DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al (US 2013/0181190) (Ma).
In reference to claims 1-16, Ma teaches iridium complexes comprising a phenyl pyridine ligand and a dibenzofuran linked to an imidazole or benzimidazole fragment as useful materials for OLED devices (Ma abstract) such as a material of formula V as shown below,
for example, wherein in the formula V, X is O, R1 is hydrogen, R2 is a halogen, such as fluorine, R3 is hydrogen, and R4 is a group as shown above, wherein C is a 6 membered ring, R’1 and R’2 are each isopropyl, and R’3 is biphenyl or a compound 6-X wherein R’3 is biphenyl instead of phenyl and R2 is halogen instead of hydrogen (Ma [0053] to [0058]).
Ma discloses the compound of formula V that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein in the formula V, X is O, R1 is hydrogen, R2 is a halogen, such as fluorine, R3 is hydrogen, and R4 is a group as shown above, wherein C is a 6 membered ring, R’1 and R’2 are each isopropyl, and R’3 is biphenyl or a compound 6-X wherein R’3 is biphenyl instead of phenyl and R2 is halogen instead of hydrogen. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Ma are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula V.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula V to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Ma and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: Reads on wherein m is 1, n is 2, A is benzimidazole, Y is O, X1 to X8 are each C substituted with hydrogen or bonded to A, RA is a substituted phenyl, D is pyridine, X is C, X9 to X12 are each C bonded to a hydrogen or to a halogen electron withdrawing group.
For Claim 2: Reads on hydrogen, fluorine or a combination of aryl and alkyl.
For Claim 3: Reads on F.
For Claim 4: Reads on RE is fluorine.
For Claim 5: Reads on D is pyridine.
For Claim 6: Reads on wherein A is benzimidazole.
For Claim 7: Reads on X1 to X12 is C.
For Claim 8: Reads on wherein Y is O.
For Claim 9: Reads on
.
For Claim 10: Reads on
.
For Claim 11: Reads on e.g. formula LA3.
For Claim 12: Reads on
.
For Claim 13: Reads on
.
For Claim 14: Reads on
wherein RI, RH, RG, are each R1 and EA is E1.
For Claim 15: Reads on LB21.
For Claim 16: Reads on
.
In reference to claims 17-20, Ma teaches the material as described above for claim 1 and further teaches that it is used as an emitting material in an organic light emitting device such as a lighting panel with an anode, cathode and organic layer between them for use in combination with a host such as the compound below (Ma [0026]; [0060] to [0064]) and further teaches that these materials result in devices with improved efficiency and lifetime (Ma [0048]).
Given that Ma discloses the device configuration that encompasses the presently claimed device, including the claimed configurations, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the device configuration, which is both disclosed by Ma and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786