DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The Amendment filed 31 December, 2025 (herein after “the Amendment”) has been entered and considered. Claims 1, 4, and 14-15 have been amended. Claims 2-3, 5, and 12 have been cancelled. Claims 1-16, all the claims pending in the application, remain rejected.
Response to Amendment
2. Prior Art Rejections
On page 8 of the Amendment, the Applicant contends that Hajmohammadi does not disclose the configuration required by the amended claims. In particular, the Applicant contends that Hajmohammadi does not disclose displaying a plurality of virtual viewpoint images corresponding to a plurality of different viewpoints. Applicant’s arguments are with respect to the amended claims is moot in view on new grounds of rejection set forth below, and the added features are addressed in the rejection below..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 4, 6-11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 11074452B1: Hajmohammadi (herein after “Hajmohammadi”) in view of Hawk-eye Innovations Smart Replay, (herein after “Hawk-eye”).
Regarding claim 1, An information processing apparatus comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions (Hajmohammadi, Fig. 1, Memory); and
one or more processors (Hajmohammadi, Fig. 1, Processor) executing the instructions to:
acquire viewpoint information representing a position of a virtual viewpoint and a line- of-sight direction from the virtual viewpoint and being used for generating a virtual viewpoint image based on a plurality of captured images obtained by imaging performed by a plurality of imaging apparatuses is disclosed by Hajmohammadi in P[0033]: “It will be understood that virtual vantage points such as virtual vantage point 404 may be positioned at any location with respect to a scene (e.g., inside or outside the scene) and oriented in any manner as may serve a particular implementation.” Furthermore, Hajmohammadi discloses generating a virtual viewpoint image in Fig. 6, and also discloses multiple imaging apparatuses in P[0024]: “the scene may be a real-world scene at which one or more real-world capture devices (e.g., video cameras, depth capture devices, etc.) operate to capture imagery of the scene … the datasets may include color data and/or depth data captured by the capture devices.”
output a plurality of pieces of acquired viewpoint information (P[0024]: “the datasets may include color data and/or depth data captured by the capture devices.”) to a first generation unit (Fig. 9, Elements: [502-2, 506-2]) configured to generate a plurality of virtual viewpoint images corresponding to a condition of first quality based on viewpoint information (Fig. 6, Element: [612]), wherein the plurality of virtual viewpoint images are displayed simultaneously on a display unit (Fig. 7, Elements: [702, 704]),
output a piece of viewpoint information included in the plurality of pieces of viewpoint information and corresponding to the virtual viewpoint image selected by a user from among the plurality of virtual viewpoint images (Hajmohammadi, P[0072]: “Each media player device 306 may be associated with a respective user 308 and may be configured to render, based on representations 312 (e.g., tiled representations that include color and depth representations of various objects from perspectives of different virtual vantage points in a scene), each different object as viewed from a viewpoint within the scene that is dynamically selected by the user 308.”) displayed on the display unit to a second generation unit (Fig. 9, Elements: [502-1, 506-1]) configured to generate a virtual viewpoint image corresponding to a condition of second quality higher than the first quality based on the viewpoint information (Fig. 9, Elements: [502-1, 506-1]), wherein the second generation unit is different from the first generation unit.
Hajmohammadi does not explicitly disclose utilizing Multiview to view several images taken from different vantage points on the same display. That is, Hajmohammadi does not explicitly disclose “the plurality of pieces of acquired viewpoint information is viewpoint information that respectively indicate different positions of virtual viewpoints and different line-of-sight directions from virtual viewpoints, and each of the plurality of virtual viewpoint images corresponds to corresponding one of the plurality of pieces of acquired viewpoint information”.
However, Hawk-eye discloses the use of Multiview for sportscasting for officials, coaches, and viewers, see Fig. 2 which shows multiple images of different vantage points of a sporting game on a single display.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hajmohammadi to display multiple images of a sportscast on a single screen that show different viewing angles, as taught by Hawk-Eye, to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. It is predictable that the proposed modification would have provided the benefit of allowing a user to view multiple instances of a game without switching between screens/displays, saving the user time by eliminating switching.
Regarding claim 4, The information processing apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the same apparatus is an apparatus configured to switch (P[0058]: “System 100 may be configured to implement such dynamic quality level changes to tiled representations of objects as the objects move around the scene.”), according to a timing (P[0058]: “Time 1 has been determined (e.g., at Time 2) system 100 may detect that the first distance between object 810-1 and virtual vantage point 808-1 has increased.”) of generating the virtual viewpoint image, between generating a virtual viewpoint image based on the condition of the first quality and generating a virtual viewpoint image based on the condition of the second quality is disclosed by Hajmohammadi in P[0058]: “System 100 may be configured to implement such dynamic quality level changes to tiled representations of objects as the objects move around the scene.”
Regarding claim 6, wherein the viewpoint information includes time information representing a time related to a virtual viewpoint image, and the one or more processors further execute the instructions to acquire a plurality of pieces of viewpoint information each including time information representing a synchronized time is disclosed by Hajmohammadi in P[0054]: “For example, a particular object labeled 810-1 is shown to be located within zone 804-1 at a first point in time (Time 1) and is shown to move (as indicated by the dotted arrow) to be located within zone 804-2 at a second point in time (Time 2)”. Therefore, it is disclosed that time information is captured. Furthermore, Hajmohammadi discloses in Fig. 8 that multiple objects may share the same timestamp, making them synchronized.
Regarding claim 7, wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to perform control so as to achieve synchronization of times each represented by a different one of a plurality of pieces of time information each included in a different one of the plurality of pieces of acquired viewpoint information is disclosed by Hajmohammadi in P[0055]: “To generate the tiled representation for virtual vantage point 808-1 at Time 1, system 100 may obtain first and second datasets representative of objects 810-1 and 810-2, respectively, as viewed from virtual vantage point 808-1.”, so only images that are generated at the same time are generated in the tiled representation, as shown in Fig. 7, ensuring the generated images are synchronized in time.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the condition of the first quality and the condition of the second quality each include a condition regarding a resolution (P[0048]: “the tiled representation may be associated with a particular virtual vantage point (e.g., virtual vantage point 404) and may include various surface data representations (e.g., color images, depth data representations, etc.) at various quality levels (e.g., various image resolutions, various point cloud densities, etc.. A multiscale tiled representation, for example, may include data representation 506-1 of Object 1 at the Higher Quality Level and data representation 506-2 of Object 2 at the Lower Quality Level.”) of a generated virtual viewpoint image.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the condition of the first quality includes a condition for generating a virtual viewpoint image with a predetermined resolution, and the condition of the second quality includes a condition for generating a virtual viewpoint image with a resolution higher than the predetermined resolution is disclosed by Hajmohammadi in P[0048]: “A multiscale tiled representation, for example, may include data representation 506-1 of Object 1 at the Higher Quality Level and data representation 506-2 of Object 2 at the Lower Quality Level.”
Regarding claim 10, wherein the condition of the first quality and the condition of the second quality each include a condition of a frame rate of a generated virtual viewpoint image is disclosed by Hajmohammadi in P[0026]: “As another example, the first representation may not be scaled and the second representation may be scaled down (e.g., downsampled in any of the ways described herein) to a lower quality level. As yet another example, the first representation may be scaled up while the second representation is scaled down, or both representations may be scaled up or scaled down to different extents.”, where downsampling increases frame rate and upsampling reduces frame rate, where the frame rate is the rate at which frames are generated.
Regarding claim 11, wherein the condition of the first quality includes a condition for generating a virtual viewpoint image with a predetermined frame rate, and the condition of the second quality includes a condition for generating a virtual viewpoint image with a frame rate higher than the predetermined frame rate is disclosed by Hajmohammadi in P[0026]: “As another example, the first representation may not be scaled and the second representation may be scaled down (e.g., downsampled in any of the ways described herein) to a lower quality level. As yet another example, the first representation may be scaled up while the second representation is scaled down, or both representations may be scaled up or scaled down to different extents.”, where downsampling increases frame rate and upsampling reduces frame rate, where the frame rate is the rate at which frames are generated.
Regarding claim 13, wherein the virtual viewpoint image generated by the second generation unit is a virtual viewpoint image to be distributed is disclosed by Hajmohammadi in Fig. 3, where it shows that the system (100) is connected to multiple media player devices. Furthermore, it is disclosed in P[0028]: “to generate a representation 312 (e.g., a tiled representation such as an atlas sheet, etc.) that may be stored within a data store 314 (e.g., a data storage facility of system 100, a database, etc.) and/or streamed or otherwise transmitted to one or more of media player devices 306.”
Regarding the method of claim 14, An information processing method (P[0012]: “ Methods and systems for generating multiscale data representing objects at different distances from a virtual vantage point are described herein.”) comprising:
The rest of the features of independent claim 14 are recited nearly identically to those recited in claim 1. Claim 14 is rejected for reasons analogous to those discussed above in conjunction with claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program is disclosed by Hajmohammadi in P[0020]: “Memory 102 may be implemented by one or more memory or storage devices, including any memory or storage devices described herein, that are configured to store data in a transitory or non-transitory manner. Instructions 106 may be executed by processor 104 to cause system 100 to perform any of the functionality described herein.”
The rest of the features of independent claim 15 are recited nearly identically to those recited in claim 1. Claim 15 is rejected for reasons analogous to those discussed above in conjunction with claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, wherein the plurality of virtual viewpoint images generated corresponding to the condition of the first quality (Fig. 9) is virtual viewpoint images representing an entirety of image areas (images are not cropped) each corresponding to a different one of a plurality of fields of view of a plurality of virtual viewpoints represented by the plurality of pieces of the acquired viewpoint information (Fig. 8 shows a plurality of image areas with a plurality of virtual viewpoints and objects), and wherein the virtual viewpoint image generated corresponding to the condition of the second quality is a virtual viewpoint image (Fig. 9, Element: [506-2]) representing an entirety of an image area (images are not cropped) corresponding to a field of view of a virtual viewpoint represented by the virtual viewpoint information corresponding to the selected virtual viewpoint image, where the user may select the virtual viewpoint image, (Hajmohammadi, P[0072]: “Each media player device 306 may be associated with a respective user 308 and may be configured to render, based on representations 312 (e.g., tiled representations that include color and depth representations of various objects from perspectives of different virtual vantage points in a scene), each different object as viewed from a viewpoint within the scene that is dynamically selected by the user 308.”)
Conclusion
/TY MITCHELL BEATTY/Examiner, Art Unit 2663
/GREGORY A MORSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2698