CTNF 18/058,110 CTNF 100270 DETAILED ACTION Notice of AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Status of the Claims Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are rejected. Priority This application US 18/058,110 (11/22/2022) is a CON of PCT/US2021 /041289 (07/12/2021) and claims benefit of US Application 63/051,166 (07/13/2020) as reflected in the filing receipt mailed on 01/12/2023. The claims to the benefit of priority are acknowledged and the effective filing date of claims 1-20 is 07/13/2020 . Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/12/2023 was considered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION —The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 4-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter the invention. Dependent claims are rejected similarly, unless otherwise noted below. The following issues cause the respective claims to be rejected under 112(b) as indefinite: In claims 4-6 and 14-16 , the recited " the at least one reactive conformation" require but lack antecedent basis , rendering their claims indefinite because there is no previous recitations of the "at least one reactive conformation." The claims only previously recite “the reactive conformation.” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to one or more Judicial Exceptions (JEs) without significantly more. Regarding JEs, "Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas..., natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection" (MPEP 2106.04 §I). Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts and procedures for evaluating, analyzing or organizing information, which are a type of mental process (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). 101 background MPEP 2106 organizes JE analysis into Steps 1, 2A (Prong One & Prong Two), and 2B as analyzed below. MPEP 2106 and the following USPTO website provide further explanation and case law citations: uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/examination-policy/examination-guidance-and-training-materials. Step 1: Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)? Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e ., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))? Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))? Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)? Analysis of instant claims Step 1: Are the claims directed to a 101 process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)? The instant claims are directed to a method ( claims 1-10 ); a system ( claims 11-19 ) and a CRM (claim 20); each of which falls within one of the categories of statutory subject matter [Step 1: claims 1-20: Yes] Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))? Background With respect to Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite judicial exceptions in the form of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) further explains that abstract ideas are defined as: • mathematical concepts (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships and mathematical calculations) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)); • certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic principles or practices, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)); and/or • mental processes (concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). Analysis of instant claims With respect to the instant claims, under the Step 2A, Prong One evaluation, the claims are found to recite abstract ideas that fall into the grouping of mental processes (in particular procedures for observing, analyzing and organizing information) and mathematical concepts (in particular mathematical relationships and formulas) are as follows: • "determining, for a polypeptide conformation of a polypeptide comprising an amino acid having a side chain and a backbone, a dihedral angle for the backbone and a dihedral angle for the side chain of the amino acid while in the polypeptide conformation" ( independent claims 1, 11 and 20 ); • "determining a nucleophilic attack distance between two atoms, functional groups, or a combination thereof of the amino acid while in the polypeptide conformation based on the dihedral angle for the backbone and the dihedral angle for the side chain, wherein one of the two atoms or functional groups is in the side chain of the amino acid and another of the two atoms or functional groups is in the backbone of the amino acid" ( independent claims 1, 11 and 20 ); • "determining, based on the nucleophilic attack distance of the amino acid while in the polypeptide conformation, that the polypeptide conformation is a reactive conformation that is susceptible to a cleavage reaction" ( independent claims 1, 11 and 20 ); • "in response to determining the polypeptide conformation is the reactive conformation, determining a free energy of the dihedral angle for the backbone and the dihedral angle for the side chain of the amino acid while in the reactive conformation" ( independent claims 1, 11 and 20 ); • "predicting a probability of the side chain of the amino acid being trapped in the reactive conformation based on the free energy of the dihedral angle for the backbone and the dihedral angle for the side chain of the amino acid" ( independent claims 1, 11 and 20 ); • "predicting a probability of the polypeptide to chemically degrade as a result of the side chain of the amino acid being trapped in the reactive conformation" (claims 3 and 13); • "removing the polypeptide from a list of potential polypeptides to be used as at least part of a therapeutic agent based on the probability of the side chain of the amino acid being trapped in the at least one reactive conformation and/or the probability of the polypeptide chemically degrading" (claims 5 and 15); • "ranking the polypeptide lower than another polypeptide in a list of potential polypeptides to be used as at least part of a therapeutic agent based on the probability of the side chain of the amino acid being trapped in the at least one reactive conformation and/or the probability of the polypeptide chemically degrading, wherein the probability of the side chain of the amino acid being trapped in the at least one reactive conformation and/or the probability of the polypeptide chemically degrading for the another polypeptide is less than the probability of the side chain of the amino acid being trapped in the at least one reactive conformation and/or the probability of the polypeptide chemically degrading for the polypeptide" (claims 6 and 16); • "identifying an accessibility constraint that, when satisfied, indicates that an amide group of the polypeptide has above-threshold spatial accessibility to bind with a solvent molecule from a surrounding solvent" (claims 7 and 17); • "determining, for the reactive conformation, that the accessibility constraint is satisfied based on assessing one or more spatial characteristics of the polypeptide" (claims 7 and 17); • "determining a distance criterion that, when satisfied, indicates that the atom within the side chain is within a predetermined distance threshold of the another atom within the backbone" (claims 8 and 18); • "determining that the distance criterion is satisfied for the reactive conformation based on a comparison of the nucleophilic attack distance of the amino acid of the reactive conformation with the predetermined distance threshold" (claims 8 and 18); and • "determining an energy criterion that, when satisfied, indicates that the free energy of the dihedral angle for the backbone and the dihedral angle for the side chain of the amino acid are within a predetermined energy threshold; and determining that the energy criterion is satisfied for the reactive conformation based on a comparison of the free energy of the dihedral angle for the backbone and the dihedral angle for the side chain of the amino acid in the reactive conformation with the predetermined energy threshold" (claim 10). Dependent claims 9 and 19 recite further steps that limit the judicial exceptions in independent claims 1 and 11 and, as such, also are directed to those abstract ideas. For example, claims 9 and 19 further limit how the free energy parameter is determined during the simulations. The abstract ideas recited in the claims are evaluated under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) and determined to each cover performance either in the mind and/or by mathematical operation. Without further detail as to the methodology involved in using simulations to find probabilities and calculated parameters for the polypeptide conformations, under the BRI, one may simply, for example, use pen and paper to perform mathematical steps to arrive at described results. Further support for the mathematical techniques used in the claims is provided in the specification at [0053-0055 and 0093], which describes mathematical models used for probabilities and free energy calculations. Thus, the recited terms correspond to verbal equivalents of mathematical concepts because they constitute actions executed by a group of mathematical steps in a form of a mathematical algorithm; thus mathematical concepts (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). A mathematical concept need not be expressed in mathematical symbols, because "words used in a claim operating on data to solve a problem can serve the same purpose as a formula." In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 837 and n.1, 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1826 and n.1 (Fed. Cir. 1989). MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) pertains. The human mind is also sufficiently capable of determine conformations, related dihedral angles and nucleophilic attack distance between two atoms; as well as determine a criterion and rank and compare parameter related to the determined conformations. [Step 2A Prong One: claims 1-20: Yes ] Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))? Background MPEP 2106.04(d).I lists the following example considerations for evaluating whether a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application: An improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or another technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a); Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2); Implementing a judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b); Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c); and Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e). Analysis of instant claims Instant claims 1- 20 recite additional elements that are not abstract ideas: • "computer-implemented" (claims 1-10); • "one or more data processors" (claims 11-20); • "computer program" (claim 20); • "generating a representation of the polypeptide" (claims 2 and 12) and • "performing a molecular-dynamics simulation using the representation, wherein a result of the performance of the molecular-dynamics simulation comprises a set of polypeptide conformations for the polypeptide including the polypeptide conformation" (claims 2 and 12); • "outputting the probability of the side chain of the amino acid being trapped in the at least one reactive conformation and/or the probability of the polypeptide chemically degrading" (claims 4 and 14). Considerations under Step 2A, Prong Two The recited limitations in claims 1-20 are interpreted as requiring the use of a computer. Hence, the claims explicitly recite steps executed by computers and therefore can be described as computer functions or instructions to implement on a generic computer. Further steps directed to additional non-abstract elements of a computing device/computer do not describe any specific computational steps by which the "computer parts" perform or carry out the judicial exceptions, nor do they provide any details of how specific structures of the computer are used to implement these functions. The claims state nothing more than a generic computer which performs the functions that constitute the judicial exceptions. The instant claims state nothing more than that a generic computer performs the functions that constitute the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Limitations of claims 1, 11 and 20 are considered to perform the claimed abstract idea with a computer, which is not sufficient to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)); since steps that can be performed mentally and merely performing the mental process in a computer environment do not negate the fact that something that can be carried out in the human mind. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.C. The recited "generating a representation of the polypeptide" and “performing a molecular dynamics simulation” (claims 2 and 12) read on insignificant extra-solution activity that is tangential to the claim, since the representation describes the polypeptide that is being assessed but does not use any of the data generated by the judicial exceptions in claims 1 and 11.. Claims directed to "outputting" read on transmitting data over a network -Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321 - MPEP 2106.05(a) pertains; which constitutes just necessary data gathering and therefore correspond to insignificant extra-solution activity. With respect to claims 2 and 12, the computer-related elements or the general purpose computer and the recited molecular-dynamics simulation do not rise to the level of significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims state nothing more than a generic computer which performs the functions that constitute the judicial exceptions. Hence, these are mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions using a computer, which the courts have found to not provide significantly more when recited in a claim with a judicial exception (Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984; see MPEP 2106.05(A)). The specification as published also notes that computer processors and systems, as example, are known and widely used examples of molecular-dynamics simulation that may be used without limitation [0085]. The additional elements are set forth at such a high level of generality that they can be met by a general purpose computer. Therefore, the computer components constitute no more than a general link to a technological environment, which is insufficient to constitute an inventive concept that would render the claims significantly more than the judicial exceptions (see MPEP 2106.05(b)I-III). Hence, these are mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity and therefore the claims do not integrate that abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) § I; 2106.05(f); and 2106.05(g)). In Step 2A, Prong One above, claim steps and/or elements were identified as part of one or more judicial exceptions (JEs). In this Step 2A, Prong Two immediately above claim steps and/or elements were identified as part of one or more additional elements . Additional elements are further discussed in Step 2B below. Here in Step 2A, Prong Two, no additional step or element clearly demonstrates integration of the JE(s) into a practical application. [Step 2A Prong Two: claims 1-20: No] Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)? According to analysis so far, the additional elements described above do not provide significantly more than the judicial exception. A determination of whether additional elements provide significantly more also rests on whether the additional elements or a combination of elements represents other than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional. Conventionality is a question of fact and may be evidenced as: a citation to an express statement in the specification or to a statement made by an applicant during examination that demonstrates a well-understood, routine or conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to one or more of the court decisions as discussed in MPEP 2106(d)(II) as noting the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); and/or a statement that the examiner is taking official notice with respect to the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s). Claims 1-20 recite a computer or computer functions, interpreted as instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer, where the computer does not impose meaningful limitations on the judicial exceptions; which can be performed without the use of a computer (MPEP 2106.04(d) § I; and MPEP 2106.05(f)). The computer-related elements or the general purpose computer and the molecular-dynamics simulation do not rise to the level of significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims state a generic computer which performs the functions that constitute the judicial exceptions. Hence, these are mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions using a computer, which the courts have found to not provide significantly more when recited in a claim with a judicial exception (Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984; see MPEP 2106.05(A)). Further, the courts have found that outputting data is well-understood, routine, and conventional functions of a computer when claimed in a generic manner or as insignificant extra-solution activity (see Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information), buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network), Versa ta Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015), and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(d)(Il)(i)). The specification as published also notes that computer processors and systems, as example, are commercially available or widely used at [0085], and that any suitable molecular-dynamics simulation may be used without limitation. The additional elements are set forth at such a high level of generality that they can be met by a general purpose computer. Therefore, the computer components constitute no more than a general link to a technological environment, which is insufficient to constitute an inventive concept that would render the claims significantly more than the judicial exceptions (see MPEP 2106.05(b)I-III). With respect to the instant claims, the prior art review to Adcock ("Molecular dynamics: survey of methods for simulating the activity of proteins." Chemical reviews 106(5)1589-1615 (2006); newly cited) discloses that generating polypeptide representations for use in molecular-dynamics simulations is routine, well-understood and conventional in the art. Said portions of the prior art are, for example, pg. 1595 col.2 para. 1. The instant claims constitute insignificant extra solution activity, and when considered individually, are insufficient to constitute inventive concepts that would render the claims significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Hence, these elements, when considered individually, are insufficient to constitute inventive concepts that would render the claims significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(d)). [Step 2B: claims 1-20: No] Conclusion: Instant claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter For the reasons above, the claims in this instant application, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole, are directed to an abstract idea and lack an inventive concept not clearly anything significantly more. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-fti The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: (a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-fti The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. A. Claims 1-2, 7-8, 11-12, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jumper ("Accurate calculation of side chain packing and free energy with applications to protein molecular dynamics." PLoS computational biology 14(12):e1006342 (2018)) in view of Mihaylov "(A Mechanistic Study of the Spontaneous Hydrolysis of Glycylserine as the Simplest Model for Protein Self ‐ Cleavage." Chemistry–A European Journal 20(2):456-466 (2014)); as cited on the attached Form PTO-892. Claims 1, 11, and 20 recites: determining, for a polypeptide conformation of a polypeptide comprising an amino acid having a side chain and a backbone, a dihedral angle for the backbone and a dihedral angle for the side chain of the amino acid while in the polypeptide conformation … in response to determining the polypeptide conformation is the reactive conformation, determining a free energy of the dihedral angle for the backbone and the dihedral angle for the side chain of the amino acid while in the reactive conformation; and predicting a probability of the side chain of the amino acid being trapped in the reactive conformation based on the free energy of the dihedral angle for the backbone and the dihedral angle for the side chain of the amino acid • Jumper teaches rapid molecular dynamics simulations (i.e. computer-implemented method as in claim 1 ) for the predictions of side chain χ 1 angles (i.e. side chain dihedrals ) based on the side chain free energy (pg. 2 para. 6) and conformational diversity of the side chain’s rotameric states at every integration step (pg. 1 Abstract); wherein the computer simulations uses the Upside program and data stored in libraries (i.e. reading on system and CRM as in claims 11 and 20 ) (pg. 14 para. 1); wherein the side chain interactions are pairwise additive and vanish outside a distance cutoff (pg. 9 para. 3); wherein the free energy is expressed as the sum of a backbone term involving dihedral angle preferences , side chain-backbone interactions (including hydrogen bonding), and pairwise interactions involving the side chains (pg. 6 para. 1); wherein the frequency of each Ramachandran angle phi and psi (i.e. backbone dihedrals ) are used in the calculations (pg. 15 Eq. 34); wherein the probability for each conformation is calculated (pg. 13 para. 3) and joint side chain probabilities are required to compute the average energy and approximate entropy (i.e. hence, informs reactivity ) (pg. 8 para. 1); which allows for the natural consideration of side chain entropy (i.e. being trapped in the reactive conformation based on the free energy ) (pg. 25 para. 1). determining a nucleophilic attack distance between two atoms, functional groups, or a combination thereof of the amino acid while in the polypeptide conformation based on the dihedral angle for the backbone and the dihedral angle for the side chain, wherein one of the two atoms or functional groups is in the side chain of the amino acid and another of the two atoms or functional groups is in the backbone of the amino acid; determining, based on the nucleophilic attack distance of the amino acid while in the polypeptide conformation, that the polypeptide conformation is a reactive conformation that is susceptible to a cleavage reaction • Jumper does not teach the recitation above. However Mihaylov teaches the investigation of intrinsically reactive proteins that cleave the internal peptide bond as part of their cellular function (i.e. reactive polypeptides susceptible to a cleavage reaction ) (pg. 456 Abstract); wherein the mechanism of this process involves the intramolecular (i.e. within the same polypeptide conformation ) nucleophilic attack by an OH or SH group of a serine, threonine or cysteine residue (i.e. wherein one of the two atoms or functional groups is in the side chain of the amino acid ) at the adjacent amide carbon of the protein backbone (i.e. another of the two atoms or functional groups is in the backbone of the amino acid ) (pg. 456 col. 2 para. 1); wherein the peptide bond upstream to said serine, threonine or cysteine residue are inherently susceptible to decomposition in physiological conditions (pg. 457 col. 1 para. 1); wherein the most probable transition states (i.e. most reactive conformations ) for protein self-cleavage are identified (pg. 465 Fig. 10). Claims 2 and 12 recite: generating a representation of the polypeptide; and performing a molecular-dynamics simulation using the representation, wherein a result of the performance of the molecular-dynamics simulation comprises a set of polypeptide conformations for the polypeptide including the polypeptide conformation • Jumper teaches rapid molecular dynamics for the predictions of side chain χ 1 angles based on the side chain free energy (pg. 2 para. 6) and conformational diversity of the side chain’s rotameric states at every integration step (pg. 1 Abstract); wherein comparison to other algorithms shows prediction of χ 1 rotamer configurations with similar accuracy (i.e. a result of the performance of the molecular-dynamics simulation comprises a set of polypeptide conformations for the polypeptide including the polypeptide conformation ) (pg. 2 para. 5). Claims 7 and 17 recite: wherein the predicting the probability of the polypeptide to chemically degrade includes: identifying an accessibility constraint that, when satisfied, indicates that an amide group of the polypeptide has above-threshold spatial accessibility to bind with a solvent molecule from a surrounding solvent; and determining, for the reactive conformation, that the accessibility constraint is satisfied based on assessing one or more spatial characteristics of the polypeptide • Jumper teaches rapid molecular dynamics for the predictions of side chain χ 1 angles (i.e. side chain dihedrals ) based on the side chain free energy (pg. 2 para. 6) and conformational diversity of the side chain’s rotameric states at every integration step (pg. 1 Abstract); wherein the side chain interactions are pairwise additive and vanish outside a distance cutoff (pg. 9 para. 3); wherein the probability for each conformation is calculated (pg. 13 para. 3); wherein Langevin dynamics (implicit solvent with friction) are run on the 3 backbone atoms (i.e. comprising the amide N) (pg. 4 para. 2); wherein interaction involving an amide proton are given a hydrogen bond confidence score which is close to 0 for non-hydrogen bonded and 1 for hydrogen bonded residues (pg. 10 para. 4); wherein the backbone hydrogen bond interaction uses both distance criteria to determine hydrogen bonds from 1.4 Å - 2.5 Å (pg. 14 para. 1); wherein joint side chain probabilities are required to compute the average energy and approximate entropy (i.e. hence, informs reactivity ) (pg. 8 para. 1). Claims 8 and 18 recite: wherein the determining that the polypeptide conformation is the reactive conformation, comprises: determining a distance criterion that, when satisfied, indicates that the atom within the side chain is within a predetermined distance threshold of the another atom within the backbone; and determining that the distance criterion is satisfied for the reactive conformation based on a comparison of the nucleophilic attack distance of the amino acid of the reactive conformation with the predetermined distance threshold • Jumper teaches rapid molecular dynamics for the predictions of side chain χ 1 angles (i.e. side chain dihedrals ) based on the side chain free energy (pg. 2 para. 6) and conformational diversity of the side chain’s rotameric states at every integration step (pg. 1 Abstract); wherein the side chain interactions are pairwise additive and vanish outside a distance cutoff (pg. 9 para. 3); wherein the free energy is expressed as the sum of a backbone term involving dihedral angle preferences , side chain-backbone interactions (including hydrogen bonding), and pairwise interactions involving the side chains (pg. 6 para. 1); wherein the frequency of each Ramachandran angle phi and psi (i.e. backbone dihedrals ) are used in the calculations (pg. 15 Eq. 34) wherein a distance cutoff of 7 Å was used for sidechain-side chain interactions and a distance cutoff of 5 Å for side chain-backbone interactions (pg. 7 para. 1); wherein the probability for each conformation is calculated (pg. 13 para. 3) and joint side chain probabilities are required to compute the average energy and approximate entropy (i.e. hence, informs reactivity ) (pg. 8 para. 1); which allows for the natural consideration of side chain entropy (i.e. being trapped in the reactive conformation based on the free energy ) (pg. 25 para. 1) Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143) Regarding claims 1-2, 7-8, 11-12, 17-18 and 20, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Jumper in view of Mihaylov because all references disclose methods for the investigating properties of polypeptide conformations. The motivation would have been to incorporate a detailed mechanistic study of the spontaneous hydrolysis (pg. 457 col. 2 para. 2 Mihaylov ) via the prediction of the reaction energetics (pg. 465 col. 1 para. 2 Mihaylov ) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the method for the investigation of polypeptide conformations of Jumper to the methods by Mihaylov because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for investigating properties of polypeptide conformations. B. Claims 3-4, 9-10, 13-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jumper and Mihaylov as applied to claims 1 and 11 above further in view of Higo ("Enhanced and effective conformational sampling of protein molecular systems for their free energy landscapes." Biophysical reviews 4(1):27-44 (2012)); as cited on the attached Form PTO-892. Claims 3 and 13 recite: predicting a probability of the polypeptide to chemically degrade as a result of the side chain of the amino acid being trapped in the reactive conformation Claims 4 and 14 recite: outputting the probability of the side chain of the amino acid being trapped in the at least one reactive conformation and/or the probability of the polypeptide chemically degrading • Jumper does not teach the recitation above. However, Higo teaches multicanonical molecular dynamics to investigate free-energy landscapes for protein folding (pg. 27 Abstract); wherein low-energy basins in the conformational space trap the conformation during the simulation (pg. 28 col. 1 para. 1); wherein the probability and energy distributions for the free energy events when conformations are trapped are calculated (pg. 32 Fig. 2); wherein a parameter λ is specific only to the protein conformation (pg. 31 col. 2 para. 4); wherein λ is a good parameter to discriminate the stable and unstable states (i.e. probability of the polypeptide to chemically degrade as in claims 3-4 and 13-14 ). Claims 9 and 19 recite: wherein the free energy is determined based on analysis of free energy profiles of the dihedral angle for the backbone and the dihedral angle for the side chain of the amino acid in the reactive conformation, and wherein the free energy profiles in spaces of the dihedral angle for the backbone and the dihedral angle for the side chain are calculated from bin populations • Jumper does not teach the recitation above. However, Higo teaches multicanonical molecular dynamics to investigate free-energy landscapes for protein folding (pg. 27 Abstract); wherein low-energy basins in the conformational space trap the conformation during the simulation (pg. 28 col. 1 para. 1); wherein the probability and energy distributions for the free energy events when conformations are trapped are calculated (pg. 32 Fig. 2); wherein a parameter λ is specific only to the protein conformation (pg. 31 col. 2 para. 4); wherein λ is a good parameter to discriminate the stable and unstable states (i.e. probability of the polypeptide to chemically degrade ); wherein the probability is modified by an increment for a determined bin when the conformation is detected to be in said bin (pg. 38 col. 2 para. 2) Claim 10 recites: wherein the predicting the probability of the side chain of the amino acid being trapped in the reactive conformation comprises: determining an energy criterion that, when satisfied, indicates that the free energy of the dihedral angle for the backbone and the dihedral angle for the side chain of the amino acid are within a predetermined energy threshold; and determining that the energy criterion is satisfied for the reactive conformation based on a comparison of the free energy of the dihedral angle for the backbone and the dihedral angle for the side chain of the amino acid in the reactive conformation with the predetermined energy threshold • Jumper teaches rapid molecular dynamics for the predictions of side chain χ 1 angles (i.e. side chain dihedrals ) based on the side chain free energy (pg. 2 para. 6) and conformational diversity of the side chain’s rotameric states at every integration step (pg. 1 Abstract); wherein the side chain interactions are pairwise additive and vanish outside a distance cutoff (pg. 9 para. 3); wherein the free energy is expressed as the sum of a backbone term involving dihedral angle preferences , side chain-backbone interactions (including hydrogen bonding), and pairwise interactions involving the side chains (pg. 6 para. 1); wherein the frequency of each Ramachandran angle phi and psi (i.e. backbone dihedrals ) are used in the calculations (pg. 15 Eq. 34); wherein the probability for each conformation is calculated (pg. 13 para. 3) and joint side chain probabilities are required to compute the average energy and approximate entropy (i.e. hence, informs reactivity ) (pg. 8 para. 1); which allows for the natural consideration of side chain entropy (i.e. being trapped in the reactive conformation based on the free energy ) (pg. 25 para. 1). • Jumper does not teach the recitation above. However, Higo teaches multicanonical molecular dynamics to investigate free-energy landscapes for protein folding (pg. 27 Abstract); wherein low-energy basins in the conformational space trap the conformation during the simulation (pg. 28 col. 1 para. 1); wherein the probability and energy distributions for the free energy events when conformations are trapped are calculated (pg. 32 Fig. 2); wherein the lower energy limit E low (i.e. energy threshold ) corresponds to a temperature T low (pg. 36 col. 1 para. 4). Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143) Regarding claims 3-4, 9-10, 13-14 and 19, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Jumper and Mihaylov in view of Higo because all references disclose methods for the investigating properties of polypeptide conformations. The motivation would have been to study conformational sampling via the exploration the exploration of the energy surface with statistical significance (pg. 42 col. 1 para. 3 Higo ). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the method for the investigation of polypeptide conformations of Jumper and Mihaylov to the methods by Higo because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for investigating properties of polypeptide conformations. C. Claims 5-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jumper and Mihaylov as applied to claims 1 and 11 above further in view of Abel ("Advancing drug discovery through enhanced free energy calculations." Accounts of chemical research 50(7):1625-1632 (2017)); as cited on the attached Form PTO-892. Claims 5 and 15 recite: removing the polypeptide from a list of potential polypeptides to be used as at least part of a therapeutic agent based on the probability of the side chain of the amino acid being trapped in the at least one reactive conformation and/or the probability of the polypeptide chemically degrading Claims 6 and 16 recite: ranking the polypeptide lower than another polypeptide in a list of potential polypeptides to be used as at least part of a therapeutic agent based on the probability of the side chain of the amino acid being trapped in the at least one reactive conformation and/or the probability of the polypeptide chemically degrading, wherein the probability of the side chain of the amino acid being trapped in the at least one reactive conformation and/or the probability of the polypeptide chemically degrading for the another polypeptide is less than the probability of the side chain of the amino acid being trapped in the at least one reactive conformation and/or the probability of the polypeptide chemically degrading for the polypeptide • Jumper does not teach the recitation above. However, Abel teaches a method for drug discovery through enhanced free energy calculations (pg. 1625 Title); wherein the data set contains a series of related ligands, and their binding free energies, to a specified protein target of pharmaceutical interest (pg. 1628 Table 1 and pg. 1629 col. 1 para. 2); wherein metabolic stability (i.e. probability of the polypeptide chemically degrading ) was modeled using more approximate computational methods (pg. 1630 col. 1 para. 2); wherein free energy calculations were used for the scoring of more than 3000 ligands (i.e. ranking the polypeptide lower than another polypeptide in a list of potential polypeptides to be used as at least part of a therapeutic agent based on the compared free energy results ) (pg. 1629 col. 2 para. 2); wherein for drug discovery there is a good correlation between in vitro assays and in vivo affinity, but not in most cases beyond the level of 0.5 kcal/mol (i.e. removing the polypeptide from a list of potential polypeptides to be used as at least part of a therapeutic agent ) (pg. 1629 col. 2 para. 1) Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143) Regarding claims 5-6 and 15-16, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Jumper and Mihaylov in view of Abel because all references disclose methods for the investigating properties of polypeptide conformations. The motivation would have been to implement more efficient and reliable free energy calculations (pg. 1626 col. 1 para. 2 Abel ) and to implement potency, and selectivity in free energy predictions (pg. 1630 col. 2 para. 2 Abel ). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the method for the investigation of polypeptide conformations of Jumper and Mihaylov to the methods by Abel because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for investigating properties of polypeptide conformations. Conclusion No claims are allowed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FRANCINI A FONSECA LOPEZ whose telephone number is (571)270-0899. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8AM - 5PM ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Olivia Wise can be reached at (571) 272-2249. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /F.F.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1685 /JANNA NICOLE SCHULTZHAUS/Examiner, Art Unit 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 2 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 3 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 4 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 5 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 6 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 7 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 8 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 9 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 10 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 11 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 12 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 13 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 14 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 15 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 16 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 17 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 18 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 19 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 20 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 21 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 22 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 23 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 24 Art Unit: 1685 Application/Control Number: 18/058,110 Page 25 Art Unit: 1685