DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12, 16-18, 21-24 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 1, line 11, the word -- the -- should be inserted before the phrase “weld data”. In line 11, the word -- the -- should be inserted before the phrase “location data”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-18 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0292357 (Leach et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0114142 (Trigui et al.) and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0027658 (Becker et al.).
With regards to claim 1, Leach et al. discloses a weld inspection system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-6, a system 102 (e.g. phased array ultrasonic transducer inspection tool PAUT; paragraph [0020]; Figure 1) comprising a scanning head 112 (e.g. a carriage; paragraph [0020]) for positioning an array probe 106,108 (e.g. transducers; paragraph [0020]) relative to a weld 10,10a (e.g. weld joints; paragraph [0020]) between a plurality of pipes 100 (e.g. pipes; paragraph [0020]) to perform a weld inspection of the weld (e.g. paragraph [0021]); the scanning head 112 is located outside of the plurality of pipes (e.g. observed in Figure 1); an operator may request the positioning of the scanning head at an initial location l0 (initial reference position as the scanning head moves along scan length - paragraphs [0021],[0035] and the location data of the welds - paragraph [0049]); the array probe 106,108 is configured to direct a set of ultrasonic waves 118 (e.g. acoustical signals; paragraph [0021]) to the plurality of pipes in response to one or more trigger signals (e.g. a signal by a user to excite the array probe by I/O device 341; paragraph [0034]) such that the set of ultrasonic waves used to generate a weld data about the weld (e.g. weld depth, flaw size, flaw depth, location of weld, number of welds; paragraphs [0024],[0033],[0049]); a weld record 328 (e.g. memory for storing representations of the weld joints inspection data; paragraphs [0037],[0040],[0030],[0040], [0032],[0057]) storing weld data and location data for each performed weld inspection; an output device 341,343,345 (e.g. I/O device displaying information and graphical representation of inspection results on a screen displaying an evaluation report; paragraphs [0028],[0033]; Figures 3A,3B,3G); a weld tracker 330,326 (e.g. GUI along with merger module provide at a reference point l0 inspection data, locations of the welds, and export ultrasonic images to be presented in evaluation report of the output device; paragraphs [0035],[0040],[0049]; Figures 3A,3F) configured to render the location data on the output device.
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention are: 1) a global positioning system GPS receiver configured to determine location data for the weld during the weld inspection such that the location data including a location for the scanning head that is approximate location for the weld during the weld inspection; 2) an access controller preventing initiation of the weld inspection with the scanning head until receipt of access request data from an authorized user.
For difference 1), Trigui et al. discloses a system for welds comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-6, a system 100 (e.g. system; paragraph [0025]) comprising a scanning head 110 (e.g. scanning device; paragraphs [0025],[0029]) for positioning a probe 113 (e.g. scanning module; paragraph [0052]) relative to a weld 20 (e.g. girth weld; paragraphs [0025],[0029]) between a plurality of pipes (e.g. abutting pipe ends - paragraphs [0003]; pipe string made up of a plurality of pipes - paragraph [0021]; pipe string made up of six pipe sections - paragraph [0050]; Figures 5,6); the scanning head 110 is located inside of the plurality of pipes (e.g. paragraphs [0029],[0031]; Figures 5,6); the scanning head 110 comprising a location determination device 119 (e.g. location sensors; paragraph [0041]) configured to determine a location data for the weld during the weld inspection such that the location data including a location for the scanning head that is an approximate location for the weld during the weld inspection (e.g. paragraphs [0041],[0042]); an output device 130 (e.g. main computing device has a display; paragraphs [0026],[0033]); a weld tracker 125 (e.g. main processor; paragraph [0033]) configured to receive the location for the scanning head that is the approximate location for the weld and a weld record (e.g. defect; paragraph [0052]) and cause the output device to display the approximate location for the weld (e.g. paragraphs [0033],[0041],[0051],[0052]). (See, paragraphs [0023] to [0106]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing a location determination device configured to determine location data for the weld during the weld inspection such that the location data including a location for the scanning head that is approximate location for the weld during the weld inspection as suggested by Trigui et al. to the system of Leach et al. to have the ability to provide an estimated position of the weld on the pipe based on a distance the scanning head traveled from a reference point. (See, paragraph [0041] of Trigui et al.). Although Trigui et al. does not explicitly specify the location determination device is a global positional system GPS receiver, to have set such structural characteristics as a GPS receiver as claimed is considered to have been a matter of choice possibilities and a well-known concept in this day and age to employ a GPS receiver (e.g. as evidenced by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0027658 issued to Becker et al. in paragraph [0053]) that would have been obvious to a skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an estimated position of the weld on the pipe based on a distance the scanning head traveled from a reference point without departing from the scope of the invention. At the same time, as set forth above, Leach et al. discloses an operator may request the positioning of the scanning head at an initial location l0 (e.g. initial reference position as the scanning head moves along scan length - paragraphs [0021],[0035]) and the location data of the welds (e.g. paragraph [0049]); hence, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing a GPS receiver, as claimed, or some other type of device to provide such information like location data of the scanning heading in terms of latitude, longitude and altitude for the weld during the weld inspection to the operator without departing from the scope of the invention.
For difference 2), Becker et al. discloses a weld training system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-11a, a weld training system comprising a welding tool 118; workpieces 110; sensors 104; computing system 200; an access controller 130,590,119 (e.g. input device 130/user device 590 activates trigger 19; paragraphs [0042],[0056],[0090]; Figures 1,3,5) preventing initiation of the weld inspection with the scanning head until receipt of access request data from an authorized user (e.g. welding operation receive one or more signals from input device 130 or user device 590 indicative of a user, like a worker, administrative or instructor, associated with certain credentials whether have permissions or privileges to activate trigger 119 to start welding program 300,500; paragraphs [0056],[0090]; Figures 1,3,5). (See, paragraphs [0020] to [0111]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing an access controller configured to receive access request data corresponding to a request to operate one of the weld testing software and scanning mechanism as suggested by Becker et al. to the system of Leach et al, as modified by Trigui et al., to have the ability to provide restriction to only authorized personnel to use the weld inspection system to inspect the weld of the pipes and to provide privacy by securing and restricting certain data that are not supposed to be shared with the general public. (See, paragraph [0072] of Becker et al.).
With regards to claim 2, both references, Leach et al. and Trigui et al., further disclose the weld tracker 330,326;125 is configured to generate a graphical map with a graphical element at a location corresponding to the approximate location for the weld on a graphical map such that the graphical map being representative of a geographical area that includes the weld (e.g. paragraphs [0022] to [0030] - Figures 2a of Leach et al.; map of the girth weld location is generated with precise location coordinates - paragraphs [0041],[0042],[0052] of Trigui et al.).
With regards to claim 3, both references, Leach et al. and Trigui et al., further disclose the weld tracker 330,326;125 includes a map generator 200;115 (e.g. scan images - paragraphs [0022] of Leach et al.; 3D imaging device - paragraphs [0032],[0033],[0041],[0042],[0052] of Trigui et al.) configured to generate the graphical map based on map data for the geographical area that includes the weld and location data.
With regards to claim 4, both references, Leach et al. and Trigui et al., further disclose the weld tracker 330,326;125 is configured to provide a control signal to the GPS receiver to cause the location determination device to output the location data (e.g. signal from user through I/O device 341 - paragraphs [0034],[0049],[0057],[0063] of Leach et al.; paragraphs [0047],[0049], [0051],[0041],[0042],[0052] of Trigui et al.).
With regards to claim 5, both references, Leach et al. and Trigui et al., further disclose the weld tracker 330,36;125 is configured to provide the control signal based on weld identification (ID) data such that the weld ID data identifying the weld and corresponds to an indication that the weld is being inspected (e.g. paragraph [0040], Figure 3B of Leach et al.; paragraphs [0052]-[0054], Table 1 of Trigui et al.).
With regards to claim 6, both references, Leach et al and Trigui et al., further disclose a computing device (e.g. processor of computer system; paragraph [0029]) with memory 328;127 (e.g. memory – paragraph [0030] of Leach et al.; a memory - paragraph [0033] of Trigui et al.) that stores the weld record (e.g. paragraphs [0022]-[0026] of Leach et al.; paragraph [0033]-[0034],[0042] of Trigui et al.).
With regards to claim 8, both references, Leach et al. and Trigui et al., further disclose the memory 328,127 further comprises weld testing software for processing the weld data for determining whether the weld is acceptable or not acceptable (e.g. electronic circuitry in computer software – paragraphs [0072],[0074],[0151] of Leach et al.; measurement software, comparator, filter – claim 4,paragraphs [0028],[0033],[0042],[0053] of Trigui et al.).
With regards to claim 10, Becker further disclose the access request data is generated by an access device 590 (e.g. tablet, cellphone - paragraph [0065],[0072]) in response to a user (e.g. operator/user) interaction with the access device such that the access device comprising at least one of biometric scanner or a keypad 704c (e.g. input button; paragraph [0079]).
With regards to claim 12, Becker et al. further discloses a memory 206 (e.g. memory circuitry; paragraph [0054]) includes machine-readable instructions (e.g. machine readable instructions; paragraph [0054]) representative of a weld tracking and access tool 118 (e.g. welding tool; paragraph [0031]) that includes the weld tracker and the access controller and the weld testing software such that the weld tracking and access tool is implemented as a software plugin and incorporated into the weld testing software (e.g. paragraphs [0033],[0038]-[0040]).
With regards to claim 16, Leach et al. further discloses directing the set of ultrasonic waves 118 to the plurality of pipes; however, the reference does not disclose the ultrasonic waves is performed via one or more piezoelectric elements. To have set such structural characteristics for the array probe to be of one or more piezoelectric elements to direct ultrasonic waves is a matter of choice possibilities and is a well-known concept for the array probe having piezoelectric elements (e.g. as evidenced by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0238564 issued to Owens et al) that would have been obvious to a skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention without departing from the scope of the invention.
With regards to claim 17, Leach et al. further discloses based on the one or more trigger signals, the array probe 104,108 is configured to direct a second set of ultrasonic waves to the plurality of pipes such that the second set of ultrasonic waves occurring after the set of ultrasonic waves (e.g. second set of ultrasonic waves formed when the process is repeated after the first set of ultrasonic waves; paragraphs [0035],[0045],[0070]).
With regards to claim 18, Leach et al. further discloses the weld data generated based on reflection information 124 (e.g. reflected signals; paragraphs [0021]-[0024]) associated with the set of ultrasonic waves.
With regards to claim 21, none of the references, Leach et al., Trigui et al. or Becker et al., explicitly discloses the location data includes a date and time obtained by the GPS receiver when the weld inspection occurred. However, it is a well-known concept to a skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the date and time are generally provided from a GPS receiver since GPS provided highly accurate date and time through navigation message from satellites including the current date, time and status information without departing from the scope of the invention.
With regards to claims 22-24, Becker et al. further discloses the access controller is further configured to grant the authorized user access to the weld record; the access controller restricts access to the weld record in response to determining that the access request data does not correspond with an authorized user; the access controller is further configured to grant the authorized user access to the weld testing software and the weld record (e.g. welding operation receive one or more signals from input device 130 or user device 590 indicative of a user, like a worker, administrative or instructor, associated with certain credentials whether have permissions or privileges to activate trigger 119 to start welding program 300,500; paragraphs [0042],[0056],[0069],[0082],[0084],[0090],[0094]; Figures 1,3,5).
With regards to claims 13-15 and 25, the claims are directed to method claims and commensurate in scope with the above apparatus claims 1-2,4,6,10,21 and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6,8,10,12-18,21-25 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection and/or because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855