DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 3/10/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on Application Number US 18/058227 has been reviewed and is NOT accepted.
The terminal disclaimer does not comply with 37 CFR 1.321 because:
The disclaimer fee of $183 in accordance with 37 CFR 1.20(d) has not been submitted, nor is there any authorization in the application file to charge a specified Deposit Account or credit card.
Double Patenting
Claim 6 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18058227 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Regarding claim 6, Claim 6 of copending Application No. 18058227 teaches
a system for preventing a buildup of ice on a metal roof with a plurality of seams forming channels between the seams (Claim 6 lines 1-3 A system for preventing a buildup of ice on a metal roof with a plurality of parallel seams forming channels between the seams), the system comprising:
a plurality of roof clip assemblies adustably fastenable to seams on a metal roof (Claim 6 line 4 a plurality of clips fastenable to seams on a metal roof);
a heating cable routable through the plurality of roof clip assemblies (Claim 6 lines 5 a heating cable routable through the plurality of clips); and
a routing pattern for the heating cable in which (Claim 6 line 6 a routing pattern for the heating cable):
the heating cable passes through a first cable clamp of a first roof clip assembly of the plurality of roof clip assemblies, the first roof clip assembly positioned on a first seam of the plurality of seams at a lower location (Claim 6 lines 7-10 the cable passes through a first routing clamp of a first clip of the plurality of clips, the first clip positioned on a first seam of the plurality of seams at a lower location);
the heating cable continues upward along one side of the first seam through a routing clamp of a second roof clip assembly of the plurality of roof clip assemblies, the second roof clip assembly positioned on the first seam at an upper location (Claim 6 lines 11-13 the cable continues upward along one side of the first seam through a first routing clamp of a second clip of the plurality of clips, the second clip positioned on the first seam at an upper location),
wherein the routing clamp of the second roof clip assembly spans across the first seam (Claim 6 lines 13-14 the cable passes over the seam to a second side of the first seam);
the heating cable continues downward along a second side of the first seam through a second routing clamp of the first roof clip assembly (Claim 6 lines 19-21 the cable continues downward along the second side of the first seam through a second routing clamp of the first clip);
the heating cable is routed below an upper surface of the metal roof to a second seam of the plurality of seams (Claim 6 lines 22-23 the cable is routed below an upper surface of the roof to a second seam of the plurality of seam); and
wherein the routing pattern is repeated for a desired number of seams of the plurality of seams (Claim 6 lines 24-25 wherein the routing pattern is repeated for a desired number of seams of the plurality of seams);
wherein the channels between the seams remain clear of horizontally-oriented lengths of heating cables (Claim 6 lines 26-27 wherein the channels between the seams remain clear of horizontally-oriented lengths of heating cables).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nark (US8782960B2) in view of Kuhl (US20210238857A1).
Annotated Fig. 8C of Nark
Regarding claim 6, Nark teaches A system for preventing a buildup of ice on a metal roof (Col. 1 lines 15-25 a heating cable that melts snow and ice on a roof) with
a plurality of seams (328) forming channels (Fig. 8C channel in seam 328) between the seams (328, Fig. 8C),
the system comprising:
a plurality of roof clip assemblies (300, 330) adjustably fastenable to seams (328) on a metal roof (302);
a heating cable (320) routable through the plurality of roof clip assemblies (Col. 10 lines 1-43 300, 330); and
a routing pattern (Fig. 8C) for the heating cable (320) in which:
the heating cable (320) passes through a first cable clamp (310) of a first roof clip (330) assembly of the plurality of roof clip assemblies (300, 330), the first roof clip (310) assembly positioned on a first seam at a lower location (Annotated Fig. 8C);
the heating cable (320) continues upward along one side of the first seam (328) through a routing clamp (310) of a second roof clip assembly (300) of the plurality of roof clip assemblies (Col. 10 lines 1-43 300, 330, Fig. 8C),
the second roof clip (300) assembly positioned on the first seam at an upper location (Fig. 8C)
wherein the routing clamp (310) of the second roof clip assembly (300) spans across the first seam (328);
the heating cable (30) continues downward along a second side of the first seam (328, Fig. 8C) through a second routing clamp (310) of the first roof clip assembly (330)
wherein the routing pattern is repeated for at least two seams of the plurality of seams (Fig. 8A);
wherein the channels (Fig. 8C channel between seams 328) between the seams (328) remain clear of horizontally-oriented lengths of heating cables (Fig. 8C).
Nark is silent on the heating cable is routed below an upper surface of the metal roof to a second seam of the plurality of seams.
Fig. 1 of Kuhl
Kuhl teaches the heating cable (102) is routed below an upper surface of the metal roof (R, where Fig. 1 shows cable 102 being routed in portion G under roof R) to a second seam of the plurality of seams ([0039, 0045] Fig. 1 heating cable 102 and fastening system 104 to fasten heating cable to other roof features such as roof R, gutter G, and other roof features GV, SP, RW, RV, taken to be a second seam of plurality of seams).
Nark and Kuhl are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heating cable systems. It would have been obvious to have modified Nark to incorporate the teachings of Kuhl to have the heating cable routed below an upper surface of the metal roof R to aa second seam in order to configure the heating cable to be routed in a variety of configuration which is advantageous to generate optimal melt patterns (Kuhl [0045]).
Annotated Figs. 8C and 8D of Nark
Regarding claim 7, Nark and Kuhl teach the system of claim 6 and Nark teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of roof clip assemblies comprises: a mounting block (Fig,. 8C, 8D Col. 10 lines 1-43 block of clamp 300) connectable to a seam (328); and
at least one cable clamp (310) fastened to the mounting block (3).
Regarding claim 8, Nark and Kuhl teach the system of claim 7, and Nark teaches wherein the mounting block comprises: a first wall (Annotated Fig. 8C and 8D);
a second wall (Annotated Fig. 8C and 8D);
a top wall joining the first and second walls and creating a gap therebetween (Annotated Fig. 8C and 8D); and
set screws (308) passing through at least one of the first and second walls and usable to create a friction fit with the seam when tightened (Col. 10 lines 1-15 clamp 300 to be secured to the roof vis-à-vis the flashing raised portion with a mechanical fastener 308).
Regarding claim 9, Nark and Kuhl teach the system of claim 8, and Nark teaches wherein the mounting block further comprises a block hole in the top wall (Fig. 8D) usable to receive a fastener (312) connecting the at least one cable clamp (310) to the mounting block (300).
Regarding claim 10, Nark and Kuhl teach the system of claim 7, and Nark teaches wherein the at least one cable clamp (310) comprises a single cable clamp (Col. 10 lines 15-30 one cable loop 310).
Regarding claim 11, Nark and Kuhl teach the system of claim 7, and Nark teaches wherein the at least one cable clamp (310) comprises two cable clamps (Col. 10 lines 15-30 two or more cable loops 310).
Fig. 11 of Kuhl
Regarding claim 12, Nark and Kuhl teach the system of claim 7, and Nark teaches wherein the at least one cable clamp comprises:
a lower guide (Fig. 8C lower of cable loop 310);
an upper guide (Fig. 8C upper of cable loop 310).
Nark is silent on a bendable member joining the lower and upper guides and can be bent over the heating cable such that the heating cable is trapped between the upper guide and the lower guide.
Kuhl teaches a bendable member ([0107] cable cradle 204 is bendable along the first neck 214) joining the lower and upper guides (222, 218) and can be bent over the heating cable (102) such that the heating cable is trapped between the upper guide and the lower guide ([0093] Fig. 11 cable cradle 204, is configured to secure the heating cable 102).
It would have been obvious to have modified Nark to incorporate the teachings of Kuhl to have a bendable member so that the cable may be secured within the guide while being operable to have an open and closed position for selectively confining the cable that is held in place for moving of the cable (Kuhl [0107]).
Regarding claim 13, Nark and Kuhl teach the system of claim 6, and Nark teaches wherein the first roof clip (330) assembly comprises two cable clamps (Col. 10 lines 15-30 two or more cable loops 310).
Regarding claim 14, Nark and Kuhl teach the system of claim 6, and Nark teaches wherein the second roof clip (300) assembly comprises a single cable clamp (310) that spans across the first seam (328).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant's argument that Kuhl does not show that "the cable is routed below an upper surface of the metal roof to a second seam of the plurality of seams," it is understood that the combination of Nark and Kuhl would teach the limitations, given that Nark teaches at least two seams, as now required by the claims, where it would have been obvious to have modified Nark with Kuhl, to route the cable below to upper surface of the metal roof to a second seam, being the equivalent of fastenings at other roof features as in Fig. 1, [0039,0045], in order to allow the cable to be routed in a variety of configurations, across the roof, being advantageous to creating optimal melt pattern (Kuhl [0045]). In [0045] Kuhl teaches that the clips 106, being portions that route the cable 102, can be placed along the length of the gutter G, where gutter G is understood to be at least below an upper surface of the metal roof, in order to reach other components SP, RW, RV, and does not limit the routing of the heating cable "through the gutter, below the roof surface, after the pattern is completed.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 6/2/2026
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761