DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-14, 16-18, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As amended, Applicant has added the limitation “If Y is CR’R”, then each of X1 to X6 is C;” to independent claims 1, 17 and 20. This if/then proviso is not simply carving out one single compound or a readily envisaged negative limitation but is instead a complex exclusion based on specific combinations of variables. While MPEP 2163.05(i) allows negative limitations to overcome the prior art, an Applicant cannot simply add a negative limitation that is created through the picking and choosing from multiple variable selections to create a sub-genus that wasn’t originally identified. The originally filed disclosure does not provide any direction that would lead a person having ordinary skill in the art to the specific selections of the variables in question which lead to the compounds to be excluded. The specific conditions which lead to the proviso is not disclosed in any reasonable manner to suggest that Applicant had possession of such an exclusion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-14 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang (EP 3792270) (Hwang).
In reference to claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-14 and 21, Hwang teaches, among others, compounds 82 or 707 as shown below (Hwang p 73) that read on the instant claims.
For Claim 1: Reads on the claimed compound wherein m is 1, n is 2, two RB are isopropyl and the rest are hydrogen, R* is hydrogen, RA is hydrogen, RD is hydrogen, RC is hydrogen, E is pyridine and one of RE is an alkyl, another is a geryml and alkyl group or heteroalkyl and the others are hydrogen, X1 to X10 are each C, and wherein condition 2 is true.
For Claim 2: Reads on heteroalkyl, alkyl or hydrogen.
For Claim 3: Reads on one of X1 to X6 is N.
For Claim 4: Reads on pyridine.
For Claim 5: Reads on O.
For Claim 7: Reads on wherein RB has 3 aliphatic carbon atoms and RE has four.
For Claim 8: Reads on alkyl ortho.
For Claim 10: Reads on the first structure.
For Claim 11: Reads on the last structure.
For Claim 13: Reads on the first structure.
For Claim 14: Reads on row 2 column 5.
For Claim 21: Reads on Y is O.
In reference to claim 22, Hwang teaches compound 682 as shown below that reads on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 9 and 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (EP 3792270) (Hwang).
In reference to claims 6 and 9, Hwang teaches the compound as described above for claim 1. Hwang further teaches that these materials can include additional substituents on the benzimidazole group (Hwang [0025] to [0076]) including the claimed groups.
Hwang discloses the that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein benzimidazole groups have additional substituents. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Hwang are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Hwang and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
In reference to claims 17-18 and 20, Hwang teaches the compound as describe ed above for claim 1 and further teaches its use in an organic electroluminescent device or consumer product comprising an anode, cathode and organic layer comprising the compound and a host compound including the claimed materials (Hwang [0116] to [0120]; [0151]; [0171]).
Given that Hwang discloses the device structure that encompasses the presently claimed devices, including an organic electroluminescent device or consumer product comprising an anode, cathode and organic layer comprising the compound and a host compound including the claimed materials, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the device configuration, which is both disclosed by Hwang and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786