DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action replaces the previous final office action dated 5/28/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terada et al.(US Publication 2002/0079350) in view of Horikoshi(US Publication 2010/0139836).
Terada et al. disclose a device for bonding a chip to a substrate(3) comprising a first holder(4) configured to hold a first substrate(3), a second camera(11)located on the first holder to image the chip, a first camera(14) to image the substrate, a second holder to hold a chip(5), a support to support the second holder and the first camera(8), and a stage which supports the first holder and the second camera(10), which is moveable in the xy direction. While the reference does not explicitly disclose a controller, one in the art would appreciate that the data gathered from the images would be used by a controller for controlling the movement. The reference does not disclose a measurement device which measure the position of the stage, or the data the controller uses. Horikoshi discloses a device for bonding two substrates together which uses data from two imaging devices(M1, M2) combined with a device for measuring the position of the stage to align and bond with high precision.[0146] A controller takes the imaging data from the imaging devices and the stage measurement device and controls the movement of the devices for bonding.(Figure 5) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to include a measurement device for measuring the position of the stage and using that in combination with the data from the two imaging devices to control the movement of the devices(Figure 5) to align and bond with high precision as taught by Horikoshi.[0146] One in the art would appreciate that a lead frame or TAB tape would have more than one chip on it and thus a plurality of chips would be bonded to the same substrate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 14-16, 21-23, and 26-29 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: while Terada et al. discloses both a camera and holder on a stage and a camera and holder on a support, there is no pickup unit which holds a chip to be transferred to the second holder which is configured to invert the chip. To modify Terada et al. would require replacing the chip tray with the pickup device, which would add complexity as the pickup devices moves, or require placing the chip down while holding the surface facing downward and then picking it back up again, which would add unneeded steps.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BARBARA J. MUSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/BARBARA J MUSSER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746