 2, [0179-0180], WTRU 102 has several Configured grants (CGs) on which the WTRU 102 may report CQI, the WTRU 102 may measure CQI prior to selecting a CG. The WTRU 102 may select the CG that maps to the measured CQI (e.g., the CG that has a measured CQI in a CQI range associated with the CG). The CQI range may be configured by RRC signaling. For example, the WTRU 102 may have a number of CGs (e.g., CG1, CG2 and CG3). A URLLC packet may arrive at a buffer (e.g., a buffer of the WTRU 102). Based on the measured CQI, the UE may map the URLLC packet to CG2. As shown in FIG. 2, a measured CQI in a first range (e.g., range 1-6) may map to CG1. The measured CQI in a second range (e.g., range 7-9) may map to CG2. The measured CQI in a third range (e.g., range 10-15) may map to CG3).
Regarding claim 22, Alfarhan’142 teaches wherein the RRC configuration is based at least in part on a channel quality (Fig. 2, [0179-0180] WTRU 102 has several Configured grants (CGs) on which the WTRU 102 may report CQI, the WTRU 102 may measure CQI prior to selecting a CG. The WTRU 102 may select the CG that maps to the measured CQI (e.g., the CG that has a measured CQI in a CQI range associated with the CG). The CQI range may be configured by RRC signaling. For example, the WTRU 102 may have a number of CGs (e.g., CG1, CG2 and CG3). A URLLC packet may arrive at a buffer (e.g., a buffer of the WTRU 102). Based on the measured CQI, the UE may map the URLLC packet to CG2. As shown in FIG. 2, a measured CQI in a first range (e.g., range 1-6) may map to CG1. The measured CQI in a second range (e.g., range 7-9) may map to CG2. The measured CQI in a third range (e.g., range 10-15) may map to CG3)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ye et al. with Lee et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Alfarhan’142 in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of configuring the RRC based at least in part on a channel quality. The motivation is to support an improved method for channel state information reporting (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 8 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US 2022/0109529 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0072973 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Alfarhan et al. (US 2022/0400396 A1) (Alfarhan’396 hereinafter).
Ye et al. and Lee et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 6 above. Ye et al. and Lee et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 8, wherein the memory includes instructions executable by the one or more processors to further cause the UE to: transmit, to the base station, a request for a type of RRC configuration based at least in part on a reference signal received power associated with a signal received from the base station, wherein the RRC configuration received from the base station is based at least in part on the request; regarding claim 23, further comprising: transmitting, to the base station, a request for a type of RRC configuration based at least in part on a reference signal received power associated with a signal received from the base station, wherein the RRC configuration received from the base station is based at least in part on the request.
Regarding claim 8, Alfarhan’396 teaches wherein the memory includes instructions executable by the one or more processors to further cause the UE to: transmit, to the base station, a request for a type of RRC configuration based at least in part on a reference signal received power associated with a signal received from the base station, wherein the RRC configuration received from the base station is based at least in part on the request (Fig. 2, [0150, 0158, 0172, 0174] the method may further comprise storing the SR configuration in the WTRU; and changing or adjusting the stored SR configuration via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling. The failure reporting MAC-CE may comprise any of: [0159] a cell index of said first cell on which said UL-BLT failure or said beam failure is detected; [0160] a Bandwidth Part, BWP, of a BWP on which said UL-BLT failure or said beam failure is detected; [0161] a sub-band on which said UL-BLT failure or said beam failure is detected; [0162] a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message; [0163] at least one measurement which may comprise any of Reference Signal Received Power, RSRP, Signal-to-Reference-and-Noise Ratio, SINR, Received Signal Strength Indicator, RSSI, channel occupancy, for the first cell, on which said UL-BLT failure or said beam failure is detected. Where the WTRU considers a HARQ entity applicable per TRP, TRP group, or group of TRPs transmitting the same PDCCH. Alternatively, the MAC entity may be configured with different HARQ Process ID (PID) spaces, where each PID space may be applicable to a specific TRP, TRP group, or group of TRPs transmitting the same PDCCH. The WTRU may determine which TRP is applicable for transmission/reception from the HARQ process ID indicated in the PDCCH. The WTRU may be configured with more than one HARQ-ACK codebook for different schedulers/PDCCHs in the cell; the WTRU may select a codebook for feeding back HARQ Ack/Nack as a function of the PDCCH from which the DL assignment was received from).
Regarding claim 23, Alfarhan’396 teaches further comprising: transmitting, to the base station, a request for a type of RRC configuration based at least in part on a reference signal received power associated with a signal received from the base station, wherein the RRC configuration received from the base station is based at least in part on the request (Fig. 2, [0150, 0158, 0172, 0174] the method may further comprise storing the SR configuration in the WTRU; and changing or adjusting the stored SR configuration via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling. The failure reporting MAC-CE may comprise any of: [0159] a cell index of said first cell on which said UL-BLT failure or said beam failure is detected; [0160] a Bandwidth Part, BWP, of a BWP on which said UL-BLT failure or said beam failure is detected; [0161] a sub-band on which said UL-BLT failure or said beam failure is detected; [0162] a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message; [0163] at least one measurement which may comprise any of Reference Signal Received Power, RSRP, Signal-to-Reference-and-Noise Ratio, SINR, Received Signal Strength Indicator, RSSI, channel occupancy, for the first cell, on which said UL-BLT failure or said beam failure is detected. Where the WTRU considers a HARQ entity applicable per TRP, TRP group, or group of TRPs transmitting the same PDCCH. Alternatively, the MAC entity may be configured with different HARQ Process ID (PID) spaces, where each PID space may be applicable to a specific TRP, TRP group, or group of TRPs transmitting the same PDCCH. The WTRU may determine which TRP is applicable for transmission/reception from the HARQ process ID indicated in the PDCCH. The WTRU may be configured with more than one HARQ-ACK codebook for different schedulers/PDCCHs in the cell; the WTRU may select a codebook for feeding back HARQ Ack/Nack as a function of the PDCCH from which the DL assignment was received from).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ye et al. with Lee et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Alfarhan’396 in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting to the base station a request for a type of RRC configuration based on a reference signal received power. The motivation is to support an improved method for reporting channel failure in new radio operation (see [0008]).
Claim(s) 9 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US 2022/0109529 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0072973 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Bae et al. (US 2022/0231798 A1).
Ye et al. and Lee et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 6 above. Ye et al. and Lee et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 9, wherein a plurality of active HARQ process IDs are not all included in the Type 3 HARQ CB; regarding claim 24, wherein a plurality of active HARQ process IDs are not all included in the Type 3 HARQ CB.
Regarding claim 9, Bae et al. teach wherein a plurality of active HARQ process IDs are not all included in the Type 3 HARQ CB (Fig. 12, [0222-0225], in a given scheduled cell, the UE is not expected to (simultaneously) receive a first PDSCH and a second PDSCH, which starts later than the first PDSCH, with its corresponding HARQ-ACK assigned to be transmitted on a resource ending before the start of a different resource for the HARQ-ACK assigned to be transmitted for the first PDSCH if the HARQ-ACKs for the two PDSCHs are associated with HARQ-ACK codebooks of different priorities. For transmission of a HARQ-ACK response dropped due to collision with a DL symbol and/or a HARQ-ACK response of low priority canceled due to collision with UL control information of high priority (and a HARQ process ID related thereto), the UE may be exceptionally 1): allowed to perform operation(s) of PDSCH (re-)transmission/reception for the same HARQ process ID and related HARQ-ACK transmission even before a corresponding HARQ-ACK transmission is performed over a PUCCH or Type-3 codebook into which the dropped and/or canceled HARQ-ACK transmission is delayed to be loaded; and 2) relaxed to determine the out-of-order HARQ restriction predefined for a HARQ process ID based on a HARQ-ACK transmission time indicated/configured before the dropping/cancellation (rather than the actual HARQ-ACK transmission time (e.g., the delayed HARQ-ACK transmission time)). In other words, in some implementations of the present disclosure, for transmission of a HARQ-ACK response dropped due to collision with a DL symbol and/or a HARQ-ACK response of low priority canceled due to collision with UL control information of high priority (and a HARQ process ID related thereto), the following may be exceptionally considered: 1) operations(s) of performing PDSCH (re-)transmission/reception for the same HARQ process ID and related A/N feedback transmission are allowed even before a corresponding A/N feedback is transmitted over a PUCCH or Type-3 codebook into which the dropped and/or canceled A/N feedback is delayed to be loaded; and 2) determination of whether HARQs for the same HARQ process ID are out of order is relaxed such that the determination is made based on a A/N transmission time indicated/configured before the dropping/cancellation (rather than the actual A/N transmission time (e.g., the delayed HARQ-ACK transmission time)).
Regarding claim 24, Bae et al. teach wherein a plurality of active HARQ process IDs are not all included in the Type 3 HARQ CB (Fig. 12, [0222-0225], in a given scheduled cell, the UE is not expected to (simultaneously) receive a first PDSCH and a second PDSCH, which starts later than the first PDSCH, with its corresponding HARQ-ACK assigned to be transmitted on a resource ending before the start of a different resource for the HARQ-ACK assigned to be transmitted for the first PDSCH if the HARQ-ACKs for the two PDSCHs are associated with HARQ-ACK codebooks of different priorities. For transmission of a HARQ-ACK response dropped due to collision with a DL symbol and/or a HARQ-ACK response of low priority canceled due to collision with UL control information of high priority (and a HARQ process ID related thereto), the UE may be exceptionally 1): allowed to perform operation(s) of PDSCH (re-)transmission/reception for the same HARQ process ID and related HARQ-ACK transmission even before a corresponding HARQ-ACK transmission is performed over a PUCCH or Type-3 codebook into which the dropped and/or canceled HARQ-ACK transmission is delayed to be loaded; and 2) relaxed to determine the out-of-order HARQ restriction predefined for a HARQ process ID based on a HARQ-ACK transmission time indicated/configured before the dropping/cancellation (rather than the actual HARQ-ACK transmission time (e.g., the delayed HARQ-ACK transmission time)). In other words, in some implementations of the present disclosure, for transmission of a HARQ-ACK response dropped due to collision with a DL symbol and/or a HARQ-ACK response of low priority canceled due to collision with UL control information of high priority (and a HARQ process ID related thereto), the following may be exceptionally considered: 1) operations(s) of performing PDSCH (re-)transmission/reception for the same HARQ process ID and related A/N feedback transmission are allowed even before a corresponding A/N feedback is transmitted over a PUCCH or Type-3 codebook into which the dropped and/or canceled A/N feedback is delayed to be loaded; and 2) determination of whether HARQs for the same HARQ process ID are out of order is relaxed such that the determination is made based on a A/N transmission time indicated/configured before the dropping/cancellation (rather than the actual A/N transmission time (e.g., the delayed HARQ-ACK transmission time)).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ye et al. with Lee et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Bae et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of not including a plurality of active HARQ process IDs in the wherein a plurality of active HARQ process IDs are not all included in the Type 3 HARQ CB. The motivation is to support an improved method for efficiently using high-density UEs for communication (see [0006]).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US 2022/0109529 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0072973 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Zhu (US 2025/0141608 A1).
Ye et al. and Lee et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 6 above. Ye et al. and Lee et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 31, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the base station, capability signaling indicating a quantity of supported Type 3 HARQ CBs.
Regarding claim 31, Zhu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the base station, capability signaling indicating a quantity of supported Type 3 HARQ CBs (Fig. 8, [0093-0095], the HARQ codebook is one of a plurality of types of HARQ codebooks, such as Type-1 HARQ codebook, Type-2 HARQ codebook, and Type-3 HARQ codebook. The HARQ codebook configuration capability supported by the terminal when using the partial HARQ disabled mechanism may include HARQ codebooks such as the Type-1 HARQ codebook, the Type-2 HARQ codebook and the Type-3 HARQ codebook involved in the related art. The codebook has enhanced HARQ codebook configuration capabilities, or HARQ codebook configuration capability that does not perform the enhancement. The HARQ codebook configuration information is configured for the terminal based on the capability information).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ye et al. with Lee et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Zhu in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of : transmitting, to the base station, capability signaling indicating a quantity of supported Type 3 HARQ CBs. The motivation is to support an improved method for codebook feedback (see [0002]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 32 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 11-24, and 26-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED M BOKHARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2473
7/28/2026
/JUTAI KAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473