CTFR 18/057,899 CTFR 94388 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. The status of the 04/16/2026 claims, is as follows: Claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 10 have been amended ; and Claims 1-10 are pending. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “further comprising a guide arm supporting the electrode guide .” in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). It appears from fig. 5 that the guide arm 115 is separated from the electrode guide 120 by the channel 150. In other words, the guide arm 115 do not physically contact the electrode guide 120, so how can the guide arm 115 supports the weight of the electrode guide 120. Therefore, the limitation is not shown in the figures. 06-22 No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: In claim 9: The limitation “ a rotating tube system” in line 2 “system” is the generic placeholder. “rotating” is the functional language. In claim 10: The limitation “ an electrical discharge machining system” in line 2 “system” is the generic placeholder. “electrical discharge machining” is the functional language. The limitation “ an integrated external flushing system” in line 5 “system” is the generic placeholder. “integrated external flushing” is the functional language. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The limitation “a rotating tube system" in line 2 of claim 9 has been described in the published specification as the rotating tube electrode device 60 that may include “a pneumatic rotary driver 65 including an air motor 70 (having compressed air inlet 72 and outlet 74), a water inlet 75 upstream of the air motor 70 (with adjacent seal 77), and a rotor 80 coupled with the air motor 70 (where rotor 80 is supported on bearings 85). In this configuration, the rotating tube electrode device 65 may rotate the electrode 30”. The limitation “an electrical discharge machining system” in line 2 of claim 10 has been described to include the structures as recited in claim 1. The limitation “an integrated external flushing system” in line 5 of claim 10 has been described to include the structures as recited in claim 6. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 AIA Claim s 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. In claim 6: The limitation "further comprises a guide arm supporting the electrode guide." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how can the guide arm bears the weight of the electrode guide according to plain meaning of the word “support”. According to Vocabulary, https://www.vocabulary.com/dictionary/support, “support” is interpreted to mean “be the physical support of; carry the weight of”. PNG media_image1.png 130 544 media_image1.png Greyscale According to published specification, para. 0017; fig. 5, the guide arm is defined as the guide arm 115 and the electrode guide as the electrode guide 120. There is a channel between the guide arm 115 and the electrode guide 120. It is unclear how can the guide arm 115 bears the weight of the electrode guide 120 because they are separated by the channel. The drawing objection is also made. For the purpose of substantive examination, it is presumed to read “wherein the integrated external flushing system comprises a guide arm thermally contacts the electrode guide." Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2, and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Suzuki (US 20140144884) Regarding Claim 1, Suzuki discloses an electrical discharge machining system (small-hole electrical discharge machining device 1; figs. 1 and 8-9) for drilling a hole in a workpiece using a flushing fluid (flushing working fluid) (abstract and para. 0001), comprising: an electrode (electrode 11) (para. 0063); the electrode positioned in an electrode guide (electrode guide 13A; figs. 8-9) (para. 0088); and an integrated external flushing system (fluid distribution chamber; fig. 9); the integrated external flushing system comprising a guide cap (head cover 17c) and a concentric flushing channel (fluid jet opening 9a) defined between the guide cap (head cover 17c) and the electrode guide (electrode guide 13A) so as to allow the flushing fluid (fluid) to remain attached to the electrode guide (electrode guide 13A) (para. 0088); wherein the concentric flushing channel (fluid jet opening 9a) separates the electrode (electrode 11) from the flushing fluid (fluid) (it is noted the fluid and electrode 11 are separated by electrode guide 13A) (fig. 9). PNG media_image2.png 634 712 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 2, Suzuki discloses the electrical discharge machining system (small-hole electrical discharge machining device 1; figs. 1 and 8-9), wherein the integrated external flushing system (fluid distribution chamber; fig. 9) comprises a flushing fluid source (fluid tank) in communication with the concentric flushing channel (fluid jet opening 9a) (para. 0026). Regarding Claim 5, Suzuki discloses the electrode guide (electrode guide 13A) accommodates a plurality of differently sized electrodes (it is noted the electrode guide 13A is capable of accommodating electrodes of different sizes). Regarding Claim 6, Suzuki discloses the electrical discharge machining system further comprising a guide arm (annotated fig. 9) supporting the electrode guide (electrode guide 13A). PNG media_image3.png 636 850 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 7, Suzuki discloses the electrical discharge machining system, wherein the concentric flushing channel (fluid jet opening 9a) extends between the electrode guide (electrode guide 13A) and the guide arm in part (see annotated fig. 9 of claim 6). Regarding Claim 8, Suzuki discloses the electrical discharge machining system, further comprising a piston (driving measure) in communication with the electrode (electrode 11) (“head section 25 comprises a driving measure which moves the lifting table 7 in the Z direction”, para. 0060). Regarding Claim 9, Suzuki discloses the electrical discharge machining system, further comprising a rotating tube system (rotating shaft 8) in communication with the piston (driving measure) (para. 0058) (fig. 1. It is noted the shaft 8 is configured to rotate the electrode 11 and the driving measure is configured to move the electrode 11 in the Z direction. The shaft 8 is operationally connected to the driving measure under the control of the controller) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 20140144884) in view of Lamphere (US 20050247569) Regarding Claim 3, Suzuki does not disclose the electrode comprises an internal flushing system. However, Lamphere discloses an electrode (electrode 12; fig. 2) comprises an internal flushing system (channel in the electrode 12 through which electrolyte 30 travel through the electrode 12) (para. 0032). PNG media_image4.png 628 418 media_image4.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode of Suzuki to include the internal flushing system as taught by Lamphere, in order to help cool the electrode during operation, thereby prolong the lifetime of the electrode. Regarding Claim 4, the modification does not disclose the internal flushing system is in communication with the flushing fluid source. However, Lamphere discloses the internal flushing system (channel in the electrode 12 disclosed by Lamphere) is in communication with the flushing fluid source (electrolyte supply 26) (fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flushing fluid source (fluid tank of Suzuki) to be in communication with the internal flushing system of Lamphere, in order to supply the fluid to the internal channel in the electrode to help cool the electrode. Regarding Claim 10, Suzuki discloses a method of reducing debris about an electrode (electrode 11) while drilling a hole in a workpiece (hole in a workpiece) with an electrical discharge machining system (small-hole electrical discharge machining device 1; figs. 1 and 8-9) (para. 0003-0004), comprising: drilling the hole with the electrode (hole in the workpiece by the electrode 11) (abstract); flowing flushing fluid through an integrated external flushing system (fluid distribution chamber; fig. 9) separate from the electrode (electrode 11) (it is noted the fluid and electrode 11 are separated by electrode guide 13A) (para. 0088); and continuing to flow flushing fluid (fluid) through the integrated external flushing system (fluid distribution chamber; fig. 9) as the electrode breaks out of the workpiece (para. 0066-0067). Suzuki does not disclose flowing flushing fluid through an internal flushing chamber within the electrode. However, Lamphere discloses an electrode (electrode 12; fig. 2) comprises an internal flushing chamber (channel in the electrode 12 through which electrolyte 30 travel through the electrode 12) (para. 0032). PNG media_image4.png 628 418 media_image4.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode of Suzuki to include the internal flushing chamber as taught by Lamphere, in order to help cool the electrode during operation, thereby prolong the lifetime of the electrode . Response to Amendment With respect to 112f notification and associated 112a and 112b for “an internal flushing system” in line 2 of claim 3: since amendment made to claim 3, the 112f notification and respective 112a and 112b rejections are withdrawn. Response to Arguments Applicant's arguments filed on 04/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are respectfully considered moot in view of new ground of rejection. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BONITA KHLOK whose telephone number is (571)270-7313. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am-6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, IBRAHIME ABRAHAM can be reached on (571)270-5569. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BONITA KHLOK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/057,899 Page 2 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/057,899 Page 3 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/057,899 Page 4 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/057,899 Page 5 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/057,899 Page 6 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/057,899 Page 7 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/057,899 Page 8 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/057,899 Page 9 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/057,899 Page 10 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/057,899 Page 11 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/057,899 Page 12 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/057,899 Page 13 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/057,899 Page 14 Art Unit: 3761