FINAL ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 1/13/2026 has been received and claims 25-28, 31, 33-34, 38, 41-43, and 46-51 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 30, 32, 38 and 44-45 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, delete “Cancel” and insert --Canceled--. Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 25 be found allowable, claim 46 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-27, 33-34, 41-43, 46 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, there is no written description support for the limitation of claims 25, 46 and 50 that “the dry cleaning solvent…does not include any hydrocarbons” within the Specification, particularly as the Specification in p. 11 lines 21-22 clearly indicates that dry cleaning solvent “useful herein include any hydrocarbons and hydrocarbons blended with other chemicals” and does not indicate that hydrocarbons are alternative/optional components/embodiments especially since the disclosure in lines 22-23 (i.e. where the dry cleaning solvents “can comprise an organo-silicone”) appears to indicate that D5 is an optional additional component (e.x. “can include” or “may include”) rather than the hydrocarbons
Claims 25-28, 31, 33-34, 38, 41-43, and 46-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claims 25, 46 and 50, it is not clear what the metes and bounds of the limitation that “the dry cleaning solvent is…(D5) and does not include any hydrocarbons” as such negative limitation appears to broaden the scope that would allow other additional solvent except for hydrocarbons rather than the solvent being (purely) D5.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the SARS-CoV-2 virus" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In Claims 41 and 51, it is not clear whether the limitation of the claim is further limiting the parent claim as it appears to present a broader range together with a narrow range or range/limitation that falls outside of the claimed range, where limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
Claims 26-27, 31, 33-34, 38, 42-43, 47-49, and 51 are rejected due to their dependence on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berndt (5942007) in view of Darnell et al. (“Inactivation of the coronavirus that induces severe acute respiratory syndrome, SARS-CoV”, Journal of Virological Methods 121(1):85-91 (2004)).
As to Claim 28, Berndt (‘007) discloses a dry cleaning process, that is performed over a course of two cycles:
a wash cycle (i.e. step 2) and a drying cycle (i.e. steps 3-5), wherein:
in the wash cycle (i.e. step 2), a material (see Figure 1) contaminated with one or more contaminants the one or more contaminants capable of being a virus such as a SARS-CoV-2 virus or a variant thereof that comprises a lipid-containing coating, is saturated with a dry cleaning solvent selected from the group consisting of decamethylcyclopentasiloxane (D5) and octamethyltetracyclosiloxane (see entire document, particularly Col. 3 lines 6-11, 25-28, 31-34 and 39-41, Col. 4 lines 37-39 and 44-46);
in the drying cycle (i.e. steps 3-5), the dry cleaning solvent vaporizes, capable of forming submicron liquid particles of the dry cleaning solvent that penetrate and destroy or disrupt the lipid-containing coating of the SARS-CoV-2 virus or the variant thereof, and the material is exposed to the vapor for 15, 20, 25 or 30 minutes; and the dry cleaning solvent and vapor is removed (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, Col. 3 line 58 to Col. 4 lines 3); and
intrinsically deactivating at least 98% of the SARS-CoV-2 virus or variant thereof in the material contaminated with the SARS-CoV-2 virus (i.e. deactivation of at least 98% of a virus such as SARS-CoV-2 virus is an intrinsic result of following and carrying out the above cycles).
Berndt (‘007) does not appear to specifically teach that the contaminants is/includes a SARS-CoV-2 virus, or a variant thereof, or that the step of vaporizing forms submicron liquid particles of the dry cleaning solvent that penetrate and destroy or disrupt a lipid-containing coating of a SARS-CoV-2 virus or a variant thereof.
As to the limitation that the biological contaminants is/ includes a SARS-CoV-2 virus, or a variant thereof, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize heat and a cleaning agent to deactivate a biological material in the form of a SARS-CoV-2 virus, or a variant thereof. Darnell et al. discloses a method of deactivating a SARS-CoV-2 virus, or a variant thereof, wherein the SARS-CoV-2 virus intrinsically comprising a lipid-containing coating, wherein the method comprises treating a material contaminated with the biological contaminants including a variant of a SARS-CoV-2 virus to heat and/or a cleaning agent (see entire document, particularly p. 87 – section 3.2, p. 89 – last paragraph of section 3.5) in order to inactivate the virus (see entire document, particularly pp. 89-90 – section 4, specifically last 8 lines of right hand column on p. 89 and 6th – 8th lines from the bottom on left hand column on p. 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deactivate a biological contaminants such as a SARS-CoV-2 virus, or a variant thereof through the use of heat and/or a cleaning agent in the method of Berndt as a known biological contaminant in a known deactivation process in order to inactivate such contaminant as shown by Darnell et al..
While Berndt (‘007) does not appear to specifically teach that the vapor is comprised of submicron liquid particles of the dry cleaning solvent, it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that vaporized dry cleaning solvent will possess varying vapor particle sizes (i.e. possess particle size distribution) that would include submicron liquid particles. Only the expected results would be attained.
As to Claim 47, Berndt (‘007) discloses that the wash cycle does not include adding a drycleaning surfactant soap or other cleaning aid (see entire document, particularly Col. 3 lines 33-35).
Thus, Claims 28 and 47 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Berndt (‘007) and Darnell et al..
Claim(s) 48-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Berndt (5942007) in view of Darnell et al. (“Inactivation of the coronavirus that induces severe acute respiratory syndrome, SARS-CoV”, Journal of Virological Methods 121(1):85-91 (2004)) as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Testa (20150252519).
Berndt (‘007) and Darnell et al. are relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 28 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Neither Berndt (‘007) or Darnell et al. appears to specifically teach that the material comprises wool, polyester, and/or polyester blend fibers, or cotton, wool, polyester, acrylic, silk, or nylon, or blends thereof.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a materials such as wool, polyester, and/or polyester blend fibers, or cotton, wool, polyester, acrylic, silk, or nylon, or blends thereof with a dry cleaning solvent. Testa (‘519) discloses that in a dry cleaning process comprising:
a washing step comprising saturating with the material to a dry cleaning solvent (see entire document, particularly p. 2 [0047], pp. 4-5 [0086] and p. 5 [0087]);
a drying step comprising exposing the material to heat whereby the dry cleaning solvent vaporizes to form a vapor (see entire document, particularly p. 2 [0044] – step (d), p. 5 [0090] – line 4) capable of comprising submicron liquid particles of the dry cleaning solvent that penetrate and destroy or disrupt the lipid-containing coating of biological contaminant(s); and removing the vapor (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0091]);
wherein the material comprises wool, polyester, cotton, wool, polyester, acrylic, silk, or nylon (see entire document, particularly p. 2 [0048] – lines 3-9, p. 6 [0109]),
in order to provide effective treatment/cleaning of the material by dry cleaning (see entire document, particularly p. 1 [0003]-[0006], p. 2 [0044], p. 5 [0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dry cleaning a material such as wool, polyester, cotton, wool, polyester, acrylic, silk, or nylon in the method of Berndt as modified by Darnell et al. as known material types in order to treat/clean materials as shown by Testa.
Thus, Claims 48-49 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Berndt (‘007), Darnell et al., and Testa (‘519).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 31 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter is due to inclusion of limitation that “the dry cleaning solvent is decamethylcyclopentasiloxane (D5)”. Prior art of record such as Berndt (5942007) does not appear to teach this feature as Berndt (‘007) discloses using a combination of D5 and octamethyltetracyclosiloxane (D4) as the dry cleaning solvent (see entire document, particularly Col. 3 lines 30-33) rather than only one cyclic siloxane. It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a dry cleaning process comprised of steps as set forth in the claims, where “the dry cleaning solvent is decamethylcyclopentasiloxane (D5)”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINA M YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758