Claim Interpretation
The following limitations are interpreted under 112(f), and their corresponding structure is presented.
Generic Placeholder plus functional language
Corresponding Structure from instant specification
Liquid sending unit
[0029] – pump
Sample injection unit
[0039] – hand operated manual injector or an automatic autosampler
Temperature regulating means
[0043] – heater, Peltier device, heat pump
Control means for controlling the temperature regulating means
[0049] - microcomputer
Regarding limitations recited in Claims 9-12 which are directed to a manner of operating disclosed liquid chromatographic apparatus, it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim.
For example, in Claim 9, lines 3-4, “containing threonine, serine, glycine, and alanine” are materials and articles worked upon. In another example, in Claim 9, lines 10-12, “such that column temperature when separating threonine and serine is higher than column temperature when separating glycine and alanine” is a manner of operation.
Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App & Inter. 1987) that states a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to Claim 1, the amended claim recites “wherein the column temperature is actively decreased after elution of threonine and serine to separate glycine and alanine”. It is not clear if the claim is reciting that actively decreasing the column temperature after elution of threonine and serine is the only operation necessary to separate glycine and alanine. Figures 5, 7, and 8 and [0063] of the instant specification show that temperature alone is not sufficient to separate glycine and alanine, but rather a change from high-concentration to low-concentration organic solvent is also required to separate glycine and alanine. As a result, if the claim is reciting that temperature alone can separate glycine and alanine, this would be a new matter rejection under 35 USC 112(a). Applicant may wish to clarify the amended language to e.g., “and separation of glycine and alanine comprises actively decreasing the column temperature after elution of threonine and serine”.
With regard to Claim 9, the amended claim recites “by actively decreasing the column temperature after elution of threonine and serine to separate glycine and alanine”. It is not clear if the claim is reciting that actively decreasing the column temperature after elution of threonine and serine is the only operation necessary to separate glycine and alanine. Figures 5, 7, and 8 and [0063] of the instant specification show that temperature alone is not sufficient to separate glycine and alanine, but rather a change from high-concentration to low-concentration organic solvent is also required to separate glycine and alanine. As a result, if the claim is reciting that temperature alone can separate glycine and alanine, this would be a new matter rejection under 35 USC 112(a). Applicant may wish to clarify the amended language to e.g., “comprising actively decreasing the column temperature after elution of threonine and serine to separate glycine and alanine”.
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
With regard to Claim 2, amended Claim 1 now claims that the column temperature is actively decreased after elution of threonine and serine to separate glycine and alanine. As a result, Claim 1 states that threonine and serine have shorter retention times than glycine and alanine. Furthermore, Claim 1 states that glycine and alanine are eluted by decreasing column temperature after threonine and serine are eluted.
With regard to Claim 10, amended Claim 9 now claims that the column temperature is actively decreased after elution of threonine and serine to separate glycine and alanine. As a result, Claim 9 states that threonine and serine have shorter retention times than glycine and alanine. Furthermore, Claim 9 states that the control means controls the temperature regulating means such that glycine and alanine are eluted by decreasing column temperature after threonine and serine are eluted.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al (“Amino acid analysis using ion-exchange chromatography: a review”) in view of Hamilton (“Ion exchange chromatography of amino acids”) and Baily (“Techniques used in 25 years of quantitative ion exchange chromatography of amino acids”).
With regard to Claims 1 and 2, Singh et al (Singh) discloses that the perfect method for the determination of the amino acid composition of pure protein feeds or biological fluids is still the ion exchange column chromatography (Abstract). Singh discloses a method of analyzing amino acids using a liquid chromatographic apparatus equipped with a cation exchange column (Abstract; Page 759, Column 1, separation of amino acids on sulfonated negatively charged column; at low pH, all amino acids will bear a positive charge (i.e., cation exchange column)).
Singh discloses a process for distributing a sample containing threonine, serine, glycine, and alanine as the amino acids, together with the eluent, to the cation exchange column to separate threonine, serine, glycine, and alanine (Page 758/Ion Exchange Chromatography of Amino Acids, after sample preparation, sodium or lithium buffers (eluent) are prepared for separation of the amino acids by ion exchange chromatography; Page 760, Column 2; Page 761, Column 1, all of threonine, serine, glycine, and alanine are discussed as being amino acids that are separated by the methods).
Singh discloses that the optimum temperature for separating threonine and serine is 37-38°C (Page 760, Column 2). Singh discloses that the temperature affects the separation in two different ways: by changing the pH and by altering the affinity of the amino acids to the ion exchange resin (Page 760, Column 2).
However, Singh is silent to wherein column temperature when separating threonine and serine is higher than a column temperature when separating glycine and alanine, and wherein the column temperature is actively decreased after elution of threonine and serine to separate glycine and alanine (Claim 1), wherein threonine and serine have shorter retention times than glycine and alanine, and glycine and alanine are eluted by decreasing column temperature after threonine and serine are eluted (Claim 2).
In addition to Singh, Hamilton in 1963 disclosed complete separation of threonine, serine, glycine, and alanine on a Dowex 50 (i.e., cation exchange column) at 60°C, with serine and threonine eluted before glycine and alanine (Page 2059). Furthermore, Baily in 1975 disclosed previous experimental complete separation of threonine, serine, glycine, and alanine on a Dowex 50 at 37.5°C, with serine and threonine eluted before glycine and alanine, followed by a temperature gradient up to 75°C and back down to 25°C (Page 362, Figure 2).
Therefore, Singh, Hamilton, and Baily all demonstrate that temperature is a known variable for optimizing the separation of amino acids on a cation exchange column, and that change in temperature yields only predictable results of changing the pH and altering the affinity of the amino acids to the ion exchange resin.
Furthermore, Applicant’s data in Figures 5, 7, and 8 do not show that change in temperature alone resulted in complete separation of alanine and glycine. Finally, Applicant has not identified any other variables for optimizing the separation of these amino acids that were not already known to chromatographers over 60 years ago. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A) cites In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) to state that "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."
As the pH and affinity of the amino acids to the cation exchange resin are variables that can be modified, among others, by optimizing the temperature programming for separation of amino acids on the cation exchange resin, the precise temperature programming for separation of amino acids on a cation exchange column would been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed wherein column temperature when separating threonine and serine is higher than a column temperature when separating glycine and alanine, and wherein the column temperature is actively decreased after elution of threonine and serine to separate glycine and alanine (Claim 1), wherein threonine and serine have shorter retention times than glycine and alanine, and glycine and alanine are eluted by decreasing column temperature after threonine and serine are eluted (Claim 2) cannot be considered critical. See Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)(Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the column temperature programming in the method of Singh, as taught by Singh, Hamilton, and Baily, to optimize the pH and affinity of the amino acids to the ion exchange resin for complete separation of threonine, serine, glycine, and alanine on a cation exchange column (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007); Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP §2144.05(II)(A).
With regard to Claims 3 and 4, Singh discloses wherein the eluent contains at least one selected from a group consisting of a sodium citrate buffer solution, a lithium citrate buffer solution, and a sodium sulfate aqueous solution (Page 760/Buffer systems for separation of the amino acids; Page 761, Tables 2 and 3, sodium citrate or lithium citrate buffers).
With regard to Claims 5-8, Singh discloses that the eluent contains an organic solvent (Page 760, Column 2, the organic solvent added to the first buffer changes the solubility of the different amino acids). Singh discloses that it is particularly the extra -CH3 group of threonine as compared to serine that results in melioration in separation (Page 760, Column 2). Singh discloses that the drawback of using organic solvent as used for separation of threonine and serine is a slight loss of separation between glycine and alanine and increased back pressure (Page 760, Column 2).
However, modified Singh is silent to the organic solvent in the eluent when separating threonine and serine has a higher concentration than the organic solvent in the eluent when separating glycine and alanine.
Singh discloses that the separation between serine and threonine is enhanced by the organic solvent, but that the separation between alanine and glycine is diminished by the organic solvent. Therefore, the solution that the organic solvent in the eluent when separating threonine and serine has a higher concentration than the organic solvent in the eluent when separating glycine and alanine naturally flows from the teachings of Singh.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the organic solvent in the eluent of modified Singh when separating threonine and serine has a higher concentration than the organic solvent in the eluent when separating glycine and alanine, since the separation between serine and threonine is enhanced by the organic solvent, but the separation between alanine and glycine is diminished by the organic solvent.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al (“Amino acid analysis using ion-exchange chromatography: a review”) in view of Sanford (“An introduction to HPLC instrumentation”).
With regard to Claim 9, Singh et al (Singh) discloses that the perfect method for the determination of the amino acid composition of pure protein feeds or biological fluids is still the ion exchange column chromatography (Abstract). Singh discloses a liquid chromatographic apparatus comprising a liquid sending unit configured to send an eluent to a flow path (Page 761, top of section of page, pumps are pulse-free and feature an even power output and their utilization guarantees conformity of the retention times of individual peaks).
Singh discloses a cation exchange column provided downstream of the sample injection unit to separate sample components in the sample (Abstract; Page 759, Column 1, separation of amino acids on sulfonated negatively charged column; at low pH, all amino acids will bear a positive charge (i.e., cation exchange column)).
Singh discloses that temperature during the amino acid separation is desired to be controlled, including using temperature gradients (Page 760, Column 2). Singh discloses that the temperature affects the separation in two different ways: by changing the pH and by altering the affinity of the amino acids to the ion exchange resin (Page 760, Column 2).
However, Singh is silent to a sample injection unit provided downstream of the liquid sending unit to inject a sample into the eluent in the flow path, a temperature regulating means for regulating column temperature of the cation exchange column, and a control means for controlling the temperature regulating means.
Sanford discloses an introduction to HPLC instrumentation (Slide 1). Sanford discloses a sample injection unit provided downstream of the liquid sending unit to inject a sample into the eluent in the flow path (Slides 26-32, autosampler allows sample to be drawn while pump is in bypass position, and then injected into the eluent in the flow path by switching the valve position).
Sanford discloses a temperature regulating means for regulating column temperature of the cation exchange column (Slides 34-35, high efficiency heat exchangers for maintaining excellent temperature accuracy and precision within a column compartment).
Sanford discloses a control means for controlling the temperature regulating means (Page 46, method setup software including for column compartment).
Sanford discloses that control of the pump, sampler, column thermostat, and detector will optimize retention time, resolution, and sensitivity (Page 63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the liquid chromatography apparatus of Singh to comprise a sample injection unit provided downstream of the liquid sending unit to inject a sample into the eluent in the flow path, a temperature regulating means for regulating column temperature of the cation exchange column, and a control means for controlling the temperature regulating means, as taught by Sanford, in order to optimize retention time, resolution, and sensitivity in the liquid chromatography apparatus.
Therefore, the liquid chromatography apparatus of modified Singh is capable of injecting a sample containing threonine, serine, glycine, and alanine into the eluent in the flow path, and is capable of controlling the temperature regulating means such that column temperature when separating threonine and serine is higher than column temperature when separating glycine and alanine by actively decreasing the column temperature after elution of threonine and serine to separate glycine and alanine.
With regard to Claim 10, the liquid chromatographic apparatus of Singh is capable of separating threonine and serine such that they have shorter retention times than glycine and alanine. Furthermore, the control means in the liquid chromatographic apparatus of Singh is capable of controlling the temperature regulating means such that glycine and alanine are eluted by decreasing column temperature after threonine and serine are eluted.
With regard to Claims 11 and 12, the eluent of modified Singh is capable of containing an organic solvent. However, modified Singh is silent to the control means further controlling the liquid sending unit such that the organic solvent in the eluent has a higher or lower concentration at different times during the analysis.
Sanford discloses that different solvents or buffers contained in solvent bottles can be proportioned in a proportioning valve before flowing to the pump head (Slides 10 and 14). The solvents and buffers can be mixed in different proportions to form a gradient for elution and separation of sample components (Page 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the control means of modified Sing to further control the liquid sending unit such that the organic solvent in the eluent has a higher or lower concentration at different times during the analysis, as taught by Sanford, in order to mix solvents and buffers in different proportions to form a gradient for elution and separation of sample components. Therefore, the control means of modified Singh are capable of further controlling the liquid sending unit such that the organic solvent in the eluent when separating threonine and serine has a higher concentration than the organic solvent in the eluent when separating glycine and alanine.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 6-7 of the filing that Singh discloses that the separation between threonine and serine can be improved by lowering the temperature, but at the same time the backpressure is increased substantially, and it influences the separation of glutamic acid”. Applicant further argues that Singh further describes that “it is important to have a temperature gradient after the separation of the two hydroxy amino acids”. Applicant argues Singh describes that a low temperature is preferable during the separation of threonine and serine, and that an increase in temperature is desirable thereafter, which is not the same as the recitation in Claim 1 of “by actively decreasing the column temperature after elution of threonine and serine to separate glycine and alanine”.
In response, Singh discloses that the optimum temperature for separation of threonine and serine is 37-38°C (P760/C2). Singh further discloses that the increase of temperature from 50°C to 70°C is recommended to decrease the time of analysis, but the rise should not take place before the separation of isoleucine and leucine. As seen from Figure 4 of Hamilton and Figure 2 of Baily, the separation of isoleucine and leucine does not occur until well after the separation of glycine and alanine. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 7 of the filing that Hamilton describes increasing the temperature after the separation of threonine and serine, which is not the same as the recitation of “by actively decreasing the column temperature after elution of threonine and serine to separate glycine and alanine”.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hamilton discloses maintaining the temperature at 60°C from 140 minutes, which is before the separation of serine and threonine, until 780 minutes, which is well after the separation of glycine and alanine around 360 minutes.
Applicant argues on page 8 of the filing that Baily discloses that to enhance the separation efficiency of threonine and serine, a relatively low temperature is preferable, and that is it desirable to apply a gradient where the temperature increases thereafter.
In response, Baily in 1975 disclosed previous experimental complete separation of threonine, serine, glycine, and alanine on a Dowex 50 at 37.5°C, with serine and threonine eluted before glycine and alanine, followed by a temperature gradient up to 75°C and back down to 25°C (Page 362, Figure 2). Therefore, the temperature gradient increase of Baily occurs after the separation and elution of glycine and alanine.
As above, Singh discloses that the temperature affects the separation in two different ways: by changing the pH and by altering the affinity of the amino acids to the ion exchange resin (Page 760, Column 2). Singh, Hamilton, and Baily all demonstrate that temperature is a known variable for optimizing the separation of amino acids on a cation exchange column, and that change in temperature yields only predictable results of changing the pH and altering the affinity of the amino acids to the ion exchange resin.
In addition, MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A) cites In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) to state that "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Benjamin Lebron
Supervisory Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1773
/BENJAMIN L LEBRON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773