Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended independent claims 1 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner thanks Applicant for amending independent claim 12 to incorporate the allowable subject matter as indicated in the previous office action. Claim 12, and thus claim 22 dependent therefrom, are now indicated as allowed herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8, 10, and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, claims 1 and 8 have been amended to recite, inter alia, the pocket is shaped to conform to (in claim 1) and the poked conforms to (in claim 8). When seeking to confirm support for the amended subject matter, Examiner contemplated the subject matter describing the pocket in paragraphs [0060], [0063], [0067], [0076], [0078], and [0080]. However, there is no description of the ability of the pocket to conform. As a result, it has not been conveyed to Examiner that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention as recited in the amended claims.
Claims 1, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, due to the lack of description of the pocket having the ability to conform as described in the 112(a) rejection above, the claims are additionally rejected under 112(b) as it is unclear what is imparted into the claimed invention in light of the specification. Dependent claims 10 and 11 inherit the rejection of independent claims 1 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coates (US 10,786,894) in view of Chen (US 5,421,225).
Regarding claim 1, Coates discloses an angle grinder (see tool 10; Figure 9) comprising:
a housing (see at least motor housing 16, handle portion 18, and the base portion 20);
a motor disposed in the housing (see motor 28; see also Col. 7, lines 28-35);
a gearcase (gear case 14) extending from the housing and including a spindle (see spindle 24) configured to be rotationally driven by the motor (Col. 6, lines 27-41);
a flange removably engageable with the spindle to secure a rotating tool on the spindle (see flange set 25 as well as Col. 10, lines 3-37); and
a flange retainer (see flange holder 400, Figures 9, 10A, and 10B) formed on and as a part of the housing (wherein the flange holder 400 is a component of the apparatus housing) and including a pocket sized and shaped to receive and retain the flange when the flange is disengaged from the spindle (Col. 10, lines 3-37).
Regarding claim 1, Coates discloses the claimed invention as applied above. However, Coates does not explicitly teach the structure of the flange holder is configured as a pocket, i.e. the flange retainer including a pocket, wherein the pocket is annularly shaped to conform to the shape of the flange such that the pocket is configured to receive and engage an outer diameter of the flange.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor of tool devices which retain extra components, Chen teaches of a retainer component including a pocket, wherein the pocket is annularly shaped to conform to the shape of the flange such that the pocket is configured to receive and engage an outer diameter of the flange (please refer to Figure 5, wherein there is a compartment 53, see also one of the clamping members 521, wherein the clamping members 521 are annularly shaped and conform/match size and shape with the element inserted therein, see also Col. 2, line 62-Col. 3, line 9; wherein when substituted for the flange holder 400, which is sized and shaped to receive a flange, the incorporation of Chen would impart the clamping member 521 is also sized and shaped to receive a flange, and the outer diameter of the flange is engaged with the clamping member Chen, as the clamping member 521 of Chen retains structures therein; i.e. the combination of Chen into the invention of Coates teaches the invention as claimed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Coats to reflect the flange retainer as a covered cavity including an annular clamping member, as taught by Chen. One would be motivated to do so not only to better avoid losing the flange member when held by the modified flange retainer as a result of a pivotable cover over the clamping member, but also to avoid unnecessary damage to the flange if the flange were exposed, as in the embodiment shown by Coates. This configuration provides a beneficially safe storage element which is convenient in the context of tools; see Col. 3, lines 45-56 and Col. 4, lines 2-8. This modification would be recognized as using a known structure, i.e. a cavity and clamping member within the context of tools to retain a component, to improve similar a handheld tool device in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, Coates discloses an angle grinder (see tool 10; Figure 9) comprising:
a housing (see at least motor housing 16, handle portion 18, and the base portion 20);
a motor disposed in the housing (see motor 28; see also Col. 7, lines 28-35);
a gearcase (gear case 14) extending from the housing and including a spindle (see spindle 24) configured to be rotationally driven by the motor (Col. 6, lines 27-41);
a flange engageable with the spindle to secure a rotating tool on the spindle (see flange set 25 as well as Col. 10, lines 3-37); and
a flange retainer (see flange holder 400, Figures 9, 10A, and 10B) including a pocket sized and shaped to receive and retain the flange when the flange is disengaged from the spindle (Col. 10, lines 3-37).
However, Coates does not explicitly teach the structure of the flange holder is configured as a pocket located on the gearcase (14), i.e. a flange retainer extending from and formed on and as a part of the gearcase and including a pocket sized and shaped to receive and retain the flange, wherein the pocket conforms to an outer diameter of the flange such that the pocket is configured to receive and engage the flange.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor of tool devices which retain extra components, Chen teaches of a retainer component extending from and formed on as a part of the tool including a pocket sized and shaped to receive and retain a tool element (see Figure 5 regarding compartment 53 and clamping member 521 extending from a surface), wherein the pocket conforms to an outer diameter of the flange such that the pocket is configured to receive and engage the flange (please refer to Figure 5, wherein there is a compartment 53, see also one of the clamping members 521, wherein the clamping members 521 conform/match size and shape with the element inserted therein, see also Col. 2, line 62-Col. 3, line 9; wherein when substituted for the flange holder 400, which is sized and shaped to receive a flange, the incorporation of Chen would impart the clamping member 521 is also sized and shaped to receive a flange, and the outer diameter of the flange is engaged with the clamping member Chen, as the clamping member 521 of Chen retains structures therein; i.e. the combination of Chen into the invention of Coates teaches the invention as claimed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Coats to reflect the flange retainer as a covered cavity including an annular clamping member, as taught by Chen. One would be motivated to do so not only to better avoid losing the flange member when held by the modified flange retainer as a result of a pivotable cover over the clamping member, but also to avoid unnecessary damage to the flange if the flange were exposed, as in the embodiment shown by Coates. This configuration provides a beneficially safe storage element which is convenient in the context of tools; see Col. 3, lines 45-56 and Col. 4, lines 2-8. This modification would be recognized as using a known structure, i.e. a cavity and clamping member within the context of tools to retain a component, to improve similar a handheld tool device in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the location of the flange retainer on and as a part of the gearcase, Coates does intimate and suggest alternative locations for the flange holder (400), such as the end of handle portion, under the motor case, on the cord of the tool, or any other suitable location where it does not interfere with the operator’s handling of the tool (see Col. 10, lines 23-28).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rearranged the location of the flange holder (400) of modified Coates to be located elsewhere on the tool, including on the gearcase. Coates not only specifically suggests alternative locations on the tool (Col. 10, lines 23-28), but this modification would be recognized as a rearrangement of parts and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. The area of the gearcase is not interfering with an operator’s handling, and the position of the flange holder would not modify the operation of the device, see Section (V.)(C.) of MPEP 2144.04, In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Thus, this modification would yield predictable results of relocating the flange retainer element with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coates (US 10,786,894) in view of Chen (US 5,421,225), and in further view of Cacciabeve (US 11,504,843).
Regarding claim 10, Coates as modified above teaches the claimed invention. However, modified Coates does not explicitly teach wherein the angle grinder further includes a magnet disposed adjacent or within the pocket, and wherein the magnet is configured to engage the flange.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Cacciabeve (US 11,504,8543) teaches a retainer which includes the pocket and the tool includes a magnet disposed on the tool and adjacent or within the pocket (see Col. 1, lines 60-65, wherein there is an opening adapted to receive the magnet, in addition to sidewalls; see also Figures 3-3B), and the magnet is configured to retain and engage an element (see Col. 1, lines 45-49, wherein each magnet is exposed at the top for engaging the workpiece; see also Col. 4, lines 3-35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the magnetic retainment feature taught by Cacciabeve into the invention of Coates. One would be motivated to do so because the magnetic feature provides additional retention strength, which would benefit a user so as to not lose the unfastened flange on accident. This modification would be recognized as using a known structure, i.e. magnets, to improve similar a tool device in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, Coates as modified above teaches the claimed invention. However, modified Coates does not explicitly teach wherein the flange retainer comprises a magnet disposed on the angle grinder adjacent or within the pocket and the magnet is configured to engage the flange.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Cacciabeve (US 11,504,8543) teaches a magnet disposed on the tool and adjacent or within the pocket (see Col. 1, lines 60-65, wherein there is an opening adapted to receive the magnet, in addition to sidewalls; see also Figures 3-3B), and the magnet is configured to retain and engage an element (see Col. 1, lines 45-49, wherein each magnet is exposed at the top for engaging the workpiece; see also Col. 4, lines 3-35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the magnetic retainment feature taught by Cacciabeve into the invention of Coates. One would be motivated to do so because the magnetic feature provides additional retention strength, which would benefit a user so as to not lose the unfastened flange on accident. This modification would be recognized as using a known structure, i.e. magnets, to improve similar a tool device in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723