DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 8 and 15-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8: lines 2 and 4, the double brackets around “to” should be deleted because double brackets are used to identify deleted claim language just as strikethrough lines;
In claim 15: line 9, the double brackets around “the” first occurrence should be deleted because double brackets are used to identify deleted claim language just as strikethrough lines.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 10, 11 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Givens (US 2018/0229093) in view of Cramblett (US Patent 4,643,422).
With regards to claims 1 and 10, Givens discloses a method of mounting a basketball system, the method comprising placing an end of a frame of the basketball system against a wall (the frame is configured to be mounted to the wall as disclosed in paragraph [0013]), wherein the basketball system includes a backboard 104 and a rim 126, securing the end of the frame of the basketball system to the wall using one or more primary fasteners 108 paragraph [0013] and figure 1). Givens does not disclose inserting a portion of the frame into a slot defined in a reinforcement bracket, advancing the reinforcement bracket until a rearward face of the reinforcement bracket abuts the wall while retaining the portion in the slot, and securing the reinforcement bracket to the wall using a secondary fastener. However, Cramblett teaches a method of mounting a basketball system comprising a frame , a backboard and a rim, wherein the frame includes a reinforcement bracket (68, 70), a portion of the frame (part of crossbar 56) inserted in a slot defined in the reinforcement bracket (as can be seen in figure 1, crossbar 56 is inserted in a slot of reinforcement bracket 68), advancing reinforcement bracket until a rearward face of the reinforcement bracket abuts a wall ( since the bracket will be installed against the backside of backboard 10 as can be seen in figure 1) while retaining the portion in the slot (crossbar 56 is configured to remain in the slot), and securing the reinforcement bracket to the wall using a secondary fastener (inserted in hole 72), see column 3, lines 28-37. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a reinforcement bracket to the basketball system of Givens by providing a reinforcement bracket as taught by Cramblett to the top cross bar of the frame of Givens as such a reinforcement bracket would provide added support for the top cross bar.
Regarding claim 2, Applicant should note that the un upper frame piece of the frame of Givens would be inserted into the slot, and the upper frame piece will be clamped against the wall since the frame of Givens is to be mounted against a wall.
Regarding claim 3, Cramblett teaches a frame piece having an outwardly extending leg portion inserted in the slot, and the frame of Givens has an outwardly extending horizontal leg (upper piece that abuts top piece 212 in figure 1).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Cramblett teaches a second reinforcement bracket 70 that would be installed in the same manner as reinforcement bracket 68 using the outwardly extending horizontal leg of the frame of Givens.
With regards to claim 15, Givens discloses a basketball system comprising a backboard 104, a rim 126 mounted to the backboard, a frame 102with a first end and a second end, wherein the first end mounts to the backboard and wherein the second end mounts to the a wall via one or more primary fasteners 108 (fig. 1). Givens does not disclose at least one reinforcement bracket, wherein the reinforcement bracket includes at least one hook portion defining a slot configured to receive and engage a portion of the frame. However, Cramblett teaches a method a basketball system comprising a frame , a backboard and a rim, wherein the frame includes a reinforcement bracket (68, 70) defining a slot configured to receive and engage a portion of the frame, see figure 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have included a reinforcement bracket as taught by Cramblett in the basketball system of Givens, in order to provide added support to the frame. Applicant should note that the recitation of the reinforcement bracket abutting the wall when the slot receives a portion of the frame, and wherein the reinforcement bracket is secured to the wall via one or more secondary fasteners is an intended use recitation and the basketball system of Givens/Cramblett is capable of being used as recited in the claim.
Regarding claims 16-19, see reinforcement bracket 68 in figure 1 of Cramblett.
Regarding claim 20, see second reinforcement bracket 70 in Cramblett.
Claim(s) 6-9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Givens/Cramblett as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Manahan (US 20120267494).
Regarding claim 6, Givens/Cramblett discloses a method of mounting a basketball system as shown above except for the reinforcement bracket including a body with a series of contoured sections along a rear side, including a first section configured to abut the wall and a second section configured to engage and clamp an upward extending flange of the frame against the wall. However, Manahan teaches such a bracket 100 with a body with a series of contoured sections along a rear side (fig. 1), including a first section 105 configured to abut the wall section 105 could be placed against a wall) and a second section (110. 115) configured to engage and clamp an upward extending flange of the frame against the wall (the bracket of Manahan could be used as recited in the claim). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the bracket of Givens/Cramblett for the one taught by Manahan as a simple substitution of one known element for another to achieve the same results.
Regarding claim 7, see figure 1 of Manahan with base 105 and hook plates 110 and 115.
Regarding claim 8, see figure 1 of Manahan with base 105 and leg portion 110 and 115 that could be used as recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 9, Applicant should note that the bracket of Manahan can be used as claimed.
Regarding claim 12, see figure 1 of Manahan with hook plates 110 and 115 forming an L-shaped profile with base 105 and hook plates 110 and 115 forming the slot.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Givens in view of Titcomb et al. (US Patent 11,002,027).
With regards to claims 1 and 10, Givens discloses a method of mounting a basketball system, the method comprising placing an end of a frame of the basketball system against a wall (the frame is configured to be mounted to the wall as disclosed in paragraph [0013]), wherein the basketball system includes a backboard 104 and a rim 126, securing the end of the frame of the basketball system to the wall using one or more primary fasteners 108 paragraph [0013] and figure 1). Givens does not disclose inserting a portion of the frame into a slot defined in a reinforcement bracket, advancing the reinforcement bracket until a rearward face of the reinforcement bracket abuts the wall while retaining the portion in the slot, and securing the reinforcement bracket to the wall using a secondary fastener. However, Titcomb et al. teaches a bracket 300 (fig. 30) that can be coupled to one or more metal frames or panels and secured or coupled to a panel 350 (fig. 34), see column 9, lines 48-63. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a bracket such as the one taught by Titcomb et al. in the method of Givens et al., in order to provide extra support for the frame of Givens. The proposed modification is to further support the mounting frame of Givens by inserting the outwardly extending horizontal frame part of Givens (upper piece that abuts top piece 212 in figure 1 of Givens) in the slot of bracket 300 of Titcomb et al. and securing the bracket to the wall, thus reinforcing attachment of the frame to the wall.
Regarding claim 2, the frame of Givens includes an upper frame piece (upper piece that abuts top piece 212 in figure 1) and that is the portion of the frame that would be inserted into the slot and be clamped to the wall using fasteners to secure clamp 300 to the wall as taught by Titcomb et al., see column 9, lines 48-63.
Regarding claim 3, the upper frame piece of the frame of Givens (upper piece that abuts top piece 212 in figure 1) is an outwardly extending horizontal leg portion and it is the one that would be inserted into the slot.
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Applicant should note that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an additional bracket to support the horizontal leg portion at both ends in order to stably support the frame.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, see figure 34 of Titcomb et al. where hook portion 334 abuts a lower portion of the frame piece 25.
Regarding claim 6, see figures 30 and 34 of Titcomb et al.
Regarding claim 7, see figure 30 of Titcomb with base plate 312 between hook plates 316 and 318 and having fastening apertures.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, see figures 30 and 34 of Titcomb et al.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, see figure 30 of Titcomb et al.
With regards to claim 15, Givens discloses a basketball system comprising a backboard 104, a rim 126 mounted to the backboard, a frame 102with a first end and a second end, wherein the first end mounts to the backboard and wherein the second end mounts to the a wall via one or more primary fasteners 108 (fig. 1). Givens does not disclose at least one reinforcement bracket, wherein the reinforcement bracket includes at least one hook portion defining a slot configured to receive and engage a portion of the frame. However, Titcomb et al. teaches a bracket 300 (fig. 30) that can be coupled to one or more metal frames or panels and secured or coupled to a panel 350 (fig. 34), see column 9, lines 48-63. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a bracket such as the one taught by Titcomb et al. in the basketball system of Givens et al., in order to provide extra support for the frame of Givens. The proposed modification is to further support the mounting frame of Givens by inserting the outwardly extending horizontal frame part of Givens (upper piece that abuts top piece 212 in figure 1 of Givens) in the slot of bracket 300 of Titcomb et al. and securing the bracket to the wall, thus reinforcing attachment of the frame to the wall.
Regarding claim 16, the upper piece that abuts top piece 212 in figure 1 of Givens that would be received in the slot is the flange that would extend perpendicular to the wall.
Regarding claim 17, the upper piece that abuts top piece 212 in figure 1 of Givens extends horizontally along an upper piece of the frame.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, see figure 1 of Givens.
Regarding claim 20, Applicant should note that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an additional bracket to support the horizontal leg portion at both ends in order to stably support the frame.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that securing Cramblett’s portions 68, 70 to a wall as alleged would prevent Cramblett’s from operating as intended, the examiner submits that the proposed modification is not to secure Cramblett’s portions 68, 70 to a wall rather, the proposed modification is to use reinforcing brackets such as brackets 68, 70 taught by Cramblett in order to further secure the frame of Givens to the wall. Brackets 68, 70 of Cramblett are secured to backboard 10 and they will be secured to the wall of Givens in the same way as they are secured to the backboard 10. Givens is the reference being modified and not Cramblett.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746