DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the numbering of views is incorrect. According to 37 C.F.R. 1.84(u) “View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation “FIG.”". Currently, the view numbers are preceded by the word "FIGURE". Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 11-13 and 17-20 of copending Application No. 17/844,331. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant and copending claims are drawn to overlapping subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 recites the limitation wherein each of X1 to X6 is C or wherein at least one of X1 to X6 is N. This does not appear to limit the claim 1 from which it depends. Claim 15 recites specific ligand LB that are not within the scope of claim 1. Claim 1 requires that and at least one RE substituent comprises at least two aliphatic carbon atoms. Many of the structures recited in claim 15 do not meet this limitation. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xia (US 2015/0090981) (Xia).
In reference to claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-11 and 13-15, Xia teaches a compound 8079 that is Ir(La)1(Lb)2 wherein La and Lb are the ligands LA242 and LB18 as shown below (Xia [0056] [0077] [0080] [0081]).
For Claim 1: Reads on the claimed compound wherein m is 1, n is 2, two RB are isopropyl and the rest are hydrogen, R* is hydrogen, RA is hydrogen, RD is hydrogen, RC is a combination of alkyl and deuterium or hydrogen, E is pyridine and one of RE is an alkyl and the other are hydrogen, X1 is N and X2 to X10 are each C, and wherein condition 2 is true.
For Claim 2: Reads on hydrogen, alkyl or deuterated alkyl.
For Claim 3: Reads on one of X1 to X6 is N.
For Claim 4: Reads on pyridine.
For Claim 5: Reads on CR’R”.
For Claim 7: Reads on wherein RB has 3 aliphatic carbon atoms and RE has three.
For Claim 8: Reads on alkyl ortho.
For Claim 10: Reads on the first structure.
For Claim 11: Reads on the last structure.
For Claim 13: Reads on the first structure.
For Claim 14: Reads on row 2 column 5.
For Claim 15: Reads on LB121.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 9 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia (US 2015/0090981) (Xia).
In reference to claims 6 and 9, Xia teaches the compound as described above for claim 1. Xia further teaches that these materials can include additional substituents on the benzimidazole group (Xia [0056 to [0070]) including the claimed groups.
Xia discloses the that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein benzimidazole groups have additional substituents. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Xia are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Xia and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
In reference to claims 17-20, Xia teaches the compound as describe ed above for claim 1 and further teaches its use in an organic electroluminescent device or consumer product comprising an anode, cathode and organic layer comprising the compound and a host compound including the claimed materials (Xia [0026] [0085]).
Given that Xia discloses the device structure that encompasses the presently claimed devices, including an organic electroluminescent device or consumer product comprising an anode, cathode and organic layer comprising the compound and a host compound including the claimed materials, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the device configuration, which is both disclosed by Xia and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786