Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
The preamble of claim 1 recites “suitable for use in stereolithography.” The body of claim 1 sets forth a structurally complete composition including a liquid photocurable resin including at least 50 weight percent fluoropolymer and a crosslinking resin, together with a stated response to UV exposure. The quoted phrase merely states a purpose or intended use for the composition and does not breathe life or meaning into the claim body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5: The claimed copolymer range does not recite whether the percentages are by weight or mole, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wood (US 2019/0144683).
Claim 1: Wood discloses a liquid photocurable resin composition (¶¶ 21, 71, 75, 85, 97). The composition includes at least 50 weight percent of a fluoropolymer combined with a crosslinking resin (¶¶ 8-12, 38-40, 93-96, 108-110; table 1), wherein exposure of the photocurable resin composition to UV light forms a crosslinked resin including the fluoropolymer as a final material (¶¶ 35, 99-102; examples).
Claims 3-4: Wood discloses the fluoropolymer being PVDF (¶¶ 40-42).
Claim 6: Wood discloses photoinitiators (¶¶ 21, 84-86).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood, as applied to claim 4 above, further in view of Amin-Sanayei (US 6,586,547).
Claim 5: Wood discloses PVDF up to about 30 weight percent hexafluoropropene (¶¶ 13-14), which overlaps the claimed range, but is silent as to the claimed glass transition temperature range. However, Amin-Sanayei discloses a composition having 1-66 weight percent hexafluoropropylene and having low crystallinity (col. 3, lines 30-40). With regard to the claimed glass transition temperature range, this limitation is an inherent physical property of the fluoropolymer rather than a compositional or structural feature. Amin-Sanayei teaches VDF/HFP copolymers spanning the full 1-66 weight percent HFP range with controllable degrees of crystallinity, and expressly teaches that glass transition temperature varies with crystallinity (col. 4, lines 60-67). Where, as here, the prior art teaches a product that is or reasonably appears to be identical or substantially identical to that claimed, the burden shifts to Applicant to demonstrate that the prior art product does not necessarily possess the claimed property. “[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977) (footnote and citation omitted). The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (citing Best, 562 F.2d at 1255). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have selected as the VDF/HFP fluoropolymer component a) of Wood’s UV-curable composition, a VDF/HFP copolymer having a HFP content of from about 20 to about 60 percent as taught by Amin-Sanayei, because Amin-Sanayei expressly teaches that such higher-HFP, low-crystallinity VDF/HFP copolymers exhibit improved miscibility with polyacrylates and polymethacrylates, haze-free solutions, improved optical clarity of the resulting film, and excellent flexibility, and expressly recommends them for paint bases that conventionally include an acrylic resin, which is what Wood’s acrylic-containing coating system is.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754