The amendment filed 6/24/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-4, 15-20, 26-27 and 29-47 are pending.
Claims 5-14, 21-25 and 28 are canceled.
Claims 1-4, 15-20, 26-27 and 29-47 stand rejected.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 18-19 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200119778 A1) and Matsumura et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220060293 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Grant and Matsumura ‘293.
In regard to Claim 1, Grant teaches An apparatus for wireless communication (UE, Para. 74, FIG. 6), the apparatus comprising: one or more memories (program memory 1220, Para. 110, FIG. 12); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (a processor 1210 that can be operably connected to a program memory 1220, Para. 110, FIG. 12) and configured to cause the apparatus to: receive radio resource control signaling (RRC) (The resources corresponding to a particular spatial resource group ID can be provided to the UE in various ways including, e.g., as part of an RRC message used to configure PUCCH resource(s), Para. 64. The mapping of PUCCH resources to a particular Spatial Group can be configured by the network via, e.g., a specific IE in an RRC PUCCH resource configuration message, Para. 73, FIGS. 5, 6. Mappings can be configured by the RRC protocol, Para. 75, FIG. 7) that indicates an associated spatial relation (FIG. 6 shows a table that illustrates an exemplary mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values, Para. 74, FIG. 6) for each control channel resource (to actual PUCCH resource IDs, Para. 74, FIG. 6) of one or more groupings of one or more control channel resources (the number of groups (4) and the number of PUCCH resources per group (32), Para. 74, FIG. 6) within a configured bandwidth (transceiver 1240 is capable of communicating using radio technologies that operate in unlicensed frequency bands, such as IEEE 802.11 WiFi that operates using frequencies in the regions of 2.4, 5.6, and/or 60 GHz, Para. 116, FIG. 12), wherein the one or more control channel resources (PUCCH resource IDs, Para. 74, FIG. 6) that have a same associated spatial relation (PUCCH Spatial Group ID value, Para. 74, FIG. 6) implicitly indicate a grouping of the one or more groupings (the mapping between PUCCH resources and Spatial Groups can be based on the configured format of the PUCCH resources. For example, all PUCCH resources configured as format 0 can be associated with one Spatial Group ID, and all PUCCH resources configured as format 1 can be associated with a second Spatial Group ID, Para. 75, FIG. 6).
Grant teaches, and wherein the associated spatial relation (PUCCH Spatial Group ID value, Para. 74, FIG. 6).
Grant teaches to use a transmit beam of the apparatus (The UE then tests a different Rx spatial filtering configuration (Rx beam) in each OFDM symbol to identify the largest received RSRP. The UE remembers the RS ID (RS ID 6 in this example) and the corresponding spatial filtering configuration that resulted in the largest RSRP, Para. 19, FIG. 1. The UE should use the “same” Tx spatial filtering configuration (Tx beam) to transmit the PUCCH DMRS, Para. 23, FIG. 1) for each control channel resource (The resources corresponding to a particular spatial resource group ID can be provided to the UE in various ways including, e.g., as part of an RRC message used to configure PUCCH resource(s), Para. 64. When the UE subsequently receives a MAC-CE message comprising a configured Spatial Group ID, it can determine the actual configured PUCCH resources corresponding to that Spatial Group ID, Para. 73, FIGS. 1, 6. Different Spatial Group IDs can correspond to groups with different numbers of PUCCH resources, Para. 74, FIGS. 1, 6) that corresponds to a beam (as the preferred Rx spatial filtering configuration (Rx beam) determined based on RS6 during the UE beam sweep in the DL beam management phase, Para. 23, FIG. 1) used for a reference signal (Referring to the downlink data transmission phase illustrated in FIG. 1, the gNB indicates to the UE that the PDSCH DMRS is spatially QCL'd with RS6. This means that the UE may use the same Rx spatial filtering configuration (Rx beam) to receive the PDSCH as the preferred spatial filtering configuration (Rx beam) determined based on RS6 during the UE beam sweep in the DL beam management phase, Para. 21, FIG. 1).
Grant teaches apply the associated spatial relation (PUCCH Spatial Group ID value, Para. 74, FIG. 6) for a control channel transmission using the one or more control channel resources (transmitting, to the network node, a PUCCH message according to the first spatial relation using a configured PUCCH resource to which the first spatial relation applies, Para. 38) in a grouping (a UE can interpret a particular Spatial Group ID provided in a MAC-CE message as an instruction to apply the spatial relation, indicated by the Spatial Relation ID in the same message, to all PUCCH resources associated with the provided Spatial Group ID, Para. 75) of the one or more groupings (the number of groups (4) and the number of PUCCH resources per group (32), Para. 74, FIG. 6), wherein the grouping is associated with the spatial relation (FIG. 6 shows a table that illustrates an exemplary mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to actual PUCCH resource IDs, Para. 74, FIG. 6).
Although Grant teaches the associated spatial relation and teaches to use a transmit beam, Grant fails to teach wherein the associated spatial relation indicates to use a transmit beam.
Matsumura ‘293 teaches wherein the associated spatial relation (the UE may determine PUCCH spatial relation information based on higher layer signaling. Based on the minimum value of one of the panel ID, TRP ID, and DMRS port group ID, Para. 160) indicates to use a transmit beam of the apparatus (the UE may determine the PUCCH spatial relation information (transmission point of a transmission destination and beam), Para. 160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura ‘293 with the teachings of Grant since Matsumura ‘293 provides a technique for utilizing ID information involving PUCCH spatial relations to determine beams, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Grant to permit UE to utilize PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to determine Tx spatial filtering configurations (Tx beams) for transmitting PUCCH DMRS.
In regard to Claim 2, Grant teaches the one or more groupings of the one or more control channel resources comprise one or more physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources (the number of groups (4) and the number of PUCCH resources per group (32), Para. 74, FIG. 6).
In regard to Claim 3, Grant teaches at least one grouping of the one or more groupings comprises a subset of control channel resources (the number of groups (4) and the number of PUCCH resources per group (32), Para. 74, FIG. 6) within the configured bandwidth (transceiver 1240 is capable of communicating using radio technologies that operate in unlicensed frequency bands, such as IEEE 802.11 WiFi that operates using frequencies in the regions of 2.4, 5.6, and/or 60 GHz, Para. 116, FIG. 12).
In regard to Claim 18, Grant teaches An apparatus for wireless communication (network node, Para. 74, FIG. 6), the apparatus comprising: one or more memories (Program memory 1320, Para. 122, FIG. 13); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (Program memory 1320 can store software code, programs, and/or instructions executed by processor 1310, Para. 122, FIG. 13) and configured to cause the apparatus to: send radio resource control signaling (RRC) (The resources corresponding to a particular spatial resource group ID can be provided to the UE in various ways including, e.g., as part of an RRC message used to configure PUCCH resource(s), Para. 64. The mapping of PUCCH resources to a particular Spatial Group can be configured by the network via, e.g., a specific IE in an RRC PUCCH resource configuration message, Para. 73, FIGS. 5, 6. Mappings can be configured by the RRC protocol, Para. 75, FIG. 7) that indicates an associated spatial relation (FIG. 6 shows a table that illustrates an exemplary mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values, Para. 74, FIG. 6) for each control channel resource (to actual PUCCH resource IDs, Para. 74, FIG. 6) of one or more groupings of one or more control channel resources (the number of groups (4) and the number of PUCCH resources per group (32), Para. 74, FIG. 6) within a configured bandwidth (transceiver 1240 is capable of communicating using radio technologies that operate in unlicensed frequency bands, such as IEEE 802.11 WiFi that operates using frequencies in the regions of 2.4, 5.6, and/or 60 GHz, Para. 116, FIG. 12), wherein the one or more control channel resources (PUCCH resource IDs, Para. 74, FIG. 6) that have a same associated spatial relation (PUCCH Spatial Group ID value, Para. 74, FIG. 6) implicitly indicate a grouping of the one or more groupings (the mapping between PUCCH resources and Spatial Groups can be based on the configured format of the PUCCH resources. For example, all PUCCH resources configured as format 0 can be associated with one Spatial Group ID, and all PUCCH resources configured as format 1 can be associated with a second Spatial Group ID, Para. 75, FIG. 6).
Grant teaches, and wherein the associated spatial relation (PUCCH Spatial Group ID value, Para. 74, FIG. 6).
Grant teaches to use a transmit beam of a user equipment (The UE then tests a different Rx spatial filtering configuration (Rx beam) in each OFDM symbol to identify the largest received RSRP. The UE remembers the RS ID (RS ID 6 in this example) and the corresponding spatial filtering configuration that resulted in the largest RSRP, Para. 19, FIG. 1. The UE should use the “same” Tx spatial filtering configuration (Tx beam) to transmit the PUCCH DMRS, Para. 23, FIG. 1) for each control channel resource (The resources corresponding to a particular spatial resource group ID can be provided to the UE in various ways including, e.g., as part of an RRC message used to configure PUCCH resource(s), Para. 64. When the UE subsequently receives a MAC-CE message comprising a configured Spatial Group ID, it can determine the actual configured PUCCH resources corresponding to that Spatial Group ID, Para. 73, FIGS. 1, 6. Different Spatial Group IDs can correspond to groups with different numbers of PUCCH resources, Para. 74, FIGS. 1, 6) that corresponds to a beam (as the preferred Rx spatial filtering configuration (Rx beam) determined based on RS6 during the UE beam sweep in the DL beam management phase, Para. 23, FIG. 1) used for a reference signal (Referring to the downlink data transmission phase illustrated in FIG. 1, the gNB indicates to the UE that the PDSCH DMRS is spatially QCL'd with RS6. This means that the UE may use the same Rx spatial filtering configuration (Rx beam) to receive the PDSCH as the preferred spatial filtering configuration (Rx beam) determined based on RS6 during the UE beam sweep in the DL beam management phase, Para. 21, FIG. 1).
Grant teaches receive a control channel transmission using one or more control channel resources (transmitting, to the network node, a PUCCH message according to the first spatial relation using a configured PUCCH resource to which the first spatial relation applies, Para. 38) in a grouping (a UE can interpret a particular Spatial Group ID provided in a MAC-CE message as an instruction to apply the spatial relation, indicated by the Spatial Relation ID in the same message, to all PUCCH resources associated with the provided Spatial Group ID, Para. 75), of the one or more indicated groupings (the number of groups (4) and the number of PUCCH resources per group (32), Para. 74, FIG. 6), wherein the control channel transmission is based on the spatial relation associated with the grouping (FIG. 6 shows a table that illustrates an exemplary mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to actual PUCCH resource IDs, Para. 74, FIG. 6).
Although Grant teaches the associated spatial relation and teaches to use a transmit beam, Grant fails to teach wherein the associated spatial relation indicates to use a transmit beam.
Matsumura ‘293 teaches wherein the associated spatial relation (the UE may determine PUCCH spatial relation information based on higher layer signaling. Based on the minimum value of one of the panel ID, TRP ID, and DMRS port group ID, Para. 160) indicates to use a transmit beam of a user equipment (the UE may determine the PUCCH spatial relation information (transmission point of a transmission destination and beam), Para. 160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura ‘293 with the teachings of Grant since Matsumura ‘293 provides a technique for utilizing ID information involving PUCCH spatial relations to determine beams, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Grant to permit UE to utilize PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to determine Tx spatial filtering configurations (Tx beams) for transmitting PUCCH DMRS.
In regard to Claim 19, Grant teaches at least one of the one or more groupings comprises a subset of control channel resources (the number of groups (4) and the number of PUCCH resources per group (32), Para. 74, FIG. 6) within the configured bandwidth (transceiver 1240 is capable of communicating using radio technologies that operate in unlicensed frequency bands, such as IEEE 802.11 WiFi that operates using frequencies in the regions of 2.4, 5.6, and/or 60 GHz, Para. 116, FIG. 12).
In regard to Claim 29, Grant teaches A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE, Para. 74, FIG. 6), the method comprising: receiving radio resource control signaling (RRC) (The resources corresponding to a particular spatial resource group ID can be provided to the UE in various ways including, e.g., as part of an RRC message used to configure PUCCH resource(s), Para. 64. The mapping of PUCCH resources to a particular Spatial Group can be configured by the network via, e.g., a specific IE in an RRC PUCCH resource configuration message, Para. 73, FIGS. 5, 6. Mappings can be configured by the RRC protocol, Para. 75, FIG. 7) that indicates an associated spatial relation (FIG. 6 shows a table that illustrates an exemplary mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values, Para. 74, FIG. 6) for each control channel resource (to actual PUCCH resource IDs, Para. 74, FIG. 6) of one or more groupings (the mapping between PUCCH resources and Spatial Groups can be based on the configured format of the PUCCH resources. For example, all PUCCH resources configured as format 0 can be associated with one Spatial Group ID, and all PUCCH resources configured as format 1 can be associated with a second Spatial Group ID, Para. 75, FIG. 6) of one or more control channel resources (PUCCH resource IDs, Para. 74, FIG. 6) within a configured bandwidth (transceiver 1240 is capable of communicating using radio technologies that operate in unlicensed frequency bands, such as IEEE 802.11 WiFi that operates using frequencies in the regions of 2.4, 5.6, and/or 60 GHz, Para. 116, FIG. 12), wherein the one or more control channel resources (PUCCH resource IDs, Para. 74, FIG. 6) that have a same indicated spatial relation (PUCCH Spatial Group ID value, Para. 74, FIG. 6) implicitly indicate a grouping of the one or more groupings (the mapping between PUCCH resources and Spatial Groups can be based on the configured format of the PUCCH resources. For example, all PUCCH resources configured as format 0 can be associated with one Spatial Group ID, and all PUCCH resources configured as format 1 can be associated with a second Spatial Group ID, Para. 75, FIG. 6).
Grant teaches, and wherein the associated spatial relation (PUCCH Spatial Group ID value, Para. 74, FIG. 6).
Grant teaches to use a transmit beam of the UE (The UE then tests a different Rx spatial filtering configuration (Rx beam) in each OFDM symbol to identify the largest received RSRP. The UE remembers the RS ID (RS ID 6 in this example) and the corresponding spatial filtering configuration that resulted in the largest RSRP, Para. 19, FIG. 1. The UE should use the “same” Tx spatial filtering configuration (Tx beam) to transmit the PUCCH DMRS, Para. 23, FIG. 1) for each control channel resource (The resources corresponding to a particular spatial resource group ID can be provided to the UE in various ways including, e.g., as part of an RRC message used to configure PUCCH resource(s), Para. 64. When the UE subsequently receives a MAC-CE message comprising a configured Spatial Group ID, it can determine the actual configured PUCCH resources corresponding to that Spatial Group ID, Para. 73, FIGS. 1, 6. Different Spatial Group IDs can correspond to groups with different numbers of PUCCH resources, Para. 74, FIGS. 1, 6) that corresponds to a beam (as the preferred Rx spatial filtering configuration (Rx beam) determined based on RS6 during the UE beam sweep in the DL beam management phase, Para. 23, FIG. 1) used for a reference signal (Referring to the downlink data transmission phase illustrated in FIG. 1, the gNB indicates to the UE that the PDSCH DMRS is spatially QCL'd with RS6. This means that the UE may use the same Rx spatial filtering configuration (Rx beam) to receive the PDSCH as the preferred spatial filtering configuration (Rx beam) determined based on RS6 during the UE beam sweep in the DL beam management phase, Para. 21, FIG. 1).
Grant teaches applying the associated spatial relation (PUCCH Spatial Group ID value, Para. 74, FIG. 6) for a control channel transmission using the one or more control channel resources (transmitting, to the network node, a PUCCH message according to the first spatial relation using a configured PUCCH resource to which the first spatial relation applies, Para. 38) in a grouping (a UE can interpret a particular Spatial Group ID provided in a MAC-CE message as an instruction to apply the spatial relation, indicated by the Spatial Relation ID in the same message, to all PUCCH resources associated with the provided Spatial Group ID, Para. 75) of the one or more groupings (the number of groups (4) and the number of PUCCH resources per group (32), Para. 74, FIG. 6), wherein the grouping is associated with the spatial relation (FIG. 6 shows a table that illustrates an exemplary mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to actual PUCCH resource IDs, Para. 74, FIG. 6).
Although Grant teaches the associated spatial relation and teaches to use a transmit beam, Grant fails to teach wherein the associated spatial relation indicates to use a transmit beam.
Matsumura ‘293 teaches wherein the associated spatial relation (the UE may determine PUCCH spatial relation information based on higher layer signaling. Based on the minimum value of one of the panel ID, TRP ID, and DMRS port group ID, Para. 160) indicates to use a transmit beam of the UE (the UE may determine the PUCCH spatial relation information (transmission point of a transmission destination and beam), Para. 160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura ‘293 with the teachings of Grant since Matsumura ‘293 provides a technique for utilizing ID information involving PUCCH spatial relations to determine beams, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Grant to permit UE to utilize PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to determine Tx spatial filtering configurations (Tx beams) for transmitting PUCCH DMRS.
In regard to Claim 30, Grant teaches A method for wireless communication at a network entity (network node, Para. 74, FIG. 6), the method comprising: sending radio resource control signaling (RRC) (The resources corresponding to a particular spatial resource group ID can be provided to the UE in various ways including, e.g., as part of an RRC message used to configure PUCCH resource(s), Para. 64. The mapping of PUCCH resources to a particular Spatial Group can be configured by the network via, e.g., a specific IE in an RRC PUCCH resource configuration message, Para. 73, FIGS. 5, 6. Mappings can be configured by the RRC protocol, Para. 75, FIG. 7) that indicates an associated spatial relation (FIG. 6 shows a table that illustrates an exemplary mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values, Para. 74, FIG. 6) for each control channel resource (to actual PUCCH resource IDs, Para. 74, FIG. 6) of one or more groupings of one or more control channel resources (the number of groups (4) and the number of PUCCH resources per group (32), Para. 74, FIG. 6) within a configured bandwidth (transceiver 1240 is capable of communicating using radio technologies that operate in unlicensed frequency bands, such as IEEE 802.11 WiFi that operates using frequencies in the regions of 2.4, 5.6, and/or 60 GHz, Para. 116, FIG. 12), wherein the one or more control channel resources (PUCCH resource IDs, Para. 74, FIG. 6) that have a same indicated spatial relation (PUCCH Spatial Group ID value, Para. 74, FIG. 6) implicitly indicate a grouping of the one or more groupings (the mapping between PUCCH resources and Spatial Groups can be based on the configured format of the PUCCH resources. For example, all PUCCH resources configured as format 0 can be associated with one Spatial Group ID, and all PUCCH resources configured as format 1 can be associated with a second Spatial Group ID, Para. 75, FIG. 6).
Grant teaches, and wherein the associated spatial relation (PUCCH Spatial Group ID value, Para. 74, FIG. 6).
Grant teaches to use a transmit beam of a user equipment (The UE then tests a different Rx spatial filtering configuration (Rx beam) in each OFDM symbol to identify the largest received RSRP. The UE remembers the RS ID (RS ID 6 in this example) and the corresponding spatial filtering configuration that resulted in the largest RSRP, Para. 19, FIG. 1. The UE should use the “same” Tx spatial filtering configuration (Tx beam) to transmit the PUCCH DMRS, Para. 23, FIG. 1) for each control channel resource (The resources corresponding to a particular spatial resource group ID can be provided to the UE in various ways including, e.g., as part of an RRC message used to configure PUCCH resource(s), Para. 64. When the UE subsequently receives a MAC-CE message comprising a configured Spatial Group ID, it can determine the actual configured PUCCH resources corresponding to that Spatial Group ID, Para. 73, FIGS. 1, 6. Different Spatial Group IDs can correspond to groups with different numbers of PUCCH resources, Para. 74, FIGS. 1, 6) that corresponds to a beam (as the preferred Rx spatial filtering configuration (Rx beam) determined based on RS6 during the UE beam sweep in the DL beam management phase, Para. 23, FIG. 1) used for a reference signal (Referring to the downlink data transmission phase illustrated in FIG. 1, the gNB indicates to the UE that the PDSCH DMRS is spatially QCL'd with RS6. This means that the UE may use the same Rx spatial filtering configuration (Rx beam) to receive the PDSCH as the preferred spatial filtering configuration (Rx beam) determined based on RS6 during the UE beam sweep in the DL beam management phase, Para. 21, FIG. 1).
Grant teaches receiving a control channel transmission using the one or more control channel resources (transmitting, to the network node, a PUCCH message according to the first spatial relation using a configured PUCCH resource to which the first spatial relation applies, Para. 38) in a grouping (a UE can interpret a particular Spatial Group ID provided in a MAC-CE message as an instruction to apply the spatial relation, indicated by the Spatial Relation ID in the same message, to all PUCCH resources associated with the provided Spatial Group ID, Para. 75), of the one or more groupings (the number of groups (4) and the number of PUCCH resources per group (32), Para. 74, FIG. 6), wherein the control channel transmission is based on the spatial relation associated with the grouping (FIG. 6 shows a table that illustrates an exemplary mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to actual PUCCH resource IDs, Para. 74, FIG. 6).
Although Grant teaches the associated spatial relation and teaches to use a transmit beam, Grant fails to teach wherein the associated spatial relation indicates to use a transmit beam.
Matsumura ‘293 teaches wherein the associated spatial relation (the UE may determine PUCCH spatial relation information based on higher layer signaling. Based on the minimum value of one of the panel ID, TRP ID, and DMRS port group ID, Para. 160) indicates to use a transmit beam of a user equipment (the UE may determine the PUCCH spatial relation information (transmission point of a transmission destination and beam), Para. 160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura ‘293 with the teachings of Grant since Matsumura ‘293 provides a technique for utilizing ID information involving PUCCH spatial relations to determine beams, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Grant to permit UE to utilize PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to determine Tx spatial filtering configurations (Tx beams) for transmitting PUCCH DMRS.
Claim(s) 4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293, and further in view of Cheng et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200053721 A1), hereafter referred to as Cheng.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 teaches a configured bandwidth.
Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 fails to teach the configured bandwidth comprises a bandwidth part (BWP).
Cheng teaches the configured bandwidth comprises a bandwidth part (BWP) (The MAC CE 500 may include a serving cell ID (e.g., 5 bits), a bandwidth part (BWP) ID. The BWP ID may indicate an uplink bandwidth part to which the MAC CE 500 applies, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 since Cheng provides a technique for utilizing a bandwidth part ID with respect to PUCCH spatial relations, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 to permit bandwidth parts to contain PUCCH resources of Spatial Groups.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 18, Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 teaches a configured bandwidth.
Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 fails to teach the configured bandwidth comprises at least one bandwidth part (BWP).
Cheng teaches the configured bandwidth comprises at least one bandwidth part (BWP) (The MAC CE 500 may include a serving cell ID (e.g., 5 bits), a bandwidth part (BWP) ID. The BWP ID may indicate an uplink bandwidth part to which the MAC CE 500 applies, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 since Cheng provides a technique for utilizing a bandwidth part ID with respect to PUCCH spatial relations, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 to permit bandwidth parts to contain PUCCH resources of Spatial Groups.
Claim(s) 15-17 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293, and further in view of Matsumura et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220217754 A1), hereafter referred to as Matsumura ‘754.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 teaches processors.
Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 fails to teach one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: receive an indication of one or more updated spatial relations; receive, for each updated spatial relation of the one or more updated spatial relations, one or more previously indicated spatial relations associated with at least one grouping of the one or more groupings; and apply each updated spatial relation of the one or more updated spatial relations for the control channel transmission using the one or more control resources in the at least one grouping associated with the previously indicated spatial relation.
Matsumura ‘754 teaches one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: receive an indication of one or more updated spatial relations; receive, for each updated spatial relation of the one or more updated spatial relations, one or more previously indicated spatial relations associated with at least one grouping of the one or more groupings; and apply each updated spatial relation of the one or more updated spatial relations for the control channel transmission using the one or more control resources in the at least one grouping associated with the previously indicated spatial relation (The SRI configured by PUCCH configuration may be applied to all PUCCH resources configured by the PUCCH configuration, Para. 40. Indication and update of spatial relation information for each group, Para. 62. A group of PUCCH resources for at least one of indication and update of PUCCH SRI, an SRI PUCCH resource group (SRI-PRG, S-PRG), Para. 70. In FIG. 13A, at time t2, the UE receives one of the MAC CEs. The UE determines, based on the MAC CE, that the SRI in the S-PRG 1 has been updated to SRI 5, Para. 153, FIG. 13A. In FIG. 13B, at time t1, the UE receives one MAC CE. The UE determines, based on the MAC CE, that the pieces of SRI in the S-PRGs 1, 2, 3, and 4 have been respectively updated to pieces of SRI 5, 6, 7, and 8, Para. 156, FIG. 13B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura ‘754 with the teachings of Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 since Matsumura ‘754 provides a technique for updating SRI for resource groups, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 to ensure information of spatial relations for groups of resources are sufficiently updated for changes in wireless conditions.
In regard to Claim 16, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 teaches processors.
Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 fails to teach to cause the apparatus to receive the one or more previously indicated spatial relations, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive a plurality of previously indicated spatial relations associated with a plurality of groupings for at least one of the indicated one or more updated spatial relations.
Matsumura ‘754 teaches to cause the apparatus to receive the one or more previously indicated spatial relations, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive a plurality of previously indicated spatial relations associated with a plurality of groupings for at least one of the indicated one or more updated spatial relations (indication and update of spatial relation information for each group, Para. 62. A group of PUCCH resources for at least one of indication and update of PUCCH SRI, an SRI PUCCH resource group (SRI-PRG, S-PRG), Para. 70. In FIG. 13A, at time t2, the UE receives one of the MAC CEs. The UE determines, based on the MAC CE, that the SRI in the S-PRG 1 has been updated to SRI 5, Para. 153, FIG. 13A. In FIG. 13B, at time t1, the UE receives one MAC CE. The UE determines, based on the MAC CE, that the pieces of SRI in the S-PRGs 1, 2, 3, and 4 have been respectively updated to pieces of SRI 5, 6, 7, and 8, Para. 156, FIG. 13B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura ‘754 with the teachings of Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 since Matsumura ‘754 provides a technique for updating SRI for resource groups, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 to ensure information of spatial relations for groups of resources are sufficiently updated for changes in wireless conditions.
In regard to Claim 17, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 teaches the apparatus.
Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 fails to teach the indication of the one or more updated spatial relations, the one or more previously indicated spatial relations, or both, is received via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE).
Matsumura ‘754 teaches the indication of the one or more updated spatial relations, the one or more previously indicated spatial relations, or both, is received via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (indication and update of spatial relation information for each group, Para. 62. A group of PUCCH resources for at least one of indication and update of PUCCH SRI, an SRI PUCCH resource group (SRI-PRG, S-PRG), Para. 70. In FIG. 13A, at time t2, the UE receives one of the MAC CEs. The UE determines, based on the MAC CE, that the SRI in the S-PRG 1 has been updated to SRI 5, Para. 153, FIG. 13A. In FIG. 13B, at time t1, the UE receives one MAC CE. The UE determines, based on the MAC CE, that the pieces of SRI in the S-PRGs 1, 2, 3, and 4 have been respectively updated to pieces of SRI 5, 6, 7, and 8, Para. 156, FIG. 13B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura ‘754 with the teachings of Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 since Matsumura ‘754 provides a technique for updating SRI for resource groups, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 to ensure information of spatial relations for groups of resources are sufficiently updated for changes in wireless conditions.
In regard to Claim 26, as presented in the rejection of Claim 18, Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 teaches processors.
Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 fails to teach one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: send an indication of one or more updated spatial relations; send, for each updated spatial relation of the one or more updated spatial relations, one or more previously indicated spatial relations associated with at least one grouping of the one or more groupings; and receive a control channel transmission using the one or more control channel resources in a grouping of the one or more groupings, wherein the control channel transmission is based on the updated spatial relation associated with the previously indicated spatial relation associated with the grouping.
Matsumura ‘754 teaches one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: send an indication of one or more updated spatial relations; send, for each updated spatial relation of the one or more updated spatial relations, one or more previously indicated spatial relations associated with at least one grouping of the one or more groupings; and receive a control channel transmission using the one or more control channel resources in a grouping of the one or more groupings, wherein the control channel transmission is based on the updated spatial relation associated with the previously indicated spatial relation associated with the grouping (The SRI configured by PUCCH configuration may be applied to all PUCCH resources configured by the PUCCH configuration, Para. 40. Indication and update of spatial relation information for each group, Para. 62. A group of PUCCH resources for at least one of indication and update of PUCCH SRI, an SRI PUCCH resource group (SRI-PRG, S-PRG), Para. 70. In FIG. 13A, at time t2, the UE receives one of the MAC CEs. The UE determines, based on the MAC CE, that the SRI in the S-PRG 1 has been updated to SRI 5, Para. 153, FIG. 13A. In FIG. 13B, at time t1, the UE receives one MAC CE. The UE determines, based on the MAC CE, that the pieces of SRI in the S-PRGs 1, 2, 3, and 4 have been respectively updated to pieces of SRI 5, 6, 7, and 8, Para. 156, FIG. 13B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura ‘754 with the teachings of Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 since Matsumura ‘754 provides a technique for updating SRI for resource groups, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 to ensure information of spatial relations for groups of resources are sufficiently updated for changes in wireless conditions.
In regard to Claim 27, as presented in the rejection of Claim 18, Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 teaches an apparatus.
Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 fails to teach to cause the apparatus to send the one or more previously indicated spatial relations, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send a plurality of previously indicated spatial relations associated with a plurality of groupings for at least one updated spatial relation of the one or more updated spatial relations.
Matsumura ‘754 teaches to cause the apparatus to send the one or more previously indicated spatial relations, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send a plurality of previously indicated spatial relations associated with a plurality of groupings for at least one updated spatial relation of the one or more updated spatial relations (indication and update of spatial relation information for each group, Para. 62. A group of PUCCH resources for at least one of indication and update of PUCCH SRI, an SRI PUCCH resource group (SRI-PRG, S-PRG), Para. 70. In FIG. 13A, at time t2, the UE receives one of the MAC CEs. The UE determines, based on the MAC CE, that the SRI in the S-PRG 1 has been updated to SRI 5, Para. 153, FIG. 13A. In FIG. 13B, at time t1, the UE receives one MAC CE. The UE determines, based on the MAC CE, that the pieces of SRI in the S-PRGs 1, 2, 3, and 4 have been respectively updated to pieces of SRI 5, 6, 7, and 8, Para. 156, FIG. 13B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura ‘754 with the teachings of Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 since Matsumura ‘754 provides a technique for updating SRI for resource groups, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Grant in view of Matsumura ‘293 to ensure information of spatial relations for groups of resources are sufficiently updated for changes in wireless conditions.
Claim(s) 31-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200053721 A1) in view of Seo et al. (Pub. No.: US 20130176920 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Cheng and Seo.
In regard to Claim 31, Cheng teaches An apparatus for wireless communication (UE 121, Para. 54, FIG. 1), the apparatus comprising: one or more memories (memory 3128, Para. 122, FIG. 31); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (memory 3128 may store computer-readable, computer-executable instructions 3132 (e.g., software codes) that are configured to, when executed, cause processor 3126 to perform various functions, Para. 122, FIG. 31) and configured to cause the apparatus to: receive radio resource control (RRC) signaling (In action 131, a base station 111 (e.g., a gNB) may send an RRC configuration message to a UE 121, Para. 53, FIG. 1) that configures a plurality of groupings of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources (an RRC configuration message to a UE 121 to configure a list of PUCCH spatial relations, Para. 53, FIG. 1. A UE may be configured with one or more PUCCH resources. The UE may also be configured with one or more sets (or groups) of PUCCH resources, Para. 68. FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating an example of a PUCCH configuration. The PUCCH configuration 410 may include a resource group list 420, Para. 70, FIG. 4), wherein each grouping of the plurality of groupings is associated with a plurality of PUCCH resources (a resource group #1 441 and a resource group #2 442. The resource group #1 441 may include a PUCCH resource #5 455, a PUCCH resource #6 456, a PUCCH resource #7 457, and a PUCCH resource #8 458. The resource group #2 442 may include a PUCCH resource #9 459, and a PUCCH resource #10 460. In this example, a total of ten PUCCH resources are configured to the UE, Para. 70, FIG. 4).
Cheng teaches receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (FIG. 6 shows a MAC CE 600, Para. 76, FIG. 6), wherein the MAC CE includes an updated spatial relation (the first field (for indicating at least one PUCCH spatial relation) may include at least the field “spatial relation ID,” Para. 76, FIG. 6) and PUCCH identifier (ID) (The index (e.g., #1, #2, #3, #4) of a PUCCH resource may also be referred as a resource ID, Para. 70, FIG. 4. The PUCCH resource ID may indicate one of the ten configured PUCCH resources in FIG. 4, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6).
Cheng teaches apply, based on receipt of each PUCCH ID of the multiple IDs of the multiple PUCCH resources in the multiple groupings (The PUCCH resource ID may indicate one of the ten configured PUCCH resources in FIG. 4, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6), the updated spatial relation (In action 135, the base station 111 may try to switch to another PUCCH spatial relation. Only in this scenario, the UE 121 may switch to RX beam #2 for transmitting the PUCCH, Para. 54, FIG. 1) to the plurality of PUCCH resources in each grouping of the multiple groupings (the network may activate and deactivate a spatial relation for a PUCCH resource of a serving cell by sending a PUCCH spatial relation Activation/Deactivation MAC CE. A UE may be configured with one or more PUCCH resources. The UE may also be configured with one or more sets (or groups) of PUCCH resources, Para. 68, FIG. 6. The field “select all resources” may indicate whether the MAC CE 600 is used to select all resources in a configured PUCCH resource list. This field may indicate whether the PUCCH spatial relation indicated by the field “spatial relation ID” is activated for all PUCCH resources configured by the base station, Para. 79, FIG. 6).
Although Cheng teaches PUCCH identifier (ID), Cheng fails to teach multiple PUCCH identifiers (IDs), wherein the multiple PUCCH IDs identify multiple PUCCH resources in multiple groupings of the plurality of groupings, and wherein each PUCCH ID of the multiple PUCCH IDs identifies a PUCCH resource of the multiple PUCCH resources in a grouping of the multiple groupings.
Seo teaches multiple PUCCH identifiers (IDs), wherein the multiple PUCCH IDs identify multiple PUCCH resources in multiple groupings of the plurality of groupings, and wherein each PUCCH ID of the multiple PUCCH IDs identifies a PUCCH resource of the multiple PUCCH resources in a grouping of the multiple groupings (Referring to FIG. 16(c), a CC 0 and a CC 1 are both set to a MIMO mode. If a DL:UL ratio is 3:1, a UE first performs intra-CC spatial bundling for each CC, Para. 186, FIG. 16(c). The number of PUCCH resources indicated by using the explicit method may be equal to the number of DL subframe groups to be bundled and mapped to one UL subframe. For example, if a DL:UL ratio of a CC 0 is 4:1 and two DL subframes are bundled in a time domain, the number of DL subframe groups to be bundled is 2. In this case, if the PUCCH resource is indicated by using the explicit method, two explicit PUCCH resources are allocated, Para. 187).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Seo with the teachings of Cheng since Seo provides a technique for indicating groups of PUCCH resource involving spatial bundling of respective subframe groups, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cheng to permit an explicit method of indicating number of PUCCH resources with respective resource groups.
In regard to Claim 32, Cheng teaches multiple PUCCH IDs do not include another PUCCH ID of another PUCCH resource in the multiple groupings (The index (e.g., #1, #2, #3, #4) of a PUCCH resource may also be referred as a resource ID, Para. 70, FIG. 4. The PUCCH resource ID may indicate one of the ten configured PUCCH resources in FIG. 4, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6).
In regard to Claim 33, Cheng teaches at least one of the plurality of groupings comprises a subset of one or more control channel resources (a resource group #1 441 and a resource group #2 442. The resource group #1 441 may include a PUCCH resource #5 455, a PUCCH resource #6 456, a PUCCH resource #7 457, and a PUCCH resource #8 458. The resource group #2 442 may include a PUCCH resource #9 459, and a PUCCH resource #10 460. In this example, a total of ten PUCCH resources are configured to the UE, Para. 70, FIG. 4) within a configured bandwidth (The scalable OFDM numerology, such as the adaptive sub-carrier spacing, the channel bandwidth, Para. 51. A total of ten PUCCH resources are configured to the UE, Para. 70, FIG. 4).
In regard to Claim 34, Cheng teaches the plurality of groupings comprise PUCCH resources from within a bandwidth part (BWP) (The MAC CE 500 may include a serving cell ID (e.g., 5 bits), a bandwidth part (BWP) ID. The BWP ID may indicate an uplink bandwidth part to which the MAC CE 500 applies, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6).
In regard to Claim 35, Cheng teaches A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE 121, Para. 54, FIG. 1), the method comprising: receiving radio resource control (RRC) signaling (In action 131, a base station 111 (e.g., a gNB) may send an RRC configuration message to a UE 121, Para. 53, FIG. 1) that configures a plurality of groupings of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources (an RRC configuration message to a UE 121 to configure a list of PUCCH spatial relations, Para. 53, FIG. 1. A UE may be configured with one or more PUCCH resources. The UE may also be configured with one or more sets (or groups) of PUCCH resources, Para. 68. FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating an example of a PUCCH configuration. The PUCCH configuration 410 may include a resource group list 420, Para. 70, FIG. 4), wherein each grouping of the plurality of groupings is associated with a plurality of PUCCH resources (a resource group #1 441 and a resource group #2 442. The resource group #1 441 may include a PUCCH resource #5 455, a PUCCH resource #6 456, a PUCCH resource #7 457, and a PUCCH resource #8 458. The resource group #2 442 may include a PUCCH resource #9 459, and a PUCCH resource #10 460. In this example, a total of ten PUCCH resources are configured to the UE, Para. 70, FIG. 4).
Cheng teaches receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (FIG. 6 shows a MAC CE 600, Para. 76, FIG. 6), wherein the MAC CE includes an updated spatial relation (the first field (for indicating at least one PUCCH spatial relation) may include at least the field “spatial relation ID,” Para. 76, FIG. 6) and PUCCH identifier (ID) (The index (e.g., #1, #2, #3, #4) of a PUCCH resource may also be referred as a resource ID, Para. 70, FIG. 4. The PUCCH resource ID may indicate one of the ten configured PUCCH resources in FIG. 4, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6).
Cheng teaches applying, based on receipt of each PUCCH ID of the multiple PUCCH resources of the multiple groupings (The PUCCH resource ID may indicate one of the ten configured PUCCH resources in FIG. 4, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6), the updated spatial relation (In action 135, the base station 111 may try to switch to another PUCCH spatial relation. Only in this scenario, the UE 121 may switch to RX beam #2 for transmitting the PUCCH, Para. 54, FIG. 1) to the plurality of PUCCH resources in each grouping of the multiple groupings (the network may activate and deactivate a spatial relation for a PUCCH resource of a serving cell by sending a PUCCH spatial relation Activation/Deactivation MAC CE. A UE may be configured with one or more PUCCH resources. The UE may also be configured with one or more sets (or groups) of PUCCH resources, Para. 68, FIG. 6. The field “select all resources” may indicate whether the MAC CE 600 is used to select all resources in a configured PUCCH resource list. This field may indicate whether the PUCCH spatial relation indicated by the field “spatial relation ID” is activated for all PUCCH resources configured by the base station, Para. 79, FIG. 6).
Although Cheng teaches PUCCH identifier (ID), Cheng fails to teach multiple PUCCH identifiers (IDs), wherein the multiple PUCCH IDs identify multiple PUCCH resources in multiple groupings of the plurality of grouping, and wherein each PUCCH ID of the multiple PUCCH IDs identifies a PUCCH resource of the multiple PUCCH resources in a grouping of the multiple groupings.
Seo teaches multiple PUCCH identifiers (IDs), wherein the multiple PUCCH IDs identify multiple PUCCH resources in multiple groupings of the plurality of grouping, and wherein each PUCCH ID of the multiple PUCCH IDs identifies a PUCCH resource of the multiple PUCCH resources in a grouping of the multiple groupings (Referring to FIG. 16(c), a CC 0 and a CC 1 are both set to a MIMO mode. If a DL:UL ratio is 3:1, a UE first performs intra-CC spatial bundling for each CC, Para. 186, FIG. 16(c). The number of PUCCH resources indicated by using the explicit method may be equal to the number of DL subframe groups to be bundled and mapped to one UL subframe. For example, if a DL:UL ratio of a CC 0 is 4:1 and two DL subframes are bundled in a time domain, the number of DL subframe groups to be bundled is 2. In this case, if the PUCCH resource is indicated by using the explicit method, two explicit PUCCH resources are allocated, Para. 187).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Seo with the teachings of Cheng since Seo provides a technique for indicating groups of PUCCH resource involving spatial bundling of respective subframe groups, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cheng to permit an explicit method of indicating number of PUCCH resources with respective resource groups.
In regard to Claim 36, Cheng teaches multiple PUCCH IDs do not include another PUCCH ID of another PUCCH resource in the multiple groupings (The index (e.g., #1, #2, #3, #4) of a PUCCH resource may also be referred as a resource ID, Para. 70, FIG. 4. The PUCCH resource ID may indicate one of the ten configured PUCCH resources in FIG. 4, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6).
In regard to Claim 37, Cheng teaches at least one of the plurality of groupings comprises a subset of one or more control channel resources (a resource group #1 441 and a resource group #2 442. The resource group #1 441 may include a PUCCH resource #5 455, a PUCCH resource #6 456, a PUCCH resource #7 457, and a PUCCH resource #8 458. The resource group #2 442 may include a PUCCH resource #9 459, and a PUCCH resource #10 460. In this example, a total of ten PUCCH resources are configured to the UE, Para. 70, FIG. 4) within a configured bandwidth (The scalable OFDM numerology, such as the adaptive sub-carrier spacing, the channel bandwidth, Para. 51. A total of ten PUCCH resources are configured to the UE, Para. 70, FIG. 4).
In regard to Claim 38, Cheng teaches the plurality of groupings comprise PUCCH resources from within a bandwidth part (BWP) (The MAC CE 500 may include a serving cell ID (e.g., 5 bits), a bandwidth part (BWP) ID. The BWP ID may indicate an uplink bandwidth part to which the MAC CE 500 applies, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6).
In regard to Claim 39, Cheng teaches An apparatus for wireless communication (UE 121, Para. 54, FIG. 1), the apparatus comprising: means for receiving radio resource control (RRC) signaling (In action 131, a base station 111 (e.g., a gNB) may send an RRC configuration message to a UE 121, Para. 53, FIG. 1) that configures a plurality of groupings of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources (an RRC configuration message to a UE 121 to configure a list of PUCCH spatial relations, Para. 53, FIG. 1. A UE may be configured with one or more PUCCH resources. The UE may also be configured with one or more sets (or groups) of PUCCH resources, Para. 68. FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating an example of a PUCCH configuration. The PUCCH configuration 410 may include a resource group list 420, Para. 70, FIG. 4), wherein each grouping of the plurality of groupings is associated with a plurality of PUCCH resources (a resource group #1 441 and a resource group #2 442. The resource group #1 441 may include a PUCCH resource #5 455, a PUCCH resource #6 456, a PUCCH resource #7 457, and a PUCCH resource #8 458. The resource group #2 442 may include a PUCCH resource #9 459, and a PUCCH resource #10 460. In this example, a total of ten PUCCH resources are configured to the UE, Para. 70, FIG. 4).
Cheng teaches means for receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (FIG. 6 shows a MAC CE 600, Para. 76, FIG. 6), wherein the MAC CE includes an updated spatial relation (the first field (for indicating at least one PUCCH spatial relation) may include at least the field “spatial relation ID,” Para. 76, FIG. 6) and PUCCH identifier (ID) (The index (e.g., #1, #2, #3, #4) of a PUCCH resource may also be referred as a resource ID, Para. 70, FIG. 4. The PUCCH resource ID may indicate one of the ten configured PUCCH resources in FIG. 4, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6).
Cheng teaches means for applying, based on receipt of each PUCCH ID of the multiple PUCCH resources of the multiple groupings (The PUCCH resource ID may indicate one of the ten configured PUCCH resources in FIG. 4, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6), the updated spatial relation (In action 135, the base station 111 may try to switch to another PUCCH spatial relation. Only in this scenario, the UE 121 may switch to RX beam #2 for transmitting the PUCCH, Para. 54, FIG. 1) to the plurality of PUCCH resources in each of the multiple groupings (the network may activate and deactivate a spatial relation for a PUCCH resource of a serving cell by sending a PUCCH spatial relation Activation/Deactivation MAC CE. A UE may be configured with one or more PUCCH resources. The UE may also be configured with one or more sets (or groups) of PUCCH resources, Para. 68, FIG. 6. The field “select all resources” may indicate whether the MAC CE 600 is used to select all resources in a configured PUCCH resource list. This field may indicate whether the PUCCH spatial relation indicated by the field “spatial relation ID” is activated for all PUCCH resources configured by the base station, Para. 79, FIG. 6).
Although Cheng teaches PUCCH identifier (ID), Cheng fails to teach multiple PUCCH identifiers (IDs), wherein the multiple PUCCH IDs identify multiple PUCCH resources in multiple groupings of the plurality of grouping, and wherein each PUCCH ID of the multiple PUCCH IDs identifies a PUCCH resource of the multiple PUCCH resources in grouping of the multiple groupings.
Seo teaches multiple PUCCH identifiers (IDs), wherein the multiple PUCCH IDs identify multiple PUCCH resources in multiple groupings of the plurality of grouping, and wherein each PUCCH ID of the multiple PUCCH IDs identifies a PUCCH resource of the multiple PUCCH resources in grouping of the multiple groupings (Referring to FIG. 16(c), a CC 0 and a CC 1 are both set to a MIMO mode. If a DL:UL ratio is 3:1, a UE first performs intra-CC spatial bundling for each CC, Para. 186, FIG. 16(c). The number of PUCCH resources indicated by using the explicit method may be equal to the number of DL subframe groups to be bundled and mapped to one UL subframe. For example, if a DL:UL ratio of a CC 0 is 4:1 and two DL subframes are bundled in a time domain, the number of DL subframe groups to be bundled is 2. In this case, if the PUCCH resource is indicated by using the explicit method, two explicit PUCCH resources are allocated, Para. 187).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Seo with the teachings of Cheng since Seo provides a technique for indicating groups of PUCCH resource involving spatial bundling of respective subframe groups, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cheng to permit an explicit method of indicating number of PUCCH resources with respective resource groups.
In regard to Claim 40, Cheng teaches the multiple PUCCH IDs does not another PUCCH ID of another PUCCH resource in the multiple groupings (The index (e.g., #1, #2, #3, #4) of a PUCCH resource may also be referred as a resource ID, Para. 70, FIG. 4. The PUCCH resource ID may indicate one of the ten configured PUCCH resources in FIG. 4, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6).
In regard to Claim 41, Cheng teaches at least one of the plurality of groupings comprises a subset of one or more control channel resources (a resource group #1 441 and a resource group #2 442. The resource group #1 441 may include a PUCCH resource #5 455, a PUCCH resource #6 456, a PUCCH resource #7 457, and a PUCCH resource #8 458. The resource group #2 442 may include a PUCCH resource #9 459, and a PUCCH resource #10 460. In this example, a total of ten PUCCH resources are configured to the UE, Para. 70, FIG. 4) within a configured bandwidth (The scalable OFDM numerology, such as the adaptive sub-carrier spacing, the channel bandwidth, Para. 51. A total of ten PUCCH resources are configured to the UE, Para. 70, FIG. 4).
In regard to Claim 42, Cheng teaches the plurality of groupings comprise PUCCH resources from within a bandwidth part (BWP) (The MAC CE 500 may include a serving cell ID (e.g., 5 bits), a bandwidth part (BWP) ID. The BWP ID may indicate an uplink bandwidth part to which the MAC CE 500 applies, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6).
In regard to Claim 43, Cheng teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium having computer executable code stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE) (UE 121, Para. 54, FIG. 1), causes the UE to: receive radio resource control (RRC) signaling (In action 131, a base station 111 (e.g., a gNB) may send an RRC configuration message to a UE 121, Para. 53, FIG. 1) that configures a plurality of groupings of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources (an RRC configuration message to a UE 121 to configure a list of PUCCH spatial relations, Para. 53, FIG. 1. A UE may be configured with one or more PUCCH resources. The UE may also be configured with one or more sets (or groups) of PUCCH resources, Para. 68. FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating an example of a PUCCH configuration. The PUCCH configuration 410 may include a resource group list 420, Para. 70, FIG. 4), wherein each grouping of the plurality of groupings is associated with a plurality of PUCCH resources (a resource group #1 441 and a resource group #2 442. The resource group #1 441 may include a PUCCH resource #5 455, a PUCCH resource #6 456, a PUCCH resource #7 457, and a PUCCH resource #8 458. The resource group #2 442 may include a PUCCH resource #9 459, and a PUCCH resource #10 460. In this example, a total of ten PUCCH resources are configured to the UE, Para. 70, FIG. 4).
Cheng teaches receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (FIG. 6 shows a MAC CE 600, Para. 76, FIG. 6), wherein the MAC CE includes an updated spatial relation (the first field (for indicating at least one PUCCH spatial relation) may include at least the field “spatial relation ID,” Para. 76, FIG. 6) and PUCCH identifier (ID) (The index (e.g., #1, #2, #3, #4) of a PUCCH resource may also be referred as a resource ID, Para. 70, FIG. 4. The PUCCH resource ID may indicate one of the ten configured PUCCH resources in FIG. 4, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6).
Cheng teaches apply, based on receipt of each PUCCH ID of the multiple PUCCH resources of the multiple groupings (The PUCCH resource ID may indicate one of the ten configured PUCCH resources in FIG. 4, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6), the updated spatial relation (In action 135, the base station 111 may try to switch to another PUCCH spatial relation. Only in this scenario, the UE 121 may switch to RX beam #2 for transmitting the PUCCH, Para. 54, FIG. 1) to the plurality of PUCCH resources in each of the multiple groupings (the network may activate and deactivate a spatial relation for a PUCCH resource of a serving cell by sending a PUCCH spatial relation Activation/Deactivation MAC CE. A UE may be configured with one or more PUCCH resources. The UE may also be configured with one or more sets (or groups) of PUCCH resources, Para. 68, FIG. 6. The field “select all resources” may indicate whether the MAC CE 600 is used to select all resources in a configured PUCCH resource list. This field may indicate whether the PUCCH spatial relation indicated by the field “spatial relation ID” is activated for all PUCCH resources configured by the base station, Para. 79, FIG. 6).
Although Cheng teaches PUCCH identifier (ID), Cheng fails to teach multiple PUCCH identifiers (IDs), wherein the multiple PUCCH IDs identify multiple PUCCH resources in multiple groupings of the plurality of grouping, and wherein each PUCCH ID of the multiple PUCCH IDs identifies a PUCCH resource of the multiple PUCCH resources in a grouping of the multiple groupings.
Seo teaches multiple PUCCH identifiers (IDs), wherein the multiple PUCCH IDs identify multiple PUCCH resources in multiple groupings of the plurality of grouping, and wherein each PUCCH ID of the multiple PUCCH IDs identifies a PUCCH resource of the multiple PUCCH resources in a grouping of the multiple groupings (Referring to FIG. 16(c), a CC 0 and a CC 1 are both set to a MIMO mode. If a DL:UL ratio is 3:1, a UE first performs intra-CC spatial bundling for each CC, Para. 186, FIG. 16(c). The number of PUCCH resources indicated by using the explicit method may be equal to the number of DL subframe groups to be bundled and mapped to one UL subframe. For example, if a DL:UL ratio of a CC 0 is 4:1 and two DL subframes are bundled in a time domain, the number of DL subframe groups to be bundled is 2. In this case, if the PUCCH resource is indicated by using the explicit method, two explicit PUCCH resources are allocated, Para. 187).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Seo with the teachings of Cheng since Seo provides a technique for indicating groups of PUCCH resource involving spatial bundling of respective subframe groups, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cheng to permit an explicit method of indicating number of PUCCH resources with respective resource groups.
In regard to Claim 44, Cheng teaches the multiple PUCCH IDs do not include another PUCCH ID of another PUCCH resource in the multiple groupings (The index (e.g., #1, #2, #3, #4) of a PUCCH resource may also be referred as a resource ID, Para. 70, FIG. 4. The PUCCH resource ID may indicate one of the ten configured PUCCH resources in FIG. 4, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6).
In regard to Claim 45, Cheng teaches at least one of the plurality of groupings comprises a subset of one or more control channel resources (a resource group #1 441 and a resource group #2 442. The resource group #1 441 may include a PUCCH resource #5 455, a PUCCH resource #6 456, a PUCCH resource #7 457, and a PUCCH resource #8 458. The resource group #2 442 may include a PUCCH resource #9 459, and a PUCCH resource #10 460. In this example, a total of ten PUCCH resources are configured to the UE, Para. 70, FIG. 4) within a configured bandwidth (The scalable OFDM numerology, such as the adaptive sub-carrier spacing, the channel bandwidth, Para. 51. A total of ten PUCCH resources are configured to the UE, Para. 70, FIG. 4).
In regard to Claim 46, Cheng teaches the plurality of groupings comprise PUCCH resources from within a bandwidth part (BWP) (The MAC CE 500 may include a serving cell ID (e.g., 5 bits), a bandwidth part (BWP) ID. The BWP ID may indicate an uplink bandwidth part to which the MAC CE 500 applies, Para. 71, FIGS. 5, 6).
In regard to Claim 47, as presented in the rejection of Claim 31, Cheng teaches PUCCH ID.
Cheng fails to teach each single PUCCH ID of the multiple PUCCH IDs identifies the PUCCH resources of the multiple PUCCH resource in the grouping of the multiple groupings; and to cause the apparatus to apply the spatial relation, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to apply, based on receipt of each single PUCCH ID of the multiple PUCCH IDs of the multiple PUCCH resources in the multiple groupings, the updated spatial relation to the plurality of PUCCH resources in each grouping of the multiple groupings.
Seo teaches each single PUCCH ID of the multiple PUCCH IDs identifies the PUCCH resources of the multiple PUCCH resource in the grouping of the multiple groupings; and to cause the apparatus to apply the spatial relation, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to apply, based on receipt of each single PUCCH ID of the multiple PUCCH IDs of the multiple PUCCH resources in the multiple groupings, the updated spatial relation to the plurality of PUCCH resources in each grouping of the multiple groupings (Referring to FIG. 16(c), a CC 0 and a CC 1 are both set to a MIMO mode. If a DL:UL ratio is 3:1, a UE first performs intra-CC spatial bundling for each CC, Para. 186, FIG. 16(c). The number of PUCCH resources indicated by using the explicit method may be equal to the number of DL subframe groups to be bundled and mapped to one UL subframe. For example, if a DL:UL ratio of a CC 0 is 4:1 and two DL subframes are bundled in a time domain, the number of DL subframe groups to be bundled is 2. In this case, if the PUCCH resource is indicated by using the explicit method, two explicit PUCCH resources are allocated, Para. 187).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Seo with the teachings of Cheng since Seo provides a technique for indicating groups of PUCCH resource involving spatial bundling of respective subframe groups, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Cheng to permit an explicit method of indicating number of PUCCH resources with respective resource groups.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 12 of the Remarks presents the argument that Grant in view of Matsumura '293 fails to teach or suggest an apparatus configured to "receive radio resource control signaling (RRC) that indicates an associated spatial relation for each control channel resource of one or more groupings of one or more control channel resources within a configured bandwidth" as recited in independent claim 1. This argument is not persuasive. Grant teaches in Para. 64: “The resources corresponding to a particular spatial resource group ID can be provided to the UE in various ways including, e.g., as part of an RRC message used to configure PUCCH resource(s)” (emphasis added). Grant teaches in Para. 73 and FIGS. 5 and 6: “The mapping of PUCCH resources to a particular Spatial Group can be configured by the network via, e.g., a specific IE in an RRC PUCCH resource configuration message” (emphasis added). Grant teaches in Para. 74 and FIG. 6: “FIG. 6 shows a table that illustrates an exemplary mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to actual PUCCH resource IDs” (emphasis added). Grant teaches in Para. 75 and FIG. 7: “Such existing mappings can be predetermined (e.g., defined in a 3GPP specification) or configured by the RRC protocol”. This shows that UE receive RRC protocol messages for configuring mappings of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values in FIG. 6 of Grant, and this is substantively the same as the apparatus to: receive radio resource control signaling (RRC) that indicates an associated spatial relation of Claim 1.
Grant teaches in Para. 74 and FIG. 6: “FIG. 6 shows a table that illustrates an exemplary mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to actual PUCCH resource IDs” (emphasis added). A PUCCH Spatial Group ID value in FIG. 6 of Grant is substantively the same as an associated spatial relation of Claim 1. A PUCCH resource ID in FIG. 6 of Grant is substantively the same as a control channel resource of Claim 1. As a result, UE receiving RRC protocol messages for configuring mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to PUCCH resource IDs in FIG. 6 of Grant, is substantively the same as the apparatus to: receive radio resource control signaling (RRC) that indicates an associated spatial relation for each control channel resource of Claim 1.
Grant teaches in Para. 74 and FIG. 6: “Both the number of groups (4) and the number of PUCCH resources per group (32) merely exemplary” (emphasis added).
A number of 4 groups with 32 PUCCH resources per group, is substantively the same as one or more groupings of one or more control channel resources of Claim 1. As a result, UE receiving RRC protocol messages for configuring mappings of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values of 4 groups to 32 PUCCH resource IDs per group in FIG. 6 of Grant, is substantively the same as the apparatus to: receive radio resource control signaling (RRC) that indicates an associated spatial relation for each control channel resource of one or more groupings of one or more control channel resources of Claim 1.
Grant teaches in Para. 116 and FIG. 12: “the transceiver 1240 is capable of communicating using radio technologies that operate in unlicensed frequency bands, such as IEEE 802.11 WiFi that operates using frequencies in the regions of 2.4, 5.6, and/or 60 GHz” (emphasis added). Unlicensed frequency bands of Grant that include frequency regions of 2.4, 5.6, and 60 GHz, are substantively the same as a configured bandwidth of Claim 1. As a result, UE receiving RRC protocol messages for configuring mappings of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values of 4 groups to 32 PUCCH resource IDs per group in FIG. 6 of Grant operating in unlicensed frequency bands including frequency regions of 2.4, 5.6, and 60 GHz, is substantively the same as the apparatus to: receive radio resource control signaling (RRC) that indicates an associated spatial relation for each control channel resource of one or more groupings of one or more control channel resources within a configured bandwidth of Claim 1.
Page 12 of the Remarks presents the argument that Grant describes "a PUCCH resource ID field in a MAC-CE message can be used to indicate a spatial resource group ID". This argument is not persuasive. This does not preclude the fact that Grant teaches UE receiving RRC protocol messages for configuring mappings of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values in FIG. 6 of Grant, where this is substantively the same as the apparatus to: receive radio resource control signaling (RRC) that indicates an associated spatial relation of Claim 1. Grant teaches in Para. 64: “The resources corresponding to a particular spatial resource group ID can be provided to the UE in various ways including, e.g., as part of an RRC message used to configure PUCCH resource(s)” (emphasis added). Grant teaches in Para. 73 and FIGS. 5 and 6: “The mapping of PUCCH resources to a particular Spatial Group can be configured by the network via, e.g., a specific IE in an RRC PUCCH resource configuration message” (emphasis added). Grant teaches in Para. 75 and FIG. 7: “Such existing mappings can be predetermined (e.g., defined in a 3GPP specification) or configured by the RRC protocol”.
Page 12 of the Remarks presents the argument that Grant describes … "resources corresponding to a particular spatial resource group ID can be provided to the UE ... as part of an RRC message." This argument is not persuasive. Grant also teaches that the mapping of PUCCH resources to a particular Spatial Group is configured via an RRC PUCCH resource configuration message. Grant teaches in Para. 73 and FIGS. 5 and 6: “The mapping of PUCCH resources to a particular Spatial Group can be configured by the network via, e.g., a specific IE in an RRC PUCCH resource configuration message” (emphasis added). Grant teaches in Para. 75 and FIG. 7: “Such existing mappings can be predetermined (e.g., defined in a 3GPP specification) or configured by the RRC protocol”.
Page 13 of the Remarks presents the argument that Thus, in the cited paragraphs, Grant describes embodiments in which the network RRC signals a mapping of PUCCH resources to Spatial Groups IDs (for example as shown in FIG. 6 above). This argument is not persuasive. The mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to actual PUCCH resource IDs in FIG. 6 of Grant indicates the PUCCH Spatial Group ID values. Claim 1 does not contain limitations of how radio resource control signaling (RRC) indicates an associated spatial relation, that is not taught by Grant. An RRC protocol message for configuring mappings of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values in FIG. 6 of Grant, is substantively the same as radio resource control signaling (RRC) that indicates an associated spatial relation of Claim 1.
Page 13 of the Remarks presents the argument that Thus, in the cited paragraphs, Grant describes embodiments in which … MAC-CE indicates the Spatial Group ID and a spatial relation, and the UE applies the spatial relation to the PUCCH resources mapped to the Spatial Group ID. This argument is not persuasive. This does not preclude the fact that the mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to actual PUCCH resource IDs in FIG. 6 of Grant indicates the PUCCH Spatial Group ID values, where a PUCCH Spatial Group ID value in FIG. 6 of Grant is substantively the same as an associated spatial relation of Claim 1. As a result, an RRC protocol message for configuring mappings of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values in FIG. 6 of Grant, is substantively the same as radio resource control signaling (RRC) that indicates an associated spatial relation of Claim 1.
Page 13 of the Remarks presents the argument that As noted above, Grant describes RRC signaling that configures a set of spatial relations and RRC signaling that configures a mapping of PUCCH resources to Spatial Group IDs, but the RRC signaling in Grant does not indicate spatial relations associated with control channel resources as recited in claim 1. This argument is not persuasive. Grant teaches in Para. 74 and FIG. 6: “FIG. 6 shows a table that illustrates an exemplary mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to actual PUCCH resource IDs” (emphasis added). A PUCCH Spatial Group ID value in FIG. 6 of Grant is substantively the same as an associated spatial relation of Claim 1. A PUCCH resource ID in FIG. 6 of Grant is substantively the same as a control channel resource of Claim 1. No limitation in Claim 1 precludes such interpretations. If there are features in the Specification of the Application that preclude such interpretations, such features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1. As a result, a mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to PUCCH resource IDs in FIG. 6 of Grant, is substantively the same as an associated spatial relation for each control channel resource of Claim 1.
Grant teaches in Para. 73 and FIGS. 5 and 6: “The mapping of PUCCH resources to a particular Spatial Group can be configured by the network via, e.g., a specific IE in an RRC PUCCH resource configuration message” (emphasis added). Grant teaches in Para. 75 and FIG. 7: “Such existing mappings can be predetermined (e.g., defined in a 3GPP specification) or configured by the RRC protocol”. This shows UE receiving RRC protocol messages for configuring mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to PUCCH resource IDs in FIG. 6 of Grant, and this is substantively the same as the apparatus to: receive radio resource control signaling (RRC) that indicates an associated spatial relation for each control channel resource of Claim 1.
Page 13 of the Remarks presents the argument that instead, in Grant a spatial relation is only associated with control channel resources via the MAC-CE indicating a Spatial Group ID. This argument is not persuasive. This does not preclude the fact that Grant teaches an RRC PUCCH resource configuration message configures mappings of Spatial Group ID values in FIG. 6 of Grant, where mappings of Spatial Group ID values in FIG. 6 of Grant are substantively the same as indicates an associated spatial relation of Claim 1. And as a result, an RRC PUCCH resource configuration message that configures mappings of Spatial Group ID values in FIG. 6 of Grant, is substantively the same as radio resource control signaling (RRC) that indicates an associated spatial relation of Claim 1.
Page 13 of the Remarks presents the argument that Grant in view of Matsumura '293 fails to teach or suggest an apparatus configured to "wherein the one or more control channel resources that have a same indicated spatial relation implicitly indicate a grouping of the one or more groupings" as recited in independent claim 1. This argument is not persuasive. Grant teaches in Para. 74 and FIG. 6: “FIG. 6 shows a table that illustrates an exemplary mapping of PUCCH Spatial Group ID values to actual PUCCH resource IDs” (emphasis added). PUCCH resource IDs in FIG. 6 of Grant are substantively the same as control channel resources of Claim 1, and a corresponding PUCCH Spatial Group ID value in FIG. 6 of Grant is substantively the same as an associated spatial relation of Claim 1.
Grant teaches in Para. 75 and FIG. 6: “the mapping between PUCCH resources and Spatial Groups can be based on the configured format of the PUCCH resources. For example, all PUCCH resources configured as format 0 can be associated with one Spatial Group ID, and all PUCCH resources configured as format 1 can be associated with a second Spatial Group ID” (emphasis added). This shows that a format of PUCCH resources indicates mapping associated with a Spatial Group ID in FIG. 6 of Grant, and this is substantively the same as one or more control channel resources that have a same associated spatial relation implicitly indicate a grouping of the one or more groupings of Claim 1.
Page 14 of the Remarks presents the argument that Instead, Grant describes that PUCCH resources are mapped to spatial group IDs explicitly. This argument is not persuasive. A format of PUCCH resources that indicates mapping associated with a Spatial Group ID in FIG. 6 of Grant, can be interpretated as a type of implicit indication. A format of PUCCH resources of Grant is not an address or an index or a pointer that provides explicit indication, and a format of PUCCH resources of Grant indicates mapping associated with a Spatial Group ID, where an association can be interpreted as an indirect mapping that contributes to an implicit indication. As a result, a format of PUCCH resources indicating mapping associated with a Spatial Group ID in FIG. 6 of Grant, is substantively the same as one or more control channel resources that have a same associated spatial relation implicitly indicate a grouping of the one or more groupings of Claim 1.
Page 14 of the Remarks presents the argument that That is, Grant describes a completely different configuration and spatial relation update approach than the claimed approach. This argument is not persuasive. If there are features in the Specification of the Applications clarifying a configuration and spatial relation update approach that is not taught by Grant, such features of a configuration and spatial relation update approach are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Page 17 of the Remarks presents the argument that Cheng fails, however, to teach or suggest an apparatus configured to "receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), wherein the MAC CE includes an updated spatial relation and multiple PUCCH identifiers (IDs), wherein the multiple PUCCH IDs identify multiple PUCCH resources in multiple groupings of the plurality of grouping, and wherein each PUCCH ID of the multiple PUC CH IDs identifies a PUCCH resource of the multiple PUCCH resources in a grouping of the multiple groupings" as recited in claim 31. This argument is not persuasive. Cheng teaches in Para. 53 and FIG. 1: “In action 131, a base station 111 (e.g., a gNB) may send an RRC configuration message to a UE 121 to configure a list of PUCCH spatial relations” (emphasis added). Cheng teaches in Para. 70 and FIG. 4: “The resource list 430 may include a PUCCH resource #1 451, a PUCCH resource #2 452, a PUCCH resource #3 453, and a PUCCH resource #4 454. The index (e.g., #1, #2, #3, #4) of a PUCCH resource may also be referred as a resource ID. The resource group list 420 may include a resource group #1 441 and a resource group #2 442. The index of a resource group may also be referred to as a resource group ID. The resource group #1 441 may include a PUCCH resource #5 455, a PUCCH resource #6 456, a PUCCH resource #7 457, and a PUCCH resource #8 458. The resource group #2 442 may include a PUCCH resource #9 459, and a PUCCH resource #10 460. In this example, a total of ten PUCCH resources are configured to the UE” (emphasis added). An RRC configuration message of Cheng that configures a list of PUCCH spatial relations involving resource groups respectively including multiple resources, is substantively the same as radio resource control (RRC) signaling that configures a plurality of groupings of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources, wherein each grouping of the plurality of groupings is associated with a plurality of PUCCH resources of Claim 31.
Page 18 of the Remarks presents the argument that Cheng fails to teach or suggest applying a spatial relation to a grouping of control channel resources based on the receipt of a PUCCH ID, as recited in independent claim 31. This argument is not persuasive. Cheng teaches in Para. 71 and FIGS. 5 and 6: “the PUCCH resource ID may indicate one of the ten configured PUCCH resources in FIG. 4” (emphasis added). Cheng teaches in Para. 54 and FIG. 1: “In action 135, the base station 111 may try to switch to another PUCCH spatial relation that has a reference signal CSI-RS index #2. Only in this scenario, the UE 121 may switch to RX beam #2 for transmitting the PUCCH” (emphasis added). Cheng teaches in Para. 68 and FIG. 6: “the network may activate and deactivate a spatial relation for a PUCCH resource of a serving cell by sending a PUCCH spatial relation Activation/Deactivation MAC CE. A UE may be configured with one or more PUCCH resources. In one implementation, the UE may also be configured with one or more sets (or groups) of PUCCH resources by a higher layer parameter, such as the PUCCH-ResourceSet parameter” (emphasis added). Switching PUCCH spatial relations involving groups of PUCCH resources based on PUCCH resource IDs of configured PUCCH resources of Cheng, is substantively the same as apply, based on receipt of each PUCCH ID of the multiple IDs of the multiple PUCCH resources in the multiple groupings, the updated spatial relation to the plurality of PUCCH resources in each grouping of the multiple groupings of Claim 31.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
8-18-2026
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477