Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weizman US 20150163846 in view of Xu CN 112969169
1. A method for managing wireless communication, comprising:
establishing a wireless connection between a host device and a slave device (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 210 [0095] - As shown in FIG. 2, device 202 and device 240 may establish a connection 210 between devices 240 and 202. For example, device 102 (FIG. 1) and device 140 (FIG. 1) may establish a BLE connection), wherein the slave device transmit motion data to the host device by a connection interval through the wireless connection (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 228 [0106] - As shown in FIG. 2, device 240 may send to device 202 an ATT indication message 228 to indicate the non-movement state 226 of device 240. For example, device 140 (FIG. 1) may send to device 102 (FIG. 1) ATT indication message 228 to indicate the non-movement state of device 140 (FIG. 1)); and
responsive to determining, by the host device, that the slave device has a decrement of movement according to the motion data, increasing the connection interval of the slave device (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 223 [0107-0109] - …As shown in FIG. 2, device 202 may send to device 240 an update connection parameters message 232 to update the connection parameters of connection 210. For example, device 102 (FIG. 1) may send update connection parameters message 232 to device 140 (FIG. 1), e.g., as described above. As shown in FIG. 2, update connection parameters message 232 may include updated connection parameters. For example, the connection interval value `x` may be multiplied by a value `y`, wherein y > 1, and the slave latency value may be set to a value "z", wherein z > 0. As a result, device 202 may decrease the rate of exchanging ATT proximity messages 214 to a reduced rate).
Weizman merely discloses configuring to reduce a maximum size of each packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device
Xu further teaches reducing a maximum size of packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device (Xu: fig. 1, S102, page 5-6, e.g., the data packet length (MTU) is related to the two connection parameters; the two connection parameters can be dynamically modified; the connection interval is shorter, the MTU is larger, the transmission speed is higher; the longer the connection interval, the smaller the MTU, the lower the transmission speed)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above recited limitation into Weizman’s invention in order to
dynamically adjusting the connection interval parameter (page 5-6), as taught by Xu.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: responsive to determining, by the host device, that the slave device has a decrement of signal intensity, increasing the connection interval of the slave device (Xu: the longer the connection interval, the smaller the MTU, the lower the transmission speed). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above recited limitation into Weizman’s invention in order to dynamically adjusting the connection interval parameter (page 5-6), as taught by Xu.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein responsive to determining that the slave device has the decrement of signal intensity, the maximum size of the packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device is reduced (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 228-232 [0109, 0135]).
4. The method of claim 1, wherein determining that the slave device has the decrement of movement comprising: obtaining velocity, acceleration, pose, angular acceleration, angular velocity or any combination thereof of the slave device from the motion data; and responsive to determining, by the host device, that one of the velocity, the acceleration, variation of the pose, the angular acceleration and the angular velocity of the slave device decreases from higher than to lower than a corresponding type of threshold, determining that the slave device has the decrement of movement (Weizman: [0064-0071]).
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: responsive to determining, by the host device, that the slave device has an increment of movement according to the motion data, decreasing the connection interval of the slave device (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 242-246 [0113-0116]).
6. The method of claim 5, further comprising: responsive to determining, by the host device, that the slave device has an increment of signal intensity, decreasing the connection interval of the slave device (Weizman: [0116, 0157]; Xu: page. 5-6 - the connection interval is shorter, the MTU is larger, the transmission speed is higher;).
7. The method of claim 6, wherein responsive to determining that the slave device has the increment of movement or the increment of signal intensity, the maximum size of the packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device is increased (Weizman: [0116, 0135]).
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the host device, a body member that the slave device is mounted to; and configuring the connection interval of the slave device, according to the body member that the slave device is mounted to (Weizman: [0043]).
Regarding claims 15-20, the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 1-8, where the difference used is a “non-CRM” with a processor and a memory (Weizman: referring to FIG. 1, unit 102, 140) and the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims arid interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weizman US 20150163846 in view of Lin US 20220353932 in view of in view of Xu CN 112969169
1. A method for managing wireless communication, comprising:
establishing a wireless connection between a host device and a slave device (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 210 [0095] - As shown in FIG. 2, device 202 and device 240 may establish a connection 210 between devices 240 and 202. For example, device 102 (FIG. 1) and device 140 (FIG. 1) may establish a BLE connection), wherein the slave device transmit motion data to the host device by a connection interval through the wireless connection (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 228 [0106] - As shown in FIG. 2, device 240 may send to device 202 an ATT indication message 228 to indicate the non-movement state 226 of device 240. For example, device 140 (FIG. 1) may send to device 102 (FIG. 1) ATT indication message 228 to indicate the non-movement state of device 140 (FIG. 1)); and
responsive to determining, by the host device, that the slave device has a decrement of movement according to the motion data, increasing the connection interval of the slave device (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 223 [0107-0109] - …As shown in FIG. 2, device 202 may send to device 240 an update connection parameters message 232 to update the connection parameters of connection 210. For example, device 102 (FIG. 1) may send update connection parameters message 232 to device 140 (FIG. 1), e.g., as described above. As shown in FIG. 2, update connection parameters message 232 may include updated connection parameters. For example, the connection interval value `x` may be multiplied by a value `y`, wherein y > 1, and the slave latency value may be set to a value "z", wherein z > 0. As a result, device 202 may decrease the rate of exchanging ATT proximity messages 214 to a reduced rate).
Weizman merely discloses configuring to reduce a maximum size of each packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device
Lin further teaches reducing a maximum size of packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device (Lin: fig. 1-2 [0040, 0056-0059] – average transmission rate decreasing with an increase of the connection interval)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above recited limitation into Weizman’s invention in order to dynamically adjusting the connection interval to obtain the maximum transmission rate [0057], as taught by Lin
Xu further teaches configuring to reduce a maximum size of each packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device (Xu: fig. 1, S102, page 5-6, e.g., the data packet length (MTU) is related to the two connection parameters; the two connection parameters can be dynamically modified; the connection interval is shorter, the MTU is larger, the transmission speed is higher; the longer the connection interval, the smaller the MTU, the lower the transmission speed)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above recited limitation into Weizman’s invention in order to
dynamically adjusting the connection interval parameter (page 5-6), as taught by Xu.
Claim(s) 2-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weizman-Lin-Xu in view of Palin US 20140329465
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: responsive to determining, by the host device, that the slave device has a decrement of signal [[intensity]], increasing the connection interval of the slave device (Weizman: [0087-0088, 0109]).
Palin further teaches the signal intensity (Palin: [0007, 0033] - the interval maybe adjusted by increasing the interval in an instance in which the signal strength decreases and decreasing the interval in an instance in which the signal strength increases).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above recited limitation into Weizman’s invention in order to define an interval at which that is to be communicated via the link [0033], as taught by Palin
3. The method of claim 2, wherein responsive to determining that the slave device has the decrement of signal intensity, the maximum size of the packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device is reduced (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 228-232 [0109, 0135]).
4. The method of claim 1, wherein determining that the slave device has the decrement of movement comprising: obtaining velocity, acceleration, pose, angular acceleration, angular velocity or any combination thereof of the slave device from the motion data; and responsive to determining, by the host device, that one of the velocity, the acceleration, variation of the pose, the angular acceleration and the angular velocity of the slave device decreases from higher than to lower than a corresponding type of threshold, determining that the slave device has the decrement of movement (Weizman: [0064-0071]).
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: responsive to determining, by the host device, that the slave device has an increment of movement according to the motion data, decreasing the connection interval of the slave device (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 242-246 [0113-0116]).
6. The method of claim 5, further comprising: responsive to determining, by the host device, that the slave device has an increment of signal intensity, decreasing the connection interval of the slave device (Weizman: [0116, 0157]; Palin: [0007, 0033]).
7. The method of claim 6, wherein responsive to determining that the slave device has the increment of movement or the increment of signal intensity, the maximum size of the packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device is increased (Weizman: [0116, 0135]).
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the host device, a body member that the slave device is mounted to; and configuring the connection interval of the slave device, according to the body member that the slave device is mounted to (Weizman: [0043]).
Regarding claims 15-20, the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 1-8, where the difference used is a “non-CRM” with a processor and a memory (Weizman: referring to FIG. 1, unit 102, 140) and the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims arid interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 15-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
In addition, the examiner stresses that the rejected claims are too broad and require detail or specialization of the steps as recited in the claims. Alone and as claimed, the limitations are too open.
Examiner has cited particular portions of the references as applied to each claim limitation for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Regarding all other arguments presented by applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity; the Examiner directs the applicant to those responses above.
Remark:
In addition, an interview could expedite the prosecution.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sulaiman Nooristany whose telephone number is (571) 270-1929. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jeffrey Rutkowski, can be reached on (571) 270-1215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/SULAIMAN NOORISTANY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415