DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Amended claim 1 calls for “the multiple connections comprise bushings of at least three bushing types, and wherein the at least three bushing types comprise at least one of each of an oil-to-oil HV bushing, an oil-to-air HV bushing, and an oil-to SF6 HV bushing.” Claim 5 (and claims 6-10) depends on claim 1 and calls for “each of the multiple connections comprises a connection body comprising a body inner surface…” Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris et al. (4360849) in view of Ladani et al. (2024/0347234).
Harris et al. (Fig. 1) discloses a high voltage power system (HV system) for changing a voltage of an electric current from a first voltage to a second voltage, wherein the electric current is conducted through at least one of multiple connections, across a transformer casing of a high voltage power transformer (HV transformer) and substantially electrically insulated from the transformer casing, and to the HV transformer, the HV system further comprising: an HV transformer high-voltage side (12); and multiple respective receptacles for the multiple connections, comprising: a high-voltage cable box receptacle (28), wherein the multiple connections comprise bushings (18 and 20) (re-claim 1). Harris et al. also discloses that the multiple respective receptacles comprise a high-voltage top receptacle (20) (re-claim 2); the multiple respective receptacles comprise a high-voltage side receptacle (18) (re-claim 3); the multiple respective receptacles are disposed on the HV transformer high-voltage side (re-claim 11).
Harris et al. does not disclose the bushings comprised of at least three types: oil-to-oil HV bushing, oil-to-air HV bushing, and oil-to-SF6 HV bushing. Ladani et al. discloses a HV system. Ladani et al. discloses that oil-to-oil, oil-to-air, and oil-to-SF6 HV bushings can be used in a HV system depending on the specific use ([0029]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use oil-to-oil HV bushing, oil-to-air HV bushing, and oil-to-SF6 HV bushing for the bushings of Harris et al. to meet the specific applications since it is taught by Ladani et al. that oil-to-oil, oil-to-air, and oil-to-SF6 HV bushings can be used in a HV system depending on the specific use.
Claims 14-18 are method counter parts of claims 1-3 and 11.
Claims 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris et al. in view of Ladani et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kishida (4431859).
Kishida discloses a high voltage power system comprising a high voltage receptacle (or a connection) (Fig. 1) including an SF6 (col. 1, line 59) gas-insulated busduct (not numbered, the duct extends from the seat 4) (re-claim 4); the connection comprising a connection body (2) comprising a body inner surface (re-claim 5); the connection comprising at least one conductor (3) including a conductor outer surface extending along a conductor length (re-claim 6); the at least one conductor being disposed within the connection body, attached to the connection body at an attachment point (top portion of Fig. 1), and extending through opposite ends of the connection body (re-claim 7); the connection further comprising a substantially electrically insulating material (7) (re-claim 8); the substantially electrically insulating material (7) being disposed between the conductor outer surface along the conductor length of the at least one conductor, which is encapsulated within the connection body, and the body inner surface (re-claim 9); and the substantially electrically insulating material being disposed between the at least one conductor and the attachment point (re-claim 10).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the connection (bushing) as taught by Kishida for the multiple connections (bushings) of Harris et al. since such connection (bushing) has improved electrical and physical properties (col. 1, lines 21-30).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 and 14-18 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Applicant argues that the primary and secondary bushings of Harris are both used as the series of configuration in the HV system, and that there is no motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to replace Harris’ bushings with three different types of bushings as taught by Ladani.
Examiner would disagree. Harris and Ladani are both directed to high voltage power system. Ladani teaches that depending on the specific use, oil-to-oil, oil-to air, and oil-to-SF6 ([0029]) can all be used in high voltage power system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841