DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on November 21, 2022. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on November 21, 2022. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15, 17, and 19 along with the corresponding dependent claims 2, 4-5, 7, 9, 11-12, 14, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Each of claims 1, 8, and 15 recites the received input data and the input data. It is unclear if these claim terms are intended to refer to the same claim element or different claim elements. For purposes of this Action, Examiner is interpreting them to refer to the same claim elements.
Each of claims 3, 6, 10, 13, 17, and 19 recites IoT sensors after reciting one or more IoT sensors in the corresponding independent claim from which each depends. It is unclear if the second recitation is intended to refer back to the one or more IoT sensors of the independent claims or not. For purposes of this Action, Examiner is interpreting the claim elements to refer to the same claim element.
Each of claims 6, 13, and 19 recites, essentially, monitoring, via IoT sensors, a change in ground vibration pattern in addition to historically learned data related to soil, ground vibration, wind, tree age, and tree fall history. It is unclear if the monitoring is of a change in ground vibration pattern and a change in historically learned data related to soil, ground vibration, wind, tree age, and tree fall history or if the monitoring is a change in ground vibration pattern based the historically learned data. For purposes of this Action, Examiner is interpreting this limitation to mean that the monitoring is of a change in ground vibration pattern and a change in historically learned data related to soil, ground vibration, wind, tree age, and tree fall history.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 11, 14-15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE102014210259 (hereinafter, “Lagner”). Examiner notes that the English translation, attached as an NPL file, is used for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 1, Lagner discloses A computer-implemented method for improving impact prevention in autonomous vehicles (see at least p. 4; a processor (i.e., computer equivalent) may be used to implement the methods disclosed in the publication), the computer-implemented method comprising:
generating a knowledge corpus based on data collected, from one or more internet of thing (IoT) sensors, associated with one or more predetermined risk factors of one or more predefined risks over time (see at least p. 4; environmental data may be collected, including captured vertical data above a vehicle. A risk of collision analysis may be performed between falling objects and the vehicle based on the captured data);
receiving, from the one or more IoT sensors, input data to observe a vertical space above a vehicle (see at least p. 4; vertical data above a vehicle may be received from environmental sensors);
identifying an object in a predetermined area based on the received input data and the knowledge corpus (see at least p. 4; vertical data above a vehicle may be received from environmental sensors, and corresponding objects in the observed space may be identified);
utilizing the knowledge corpus and the input data to generate a risk score for the identified object (see at least p. 4; a risk of collision analysis may be performed between falling objects and the vehicle based on the captured data); and
responsive to the risk score being above a predetermined threshold, issuing a command for the vehicle to continue to drive or to progress to a predetermined safe zone (see at least p. 7; in response to a detected collision risk (i.e., the risk is greater than a zero threshold), the vehicle may be controlled to avoid the object (i.e., move the vehicle to a safe zone)).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 1. Examiner notes that the p. 4 additionally discloses a storage medium comprising a software program set to run on the processor.
Regarding claim 4, Lagner discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Lagner discloses further comprising: instructing the vehicle to autonomously move to the predetermined safe zone (see at least p. 7 and p. 9; in response to a detected collision risk (i.e., the risk is greater than a zero threshold), the vehicle may be controlled to avoid the object (i.e., move the vehicle to a safe zone). The process may be performed automatically).
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, Lagner discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Lagner discloses identifying one or more objects that line a roadside of a current road that the vehicle is traveling (see at least p. 6; a roadside bridge and/or pedestrian may be identified); and
identifying a potential risk of the one or more objects impacting the vehicle (see at least p. 6; a potential risk of something falling onto the road from for example, a roadside bridge, may be identified).
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lagner, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0372428 (hereinafter, “Liu”).
Regarding claim 2, Lagner discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, Lagner does not explicitly teach all of the limitations of claim 2. Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: receiving permission to track and monitor the vehicle (see at least [0020]; permission from users may be obtained to track and monitor the vehicle).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Lagner with the teachings of Liu, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow for communication between entities; see at least Liu at [0020] and [0023].
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 2.
Claims 3, 5, 10, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langner, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0291815 (hereinafter, “Smith”).
Regarding claim 3, Lagner discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, Lagner does not explicitly teach all of the limitations of claim 3. Smith, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: tracking, by IoT sensors, the object in the predetermined area (see at least [0082]; the objects in the environment (i.e., predetermined area) may be continuously tracked).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Lagner with the teachings of Smith, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide for data collection of event causes; see at least Smith at [0003].
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Lagner discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, Lagner does not explicitly teach all of the limitations of claim 5. Smith, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: dynamically adjusting the risk score and quantification of the risk score based on a received change to the object, the vertical space, or the predetermined area (see at least [0082]; the objects in the environment (i.e., predetermined area) may be continuously tracked and updated based on new information).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Lagner with the teachings of Smith, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide for data collection of event causes; see at least Smith at [0003].
Claim 12 is rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 13, and 19 contain allowable subject matter and may be found allowable after the above objections and rejections are remedied. Examiner will provide reasons for indicating allowable subject matter and/or allowability after the above rejections are remedied.
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and may be found on the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0124314 which relates to tracking of objects relative to a given vehicle.
Conclusion
TIFFANY YOUNG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3666
/TIFFANY P YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666