Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on April 14th, 2026 and June 1st, 2026 have been received. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed February 12th, 2026 (“AMSB”), in which: claims 1 and 10 are amended; no claims are cancelled; new claims 20 and 21 are added; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1, 5 – 10, and 13 – 21 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 5 – 10, and 13 – 21 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Further, Examiner disagrees that Hwang does not teach the wire branch at a side face of the display panel, because Hwang’s exposed end of their wire branch is continuous with the side face of the display panel. The examiner understands an interpretation wherein Hwang’s exposed end of their wire branch is at least a portion of the side face of the display panel. The examiner does not find the applicant’s arguments persuasive regarding their arguments that Hwang does not tach the wire branch as a side face of the display panel.
Response to Arguments
Examiner suggests, support in the disclosure willing, that applicant amends the instant claims to further include more features of the wire branch, such as the curved/spherical/ball/etc. shape that is nested in the display panel (e.g., instant claim Fig. 5). Examiner believes that such an amendment will provide distinction from some structural features provided by Hwang. Further, the examiner suspects that the physical dimensions of such a feature would likely include very specific parameters to ensure appropriate function of the wire branch as its part of a static electricity discharge path. Thus, support in the disclosure willing, examiner suggest including such details in an amendment.
Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1, 5 – 6, 10, 13 – 14, and 20 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Hwang et al. (US 20100079692 A), and further in view of Kim (US 20220375880 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hwang teaches a display panel (display panel disclosed in [0057] and shown in Fig. 5), comprising:
a display area (Fig. 2; active array AA) where pixels are disposed ([0031]); and
a discharge area ([0032] teaches, “the inactive area outside of the active array area”; such that the examiner is interpreting the inactive area to be a discharge area) adjacent to the display area (Figs. 6 and 5),
wherein the display panel includes a front face ([0006] teaches the light outgoing surface of the upper glass substrate GLSU), a back face opposite the front face (Fig. 5; side opposite to the light incident side, e.g., lower glass substrate of the liquid crystal display device (GLSL)), and a side face between the front face and the back face (Fig. 5; side face on which upper-lower substrate connection static electricity discharging path CPOL is pasted), wherein the display panel further includes:
an outline wire (Fig. 6; ground line GNDL) extending along the discharge area (Figs. 6 and 5); and
a wire branch (Fig. 6; expanded ground line EGNDL) disposed in the discharge area (Figs. 6 and 5) and extending from at least one portion of the outline wire (Fig. 6) to the side face of the display panel (See Fig. 6; wherein the expanded ground line EGNDL reaches an end of the display panel. Also see Fig. 5 and [0059] – [0061]), an end of the wire branch being exposed at the side face of the display panel (Fig. 5. In view of the instant figures, examiner understands Hwang’s Fig. 5 to show the end of the expanded ground line EGNDL wire to exhibit the same use of “being exposed” as shown by the applicant. See instant Figs. 2 and 5); and
a static electricity discharge member (Figs. 6 and 5; upper-lower substrate connection static electricity discharging path CPOL, hereafter referred to as static electricity discharge member CPOL),
…
wherein the static electricity discharge member is coated ([0057]) on the side face of the display panel (Figs. 5 – 6, [0057], and [0073]) and contacts the end of the wire branch at the side face of the display panel (Fig. 5; side of the expanded ground line EGNDL also see Figs. 5 – 6, [0057], and [0073]), …
However, Hwang remains silent regarding the display panel:
wherein a cover glass is disposed on the front face of the display panel,
wherein a heat dissipation layer is disposed on the back face of the display panel, and …
the static electricity discharge member being separated from the heat dissipation layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches a similar display panel, e.g., an OLED or micro-LED display element display panel,
wherein a cover glass (Fig. 8; window module WM. See [0079]) is disposed on the front face of the display panel (Fig.8),
wherein a heat dissipation layer (Fig. 2; heat dissipation layer EMS) is disposed on the back face of the display panel (Fig. 2), and
the static electricity discharge member being separated from the heat dissipation layer (Figs. 2 and 8; see protrusion portion PM ([0191]) and separation area SS (taught in [0188] to be the area where static electricity gets discharged) separated from the heat dissipation layer EMS, i.e., the structure in Fig. 8 between metal plate MP and seventh adhesive layer AL7).
In Kim’s disclosure, they teach that as a path through which the static electricity ES flowing in from the outside travels to the first line L1 from the separation area SS is blocked, the window module WM that effectively prevents short circuits caused by the static electricity ES may be provided ([0190]). The static electric charge is then discharged to ground [0190].
It is the examiner’s opinion that when modifying Hwang’s disclosure to operate within a foldable OLED/micro-LED display element display device, it would be obvious to use Hwang’s outline wire structure and upper-lower substrate connection static electricity discharging path CPOL (or analogous structure for a foldable OLED/micro-LED display element display device) as part of a connection to a ground terminal; thereby, facilitating a connection of Kim’s protrusion portion PM and separation area SS to the ground of the device. Further, Kim teaches this separation area SS at a middle section of their display panel (i.e., Fig. 8; section above the display module DM); which is similar to Hwang’s disclosure wherein their ground is formed at a similar portion of a display panel, thereby suggesting easy implementation into a same area of a display panel when changing Hwang’s display element type to be that for a foldable OLED/micro-LED display element display device. In such a modification, Hwang and Kim teach the display device structure wherein a cover glass is disposed on the front face of the display panel, wherein a heat dissipation layer is disposed on the back face of the display panel, and the static electricity discharge member being separated from the heat dissipation layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display panel of Hwang to include a cover glass is disposed on the front face of the display panel, wherein a heat dissipation layer is disposed on the back face of the display panel, and the static electricity discharge member being separated from the heat dissipation layer, as disclosed by Kim in their teaching of a foldable OLED/micro-LED display element display device, because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kim’s cover glass and heat dissipation layer permits static charge to be discharged safely, while providing adequate protection to the internal device structures, such as sensitive OLED layers. This known benefit in Kim’s display device structure is applicable to Hwang’s display device as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to display devices, that are susceptible to being damaged by static charge buildup on/in the display device. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying Hwang’s display device to include a foldable OLED/micro-LED display element display device, as disclosed by Kim, would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate a cover glass and a heat dissipation layer in display devices and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding dependent Claim 5, Hwang, further in view of Kim, teach the display panel of claim 1, wherein
the wire branch is divided into at least one wire extending to the end of the display panel (Hwang: Fig. 6).
Regarding dependent Claim 6, Hwang, further in view of Kim, teach the display panel of claim 1, wherein
a width of the wire branch is greater than a width of the outline wire (Hwang: Fig. 6).
Regarding independent Claim 10, Hwang teaches a display device, comprising:
a display panel (display panel disclosed in [0057] and shown in Fig. 5) having a front face ([0006] teaches the light outgoing surface of the upper glass substrate GLSU), a back face (Fig. 5; side opposite to the light incident side, e.g., lower glass substrate of the liquid crystal display device (GLSL)) opposite the front face, and a side face (Fig. 5; side face on which upper-lower substrate connection static electricity discharging path CPOL is pasted) between the front face and the back face (Fig. 5);
… and
a static electricity discharge member (Figs. 6 and 5; upper-lower substrate connection static electricity discharging path CPOL, hereafter referred to as static electricity discharge member CPOL),
wherein the display panel includes:
a display area (Fig. 2; active array AA) where pixels are disposed ([0031]);
a discharge area ([0032] teaches, “the inactive area outside of the active array area”; such that the examiner is interpreting the inactive area to be a discharge area) adjacent to the display area (Figs. 6 and 5);
an outline wire (Fig. 6; ground line GNDL) extending along the discharge area (Figs. 6 and 5); and
a wire branch (Fig. 6; expanded ground line EGNDL) disposed in the discharge area (Figs. 6 and 5) and extending from at least one portion of the outline wire (Fig. 6) to the side face of the display panel (See Fig. 6; wherein the expanded ground line EGNDL reaches an end of the display panel. Also see Fig. 5 and [0059] – [0061]), an end of the wire branch being exposed at the side face of the display panel (Fig. 5. In view of the instant figures, examiner understands Hwang’s Fig. 5 to show the end of the expanded ground line EGNDL wire to exhibit the same use of “being exposed” as shown by the applicant. See instant Figs. 2 and 5);
wherein the static electricity discharge member is coated ([0057]) on the side face of the display panel (Figs. 5 – 6, [0057], and [0073]) and contacts the end of the wire branch at the side face (Fig. 5; side of the expanded ground line EGNDL also see Figs. 5 – 6, [0057], and [0073]), …
However, Hwang remains silent wherein the display device includes:
a cover glass disposed on the front face of the display panel;
a heat dissipation layer disposed on the back face of the display panel; … and
wherein the static electricity discharge member is separated from the heat dissipation layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches a similar display panel, e.g., an OLED or micro-LED display element display panel,
a cover glass (Fig. 8; window module WM. See [0079]) disposed on the front face of the display panel (Fig.8);
a heat dissipation layer (Fig. 2; heat dissipation layer EMS) disposed on the back face of the display panel (Fig. 2); … and
wherein the static electricity discharge member is separated from the heat dissipation layer (Figs. 2 and 8; see protrusion portion PM ([0191]) and separation area SS (taught in [0188] to be the area where static electricity gets discharged) separated from the heat dissipation layer EMS, i.e., the structure in Fig. 8 between metal plate MP and seventh adhesive layer AL7).
In Kim’s disclosure, they teach that as a path through which the static electricity ES flowing in from the outside travels to the first line L1 from the separation area SS is blocked, the window module WM that effectively prevents short circuits caused by the static electricity ES may be provided ([0190]). The static electric charge is then discharged to ground [0190].
It is the examiner’s opinion that when modifying Hwang’s disclosure to operate within a foldable OLED/micro-LED display element display device, it would be obvious to use Hwang’s outline wire structure and upper-lower substrate connection static electricity discharging path CPOL (or analogous structure for a foldable OLED/micro-LED display element display device) as part of a connection to a ground terminal; thereby, facilitating a connection of Kim’s protrusion portion PM and separation area SS to the ground of the device. Further, Kim teaches this separation area SS at a middle section of their display panel (i.e., Fig. 8; section above the display module DM); which is similar to Hwang’s disclosure wherein their ground is formed at a similar portion of a display panel, thereby suggesting easy implementation into a same area of a display panel when changing Hwang’s display element type to be that for a foldable OLED/micro-LED display element display device. In such a modification, Hwang and Kim teach the display device structure wherein a cover glass is disposed on the front face of the display panel, a heat dissipation layer is disposed on the back face of the display panel, and wherein the static electricity discharge member being separated from the heat dissipation layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display panel of Hwang to include a cover glass is disposed on the front face of the display panel, wherein a heat dissipation layer is disposed on the back face of the display panel, and the static electricity discharge member being separated from the heat dissipation layer, as disclosed by Kim in their teaching of a foldable OLED/micro-LED display element display device, because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kim’s cover glass and heat dissipation layer permits static charge to be discharged safely, while providing adequate protection to the internal device structures, such as sensitive OLED layers. This known benefit in Kim’s display device structure is applicable to Hwang’s display device as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to display devices, that are susceptible to being damaged by static charge buildup on/in the display device. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying Hwang’s display device to include a foldable OLED/micro-LED display element display device, as disclosed by Kim, would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate a cover glass and a heat dissipation layer in display devices and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding dependent Claim 13, Hwang, further in view of Kim, teach the display device of claim 10, wherein
the wire branch is divided into at least one wire extending to the end of the display panel (Hwang: Fig. 6).
Regarding dependent Claim 14, Hwang, further in view of Kim, teach the display device of claim 10, wherein
the wire branch has a width greater than a width of the outline wire (Hwang: Fig. 6).
Regarding dependent Claim 20, Hwang, further in view of Kim, teach the display panel of claim 1, wherein
the static electricity discharge member directly contacts the end of the wire branch at the side face of the display panel (Hwang: Fig. 5).
Regarding dependent Claim 21, Hwang, further in view of Kim, teach the display device of claim 10, wherein
the static electricity discharge member directly contacts the end of the wire branch at the side face of the display panel (Hwang: Fig. 5).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Hwang et al. (US 20100079692 A), and further in view of Kim (US 20220375880 A1) and Ren et al. (US 20200075581 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 7, Hwang, further in view of Kim, teach the display panel of claim 1; however, Hwang remains silent wherein
the outline wire is coupled to a ground terminal.
Although, Hwang does teach in [0053] and Fig. 6; ground power source through the FPC pad (FPCPAD)).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ren teaches second wiring 4, i.e., an outline wire, that is coupled to a ground terminal 10 (Fig. 4 and [0037] – [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Hwang’s display panel to include Ren’s ground terminal, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Hwang’s display panel as modified by Ren’s ground terminal can yield a predictable result of for more efficiently discharging static electricity since the ground terminal is a well-known electric sink. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 15, Hwang, further in view of Kim, teach the display device of claim 10; however, Hwang remains silent wherein
the outline wire is coupled to a ground terminal.
Although, Hwang does teach in [0053] and Fig. 6; ground power source through the FPC pad (FPCPAD)).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ren teaches second wiring 4, i.e., an outline wire, that is coupled to a ground terminal 10 (Fig. 4 and [0037] – [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Hwang’s display panel to include Ren’s ground terminal, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Hwang’s display panel as modified by Ren’s ground terminal can yield a predictable result of for more efficiently discharging static electricity since the ground terminal is a well-known electric sink. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Claims 8 – 9 and 16 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Hwang et al. (US 20100079692 A), and further in view of Kim (US 20220375880 A1), Ren et al. (US 20200075581 A1), and Jiang et al. (US 20220328574 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 8, Hwang, further in view of Kim and Ren, teach the display panel of claim 7; however, Hwang remains silent wherein
the outline wire is coupled to the ground terminal via a crack detection circuit for detecting cracks in the display panel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jiang teaches in [0185] – [0186] and Fig. 16 that a crack detection trace, i.e., an outline wire, is coupled to a detection terminal, e.g., 014 or 015, wherein the examiner is considering the detection terminal to be a ground terminal. Further, Jiang teaches an electrostatic discharge circuit 005, i.e., a crack detection circuit for detecting cracks in the display panel, coupled between the outline wire and the ground terminal; such that Jiang demonstrates the outline wire is coupled to the ground terminal via a crack detection circuit for detecting cracks in the display panel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Hwang’s display panel to include Jiang’s crack detection circuit, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Hwang’s display panel as modified by Jiang’s crack detection circuit can yield a predictable result of detecting cracks in the substrate and breaks in the outline wire since the crack detection circuit is configured to receive a signal from the outline wire in order to ensure connection as not been broken. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 9, Hwang, further in view of Kim and Ren, teach the display panel of claim 7; however, Hwang remains silent wherein
the outline wire is coupled to the ground terminal via a source driver or a gate driver for driving the display panel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jiang teaches in [0185] – [0186] and Fig. 16 that a crack detection trace, i.e., an outline wire, is coupled to a detection terminal, e.g., 014 or 015, wherein the examiner is considering the detection terminal to be a ground terminal. Further, Jiang teaches in [0087] a first test circuit 009, i.e., a gate driver for driving the display panel (at least [0121] and [0127]), coupled between the outline wire and the ground terminal; such that Jiang demonstrates the outline wire is coupled to the ground terminal via a source driver or a gate driver for driving the display panel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Hwang’s display panel to include Jiang’s coupling of the outline wire and the ground terminal via a source driver or a gate driver for driving the display panel, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Hwang’s display panel as modified by Jiang’s coupling of the outline wire and the ground terminal via a source driver or a gate driver for driving the display panel can yield a predictable result of aiding in the detection of cracks in the substrate and breaks in the outline wire since source or gate drivers are configured to be electrically connected to the outline wire in order, which may ensure connection as not been broken. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 16, Hwang, further in view of Kim and Ren, teach the display device of claim 15; however, Hwang remains silent wherein
the outline wire is coupled to the ground terminal via a crack detection circuit for detecting a crack of the display panel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jiang teaches in [0185] – [0186] and Fig. 16 that a crack detection trace, i.e., an outline wire, is coupled to a detection terminal, e.g., 014 or 015, wherein the examiner is considering the detection terminal to be a ground terminal. Further, Jiang teaches an electrostatic discharge circuit 005, i.e., a crack detection circuit for detecting cracks in the display panel, coupled between the outline wire and the ground terminal; such that Jiang demonstrates the outline wire is coupled to the ground terminal via a crack detection circuit for detecting cracks in the display panel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Hwang’s display panel to include Jiang’s crack detection circuit, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Hwang’s display panel as modified by Jiang’s crack detection circuit can yield a predictable result of detecting cracks in the substrate and breaks in the outline wire since the crack detection circuit is configured to receive a signal from the outline wire in order to ensure connection as not been broken. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 17, Hwang, further in view of Kim and Ren, teach the display device of claim 15; however, Hwang remains silent wherein
the outline wire is coupled to the ground terminal via a source driver or a gate driver for driving the display panel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jiang teaches in [0185] – [0186] and Fig. 16 that a crack detection trace, i.e., an outline wire, is coupled to a detection terminal, e.g., 014 or 015, wherein the examiner is considering the detection terminal to be a ground terminal. Further, Jiang teaches in [0087] a first test circuit 009, i.e., a gate driver for driving the display panel (at least [0121] and [0127]), coupled between the outline wire and the ground terminal; such that Jiang demonstrates the outline wire is coupled to the ground terminal via a source driver or a gate driver for driving the display panel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jiang teaches in [0185] – [0186] and Fig. 16 that a crack detection trace, i.e., an outline wire, is coupled to a detection terminal, e.g., 014 or 015, wherein the examiner is considering the detection terminal to be a ground terminal. Further, Jiang teaches in [0087] a first test circuit 009, i.e., a gate driver for driving the display panel (at least [0121] and [0127]), coupled between the outline wire and the ground terminal; such that Jiang demonstrates the outline wire is coupled to the ground terminal via a source driver or a gate driver for driving the display panel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Hwang’s display panel to include Jiang’s coupling of the outline wire and the ground terminal via a source driver or a gate driver for driving the display panel, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Hwang’s display panel as modified by Jiang’s coupling of the outline wire and the ground terminal via a source driver or a gate driver for driving the display panel can yield a predictable result of aiding in the detection of cracks in the substrate and breaks in the outline wire since source or gate drivers are configured to be electrically connected to the outline wire in order, which may ensure connection as not been broken. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Claims 18 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Hwang et al. (US 20100079692 A), and further in view of Kim (US 20220375880 A1) and Park et al. (US 20110285640 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 18, Hwang, further in view of Kim, teach display panel of claim 1; however, Hwang remains silent wherein
the static electricity discharge member is not coated to the heat dissipation layer, so as to reduce a discharge path of static electricity generated from the cover glass.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches conductive structure 62 (Fig. 6), which is analogous to Hwang’s upper-lower substrate connection static electricity discharging path CPOL; however, Park teaches their conductive structure 62 to be coating the top of the TFT and touch layer, and not underneath the bottom of the TFT and touch layer. As the combination of Hwang and Kim yields the display device wherein the heat dissipation is disposed underneath the bottom of the display device’s circuit layer, examiner asserts that, further in view of Park, it would have been obvious to modify Hwang’s upper-lower substrate connection static electricity discharging path CPOL such that the upper-lower substrate connection static electricity discharging path CPOL is not formed underneath the circuit layer of the display device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Hwang and Kim to include Park’s teaching of a static electricity discharge member formed to coat an upper portion of the circuit layer and not underneath the circuit layer, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Park’s conductive structure 62 is comparable to Hwang’s upper-lower substrate connection static electricity discharging path CPOL because they both function to remove static electricity that may harm the device. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hwang’s upper-lower substrate connection static electricity discharging path CPOL to include Park’s teaching of a static electricity discharge member formed to coat an upper portion of the circuit layer and not underneath the circuit layer with the predictable result of yielding the display device wherein the static electricity discharge member is not coated to the heat dissipation layer, so as to reduce a discharge path of static electricity generated from the cover glass.
Regarding dependent Claim 19, Hwang, further in view of Kim, teach display device of claim 10; however, Hwang remains silent wherein
the static electricity discharge member is not coated to the heat dissipation layer, so as to reduce a discharge path of static electricity generated from the cover glass.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches conductive structure 62 (Fig. 6), which is analogous to Hwang’s upper-lower substrate connection static electricity discharging path CPOL; however, Park teaches their conductive structure 62 to be coating the top of the TFT and touch layer, and not underneath the bottom of the TFT and touch layer. As the combination of Hwang and Kim yields the display device wherein the heat dissipation is disposed underneath the bottom of the display device’s circuit layer, examiner asserts that, further in view of Park, it would have been obvious to modify Hwang’s upper-lower substrate connection static electricity discharging path CPOL such that the upper-lower substrate connection static electricity discharging path CPOL is not formed underneath the circuit layer of the display device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Hwang and Kim to include Park’s teaching of a static electricity discharge member formed to coat an upper portion of the circuit layer and not underneath the circuit layer, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Park’s conductive structure 62 is comparable to Hwang’s upper-lower substrate connection static electricity discharging path CPOL because they both function to remove static electricity that may harm the device. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hwang’s upper-lower substrate connection static electricity discharging path CPOL to include Park’s teaching of a static electricity discharge member formed to coat an upper portion of the circuit layer and not underneath the circuit layer with the predictable result of yielding the display device wherein the static electricity discharge member is not coated to the heat dissipation layer, so as to reduce a discharge path of static electricity generated from the cover glass.
Conclusion
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure:
US 10135020 B1 – considered for their antistatic.
US 20200029423 A1 – previously relied upon.
US 20200333857 A1 – considered for their discharge body.
US 20190101780 A1 – considered for their heat ink body
US 11822744 B2 – considered for the flexible display.
US 20220028897 A1 – considered for their wiring structure.
MARIO A. AUTORE JR.
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/MARIO ANDRES AUTORE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897