Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Each of claims 26 and 27 recites “sash frame”. As known in the art, sash frame is a particular structure. The specification as filed mentions only fenestration frame and sash, but not sash frame. As such, sash frame is not supported by the specification as filed.
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each of claims 26 and 27 recites “sash frame”. In particular, each of the claims recite that the “glazing unit frame is a sash frame that supports the glazing unit frame to define a sash of the fenestration unit”. Such a recursive recitation is indefinite, because Applicant defined the glazing unit to be the sash frame, which is called “item X” for purpose of discussion. The recitation is thus parsed as the item X is an item X that supports the item X to define a sash. This recursive recitation is thus wholly incomprehensible, and for purpose of prior art rejection, only the presence of a sash is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
All prior art rejections below are as evidenced by NPL by Karazi et al, which discloses that soda lime glass is the most popular glass (composition) based on the soda-lime silicate system, wherein typical composition of soda lime glass is by definition free of B2O3. (Karazi § 5.1).
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over EP 3798402 A1 (referenced below using its machine translation, “EP ‘402”, both of record) per se or alternatively further evidenced by or in view of WO 2018/020191 A1 (referenced below using its machine translation, “WO ‘191”).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over EP 3798402 A1 (referenced below using its machine translation, “EP ‘402”, both of record) in view of WO 2018/020191 A1 (referenced below using its machine translation, “WO ‘191”).
Considering claims 1, 3, 4, and 8, EP ‘402 discloses an insulated glazing unit (IGU) used in a window (viz. fenestration unit), the IGU having first and second glass panes forming opposing exterior surfaces of the IGU and at least a middle glass pane located between the first and second exterior glass panes, wherein there is a sealed air gap between both the first glass pane and the middle glass pane and another sealed air gap between the second glass pane and the middle glass pane. (EP ‘402 ¶¶ 0021-0024 and 0042; and Figs. 2, reproduced infra). EP ‘402 is analogous art, for it is directed to the same field of endeavor as that of the instant application (IGUs).
EP ‘402 discloses that all three glass panes are made of soda lime glass (viz. soda lime silicate glass), with the middle glass pane 1) having a thickness less than that of each of the first and second exterior glass panes and 2) having a perimeter less than that of each of the first and second exterior glass panes. (Id. ¶¶ 0021-0022 and 0042). Specifically, the middle pane has thickness of 0.5 mm to 8 mm. (Id. ¶ 0022). This range overlaps the claimed range of 0.2 to 1.2 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. (See In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379; MPEP § 2144.05).
As shown in Fig. 2 of the reference, each spacer has respective base, respective ends thereof connected to respective spacer sidewalls attached to respective primary sealants 10. In particular, sidewalls of spacer 6.1 are adhered to the first glass pane and the middle glass pane via respective sealants, and sidewalls of spacer 6.2 are adhered to the second glass pane and the middle glass pane via respective sealants. In both cases, the sealants do not extend peripherally beyond the respective bases, leaving the exterior peripheral surfaces of the bases free of the respective primary sealants.
EP ‘402 expressly states that triple-paned IGUs have been incorporated into a window by attaching minor surfaces of an IGU to a window frame (viz. a glazing unit frame). (EP ‘402 ¶¶ 0003, 0004, and 0041; and Fig. 1). However, the reference notes that in traditional designs, the minor surface 23 of the central pane of the IGU contacts the window frame and is thus disadvantageous. (Id. ¶¶ 0003, 0004, and 0041) Furthermore, the reference expressly states that its central pane has a smaller longitudinal dimension as to overcome the drawbacks associated with conventional designs. (Id. ¶ 0005). It is thus clear that given that one major drawback with conventional design is due to stress generated when the central pane directly contacts a window frame, and that the inventive design expressly prevents such direct contact, such an improvement is advantageous when the inventive triple-paned IGU of EP ‘402 is surrounded by a window frame so that it can form a window. EP ‘402 thus renders obvious claims 1, 3, 4, and 8.
Furthermore, Saint Gobain Glass, the Applicant of EP ‘402, expressly shows how such a frame looks like for a triple-paned IGU. (WO ‘191 pg. 4 ¶ 1 to pg. 5 ¶ 5 and pg. 8 ¶ 2; and Figs. 1, 2, and 10, with Fig. 10 reproduced infra). WO ‘191 thus provides further evidence that framing of a triple-paned IGU in a window frame to construct a window is well-known, and as such, viewed in the context of EP ‘402, EP ‘402 reads on claims 1, 3, 4, and 8. Alternatively, it would have been obvious, to a person of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention, to have used the sash (viz. window frame) of WO ‘191 to frame the IGU of EP ‘402 for the advantages mentioned in WO ‘191. (Id. pg. 2 ¶ 2).
Considering claim 2, EP ‘402 suggests that the two exterior panes can have respective thicknesses that are the same. (EP ‘402 ¶¶ 0022 and 0042).
Considering claim 6, EP ‘402 further discloses the possibility of two middle panes, each of which 1) having a respective thickness less than that of each of the first and second exterior glass panes and 2) having a respective perimeter less than that of each of the first and second exterior glass panes. (Id. ¶ 0027).
Considering claim 7, EP ‘402 discloses the provision of metallic coatings as part of each spacer. (Id. ¶ 0023).
Considering claim 11, as the primary sealants located on the respective sidewalls arms of the spacer are not differentiated, and as the figures identify both as element “10”, it is clear that the two sealants are of the same type of material.
Considering claim 27, the window frame structure in WO ‘191 includes both a sash frame 17 and a sash 12. (WO ‘191 pg. 5 ¶ 1 and Fig. 1).
Claims 7 and 9; and claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over EP 3798402 A1 (referenced below using its machine translation, “EP ‘402”) and optionally over WO 2018/020191 A1 (referenced below using its machine translation, “WO ‘191”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 2021/259676 A1 (referenced below using its English-language counterpart publication U.S. 2023/0175314 A1, “Roes”).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over EP 3798402 A1 (referenced below using its machine translation, “EP ‘402”, both of record) in view of WO 2018/020191 A1 (referenced below using its machine translation, “WO ‘191”) and further in view of WO 2021/259676 A1 (referenced below using its English-language counterpart publication U.S. 2023/0175314 A1, “Roes”).
The following is an alternate rejection of claim 7.
Considering claims 7 and 9, EP ‘402 differs from the claimed invention, as it is silent re: 1) the provision of a fill opening and 2) the provision of body of the spacer being made of metal. However, such a spacer is known in the art of IGUs, with one example of which taught in Roes. (Roes ¶¶ 0100-0102 and Fig 3, reproduced infra).
As shown in Fig. 3 of Roes and as expressly mentioned in the reference, the sealants (items 6) are located only on respective pane-contacting sides of the spacer, and these sealants are not present on an edge of the spacer that defines a periphery of the overall IGU. Furthermore, the reference clearly teaches the presence of passage 18.1 that enables the passage of gas therethrough. (Id. ¶ 0102 and Fig. 3).
Roes also teaches that its spacer is a multicomponent spacer having a reinforcing profile 5.2, the reinforcing profile having the topography recited in various claims (including a base portion and arms extending from respective opposing ends of the base portion) and made of a metallic material such as aluminum or stainless steel. (Id. ¶ 0041). The combination of items 5.1 and 5.2 or item 5.2 per se reads on the claimed spacer.
It would have been obvious, to a person of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention, to have utilized the IGU spacer taught in Roes, as this spacer saves space and is effective at stiffening the edge region of an IGU. (Id. ¶ 0011). Furthermore or alternatively, given that the filling of insulating gases (e.g. noble gases) is essential to the operation of an IGU, and given that Roes teaches a spacer assembly that allows for the efficient filing of such gases, it would have been obvious, to a person of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention, to have utilized the spacer of Roes in the IGU of EP ‘402.
EP ‘402 in view of Roes renders obvious claims 7 and 9.
Considering claims 21-25, claim 21 combines the recitations of claims 1, 4, and 9. As discussed in ¶¶ 7-9 and 17-20 above, the combination of EP ‘402 and Roes renders obvious all limitations recited. Claims 22-25 respectively recite limitations of claims 2, 3, 6, and 11, and EP ‘402 and Roes renders obvious all limitations recited in these claims as well.
Considering claim 26, the window frame structure in WO ‘191 includes both a sash frame 17 and a sash 12. (WO ‘191 pg. 5 ¶ 1 and Fig. 1).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3798402 A1 (referenced below using its machine translation, “EP ‘402”) and optionally over WO 2018/020191 A1 (referenced below using its machine translation, “WO ‘191”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. 2016/0002098 A1 (“Sternchuss”).
Considering claims 13-15, EP ‘402 differs from the invention of claims 13-15, as although it broadly discloses application of coatings onto any of the glass panes of its IGU, it does not disclose the specific coatings as required.
However, each of the coatings recited in claims 13-15 is at least separately known in the art of IGUs. Specifically, Sternchuss teaches a triple-paned IGU having low-e coatings based on ITO on both exterior surfaces of the IGU (which maps to the claimed first and second outer surfaces) and at least one low emissivity coating on at least two (and possibly three) interior surfaces of the IGU. (Sternchuss ¶¶ 0092-0093). It would have been obvious, to a person of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention, to have applied the coatings taught in Sternchuss onto the glass panes in the IGU of EP ‘402, for various benefits pertaining to lower thermal transmission. (Id. ¶ 0008).
With no value assigned to scratch resistance, the ITO-based low-e coating of Sternchuss is considered to possess some amount of scratch resistance, in particular as it has a crystalline titanium oxide outermost layer. (Id. ¶¶ 0049-0052 and 0067-0074). This reads on claim 14.
Furthermore, as Sternchuss teaches presence of low-e coatings on both surfaces 2 and 5 (mapping onto the first and second inner surfaces of claim 15). (Id. ¶ 0093). Thus, limitation of claim 15 is met.
Lastly, Sternchuss teaches that face 3 of an IGU may be coated with a low-e coating. (Id. ¶ 0093). With the ITO-based low-e coating mentioned in Sternchuss having tin oxide, and with silver-based low-e coating utilizing dielectric layers (wherein dielectric layer based on tin oxide is a well-known material), either reads on claim 13.
Response to Arguments
In view of amendments to the claims, all previously instated rejections and objections have been withdrawn.
New lines of rejections have been instated above. It is noted that contrary to Applicant’s allegations, EP ‘402 does indeed disclose a window frame (reading on glazing unit frame).
Concluding Remarks
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z. Jim Yang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781