18058DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 09/16/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 7-8, 10-11 and 13-15 have been amended. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments filed on 9/16/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pages 8-9) that Vasudevan fails to disclose instructing the radio modem to refrain from entering a power-save mode during the over-the-air (OTA) update and further fails to disclose an indication allowing the radio modem to enter the power-save mode upon completion. However, the Examiner maintains that Vasudevan teaches or renders obvious the claimed limitations.
Vasudevan teaches the claimed control of radio-modem power behavior during an over-the-air (OTA) eSIM update procedure. As described in FIG. 3 and paragraph [0029], when the eSIM update process proceeds, the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device communicates with the baseband component 110 to establish a cellular wireless connection responsive to a request from the eUICC 108 (steps 308-310). Paragraph [0029] expressly states that, in some embodiments, the processor causes the baseband component to awake from a power-reduced state in order to establish the cellular wireless connection. This disclosure demonstrates that, during execution of the OTA update procedure, the radio modem is affirmatively controlled to remain active and not in a power-save mode so that the secure data connection and update signaling can be performed.
Further, Vasudevan teaches that entry into a reduced power state occurs only after completion of the eSIM update process. Specifically, paragraph [0029] states that when the processor determines that the eSIM update process has succeeded (steps 318-320), the processor can cause one or more modules of the secondary wireless device, including the baseband component, to bring down the cellular data connection and subsequently enter a reduced power state. Thus, Vasudevan discloses that the radio modem remains active during the update procedure and is allowed to enter a power-reduced state only after successful completion of the update.
Applicant's distinction between a message that “requests” versus one that “instructs” is not persuasive. Vasudevan discloses functional control by the processor over the baseband component, including waking the baseband from a reduced power state to perform the OTA update and subsequently causing the baseband to enter a reduced power state after completion. Such control inherently requires signaling sufficient to prevent entry into a power-save mode during the update and to permit entry into a power-save mode upon completion, regardless of the terminology used.
Accordingly, Vasudevan teaches or at least reasonably suggests the claimed subject matter, and the rejection of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vasudevan et al. (US 20180352425 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Vasudevan teaches a method for controlling a power-save mode of a radio modem of a cellular communication system (eSIM updates procedures of Fig. 3), the method comprising:
triggering, in a universal integrated circuit card (EUICC 108) of the cellular communication system (system of Fig. 3), an over-the-air update procedure upon receiving a first message via an interface between the universal integrated circuit card and the radio modem (a processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 initiates a process to check for updates for eSIMs of the eUICC 108 of the secondary wireless device 302. In some embodiments, the eSIM update process can be initiated based on a user triggered action, such as an input to the secondary wireless device… the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 communicates with a baseband component 110 to establish a cellular wireless connection to the cellular wireless network, [0029] and The secure data connection can be established between the eUICC of the secondary wireless device as a relayed connection through the primary wireless device, including an OTA cellular wireless connection, [0023]);
in response to said triggering, transmitting by the universal integrated circuit card over the interface to the radio modem, a second message instructing the radio modem to refrain from entering the power-save mode (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to awake from a power reduced state and establish the cellular wireless connection with the cellular wireless network, [0029]);
receiving, by the universal integrated circuit card during the over-the-air update procedure, data of the over-the-air update procedure from an over-the-air update platform via the radio modem and via the interface (the network provisioning server 116 responds to the eSIM update request with a response that includes an eSIM update for the eSIM 208 of the eUICC 108 of the secondary wireless device 302. In some embodiments, the requests and responses for the eSIM update includes multiple messages communicated between the eUICC and the network provisioning server 116 to obtain/retrieve the eSIM update, [0029]); and
upon completing the over-the-air update procedure, indicating allowance of the radio modem to enter the power-save mode (When the eSIM update process succeeds, at 320, the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 can cause one or more modules of the secondary wireless device to enter a power reduced state…the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to bring down the cellular data connection and subsequently enter a reduced power state, when the eSIM update process successfully completed, [0029]).
Regarding claim 2, Vasudevan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second message is a response to the first message and dedicated to explicitly command the radio modem to disable the power-save mode (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to awake from a power reduced state and establish the cellular wireless connection with the cellular wireless network, [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, Vasudevan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second message instructing the radio modem to open a bearer-independent protocol channel (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 communicates with a baseband component 110 to establish a cellular wireless connection to the cellular wireless network, [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, Vasudevan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a bearer-independent protocol channel is opened between the universal integrated circuit card and the radio modem upon triggering the over-the-air update procedure (At 310, the processor 104 establishes a secure data connection between the network provisioning server 116 and the eUICC 108 of the secondary wireless device 302 using a cellular wireless connection via the cellular wireless network. After the secure data connection is established, at 312, the eUICC 108 communicates with the network provisioning server 116 to request an eSIM update, [0029]), wherein the bearer- independent protocol channel is closed upon completing the over-the-air update procedure (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to bring down the cellular data connection and subsequently enter a reduced power state, when the eSIM update process successfully completed, [0029]), wherein said opening the bearer-independent protocol channel comprises transmission of the second message, and wherein said closing the bearer-independent protocol channel comprises said indicating the allowance of the radio modem to enter the power-save mode (the processor 104 determines whether the eSIM update process was successful based at least in part on the message from status message received from the eUICC 108. When the eSIM update process succeeds, at 320, the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 can cause one or more modules of the secondary wireless device to enter a power reduced state, [0029]).
Regarding claim 5, Vasudevan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first message is a message of a short message service (the cellular wireless network contacting the secondary wireless device using a short message service, [0021]).
Regarding claim 6, Vasudevan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed by a subscriber identification module application executed on the universal integrated circuit card (EUICC 108 of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Vasudevan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the radio modem delivers the instruction to refrain from entering the power-save mode to an application processor controlling the power-save mode of the radio modem (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to awake from a power reduced state and establish the cellular wireless connection with the cellular wireless network, [0029]).
Regarding claim 8, Vasudevan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the instruction to refrain from entering the power-save mode overrules a command from an application processor to the radio modem to enter the power-save mode (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to awake from a power reduced state and establish the cellular wireless connection with the cellular wireless network, [0029]).
Regarding claim 9, Vasudevan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the indication of the allowance requests the radio modem to close a bearer-independent protocol channel (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 can cause one or more modules of the secondary wireless device to enter a power reduced state. In some embodiments, the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to bring down the cellular data connection, [0029]).
Regarding claim 10, Vasudevan teaches a universal integrated circuit card (EUICC 108 of Fig. 3) of a cellular communication system, comprising at least one processor (processor 104) and at least one memory (EUICC 108) storing at least one computer program application comprising computer program instructions for performing:
triggering an over-the-air update procedure upon receiving a first message via an interface between the universal integrated circuit card and a radio modem (a processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 initiates a process to check for updates for eSIMs of the eUICC 108 of the secondary wireless device 302. In some embodiments, the eSIM update process can be initiated based on a user triggered action, such as an input to the secondary wireless device… the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 communicates with a baseband component 110 to establish a cellular wireless connection to the cellular wireless network, [0029] and The secure data connection can be established between the eUICC of the secondary wireless device as a relayed connection through the primary wireless device, including an OTA cellular wireless connection, [0023]);
in response to said triggering, transmitting over the interface to the radio modem a second message instructing the radio modem to refrain from entering the power-save mode (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to awake from a power reduced state and establish the cellular wireless connection with the cellular wireless network, [0029]);
receiving, during the over-the-air update procedure, data of the over-the- air update procedure from an over-the-air update platform via the radio modem and via the interface (the network provisioning server 116 responds to the eSIM update request with a response that includes an eSIM update for the eSIM 208 of the eUICC 108 of the secondary wireless device 302. In some embodiments, the requests and responses for the eSIM update includes multiple messages communicated between the eUICC and the network provisioning server 116 to obtain/retrieve the eSIM update, [0029]); and
upon completing the over-the-air update procedure, indicating allowance of the radio modem to enter the power-save mode (When the eSIM update process succeeds, at 320, the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 can cause one or more modules of the secondary wireless device to enter a power reduced state…the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to bring down the cellular data connection and subsequently enter a reduced power state, when the eSIM update process successfully completed, [0029]).
Regarding claim 11, Vasudevan teaches a radio modem of a cellular communication system, comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing at least one computer program application comprising computer program instructions for performing:
delivering a first message to a universal integrated circuit card via an interface between the universal integrated circuit card and the radio modem (system of Fig. 3), an over-the-air update procedure upon receiving a first message via an interface between the universal integrated circuit card and the radio modem (a processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 initiates a process to check for updates for eSIMs of the eUICC 108 of the secondary wireless device 302. In some embodiments, the eSIM update process can be initiated based on a user triggered action, such as an input to the secondary wireless device… the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 communicates with a baseband component 110 to establish a cellular wireless connection to the cellular wireless network, [0029] and The secure data connection can be established between the eUICC of the secondary wireless device as a relayed connection through the primary wireless device, including an OTA cellular wireless connection, [0023]);
after delivering the first message, receiving over the interface from the universal integrated circuit card a second message instructing the radio modem to refrain from entering the power-save mode (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to awake from a power reduced state and establish the cellular wireless connection with the cellular wireless network, [0029]);
in response to the second message, performing at least one action for disabling a power-save mode of the radio modem (the processor 104 establishes a secure data connection between the network provisioning server 116 and the eUICC 108 of the secondary wireless device 302 using a cellular wireless connection via the cellular wireless network, [0029]);
delivering data of an over-the-air update procedure from an over-the-air update platform to the universal integrated circuit card via the interface (the network provisioning server 116 responds to the eSIM update request with a response that includes an eSIM update for the eSIM 208 of the eUICC 108 of the secondary wireless device 302. In some embodiments, the requests and responses for the eSIM update includes multiple messages communicated between the eUICC and the network provisioning server 116 to obtain/retrieve the eSIM update, [0029]); and
upon receiving an indication of allowance of the radio modem to enter the power-save mode, performing at least one action for enabling the power-save mode (When the eSIM update process succeeds, at 320, the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 can cause one or more modules of the secondary wireless device to enter a power reduced state…the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to bring down the cellular data connection and subsequently enter a reduced power state, when the eSIM update process successfully completed, [0029]).
Regarding claim 12, Vasudevan teaches the radio modem of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor and the at least one memory storing the at least one computer program application comprising the computer program instructions are configured to perform the at least one action for disabling a power-save mode of the radio modem by at least indicating said disabling to an application processor (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to awake from a power reduced state and establish the cellular wireless connection with the cellular wireless network, [0029]), and to perform the at least one action for enabling the power-save mode of the radio modem by at least indicating said enabling to the application processor (When the eSIM update process succeeds, at 320, the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 can cause one or more modules of the secondary wireless device to enter a power reduced state…the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to bring down the cellular data connection and subsequently enter a reduced power state, when the eSIM update process successfully completed, [0029]).
Regarding claim 13, Vasudevan teaches a terminal device of a cellular communication system (secondary wireless device 302 of Fig. 3), comprising: a universal integrated circuit card (EUICC 108) of a cellular communication system, comprising at least one processor (processor 104) and at least one memory (EUICC 108) storing at least one computer program application comprising computer program instructions for performing:
triggering an over-the-air update procedure upon receiving a first message via an interface between the universal integrated circuit card and a radio modem (a processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 initiates a process to check for updates for eSIMs of the eUICC 108 of the secondary wireless device 302. In some embodiments, the eSIM update process can be initiated based on a user triggered action, such as an input to the secondary wireless device… the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 communicates with a baseband component 110 to establish a cellular wireless connection to the cellular wireless network, [0029] and The secure data connection can be established between the eUICC of the secondary wireless device as a relayed connection through the primary wireless device, including an OTA cellular wireless connection, [0023]);
in response to said triggering, transmitting over the interface to the radio modem a second message instructing the radio modem to refrain from entering the power-save mode (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to awake from a power reduced state and establish the cellular wireless connection with the cellular wireless network, [0029]);
receiving, during the over-the-air update procedure, data of the over- the-air update procedure from an over-the-air update platform via the radio modem and via the interface (the network provisioning server 116 responds to the eSIM update request with a response that includes an eSIM update for the eSIM 208 of the eUICC 108 of the secondary wireless device 302. In some embodiments, the requests and responses for the eSIM update includes multiple messages communicated between the eUICC and the network provisioning server 116 to obtain/retrieve the eSIM update, [0029]); and
upon completing the over-the-air update procedure, indicating allowance of the radio modem to enter the power-save mode (When the eSIM update process succeeds, at 320, the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 can cause one or more modules of the secondary wireless device to enter a power reduced state…the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to bring down the cellular data connection and subsequently enter a reduced power state, when the eSIM update process successfully completed, [0029]); and
a radio modem (baseband 110 of Fig. 2) of a cellular communication system, comprising at least one processor (baseband OS 214) and at least one memory (baseband manager 216) storing at least one computer program application comprising computer program instructions for performing:
delivering a first message to a universal integrated circuit card via an interface between the universal integrated circuit card and the radio modem (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 communicates with a baseband component 110 to establish a cellular wireless connection to the cellular wireless network. In some embodiments, the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to awake from a power reduced state and establish the cellular wireless connection with the cellular wireless network, [0029]);
after delivering the first message, receiving over the interface from the universal integrated circuit card a second message instructing the radio modem to refrain from entering the power-save mode (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to awake from a power reduced state and establish the cellular wireless connection with the cellular wireless network, [0029]);
in response to the second message, performing at least one action for disabling a power-save mode of the radio modem (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to awake from a power reduced state and establish the cellular wireless connection with the cellular wireless network, [0029]);
delivering data of an over-the-air update procedure from an over- the-air update platform to the universal integrated circuit card via the interface (the network provisioning server 116 responds to the eSIM update request with a response that includes an eSIM update for the eSIM 208 of the eUICC 108 of the secondary wireless device 302. In some embodiments, the requests and responses for the eSIM update includes multiple messages communicated between the eUICC and the network provisioning server 116 to obtain/retrieve the eSIM update, [0029]); and
upon receiving an indication of allowance of the radio modem to enter the power-save mode, performing at least one action for enabling the power-save mode (When the eSIM update process succeeds, at 320, the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 can cause one or more modules of the secondary wireless device to enter a power reduced state…the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to bring down the cellular data connection and subsequently enter a reduced power state, when the eSIM update process successfully completed, [0029]).
Regarding claim 14, Vasudevan teaches a non-transitory computer program product embodied on a distribution medium readable by a computer and comprising computer program instructions that, when executed by the computer, cause the computer to carry out a computer process comprising:
triggering an over-the-air update procedure upon receiving a first message via an interface between the universal integrated circuit card and a radio modem ((a processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 initiates a process to check for updates for eSIMs of the eUICC 108 of the secondary wireless device 302. In some embodiments, the eSIM update process can be initiated based on a user triggered action, such as an input to the secondary wireless device… the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 communicates with a baseband component 110 to establish a cellular wireless connection to the cellular wireless network, [0029] and The secure data connection can be established between the eUICC of the secondary wireless device as a relayed connection through the primary wireless device, including an OTA cellular wireless connection, [0023]);
in response to said triggering, transmitting over the interface to the radio modem a second message instructing the radio modem to refrain from entering the power-save mode (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to awake from a power reduced state and establish the cellular wireless connection with the cellular wireless network, [0029]); receiving, during the over-the-air update procedure, data of the over-the- air update procedure from an over-the-air update platform via the radio modem and via the interface (the network provisioning server 116 responds to the eSIM update request with a response that includes an eSIM update for the eSIM 208 of the eUICC 108 of the secondary wireless device 302. In some embodiments, the requests and responses for the eSIM update includes multiple messages communicated between the eUICC and the network provisioning server 116 to obtain/retrieve the eSIM update, [0029]); and upon completing the over-the-air update procedure, indicating allowance of the radio modem to enter the power-save mode (When the eSIM update process succeeds, at 320, the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 can cause one or more modules of the secondary wireless device to enter a power reduced state…the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to bring down the cellular data connection and subsequently enter a reduced power state, when the eSIM update process successfully completed, [0029]).
Regarding claim 15, Vasudevan teaches a non-transitory computer program product embodied on a distribution medium readable by a computer and comprising computer program instructions that, when executed by the computer, cause the computer to carry out a computer process comprising:
delivering a first message to a universal integrated circuit card via an interface between the universal integrated circuit card and the radio modem (a processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 initiates a process to check for updates for eSIMs of the eUICC 108 of the secondary wireless device 302. In some embodiments, the eSIM update process can be initiated based on a user triggered action, such as an input to the secondary wireless device… the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 communicates with a baseband component 110 to establish a cellular wireless connection to the cellular wireless network, [0029] and The secure data connection can be established between the eUICC of the secondary wireless device as a relayed connection through the primary wireless device, including an OTA cellular wireless connection, [0023]);
after delivering the first message, receiving over the interface from the universal integrated circuit card a second message instructing the radio modem to refrain from entering the power-save mode (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to awake from a power reduced state and establish the cellular wireless connection with the cellular wireless network, [0029]);
in response to the second message, performing at least one action for disabling a power-save mode of the radio modem (the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to awake from a power reduced state and establish the cellular wireless connection with the cellular wireless network, [0029]);
delivering data of an over-the-air update procedure from an over-the-air update platform to the universal integrated circuit card via the interface (the network provisioning server 116 responds to the eSIM update request with a response that includes an eSIM update for the eSIM 208 of the eUICC 108 of the secondary wireless device 302. In some embodiments, the requests and responses for the eSIM update includes multiple messages communicated between the eUICC and the network provisioning server 116 to obtain/retrieve the eSIM update, [0029]); and
upon receiving an indication of allowance of the radio modem to enter the power-save mode, performing at least one action for enabling the power-save mode (When the eSIM update process succeeds, at 320, the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 can cause one or more modules of the secondary wireless device to enter a power reduced state…the processor 104 of the secondary wireless device 302 causes the baseband component 110 to bring down the cellular data connection and subsequently enter a reduced power state, when the eSIM update process successfully completed, [0029]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641