DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 were previously pending and subject to final action filed on 01/07/2026. In the response filed 04/03/2026, claims 1, 7 and 13 were amended, claims 6 and 12 were canceled and claim 21 were newly added claim. Therefore, claims 1-5, 7-11 and 13-21 are currently pending and subject to the non-final action below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 04/03/2026, with respect to claim objection of claim 13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objection of claim 13 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see page 10, filed 04/03/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument: Applicant respectfully submits that the '381 patent fails to disclose processing circuitry configured to determine, among the positions of the characteristic part related to the first device in the first X-ray images, a position of the characteristic part associated with a time phase corresponding to a time phase in the second biological information, based on a result of the associating process, and cause a display to display the determined position on the second X-ray image in a superimposed manner, the determined position being the position of the characteristic part related to the first device, the position having been detected from the plurality of first X-ray images taken before the second X-ray image and associated with the time phase in the second biological information, as recited in amended Claim 1.
Thus, no matter how the teachings of the '167 and '823 applications and the '381 patent are combined, the combination does not teach or suggest the functionality of the processing circuitry recited in amended Claim 1. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that the rejection of Claim 1 is rendered moot by the present amendment to that claim.
Examiner Response: After careful consideration and review of applicant’s arguments. The examiner respectfully disagrees. During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 U.S.P.Q.2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Sakaguchi teaches: A medical image processing apparatus, comprising; processing circuitry configured to: (Sakaguchi − FIG. 1, FIG. 3, [0023] FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram for explaining a configuration of an X-ray diagnosis apparatus according to the first embodiment; [0025] FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram for explaining a configuration of an image processing unit according to the first embodiment;)
obtain a plurality of first X-ray images related to an examined subject and a second X-ray image related to the examined subject taken later than the plurality of first X-ray images; (Sakaguchi − [0063] In other words, as shown in FIG. 2, the X-ray diagnosis apparatus 100 according to the first embodiment radiates an X-ray from the X-ray tube 12 onto a stenosed portion of the subject P on which vascular intervention treatment is performed, detects the X-ray passed through the subject P with the X-ray detector 16, thereby storing X-ray images that are sequentially created along a time sequence into the image-data storage unit 25. Note: X-ray passing over a patient via C-Arm and capturing images along a time sequence (i.e., t0-tn))
obtain first biological information related to a periodic movement of the examined subject at times of taking the plurality of first X-ray images (Sakaguchi – Fig. 2 [0022] each time when new image as a new one of X-ray images is created along a time sequence, based on the cyclical trace information stored by the cyclical trace-information storage unit and a cardiac phase estimated from an electrocardiogram waveform at the time of creation of the new image acquired by the cardiographic-information acquiring unit; Examiner Note: Electrocardiogram waveform is the biological information; first image with biological information and the following new image is the second biological information.)
and second biological information related to a periodic movement of the examined subject at a time of taking the second X-ray image; (Sakaguchi − [0022] [0130] Fig. 12 [0022] each time when new image as a new one of X-ray images is created along a time sequence, based on the cyclical trace information stored by the cyclical trace-information storage unit and a cardiac phase estimated from an electrocardiogram waveform at the time of creation of the new image acquired by the cardiographic-information acquiring unit; each new image at each time sequence acquires an electrocardiogram waveform. Examiner Note: Electrocardiogram waveform is the biological information; first image with biological information and the following new image is the second biological information.)
detect a position of a characteristic part related to a first device from each of the plurality of first X-ray images; (Sakaguchi − Fig. 4A, [0066-0072] Each time when a new image that is a new X-ray image is stored in the image-data storage unit 25, the marker-coordinate detecting unit 26a detects coordinates of stent markers attached to a stent on the new image. the marker-coordinate detecting unit 26a sets Regions Of Interest (ROIs) to rectangles in each of which the coordinates of each of the two stent markers specified in the first frame is centered; Examiner Note: the stent marker is a characteristic part.)
the determined position being the position of the characteristic part related to the first device, (Sakaguchi − Fig. 4A, pattern similar to marker is extracted and its coordinates are detected; Fig. 8 S802 detect coordinates of stent markers, S806 detect coordinates of stent markers [0066-0072] Each time when a new image that is a new X-ray image is stored in the image-data storage unit 25, the marker-coordinate detecting unit 26a detects coordinates of stent markers attached to a stent on the new image. the marker-coordinate detecting unit 26a sets Regions Of Interest (ROIs) to rectangles in each of which the coordinates of each of the two stent markers specified in the first frame is centered; Examiner Note: the stent marker is a characteristic part/first device.)
the position having been detected from the plurality of first X-ray images taken before the second X-ray image (Sakaguchi − Fig. 2, [0063] In other words, as shown in FIG. 2, the X-ray diagnosis apparatus 100 according to the first embodiment radiates an X-ray from the X-ray tube 12 onto a stenosed portion of the subject P on which vascular intervention treatment is performed, detects the X-ray passed through the subject P with the X-ray detector 16, thereby storing X-ray images that are sequentially created along a time sequence into the image-data storage unit 25. FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram for explaining the image-data storage unit according to the first embodiment [0066-0072] Each time when a new image that is a new X-ray image is stored in the image-data storage unit 25, the marker-coordinate detecting unit 26a detects coordinates of stent markers attached to a stent on the new image. the marker-coordinate detecting unit 26a sets Regions Of Interest (ROIs) to rectangles in each of which the coordinates of each of the two stent markers specified in the first frame is centered; Examiner Note: the stent marker is a characteristic part/first device.)
TAKAYA teaches: and cause a display to display the determined on the second X-ray image in a superimposed manner, (TAKAYA − [0028] X-ray image data acquired from the X-ray diagnostic apparatus 10; [0040] For example, the C-arm 105 rotates or moves the X-ray tube 102 to acquired plurality of images; [0023] [0030] the image processing apparatus 30 generates a superimposed image in which a 3D model expressing the stent graft on the X-ray image data based on the determined position of the feature point. Fig. 7 S102 determine ng rt with a time phase in the first biological information, based on the plurality of first X-ray images and the first biological information; (Wakai − [Col. 2, ll. 42-57] cause the memory circuit to store the biological indexes and the respective positions of the treatment device in the medical images in such a manner that each biological index is associated with a position of the treatment device in a medical image, from which the biological information corresponding to the each biological index is acquired, for the respective time phases, [Col. 10 ll. 17-22] FIG. 5 includes respective images of plural cardiac time phases which include the first cardiac time phase, the second cardiac time phase, . . . and the n-th cardiac time phase. [Col. 4, ll. 22] imaging processing apparatus 100 is an x-ray…; [Col. 26, ll. 43-45] A stent is the treatment device 19; Examiner Note: acquires biological information and respective position of treatment device (stent/treatment device) from the first x-ray images and first time phase to the second x-ray images and second time phase…, to the n-th x-ray images and n-th time phase.)
Wakai teaches: determine, among the positions of the characteristic part related to the first device in the first X-ray images, (Wakai − [Col. 2 ll. 42-57] In one embodiment, a medical image diagnostic apparatus includes: a memory circuit; a display; and processing circuitry configured to acquire medical images of an object at respective time phases, detect respective positions of a treatment device in the medical images, [Col. 4, ll. 22] imaging processing apparatus 100 is an x-ray…; [Col. 26, ll. 43-45] A stent is the treatment device 19 ) a position of the characteristic part associated with a time phase corresponding to a time phase in the second biological information, based on a result of the associating process; (Wakai − [Col. 2, ll. 42-57] cause the memory circuit to store the biological indexes and the respective positions of the treatment device in the medical images in such a manner that each biological index is associated with a position of the treatment device in a medical image, from which the biological information corresponding to the each biological index is acquired, for the respective time phases, and cause the display to display each position of the treatment device and a biological index associated with the each position of the treatment device. [Col. 10 ll. 17-22] FIG. 5 includes respective images of plural cardiac time phases which include the first cardiac time phase, the second cardiac time phase, . . . and the n-th cardiac time phase. Examiner Note: acquires biological information and respective position of treatment device (stent/treatment device) from the first x-ray images and first time phase to the second x-ray images and second time phase…, and to the n-th x-ray and n-th time phase.)
and cause a display to display the determined on the second X-ray image in a superimposed manner, (Wakai − [Col. 8 ll. 18-20] The image processing function 323 generates such an image that a biological index is superimposed on a medical image, depending on movement of the position of the treatment device 19. [Col. 10 ll. 39-51] The positioning function 321 can identify a cardiac time phase for each medical image to be continuously acquired at predetermined time intervals. The positioning function 321 extracts the previously acquired image whose cardiac time phase is the same as the current cardiac time phase of the object P identified from each electrocardiogram to be measured in real time, superimposes the extracted previously acquired image on the updated real-time image of the object P, and causes the display 35 to display the real-time image on which the extracted previously acquired image is superimposed. This processing is repeated such that display on the display 35 is sequentially updated.)
and associated with the time phase in the second biological information. (Wakai − Fig. 4 [Col. 11 ll. 30-35] In the next step ST109, the treatment-device identifying function 322 identifies the position of the lead-wire tip, which is the treatment device 19, from each real-time image Extract position of tip of treatment device; [Col. 12, ll. 20-25] In the next step ST113, the image processing function 323 causes the display 35 to display the position of each lead-wire tip and the QRS width which is computed as a biological index by the analysis function 324, in such a manner that both are associated with each other; Fig. 5 previously acquired images corresponding to respective cardiac phases )
Sakaguchi teaches detecting such positions from a plurality of X-ray images sequentially with time sequences (See, Fig. 2, X-ray images sequentially created with time sequences). Wakai teaches associating respective detected positions of a treatment device with corresponding biological indexes/time phases and displaying positions associated with corresponding time phases.
Furthermore, applicant’s argument improperly attacks the references individually. The rejection relies on combined teachings of Sakaguchi TAKAYA and Wakai which teaches the disputed limitations. Independent Claims 7 and 13 recite similar limitations and maintains Sakaguchi, TAKAYA and Wakai teaches the amendment limitations for the reason above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaguchi (US 20100104167 A1, Pub Date: Apr. 29, 2010) in view of TAKAYA (US 20190318823 A1, Pub Date: Oct. 17, 2019) in view of Wakai (US PAT 10561381 B2, Pub: Date: Feb. 18, 2020).
Regarding independent claim 1, Sakaguchi teaches: A medical image processing apparatus, comprising; processing circuitry configured to: (Sakaguchi − FIG. 1, FIG. 3, [0023] FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram for explaining a configuration of an X-ray diagnosis apparatus according to the first embodiment; [0025] FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram for explaining a configuration of an image processing unit according to the first embodiment;)
obtain a plurality of first X-ray images related to an examined subject and a second X-ray image related to the examined subject taken later than the plurality of first X-ray images; (Sakaguchi − [0063] In other words, as shown in FIG. 2, the X-ray diagnosis apparatus 100 according to the first embodiment radiates an X-ray from the X-ray tube 12 onto a stenosed portion of the subject P on which vascular intervention treatment is performed, detects the X-ray passed through the subject P with the X-ray detector 16, thereby storing X-ray images that are sequentially created along a time sequence into the image-data storage unit 25. Note: X-ray passing over a patient via C-Arm and capturing images along a time sequence (i.e., t0-tn))
obtain first biological information related to a periodic movement of the examined subject at times of taking the plurality of first X-ray images (Sakaguchi – Fig. 2 [0022] each time when new image as a new one of X-ray images is created along a time sequence, based on the cyclical trace information stored by the cyclical trace-information storage unit and a cardiac phase estimated from an electrocardiogram waveform at the time of creation of the new image acquired by the cardiographic-information acquiring unit; Examiner Note: Electrocardiogram waveform is the biological information; first image with biological information and the following new image is the second biological information.)
and second biological information related to a periodic movement of the examined subject at a time of taking the second X-ray image; (Sakaguchi − [0022] [0130] Fig. 12 [0022] each time when new image as a new one of X-ray images is created along a time sequence, based on the cyclical trace information stored by the cyclical trace-information storage unit and a cardiac phase estimated from an electrocardiogram waveform at the time of creation of the new image acquired by the cardiographic-information acquiring unit; each new image at each time sequence acquires an electrocardiogram waveform. Examiner Note: Electrocardiogram waveform is the biological information; first image with biological information and the following new image is the second biological information.)
detect a position of a characteristic part related to a first device from each of the plurality of first X-ray images; (Sakaguchi − Fig. 4A, [0066-0072] Each time when a new image that is a new X-ray image is stored in the image-data storage unit 25, the marker-coordinate detecting unit 26a detects coordinates of stent markers attached to a stent on the new image. the marker-coordinate detecting unit 26a sets Regions Of Interest (ROIs) to rectangles in each of which the coordinates of each of the two stent markers specified in the first frame is centered; Examiner Note: the stent marker is a characteristic part.)
the determined position being the position of the characteristic part related to the first device, (Sakaguchi − Fig. 4A, pattern similar to marker is extracted and its coordinates are detected; Fig. 8 S802 detect coordinates of stent markers, S806 detect coordinates of stent markers [0066-0072] Each time when a new image that is a new X-ray image is stored in the image-data storage unit 25, the marker-coordinate detecting unit 26a detects coordinates of stent markers attached to a stent on the new image. the marker-coordinate detecting unit 26a sets Regions Of Interest (ROIs) to rectangles in each of which the coordinates of each of the two stent markers specified in the first frame is centered; Examiner Note: the stent marker is a characteristic part/first device.)
the position having been detected from the plurality of first X-ray images taken before the second X-ray image (Sakaguchi − Fig. 2, [0063] In other words, as shown in FIG. 2, the X-ray diagnosis apparatus 100 according to the first embodiment radiates an X-ray from the X-ray tube 12 onto a stenosed portion of the subject P on which vascular intervention treatment is performed, detects the X-ray passed through the subject P with the X-ray detector 16, thereby storing X-ray images that are sequentially created along a time sequence into the image-data storage unit 25. FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram for explaining the image-data storage unit according to the first embodiment [0066-0072] Each time when a new image that is a new X-ray image is stored in the image-data storage unit 25, the marker-coordinate detecting unit 26a detects coordinates of stent markers attached to a stent on the new image. the marker-coordinate detecting unit 26a sets Regions Of Interest (ROIs) to rectangles in each of which the coordinates of each of the two stent markers specified in the first frame is centered; Examiner Note: the stent marker is a characteristic part/first device.)
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X- ray image,
However, TAKAYA teaches: and cause a display to display the determined on the second X-ray image in a superimposed manner, (TAKAYA − [0028] X-ray image data acquired from the X-ray diagnostic apparatus 10; [0040] For example, the C-arm 105 rotates or moves the X-ray tube 102 to acquired plurality of images; [0023] [0030] the image processing apparatus 30 generates a superimposed image in which a 3D model expressing the stent graft on the X-ray image data based on the determined position of the feature point. Fig. 7 S102 determine ng rt with a time phase in the first biological information, based on the plurality of first X-ray images and the first biological information; (Wakai − [Col. 2, ll. 42-57] cause the memory circuit to store the biological indexes and the respective positions of the treatment device in the medical images in such a manner that each biological index is associated with a position of the treatment device in a medical image, from which the biological information corresponding to the each biological index is acquired, for the respective time phases, [Col. 10 ll. 17-22] FIG. 5 includes respective images of plural cardiac time phases which include the first cardiac time phase, the second cardiac time phase, . . . and the n-th cardiac time phase. [Col. 4, ll. 22] imaging processing apparatus 100 is an x-ray…; [Col. 26, ll. 43-45] A stent is the treatment device 19; Examiner Note: acquires biological information and respective position of treatment device (stent/treatment device) from the first x-ray images and first time phase to the second x-ray images and second time phase…, to the n-th x-ray images and n-th time phase.)
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: a position of the characteristic part associated with a time phase corresponding to a time phase in the second biological information, based on a result of the associating process
However, Wakai teaches: determine, among the positions of the characteristic part related to the first device in the first X-ray images, (Wakai − [Col. 2 ll. 42-57] In one embodiment, a medical image diagnostic apparatus includes: a memory circuit; a display; and processing circuitry configured to acquire medical images of an object at respective time phases, detect respective positions of a treatment device in the medical images, [Col. 4, ll. 22] imaging processing apparatus 100 is an x-ray…; [Col. 26, ll. 43-45] A stent is the treatment device 19 ) a position of the characteristic part associated with a time phase corresponding to a time phase in the second biological information, based on a result of the associating process; (Wakai − [Col. 2, ll. 42-57] cause the memory circuit to store the biological indexes and the respective positions of the treatment device in the medical images in such a manner that each biological index is associated with a position of the treatment device in a medical image, from which the biological information corresponding to the each biological index is acquired, for the respective time phases, and cause the display to display each position of the treatment device and a biological index associated with the each position of the treatment device. [Col. 10 ll. 17-22] FIG. 5 includes respective images of plural cardiac time phases which include the first cardiac time phase, the second cardiac time phase, . . . and the n-th cardiac time phase. Examiner Note: acquires biological information and respective position of treatment device (stent/treatment device) from the first x-ray images and first time phase to the second x-ray images and second time phase…, and to the n-th x-ray and n-th time phase.)
and cause a display to display the determined on the second X-ray image in a superimposed manner, (Wakai − [Col. 8 ll. 18-20] The image processing function 323 generates such an image that a biological index is superimposed on a medical image, depending on movement of the position of the treatment device 19. [Col. 10 ll. 39-51] The positioning function 321 can identify a cardiac time phase for each medical image to be continuously acquired at predetermined time intervals. The positioning function 321 extracts the previously acquired image whose cardiac time phase is the same as the current cardiac time phase of the object P identified from each electrocardiogram to be measured in real time, superimposes the extracted previously acquired image on the updated real-time image of the object P, and causes the display 35 to display the real-time image on which the extracted previously acquired image is superimposed. This processing is repeated such that display on the display 35 is sequentially updated.)
and associated with the time phase in the second biological information. (Wakai − Fig. 4 [Col. 11 ll. 30-35] In the next step ST109, the treatment-device identifying function 322 identifies the position of the lead-wire tip, which is the treatment device 19, from each real-time image Extract position of tip of treatment device; [Col. 12, ll. 20-25] In the next step ST113, the image processing function 323 causes the display 35 to display the position of each lead-wire tip and the QRS width which is computed as a biological index by the analysis function 324, in such a manner that both are associated with each other; Fig. 5 previously acquired images corresponding to respective cardiac phases )
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Sakaguchi, TAKAYA and Wakai as each of the inventions relates to the utilizing digital image processing to perform vascular treatment of blood vessels. Adding the teaching of Wakai provides method of displaying both positional information of a medical device and biological information in real-time. Therefore, improving the treatment effect of the treatment device position and placement using the biological information and position information of a medical device in real-time.
Regarding dependent claim 2, depends on claim 1, Sakaguchi teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate a placement position of a second device in the time phase in the first biological information, (Sakaguchi − [0140-0143] [0141] FIG. 12 acquires cyclical trace data of the stent marker along a time sequence, based on the coordinates of the stent marker detected by the marker-coordinate detecting unit 26a on each of the preparatory images, and a cardiac phase at creation of each of the preparatory images; calculate stent marker coordinates with a cardiac phase of each images.) based on a distance related to an overlap between the first device and the second device in the second X-ray image and of the device information, (Sakaguchi − [0126] a treatment by using a plurality of stents, an optimal image for display can be displayed as a moving image in accordance with a distance between the stents. determine distance between the stents (first and second stents))
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X- ray image,
However, TAKAYA teaches: and cause the display to display the placement position kept in association with the time phase in the second biological information, so as to be further superimposed on the second X-ray image. (TAKAYA – [0023] [0028] [0030] [0079] For example, when shapes and sizes of markers put on a stent graft differ from one another, the superimposed-image generating function 34b can determine correspondence uniquely by comparing the shapes and the sizes of the respective markers detected in the X-ray image data I11 and the shapes and sizes of markers in the 3D model M1.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Sakaguchi, TAKAYA and Wakai as each of the inventions relates to the utilizing digital image processing to perform vascular treatment of blood vessels. Adding the teaching of Wakai provides method of displaying both positional information of a medical device and biological information in real-time. Therefore, improving the treatment effect of the treatment device position and placement using the biological information and position information of a medical device in real-time.
Regarding dependent claim 3, depends on claim 2, Sakaguchi teaches: wherein the first device is a first stent, the second device is a second stent, (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] Fig. 11A [0123] [0119] two stents are inserted, according to the X-ray diagnosis apparatus 100 of the first embodiment, the system control unit 21 performs the following control explained below based on a distance between the two stents.)
the characteristic part is a marker provided for a balloon related to the first stent, (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] [0123] [0123] When using a stent to which two stent markers are attached to the both ends of the balloon,)
and the device information includes one or both of a position of an end face of the first stent and a position of the marker. (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] [0123] [0123] a new image with the reference coordinates (X1, Y1) and (X2, Y2), and (X3, Y3) and (X4, Y4) of the respective two stents, as shown in the lower part of FIG. 11A.)
Regarding dependent claim 4, depends on claim 1, Sakaguchi teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: detect a first anatomical landmark of the examined subject from each of the plurality of first X-ray images ([0106] a blood vessel in which the stent is inserted is also stationary on the X-ray images displayed as a moving image; accordingly, when a treatment is performed under a condition that the subject P is given with a contrast agent, the doctor can easily grasp the state of a blood flow in the blood vessel in which the stent is inserted. A first blood vessel is a first anatomical landmark.)
and detect a second anatomical landmark of the examined subject from the second X-ray image, ([0106] a blood vessel in which the stent is inserted is also stationary on the X-ray images displayed as a moving image; accordingly, when a treatment is performed under a condition that the subject P is given with a contrast agent, the doctor can easily grasp the state of a blood flow in the blood vessel in which the stent is inserted. A second blood vessel is a second anatomical landmark.)
associate the first anatomical landmark with the position of the characteristic part, (Sakaguchi − [0106] a blood vessel in which the stent is inserted is also stationary on the X-ray images displayed as a moving image; [0119-0123] [0123] [0123] a new image with the reference coordinates (X1, Y1) and (X2, Y2), and (X3, Y3) and (X4, Y4) of the respective two stents, as shown in the lower part of FIG. 11A.)
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image,
However, TAKAYA teaches: and cause the display to display the device information related to the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image, (TAKAYA − [0168] [0169] Fig. 11, For example, the superimposed-image generating function 34b receives an input operation from the operator through the input interface 31, and adds the landmark I32 at a position specified in the blood vessel area I31.)
by further using the first anatomical landmark and the second anatomical landmark. (TAKAYA − [0168] To the blood-vessel area image, a landmark can be further added. The landmark is, for example, a symbol corresponding a characteristic portion on a device. As an example, the landmark is added to respective positions in the blood-vessel area image corresponding to a distal end portion or a branch of a stent graft that is arranged at a target position. [0169] Fig. 11, For example, the superimposed-image generating function 34b receives an input operation from the operator through the input interface 31, and adds the landmark I32 at a position specified in the blood vessel area I31.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Sakaguchi, TAKAYA and Wakai as each of the inventions relates to the utilizing digital image processing to perform vascular treatment of blood vessels. Adding the teaching of Wakai provides method of displaying both positional information of a medical device and biological information in real-time. Therefore, improving the treatment effect of the treatment device position and placement using the biological information and position information of a medical device in real-time.
Regarding dependent claim 5, depends on claim 1, Sakaguchi teaches: wherein, based a display position of the device information in the second X-ray image, (Sakaguchi − [0014] Specifically, as shown in FIG. 22, correction processing is performed on a second frame so as to match up the positions of stent markers in the second frame with the positions of the stent markers in a first frame.)
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: the processing circuitry is configured to cause the display to display the second X-ray image on which the device information is superimposed,
However, TAKAYA teaches: the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display the second X-ray image on which the device information is superimposed, while keeping the display position fixed. (TAKAYA − [0017] The processing circuitry is configured to superimpose the 3D model on the first X-ray image or the second X-ray image, at a position based on the determined position of the feature point. [0023] [0030] [0122] As described above, the superimposed-image generating function 34b according to the second embodiment generates a superimposed image in which the 3D model M4 indicating a position and an orientation of a branch of a stent graft is superimposed on the X-ray image data I11.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Sakaguchi, TAKAYA and Wakai as each of the inventions relates to the utilizing digital image processing to perform vascular treatment of blood vessels. Adding the teaching of Wakai provides method of displaying both positional information of a medical device and biological information in real-time. Therefore, improving the treatment effect of the treatment device position and placement using the biological information and position information of a medical device in real-time.
Regarding independent claim 7, is directed to an apparatus. Claim 7 have similar/same technical features/limitation as claim 1 and the claims are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 8, depends on claim 7, Sakaguchi teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate a placement position of a second device in the time phase in the first biological information, (Sakaguchi − [0140-0143] [0141] FIG. 12 acquires cyclical trace data of the stent marker along a time sequence, based on the coordinates of the stent marker detected by the marker-coordinate detecting unit 26a on each of the preparatory images, and a cardiac phase at creation of each of the preparatory images; calculate stent marker coordinates with a cardiac phase of each images.) based on a distance related to an overlap between the first device and the second device in the second X-ray image and of the device information, (Sakaguchi − [0126] a treatment by using a plurality of stents, an optimal image for display can be displayed as a moving image in accordance with a distance between the stents. determine distance between the stents (first and second stents))
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X- ray image,
However, TAKAYA teaches: and cause the display to display the placement position kept in association with the time phase in the second biological information, so as to be further superimposed on the second X-ray image. (TAKAYA – [0023] [0028] [0030] [0079] For example, when shapes and sizes of markers put on a stent graft differ from one another, the superimposed-image generating function 34b can determine correspondence uniquely by comparing the shapes and the sizes of the respective markers detected in the X-ray image data I11 and the shapes and sizes of markers in the 3D model M1.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Sakaguchi, TAKAYA and Wakai as each of the inventions relates to the utilizing digital image processing to perform vascular treatment of blood vessels. Adding the teaching of Wakai provides method of displaying both positional information of a medical device and biological information in real-time. Therefore, improving the treatment effect of the treatment device position and placement using the biological information and position information of a medical device in real-time.
Regarding dependent claim 9, depends on claim 8, Sakaguchi teaches: wherein the first device is a first stent, the second device is a second stent, (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] Fig. 11A [0123] [0119] two stents are inserted, according to the X-ray diagnosis apparatus 100 of the first embodiment, the system control unit 21 performs the following control explained below based on a distance between the two stents.)
the characteristic part is a marker provided for a balloon related to the first stent, (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] [0123] [0123] When using a stent to which two stent markers are attached to the both ends of the balloon,)
and the device information includes one or both of a position of an end face of the first stent and a position of the marker. (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] [0123] [0123] a new image with the reference coordinates (X1, Y1) and (X2, Y2), and (X3, Y3) and (X4, Y4) of the respective two stents, as shown in the lower part of FIG. 11A.)
Regarding dependent claim 10, depends on claim 7, Sakaguchi teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to detect a first anatomical landmark of the examined subject from each of the plurality of first X-ray images ([0106] a blood vessel in which the stent is inserted is also stationary on the X-ray images displayed as a moving image; accordingly, when a treatment is performed under a condition that the subject P is given with a contrast agent, the doctor can easily grasp the state of a blood flow in the blood vessel in which the stent is inserted. A first blood vessel is a first anatomical landmark.)
and to detect a second anatomical landmark of the examined subject from the second X-ray image, ([0106] a blood vessel in which the stent is inserted is also stationary on the X-ray images displayed as a moving image; accordingly, when a treatment is performed under a condition that the subject P is given with a contrast agent, the doctor can easily grasp the state of a blood flow in the blood vessel in which the stent is inserted. A second blood vessel is a second anatomical landmark.)
associate the first anatomical landmark with the position of the characteristic part, (Sakaguchi − [0106] a blood vessel in which the stent is inserted is also stationary on the X-ray images displayed as a moving image; [0119-0123] [0123] [0123] a new image with the reference coordinates (X1, Y1) and (X2, Y2), and (X3, Y3) and (X4, Y4) of the respective two stents, as shown in the lower part of FIG. 11A.)
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image,
However, TAKAYA teaches: and cause the display to display the device information related to the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image, (TAKAYA − [0168] [0169] Fig. 11, For example, the superimposed-image generating function 34b receives an input operation from the operator through the input interface 31, and adds the landmark I32 at a position specified in the blood vessel area I31.)
by further using the first anatomical landmark and the second anatomical landmark. (TAKAYA − [0168] To the blood-vessel area image, a landmark can be further added. The landmark is, for example, a symbol corresponding a characteristic portion on a device. As an example, the landmark is added to respective positions in the blood-vessel area image corresponding to a distal end portion or a branch of a stent graft that is arranged at a target position. [0169] Fig. 11, For example, the superimposed-image generating function 34b receives an input operation from the operator through the input interface 31, and adds the landmark I32 at a position specified in the blood vessel area I31.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Sakaguchi, TAKAYA and Wakai as each of the inventions relates to the utilizing digital image processing to perform vascular treatment of blood vessels. Adding the teaching of Wakai provides method of displaying both positional information of a medical device and biological information in real-time. Therefore, improving the treatment effect of the treatment device position and placement using the biological information and position information of a medical device in real-time.
Regarding dependent claim 11, depends on claim 7, Sakaguchi teaches: wherein, based on a display position of the device information in the second X-ray image, (Sakaguchi − [0014] Specifically, as shown in FIG. 22, correction processing is performed on a second frame so as to match up the positions of stent markers in the second frame with the positions of the stent markers in a first frame.)
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display the second X-ray image on which the device information is superimposed,
However, TAKAYA teaches: the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display the second X-ray image on which the device information is superimposed, while keeping the display position fixed. (TAKAYA − [0017] The processing circuitry is configured to superimpose the 3D model on the first X-ray image or the second X-ray image, at a position based on the determined position of the feature point. [0023] [0030] [0122] As described above, the superimposed-image generating function 34b according to the second embodiment generates a superimposed image in which the 3D model M4 indicating a position and an orientation of a branch of a stent graft is superimposed on the X-ray image data I11.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Sakaguchi, TAKAYA and Wakai as each of the inventions relates to the utilizing digital image processing to perform vascular treatment of blood vessels. Adding the teaching of Wakai provides method of displaying both positional information of a medical device and biological information in real-time. Therefore, improving the treatment effect of the treatment device position and placement using the biological information and position information of a medical device in real-time.
Regarding independent claim 13, is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium. Claim 13 have similar/same technical features/limitation as claim 1 and the claims are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 14, depends on claim 1, Sakaguchi teaches: the first device is a first stent, (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] Fig. 11A [0123] [0119] two stents are inserted, according to the X-ray diagnosis apparatus 100 of the first embodiment, the system control unit 21 performs the following control explained below based on a distance between the two stents.)
the characteristic part is a marker provided for a balloon related to the first stent, (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] [0123] [0123] When using a stent to which two stent markers are attached to the both ends of the balloon,)
and the device information includes a position of the marker. (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] [0123] [0123] a new image with the reference coordinates (X1, Y1) and (X2, Y2), and (X3, Y3) and (X4, Y4) of the respective two stents, as shown in the lower part of FIG. 11A.)
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display device information related to the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image
However, TAKAYA teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display device information related to the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image, (TAKAYA − [0168] To the blood-vessel area image, a landmark can be further added. The landmark is, for example, a symbol corresponding a characteristic portion on a device. As an example, the landmark is added to respective positions in the blood-vessel area image corresponding to a distal end portion or a branch of a stent graft that is arranged at a target position. [0169] Fig. 11, For example, the superimposed-image generating function 34b receives an input operation from the operator through the input interface 31, and adds the landmark I32 at a position specified in the blood vessel area I31.)
Sakaguchi and TAKAYA are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, utilizing digital image processing to perform vascular treatment of blood vessels.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sakaguchi and TAKAYA before him or her, to combine the teachings of Sakaguchi and TAKAYA. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide image processing apparatus to generate a superimposed image of stent on the X-ray image data. as discussed by TAKAYA ([0023]) to improve vascular treatment of blood vessels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sakaguchi and TAKAYA to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: using the result of the associating process and the time phase in the second biological information
However, Wakai teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display device information related to the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image, by using the result of the associating process and the time phase in the second biological information, . (Wakai − [Col. 8 ll. 18-20] The image processing function 323 generates such an image that a biological index is superimposed on a medical image, depending on movement of the position of the treatment device 19. [Col. 10 ll. 39-51] The positioning function 321 can identify a cardiac time phase for each medical image to be continuously acquired at predetermined time intervals. The positioning function 321 extracts the previously acquired image whose cardiac time phase is the same as the current cardiac time phase of the object P identified from each electrocardiogram to be measured in real time, superimposes the extracted previously acquired image on the updated real-time image of the object P, and causes the display 35 to display the real-time image on which the extracted previously acquired image is superimposed. This processing is repeated such that display on the display 35 is sequentially updated.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Sakaguchi, TAKAYA and Wakai as each of the inventions relates to the utilizing digital image processing to perform vascular treatment of blood vessels. Adding the teaching of Wakai provides method of displaying both positional information of a medical device and biological information in real-time. Therefore, improving the treatment effect of the treatment device position and placement using the biological information and position information of a medical device in real-time.
Regarding dependent claim 15, depends on claim 14, Sakaguchi teaches: wherein the device information further includes a position of an end face of the first stent. (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] [0123] [0123] a new image with the reference coordinates (X1, Y1) and (X2, Y2), and (X3, Y3) and (X4, Y4) of the respective two stents, as shown in the lower part of FIG. 11A.)
Regarding dependent claim 16, depends on claim 14, Sakaguchi teaches: the second device being a second stent. (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] Fig. 11A [0123] [0119] two stents are inserted, according to the X-ray diagnosis apparatus 100 of the first embodiment, the system control unit 21 performs the following control explained below based on a distance between the two stents.)
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display device information related to the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image
However, TAKAYA teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display the device information so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image on which a second device is drawn, (TAKAYA − [0168] To the blood-vessel area image, a landmark can be further added. The landmark is, for example, a symbol corresponding a characteristic portion on a device. As an example, the landmark is added to respective positions in the blood-vessel area image corresponding to a distal end portion or a branch of a stent graft that is arranged at a target position. [0169] Fig. 11, For example, the superimposed-image generating function 34b receives an input operation from the operator through the input interface 31, and adds the landmark I32 at a position specified in the blood vessel area I31.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Sakaguchi, TAKAYA and Wakai as each of the inventions relates to the utilizing digital image processing to perform vascular treatment of blood vessels. Adding the teaching of Wakai provides method of displaying both positional information of a medical device and biological information in real-time. Therefore, improving the treatment effect of the treatment device position and placement using the biological information and position information of a medical device in real-time.
Regarding dependent claim 17, depends on claim 7, Sakaguchi teaches: the first device is a first stent, (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] Fig. 11A [0123] [0119] two stents are inserted, according to the X-ray diagnosis apparatus 100 of the first embodiment, the system control unit 21 performs the following control explained below based on a distance between the two stents.)
the characteristic part is a marker provided for a balloon related to the first stent, (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] [0123] [0123] When using a stent to which two stent markers are attached to the both ends of the balloon,)
and the device information includes a position of the marker. (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] [0123] [0123] a new image with the reference coordinates (X1, Y1) and (X2, Y2), and (X3, Y3) and (X4, Y4) of the respective two stents, as shown in the lower part of FIG. 11A.)
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display device information related to the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image
However, TAKAYA teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display device information related to the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image, (TAKAYA − [0168] To the blood-vessel area image, a landmark can be further added. The landmark is, for example, a symbol corresponding a characteristic portion on a device. As an example, the landmark is added to respective positions in the blood-vessel area image corresponding to a distal end portion or a branch of a stent graft that is arranged at a target position. [0169] Fig. 11, For example, the superimposed-image generating function 34b receives an input operation from the operator through the input interface 31, and adds the landmark I32 at a position specified in the blood vessel area I31.)
Sakaguchi and TAKAYA are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, utilizing digital image processing to perform vascular treatment of blood vessels.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sakaguchi and TAKAYA before him or her, to combine the teachings of Sakaguchi and TAKAYA. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide image processing apparatus to generate a superimposed image of stent on the X-ray image data. as discussed by TAKAYA ([0023]) to improve vascular treatment of blood vessels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sakaguchi and TAKAYA to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: using the result of the associating process and the time phase in the second biological information
However, Wakai teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display device information related to the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image, by using the result of the associating process and the time phase in the second biological information, . (Wakai − [Col. 8 ll. 18-20] The image processing function 323 generates such an image that a biological index is superimposed on a medical image, depending on movement of the position of the treatment device 19. [Col. 10 ll. 39-51] The positioning function 321 can identify a cardiac time phase for each medical image to be continuously acquired at predetermined time intervals. The positioning function 321 extracts the previously acquired image whose cardiac time phase is the same as the current cardiac time phase of the object P identified from each electrocardiogram to be measured in real time, superimposes the extracted previously acquired image on the updated real-time image of the object P, and causes the display 35 to display the real-time image on which the extracted previously acquired image is superimposed. This processing is repeated such that display on the display 35 is sequentially updated.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Sakaguchi, TAKAYA and Wakai as each of the inventions relates to the utilizing digital image processing to perform vascular treatment of blood vessels. Adding the teaching of Wakai provides method of displaying both positional information of a medical device and biological information in real-time. Therefore, improving the treatment effect of the treatment device position and placement using the biological information and position information of a medical device in real-time.
Regarding dependent claim 18, depends on claim 17, Sakaguchi teaches: the second device being a second stent. (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] Fig. 11A [0123] [0119] two stents are inserted, according to the X-ray diagnosis apparatus 100 of the first embodiment, the system control unit 21 performs the following control explained below based on a distance between the two stents.)
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display device information related to the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image
However, TAKAYA teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display the device information so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image on which a second device is drawn, (TAKAYA − [0168] To the blood-vessel area image, a landmark can be further added. The landmark is, for example, a symbol corresponding a characteristic portion on a device. As an example, the landmark is added to respective positions in the blood-vessel area image corresponding to a distal end portion or a branch of a stent graft that is arranged at a target position. [0169] Fig. 11, For example, the superimposed-image generating function 34b receives an input operation from the operator through the input interface 31, and adds the landmark I32 at a position specified in the blood vessel area I31.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Sakaguchi, TAKAYA and Wakai as each of the inventions relates to the utilizing digital image processing to perform vascular treatment of blood vessels. Adding the teaching of Wakai provides method of displaying both positional information of a medical device and biological information in real-time. Therefore, improving the treatment effect of the treatment device position and placement using the biological information and position information of a medical device in real-time.
Regarding dependent claim 19, depends on claim 13, Sakaguchi teaches: the first device is a first stent, (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] Fig. 11A [0123] [0119] two stents are inserted, according to the X-ray diagnosis apparatus 100 of the first embodiment, the system control unit 21 performs the following control explained below based on a distance between the two stents.)
the characteristic part is a marker provided for a balloon related to the first stent, (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] [0123] [0123] When using a stent to which two stent markers are attached to the both ends of the balloon,)
and the device information includes a position of the marker. (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] [0123] [0123] a new image with the reference coordinates (X1, Y1) and (X2, Y2), and (X3, Y3) and (X4, Y4) of the respective two stents, as shown in the lower part of FIG. 11A.)
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display device information related to the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image
However, TAKAYA teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display device information related to the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image, (TAKAYA − [0168] To the blood-vessel area image, a landmark can be further added. The landmark is, for example, a symbol corresponding a characteristic portion on a device. As an example, the landmark is added to respective positions in the blood-vessel area image corresponding to a distal end portion or a branch of a stent graft that is arranged at a target position. [0169] Fig. 11, For example, the superimposed-image generating function 34b receives an input operation from the operator through the input interface 31, and adds the landmark I32 at a position specified in the blood vessel area I31.)
Sakaguchi and TAKAYA are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, utilizing digital image processing to perform vascular treatment of blood vessels.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sakaguchi and TAKAYA before him or her, to combine the teachings of Sakaguchi and TAKAYA. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide image processing apparatus to generate a superimposed image of stent on the X-ray image data. as discussed by TAKAYA ([0023]) to improve vascular treatment of blood vessels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sakaguchi and TAKAYA to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: using the result of the associating process and the time phase in the second biological information
However, Wakai teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display device information related to the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image, by using the result of the associating process and the time phase in the second biological information, . (Wakai − [Col. 8 ll. 18-20] The image processing function 323 generates such an image that a biological index is superimposed on a medical image, depending on movement of the position of the treatment device 19. [Col. 10 ll. 39-51] The positioning function 321 can identify a cardiac time phase for each medical image to be continuously acquired at predetermined time intervals. The positioning function 321 extracts the previously acquired image whose cardiac time phase is the same as the current cardiac time phase of the object P identified from each electrocardiogram to be measured in real time, superimposes the extracted previously acquired image on the updated real-time image of the object P, and causes the display 35 to display the real-time image on which the extracted previously acquired image is superimposed. This processing is repeated such that display on the display 35 is sequentially updated.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Sakaguchi, TAKAYA and Wakai as each of the inventions relates to the utilizing digital image processing to perform vascular treatment of blood vessels. Adding the teaching of Wakai provides method of displaying both positional information of a medical device and biological information in real-time. Therefore, improving the treatment effect of the treatment device position and placement using the biological information and position information of a medical device in real-time.
Regarding dependent claim 20, depends on claim 19, Sakaguchi teaches: the second device being a second stent. (Sakaguchi − [0119-0123] Fig. 11A [0123] [0119] two stents are inserted, according to the X-ray diagnosis apparatus 100 of the first embodiment, the system control unit 21 performs the following control explained below based on a distance between the two stents.)
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display device information related to the first device so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image
However, TAKAYA teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display the device information so as to be superimposed on the second X-ray image on which a second device is drawn, (TAKAYA − [0168] To the blood-vessel area image, a landmark can be further added. The landmark is, for example, a symbol corresponding a characteristic portion on a device. As an example, the landmark is added to respective positions in the blood-vessel area image corresponding to a distal end portion or a branch of a stent graft that is arranged at a target position. [0169] Fig. 11, For example, the superimposed-image generating function 34b receives an input operation from the operator through the input interface 31, and adds the landmark I32 at a position specified in the blood vessel area I31.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Sakaguchi, TAKAYA and Wakai as each of the inventions relates to the utilizing digital image processing to perform vascular treatment of blood vessels. Adding the teaching of Wakai provides method of displaying both positional information of a medical device and biological information in real-time. Therefore, improving the treatment effect of the treatment device position and placement using the biological information and position information of a medical device in real-time.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaguchi, TAKAYA and Wakai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of COHEN (US 20150282890 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 21, depends on claim 1, Sakaguchi teaches wherein the first device is a stent, the characteristic part is a marker for a balloon related to the stent, (Sakaguchi − Fig. 4A, [0066-0072] Each time when a new image that is a new X-ray image is stored in the image-data storage unit 25, the marker-coordinate detecting unit 26a detects coordinates of stent markers attached to a stent on the new image. the marker-coordinate detecting unit 26a sets Regions Of Interest (ROIs) to rectangles in each of which the coordinates of each of the two stent markers specified in the first frame is centered; Examiner Note: the stent marker is a characteristic part.)
the characteristic part is a marker for a balloon related to the stent, (COHEN − [0876] For some applications, the measurements are used in the selection of a medical tool (e.g., a balloon, and/or a stent))
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach and the marker is removed during imaging of the second X-ray image
However, COHEN teaches and the marker is removed during imaging of the second X-ray image. (COHEN − [1010] For some applications, the markers are removed from the image by inpainting, the goal of the inpainting typically being to remove elements from the image.)
Accordingly, it have been obvious to modify the teaching of Sakaguchi, TAKAYA and Wakai system to remove marker information from subsequently displayed images, as taught by COHEN, in order to reduce visual artifacts, improve image clarity and visualization of relevant anatomical structures and treatment device position.
Conclusion
/CARL E BARNES JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178