DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8, 15, 21, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng (“SDEdit: Image Synthesis and Editing with Stochastic Differential Equations”) in view of Suzuki (U.S. Publication 2020/0160575).
As to claim 1, Meng discloses a method comprising:
obtaining user input comprising a color layout, wherein the user input indicates a target color for a region (fig. 2; section 1; section 4; a user indicates a target color for a region by painting it with strokes)
generating a noise map including noise biased towards the target color in the region indicated by the user input by adding noise to the color layout (fig. 2; section 1; section 4; a map of noise, shown in the 2nd image of fig. 2, is generated by adding noise to the color stroke layout specified by the user);
generating, using a generative neural network an image (sections 2-3, an image is generated using a score-based generative model implemented via neural network) by extracting the region based on the color layout and denoising the noise map based on the extracted region (fig. 2; section 4.3; denoising is done by masking/extracting a region that the user has added a color layout to) wherein the noise map is provided as input to the generative neural network (fig. 2; sections 2-3; the reverse SDE is implemented by inputting an image with added noise, such as the 2nd image in fig. 2 representing the noise map, to a neural network), and wherein the image includes an object in the region that has the target color (fig. 2; section 4; the object in the region is at least partially represented by the color layout added by a user).
Meng does not disclose, but Suzuki discloses that the user input for a region indicates a semantic label (p. 3, sections 0042-0048; a target color and a target class that reads on a semantic label such as “lion”, “dog”, “persian cat”, etc., is applied to a region by a user for a region for an image to be generated in an editing area), denoising occurs based on the semantic label (p. 1, section 0016; p. 3 section 0048-p. 4, section 0053; an initial intermediate image, which begins as a random noise map, is changed so that is more similar to/biased towards features in the edited image patch, which would include the class/semantic label added by the user), and the image includes an object in the region described by the semantic label (p. 4, section 0053; the output image includes an object changed in a manner such that it is described by the target class/semantic label). The motivation for this is to implement models that provide more flexibility to edit specific areas (p. 1, sections 0002-0003). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Meng to have the user input for a region indicate a semantic label, have denoising occur based on the semantic label, and have the image include an object in the region described by the semantic label in order to provide more flexibility to edit specific areas as taught Suzuki.
As to claim 4, Meng discloses wherein: the user input comprises a user drawing on an image canvas depicting the target color in the region (fig. 2; section 1; section 4; a user indicates a target color for a region by painting it with strokes, reading on drawing on an image canvas).
As to claim 8, Meng discloses beginning a reverse diffusion process at an intermediate step of the generative neural network, wherein the image is based on the reverse diffusion process (fig. 2; sections 2-3; the reverse SDE is implemented by inputting an image with added noise, such as the 2nd image in fig. 2 representing the noise map, to a neural network; in the next step, which is an intermediate step, denoising begins, which as can be seen in the figure, diffuses the noise from the image in reverse, resulting in a clear image).
As to claim 15, see the rejection to claim 1. Further, Suzuki discloses an apparatus comprising one or more processors; and one or more memories including instructions executable by the one or more processors to perform the method (p. 5, section 0073-p. 6, section 0078), with motivation to combine the references given in the rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 21, see the rejection to claims 1 and 15.
As to claim 26, see the rejection to claim 8.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 18, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng and Suzuki and further in view of Liu (U.S. Publication 2022/0114698).
As to claim 2, Meng does not disclose, but Liu discloses displaying a user interface to a user, wherein the user interface includes a label input field (p. 5, section 0065-p. 6, section 0067; a user can select or specify a label for a specific region; where a user specifies a label or selects a label in an interface would read on a label input field), a color input field (p. 6, section 0067; a user can input and select a color for a label; where a user selects this color would read on a color input field), and a selection tool for selecting a region of an image canvas (p. 5, section 0061; p. 6, section 0067; a user can select a region using various tools such as draw, paint, resize, etc.), and wherein the user input is received via the user interface (p. 6, section 0067). The motivation for this is to enable users to easily control style and content of synthesis results, as well as to create multi-modal images (p. 7, section 0070). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Meng and Suzuki to display a user interface to a user, wherein the user interface includes a label input field, a color input field, and a selection tool for selecting a region of an image canvas, and wherein the user input is received via the user interface in order to enable users to easily control style and content of synthesis results, as well as to create multi-modal images in order to enable users to easily control style and content of synthesis results, as well as to create multi-modal images as taught by Liu.
As to claim 3, Meng does not disclose, but Liu discloses wherein: the user input indicates an additional target color and an additional semantic label for an additional region of an image canvas, and wherein the image includes an additional object in the additional region that is described by the additional semantic label and that has the additional target color (p. 6, sections 0067-0068; similar to the first region, a plurality of regions can be defined with colors and labels; additional objects such as rocks and bodies of water can be included in the additional region). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 5, Meng does not disclose, but Liu discloses wherein: the user input includes layout information indicating a plurality of regions of an image canvas (p. 6, section 0067; a user can adjust layout of a region by draw, paint, resize, etc.), and wherein each of the plurality of regions is associated with a corresponding target color and a corresponding semantic label (p. 6, section 0067; each region has a selected label and associated color). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 18, see the rejection to claim 5.
As to claim 22, see the rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 23, see the rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 24, see the rejection to claim 5.
Claims 6, 7, 16, 17, 19, 20, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng and Suzuki and further in view of Min (U.S. Publication 2024/0087179).
As to claim 6, Meng does not disclose but Min discloses, wherein: the generative neural network is trained by generating a predicted image based on layout information, computing a loss function based on the predicted image, and updating parameters of the generative neural network based on the loss function (p. 2, section 0027-p. 3, section 0034; a loss function based on a synthesized/predicted frame image is used to train the diffusion model/GAN, with parameters in the model updating each iteration). The motivation for this is to better denoise an image. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Meng and Suzuki to have the generative neural network trained by generating a predicted image based on layout information, compute a loss function based on the predicted image, and update parameters of the generative neural network based on the loss function in order to better denoise an image as taught by Min.
As to claim 7, Min discloses wherein: the loss function comprises a perceptual loss (p. 2-3, section 0031). Motivation for the combination of references is given in the rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 16, Min discloses wherein the generative neural network comprises a U-Net architecture (p. 2, section 0025; p. 3, section 0034). Motivation for the combination of references is given in the rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 17, Min discloses wherein the generative neural network comprises a text-guided diffusion model (p. 1, section 0016-p. 2, section 0019). The motivation for this is to allow a user to only input text and possibly an image. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Meng and Suzuki to have the diffusion model comprise a text-guided diffusion model in order to allow a user to only input text and possibly an image in order to as taught by Min.
As to claim 19, Meng discloses limiting an input image to a particular region, as noted in the rejection to claim 1. Meng does not disclose, but Min discloses, wherein the instructions are further executable to: generate an object representation based on the semantic label and the input image using a perception model, wherein the image is generated based on an intermediate noise prediction from the generative neural network and the object representation (p. 1, section 0017-p. 2, section 0025; p. 2, section 0031-p. 3, section 0036; an input class/semantic label and an input image are combined to synthesize a representation of the output frame objects using a model that takes into account loss based on perception; the process goes through various iterations of intermediate noise predictions based on this and eventually produces output frames). Motivation for the combination of references is given in the rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 20, Min discloses wherein: the perception model comprises a multi-modal encoder (p. 1, section 0017; p. 2, section 0019; the model encodes feature embeddings of both input text and a subject image, making it multi-modal). Motivation for the combination of references is given in the rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 25, see the rejection to claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON M RICHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617