DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the Request for Continued Examination application on 10/22/2025.
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-17, 19-26, and 28-34 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendments filed on December 15, 2025. Claims 1, 10, 16 and 25 have been amended. Claim 1-2, 4-11, 13-17, 19-26, and 28-34 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, 16 and 25 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10-11, 13-17, 19-21, 25-26, and 28-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200404632), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of MIAO et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0015034), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication ([see, [0032], and Fig. 1, a wireless communications system and an access network 100]), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors ([see, [0007], at least one processor coupled to the memory]), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
receive a configuration for semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) or a configured grant (CG) ([see, [0007, 0054-0062], and Fig. 3, receive a first message indicating a first set of parameters for a first SPS configuration or for a first CG]),
the configuration representing a first set of parameters, of the SPS or the CG ([see, [0007, 0054-0062], and Fig. 3, a first message indicating a first set of parameters for a first SPS configuration or for a first CG]), of a first transmission reception point (TRP) ([see, [0059], and Fig. 3, base station 102 with first set of parameters]) and
a second set of parameters, of the SPS or the CG ([see, [0007, 0054-0062], and Fig. 3, receive a second message including at least one updated parameter for a SPS configuration or a CG]), of the first TRP ([see, [0059-0060], and Fig. 3, base station 102 with change or updated such that parameters of the current SPS/CG configuration]),
the configuration including information indicating that the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters are for the first TRP ([see, [0007, 0054-0062], and Fig. 3, receive a first message indicating a first set of parameters and a second message including at least one updated parameter for a SPS configuration or a CG with base station 102]); and
communicate with the first TRP in accordance with the configuration ([see, [0060-0062], and Fig. 3, the base station 102 (first TRP) may transmit a SPS/CG update]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: for a first network energy saving state and a second network energy saving state; the configuration indicating, for the first TRP that is configured to operate according to a sequence of network energy saving states that follow a periodicity, the network energy saving states including at least the first network energy saving state for a first time period and the second network energy saving state for a second time period.
D2 discloses for a first network energy saving state ([see, [0014, 0032], wherein receiving the second capability request, a power saving capability of the terminal according to the second capability request message]) and a second network energy saving state ([see, [0023, 0032], wherein receiving a first capability request, a power saving capability of the terminal according to the first capability request message]);
the configuration indicating (the configuration information), for the first TRP that is configured to operate according to a sequence of network energy saving (supports continuous monitoring of a power saving signal) states that follow a periodicity, the network energy saving states ([see, [0023], wherein the configuration information of the power saving signal, receiving a power saving capability of the terminal sent by the network, the terminal supports periodic reception of a power saving signal; whether the terminal supports continuous monitoring of a power saving signal]) including at least the first network energy saving state for a first time period and the second network energy saving state for a second time period ([see, 0080], a certain time duration to decode the power saving signal, the timing advance is used to indicate a time interval gap between the monitoring position of the power saving signal and reception of the downlink control channel]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide monitoring a power saving signal results monitoring efficiency of the power saving signal is improved and the resources are saved (D2, [0049]]).
As per Claim 16, is the method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 16 is anticipated by method being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
As per Claim 10, D1 discloses a network node for wireless communication ([see, [0032], and Fig. 1, a wireless communications system and an access network 100]), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors ([see, [0084], he base station 102, the processor 712, and/or the modem 714]), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
output a configuration for semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) or a configured grant (CG) ([see, [0007, 0054-0062], and Fig. 3, receive a first message indicating a first set of parameters for a first SPS configuration or for a first CG]), the configuration indicating a first set of parameters, of the SPS or the CG ([see, [0007, 0054-0062], and Fig. 3, a first message indicating a first set of parameters for a first SPS configuration or for a first CG]), for the first network energy saving state of a first transmission reception point (TRP) ([see, [0059], and Fig. 3, base station 102 with first set of parameters]) and a second set of parameters, of the SPS or the CG([see, [0007, 0054-0062], and Fig. 3, receive a second message including at least one updated parameter for a SPS configuration or a CG]), for the second network energy saving state of the first TRP ([see, [0059-0060], and Fig. 3, base station 102 with change or updated such that parameters of the current SPS/CG configuration]), the configuration indicating, for the first TRP, at least for a first time period and for a second time period ([see, [0007, 0054-0062], and Fig. 3, receive a first message indicating a first set of parameters and a second message including at least one updated parameter for a SPS configuration or a CG with base station 102]), and the configuration including information indicating that the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters are for the first TRP; and communicate in accordance with the configuration ([see, [0060-0062], and Fig. 3, the base station 102 (first TRP) may transmit a SPS/CG update]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: the first network energy saving state, and the second network energy saving state; output radio resource control (RRC) signaling configuring a sequence of network energy saving states that follow a periodicity.
D2 discloses the first network energy saving state ([see, [0014, 0032], wherein receiving the second capability request, a power saving capability of the terminal according to the second capability request message]), and the second network energy saving state ([see, [0023, 0032], wherein receiving a first capability request, a power saving capability of the terminal according to the first capability request message]); output radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([see, [0105], the terminal enters the RRC connected state, the network-side device obtains ID information of the terminal, and sends a second capability request message to the core network]) signaling configuring a sequence of network energy saving states (supports continuous monitoring of a power saving signal) that follow a periodicity ([see, [0023], wherein the configuration information of the power saving signal, receiving a power saving capability of the terminal sent by the network, the terminal supports periodic reception of a power saving signal; whether the terminal supports continuous monitoring of a power saving signal]), including at least the first network energy saving state for a first time period and the second network energy saving state for a second time period ([see, 0080], a certain time duration to decode the power saving signal, the timing advance is used to indicate a time interval gap between the monitoring position of the power saving signal and reception of the downlink control channel]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide monitoring a power saving signal results monitoring efficiency of the power saving signal is improved and the resources are saved (D2, [0049]]).
As per Claim 25, is the method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 10 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 10. Claim 25 is anticipated by method being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 10.
As per Claims 2, 11, D1 further discloses wherein the first set of parameters or the second set of parameters include at least one of:
a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) parameter ([see, [0024], DCI may include additional parameters of the SPS including a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)]).
a delta modulation and coding scheme parameter, or
a rank parameter.
As per Claims 4, 13, D1 further discloses wherein the information includes at least one of:
a transmission configuration indicator state indication ([see, [0024], DCI may include additional parameters of the SPS including transmission configuration indicator (TCI)]), or a control resource set pool index.
As per Claims 5, 14, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the configuration indicates a third set of parameters for a first network energy saving state of a second TRP and a fourth set of parameters for a second network energy saving state of the second TRP state ([see, [0023, 0032], wherein receiving a first capability request, a power saving capability of the terminal according to the first capability request message, and receiving a power saving capability of the terminal sent by the network, the terminal supports periodic reception of a power saving signal; whether the terminal supports continuous monitoring of a power saving signal]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide monitoring a power saving signal results monitoring efficiency of the power saving signal is improved and the resources are saved (D2, [0049]]).
As per Claims 6, 15, D1 further discloses wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the first TRP in accordance with the configuration, are configured to communicate with at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP based at least in part on a combined state of the first TRP and the second TRP and in accordance the configuration ([see, [0024], and Fig. 3, A base station may transmit according to an active SPS configuration and the UE may receive according to the SPS configuration until the active SPS configuration is deactivated]).
As per Claim 7, D1 and D2 disclose the UE of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the configuration indicates a third set of parameters for a first network energy saving state of a second TRP and a fourth set of parameters for a second network energy saving state of the second TRP ([see, [0023, 0032], wherein receiving a first capability request, a power saving capability of the terminal according to the first capability request message, and receiving a power saving capability of the terminal sent by the network, the terminal supports periodic reception of a power saving signal; whether the terminal supports continuous monitoring of a power saving signal]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide monitoring a power saving signal results monitoring efficiency of the power saving signal is improved and the resources are saved (D2, [0049]]).
As per Claims 17, 26, D1 further discloses wherein the first set of parameters or the second set of parameters include at least one of:
a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) parameter ([see, [0024], DCI may include additional parameters of the SPS including a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)]),
a delta modulation and coding scheme parameter, or
a rank parameter.
As per Claims 19, 28, D1 further discloses wherein the information includes at least one of:
a transmission configuration indicator state indication ([see, [0024], DCI may include additional parameters of the SPS including transmission configuration indicator (TCI)]), or a control resource set pool index.
As per Claims 20, 29, D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the configuration indicates a third set of parameters for a first network energy saving state of a second TRP and a fourth set of parameters for a second network energy saving state of the second TRP ([see, [0023, 0032], wherein receiving a first capability request, a power saving capability of the terminal according to the first capability request message, and receiving a power saving capability of the terminal sent by the network, the terminal supports periodic reception of a power saving signal; whether the terminal supports continuous monitoring of a power saving signal]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide monitoring a power saving signal results monitoring efficiency of the power saving signal is improved and the resources are saved (D2, [0049]]).
As per Claim 21, 30, D1 further discloses wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the first TRP in accordance with the configuration, are configured to communicate with at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP based at least in part on a combined state of the first TRP and the second TRP and in accordance the configuration ([see, [0024], and Fig. 3, A base station may transmit according to an active SPS configuration and the UE may receive according to the SPS configuration until the active SPS configuration is deactivated]).
As per Claims 31, 32, 33, 34, D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the sequence of network energy saving states for the first TRP comprises a semi-static pattern that indicates states for the first TRP ([see, [0023], wherein the configuration information of the power saving signal, receiving a power saving capability of the terminal sent by the network, the terminal supports periodic reception of a power saving signal; whether the terminal supports continuous monitoring of a power saving signal]), , including the first network energy saving state and the second network energy saving state ([see, 0080], a certain time duration to decode the power saving signal, the timing advance is used to indicate a time interval gap between the monitoring position of the power saving signal and reception of the downlink control channel]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide monitoring a power saving signal results monitoring efficiency of the power saving signal is improved and the resources are saved (D2, [0049]]).
Claims 8-9, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2, and further in view of HE et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0229100), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 8, D1 and D2 disclose the UE of claim 7, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the one or more processors, to switch from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters, are configured to switch from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters in a next transmission or reception occasion after the first TRP switches from the first network energy saving state to the second network energy saving state.
However, D3 discloses wherein the one or more processors, to switch from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters, are configured to switch from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters in a next transmission or reception occasion after the first TRP switches from the first network energy saving state to the second network energy saving state ([see, [0051-0052], wherein the transition among different power settings for different parameters that impact the amount of power consumed by the UE, a DRX cycle to transition between an inactive state and an active state]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide power setting state results improve throughput for transmission or reception of the new data (D3, [0086]]).
As per Claim 9, D1 and D2 disclose the UE of claim 7, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the one or more processors, to switch from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters, are configured to switch from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters a configured number of transmission or reception occasions after the first TRP switches from the first network energy saving state to the second network energy saving state.
However, D3 discloses wherein the one or more processors, to switch from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters, are configured to switch from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters a configured number of transmission or reception occasions after the first TRP switches from the first network energy saving state to the second network energy saving state ([see, [0051-0052], wherein the transition among different power settings for different parameters that impact the amount of power consumed by the UE, a DRX cycle to transition between an inactive state and an active state]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide power setting state results improve throughput for transmission or reception of the new data (D3, [0086]]).
As per Claim 22, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 16, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: further comprising switching from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters for the communication with the first TRP based at least in part on the first TRP switching from the first network energy saving state to the second network energy saving state.
However, D3 discloses further comprising switching from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters for the communication with the first TRP based at least in part on the first TRP switching from the first network energy saving state to the second network energy saving state ([see, [0051-0052], state indication discloses as transition between an inactive state and an active state to conserve battery power]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide power setting state results improve throughput for transmission or reception of the new data (D3, [0086]]).
As per Claim 23, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 22, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the switching from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters further comprises switching from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters in a next transmission or reception occasion after the first TRP switches from the first network energy saving state to the second network energy saving state.
However, D3 discloses wherein the switching from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters further comprises switching from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters in a next transmission or reception occasion after the first TRP switches from the first network energy saving state to the second network energy saving state ([see, [0051-0052], wherein the transition among different power settings for different parameters that impact the amount of power consumed by the UE, a DRX cycle to transition between an inactive state and an active state]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide power setting state results improve throughput for transmission or reception of the new data (D3, [0086]]).
As per Claim 24, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 22, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the switching from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters further comprises switching from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters a configured number of transmission or reception occasions after the first TRP switches from the first network energy saving state to the second network energy saving state.
However, D3 discloses wherein the switching from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters further comprises switching from the first set of parameters to the second set of parameters a configured number of transmission or reception occasions after the first TRP switches from the first network energy saving state to the second network energy saving state ([see, [0051-0052], wherein the transition among different power settings for different parameters that impact the amount of power consumed by the UE, a DRX cycle to transition between an inactive state and an active state]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide power setting state results improve throughput for transmission or reception of the new data (D3, [0086]]).
Conclusion
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418