DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 3/4/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/4/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanai (US20010021468A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kanai discloses a humidification system [pars. 0189-193; Fig. 21] {Note: The anticipating embodiment is that of Fig. 21 which shares most components of embodiment from Fig. 1. Thus, citation of the Kanai relating to embodiment 1 is relied on for description of components not reiterated in reference to embodiment of Fig. 21} comprising:
a heat exchanger (hollow fiber membrane water collecting apparatus 2a,2 which is known in the art to act as a heat exchanger and would necessarily cool the received exhaust air) fluidically coupled to a cathode outlet of a fuel cell stack 1 (via exhaust pipe 12) to receive exhaust air stream (exhaust gas from fuel cell connected to air electrode) therefrom and to cool the received exhaust air stream [pars. 0058-59; Figs. 21,1];
a water trapping device (water separator 3a,3) fluidically coupled to the heat exchanger and configured to trap water droplets (i.e., collected water fed to water storage tank 4a,4) extracted from the exhaust air stream by the heat exchanger to generate a dry exhaust air stream (i.e., the resulting air in exhaust pipe 12 from water separator is necessarily dried) [pars. 0059,0069; Figs. 21,1]; and
an injector 17a,17 fluidically coupled to the water trapping device and configured to receive at least a portion of the water droplets trapped by the water trapping device (i.e., via auxiliary humidification pipe 13), the injector fluidically coupled upstream from a cathode inlet of the fuel cell stack (i.e., at intake pipe 11) and configured to humidify a stream of air using the received portion of the water droplets prior to the stream of air entering the cathode inlet [pars. 0058-60,; Figs. 21,1].
Regarding Claim 3, Kanai discloses the system further comprising a fluid reservoir (water storage tank 4a,4) fluidically coupled between the water trapping device and the injector, wherein the fluid reservoir is configured to receive and store the water droplets from the water trapping device, and wherein the fluid reservoir is configured to selectively provide at least the portion of the water droplets to the injector (i.e., via auxiliary humidification pipe 13 and three way valve 21a,21) [pars. 0074-75; Figs. 21,1].
Regarding Claim 4, Kanai discloses the system further comprising a pump (water supply pump 7) fluidically coupled between an outlet port of the fluid reservoir and a return port of the fluid reservoir, wherein the pump is configured to recirculate the water droplets output at the outlet port of the fluid reservoir toward the return port of the fluid reservoir [pars. 0070-74; Figs. 3,21,1].
Regarding Claim 5, Kanai discloses the system further comprising a valve (auxiliary valve 20a,20 and/or three way valve 21a,21) coupled between an outlet of the pump and the return port of the fluid reservoir, wherein the valve is configured to operate in a first position to permit flow of water output by the pump toward the return port and in a second position to prevent the flow of water toward the return port [pars. 0060-61,0074,0087,0142].
Regarding Claims 6-7, Kanai discloses the system further comprising an injection branch (i.e., portion of auxiliary humidification pipe 13 supplying water towards injector 17) fluidically coupled between the outlet of the pump and the valve, wherein the injector is coupled to the injection branch to receive at least the portion of the water droplets via the injection branch, wherein the injector is configured to receive at least the portion of the water droplets by the injection branch in response to the valve being in the second position [par. 0060; Figs. 21,1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanai, as applied to claims 1 and 3, respectively, and further in view of Hausmann (US20240014418A1 – foreign priority day 12/18/2020).
Regarding Claim 2, Kanai fails to disclose the system further comprising a turbine fluidically coupled to receive the dry exhaust air stream output by the water trapping device. However, Hausman, form the same field of endeavor, discloses a humidification system comprising a water trapping device (cathode-side water separator 9) configured to trap water droplets extracted from the exhaust air to generate a dry exhaust air stream [Hausmann – pars. 0026; Fig. 1], a fluid reservoir (tank 20) coupled between the water trapping device and an injector 11, wherein the fluid reservoir is configured to receive and store the water droplets from the water trapping device, and a turbine 13 fluidly coupled to receive the dry exhaust air stream output by the water trapping device, wherein the turbine may be driven by the exhaust air stream in order to recover energy in the form of electrical energy to drive a generator or for storage [Hausmann – pars. 0017,0025-26; Fig. 1]. Since Kanai uses the fuel cel to drive a motor M [par. 0007; Fig. 28], before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have employed the teachings of Hausmann to have modified the system of Kanai to have further comprised a turbine fluidically coupled to receive the dry exhaust air stream output by the water trapping device in order to recover energy in the form of electrical energy to drive a generator or for storage.
Regarding Claim 8, Kanai fails to disclose the system further comprising a filter fluidically coupled between the water trapping device and the fluid reservoir, wherein the filter is configured to filter the water droplets output by the water trapping device. However, Hausman, form the same field of endeavor, discloses a humidification system comprising a water trapping device (cathode-side water separator 9) configured to trap water droplets extracted from the exhaust air to generate a dry exhaust air stream [Hausmann – pars. 0026; Fig. 1], and a fluid reservoir (tank 20) coupled between the water trapping device and an injector 11, wherein the fluid reservoir is configured to receive and store the water droplets from the water trapping device [Hausmann – pars. 0026; Fig. 1]. Hausmann further teaches that a water filter can be arranged between water separator and a collecting container to mechanically hold back impurities and to remove ions which have collected in the water [Hausmann – par. 0014]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have employed the teachings of Hausmann to have modified the system of Kanai to have further comprised a filter fluidically coupled between the water trapping device and the fluid reservoir, wherein the filter is configured to filter the water droplets output by the water trapping device to hold back impurities and to remove ions which have collected in the water.
Conclusion
HAROON S. SHEIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751