Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weizman US 20150163846 in view of Xu CN 112969169 further in view of Chiddarwar US 20160014550
1. A method for managing wireless communication, comprising:
establishing a wireless connection between a host device and a slave device (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 210 [0095] - As shown in FIG. 2, device 202 and device 240 may establish a connection 210 between devices 240 and 202. For example, device 102 (FIG. 1) and device 140 (FIG. 1) may establish a BLE connection), wherein the slave device transmit motion data to the host device by a connection interval through the wireless connection (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 228 [0106] - As shown in FIG. 2, device 240 may send to device 202 an ATT indication message 228 to indicate the non-movement state 226 of device 240. For example, device 140 (FIG. 1) may send to device 102 (FIG. 1) ATT indication message 228 to indicate the non-movement state of device 140 (FIG. 1)); and
responsive to determining, by the host device, that the slave device has a decrement of movement according to the motion data, increasing the connection interval of the slave device (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 223 [0107-0109] - …As shown in FIG. 2, device 202 may send to device 240 an update connection parameters message 232 to update the connection parameters of connection 210. For example, device 102 (FIG. 1) may send update connection parameters message 232 to device 140 (FIG. 1), e.g., as described above. As shown in FIG. 2, update connection parameters message 232 may include updated connection parameters. For example, the connection interval value `x` may be multiplied by a value `y`, wherein y > 1, and the slave latency value may be set to a value "z", wherein z > 0. As a result, device 202 may decrease the rate of exchanging ATT proximity messages 214 to a reduced rate).
Weizman merely discloses determining, by a host device, a limb of a user that a slave device is mounted to; configuring a connection interval of the slave device according to the limb that the slave device is mounted to; configuring to reduce a maximum size of each packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device
Xu further teaches reducing a maximum size of packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device (Xu: fig. 1, S102, page 5-6, e.g., the data packet length (MTU) is related to the two connection parameters; the two connection parameters can be dynamically modified; the connection interval is shorter, the MTU is larger, the transmission speed is higher; the longer the connection interval, the smaller the MTU, the lower the transmission speed)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above recited limitation into Weizman’s invention in order to
dynamically adjusting the connection interval parameter (page 5-6), as taught by Xu.
Chiddarwar further teaches determining, by a host device, a limb of a user that a slave device is mounted to (Chiddarwar: fig. 1-3, 10 [0021, 0045-0051, 0070] unit 301-302 - Master device 101 may receive such request for a new BLE connection. Master device 101 may comprise a controller and a display, which to choose the slave devices/wearable devices (e.g., wrist watch) with which the user wishes to be in active BLE connection);
configuring a connection interval of the slave device according to the limb that the slave device is mounted to (Chiddarwar: fig. 1-2, 10 [0021, 0039] master device dynamically configures the one or more connection parameters/interval);
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above recited limitation into Weizman’s invention in order to intelligently configure/tune the BLE link layer parameters to the best performance tradeoffs in dynamic environment, as taught by Chiddawar.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: responsive to determining, by the host device, that the slave device has a decrement of signal intensity, increasing the connection interval of the slave device (Xu: the longer the connection interval, the smaller the MTU, the lower the transmission speed). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above recited limitation into Weizman’s invention in order to dynamically adjusting the connection interval parameter (page 5-6), as taught by Xu.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein responsive to determining that the slave device has the decrement of signal intensity, the maximum size of the packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device is reduced (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 228-232 [0109, 0135]).
4. The method of claim 1, wherein determining that the slave device has the decrement of movement comprising: obtaining velocity, acceleration, pose, angular acceleration, angular velocity or any combination thereof of the slave device from the motion data; and responsive to determining, by the host device, that one of the velocity, the acceleration, variation of the pose, the angular acceleration and the angular velocity of the slave device decreases from higher than to lower than a corresponding type of threshold, determining that the slave device has the decrement of movement (Weizman: [0064-0071]).
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: responsive to determining, by the host device, that the slave device has an increment of movement according to the motion data, decreasing the connection interval of the slave device (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 242-246 [0113-0116]).
6. The method of claim 5, further comprising: responsive to determining, by the host device, that the slave device has an increment of signal intensity, decreasing the connection interval of the slave device (Weizman: [0116, 0157]; Xu: page. 5-6 - the connection interval is shorter, the MTU is larger, the transmission speed is higher;).
7. The method of claim 6, wherein responsive to determining that the slave device has the increment of movement or the increment of signal intensity, the maximum size of the packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device is increased (Weizman: [0116, 0135]).
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the host device, a body member that the slave device is mounted to; and configuring the connection interval of the slave device, according to the body member that the slave device is mounted to (Weizman: [0043]).
21. The method of claim 1, further comprising: comparing an identification (ID) (Chiddarwar: i.e., displays a list of slave devices) or an MAC address of the slave device with information of a check list to determine the limb that the slave device is mounted to (Chiddarwar: fig. 1-2, 10 [0040-0045] master device 210 displays a list of slave devices in communication and receives a user input for selecting one from among the list), wherein the connection interval is defined as a first connection interval in response to the limb being a hand, the connection interval is defined as a second connection interval in response to the limb being a leg (Chiddarwar: fig. 1-2, unit 201-203), and the first connection interval is shorter than the second connection interval (Chiddarwar: fig. 1-2, [0044] a time slot between time slot 201-2 and time slot 202-2 is shorter than time slot 203-1 for data traffic of smart eye glass 203 ….. such time slots may be managed in a way that time intervals between time slots changes to be longer or shorter).
Regarding claims 15-20, 22, the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 1-8, 21 where the difference used is a “non-CRM” with a processor and a memory (Weizman: referring to FIG. 1, unit 102, 140) and the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims arid interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weizman US 20150163846 in view of Xu CN 112969169 further in view of Gao CN 114176577
1. A method for managing wireless communication, comprising:
establishing a wireless connection between a host device and a slave device (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 210 [0095] - As shown in FIG. 2, device 202 and device 240 may establish a connection 210 between devices 240 and 202. For example, device 102 (FIG. 1) and device 140 (FIG. 1) may establish a BLE connection), wherein the slave device transmit motion data to the host device by a connection interval through the wireless connection (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 228 [0106] - As shown in FIG. 2, device 240 may send to device 202 an ATT indication message 228 to indicate the non-movement state 226 of device 240. For example, device 140 (FIG. 1) may send to device 102 (FIG. 1) ATT indication message 228 to indicate the non-movement state of device 140 (FIG. 1)); and
responsive to determining, by the host device, that the slave device has a decrement of movement according to the motion data, increasing the connection interval of the slave device (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 223 [0107-0109] - …As shown in FIG. 2, device 202 may send to device 240 an update connection parameters message 232 to update the connection parameters of connection 210. For example, device 102 (FIG. 1) may send update connection parameters message 232 to device 140 (FIG. 1), e.g., as described above. As shown in FIG. 2, update connection parameters message 232 may include updated connection parameters. For example, the connection interval value `x` may be multiplied by a value `y`, wherein y > 1, and the slave latency value may be set to a value "z", wherein z > 0. As a result, device 202 may decrease the rate of exchanging ATT proximity messages 214 to a reduced rate).
Weizman merely discloses determining, by a host device, a limb of a user that a slave device is mounted to; configuring a connection interval of the slave device according to the limb that the slave device is mounted to; configuring to reduce a maximum size of each packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device
Xu further teaches reducing a maximum size of packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device (Xu: fig. 1, S102, page 5-6, e.g., the data packet length (MTU) is related to the two connection parameters; the two connection parameters can be dynamically modified; the connection interval is shorter, the MTU is larger, the transmission speed is higher; the longer the connection interval, the smaller the MTU, the lower the transmission speed)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above recited limitation into Weizman’s invention in order to
dynamically adjusting the connection interval parameter (page 5-6), as taught by Xu.
Gao further teaches determining, by a host device, a limb of a user that a slave device is mounted to (Gao: abstract, S101 - detecting devices are worn below the left and right feet of the user to be detected, when the user to be detected is in the lower limb physical examination movement process);
configuring a connection interval of the slave device according to the limb that the slave device is mounted to (Gao: abstract, S103 - inputting the reference attitude data and reference data plantar pressure to each time interval into the pre-trained motion neural disease detection model);
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above recited limitation into Weizman’s invention in order to
using the Bluetooth to connect with the upper computer, a main device and a slave device, for patient lower limb physical examination movement, obtaining body posture data and plantar pressure data in the lower limb physical examination movement process, dividing the body posture data and the plantar pressure data to determine the reference body posture data corresponding to each time interval and the reference plantar pressure data, as taught by Gao.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: responsive to determining, by the host device, that the slave device has a decrement of signal intensity, increasing the connection interval of the slave device (Xu: the longer the connection interval, the smaller the MTU, the lower the transmission speed). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above recited limitation into Weizman’s invention in order to dynamically adjusting the connection interval parameter (page 5-6), as taught by Xu.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein responsive to determining that the slave device has the decrement of signal intensity, the maximum size of the packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device is reduced (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 228-232 [0109, 0135]).
4. The method of claim 1, wherein determining that the slave device has the decrement of movement comprising: obtaining velocity, acceleration, pose, angular acceleration, angular velocity or any combination thereof of the slave device from the motion data; and responsive to determining, by the host device, that one of the velocity, the acceleration, variation of the pose, the angular acceleration and the angular velocity of the slave device decreases from higher than to lower than a corresponding type of threshold, determining that the slave device has the decrement of movement (Weizman: [0064-0071]).
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: responsive to determining, by the host device, that the slave device has an increment of movement according to the motion data, decreasing the connection interval of the slave device (Weizman: fig. 2, unit 242-246 [0113-0116]).
6. The method of claim 5, further comprising: responsive to determining, by the host device, that the slave device has an increment of signal intensity, decreasing the connection interval of the slave device (Weizman: [0116, 0157]; Xu: page. 5-6 - the connection interval is shorter, the MTU is larger, the transmission speed is higher;).
7. The method of claim 6, wherein responsive to determining that the slave device has the increment of movement or the increment of signal intensity, the maximum size of the packets transmitted between the slave device and the host device is increased (Weizman: [0116, 0135]).
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the host device, a body member that the slave device is mounted to; and configuring the connection interval of the slave device, according to the body member that the slave device is mounted to (Weizman: [0043]).
Regarding claims 15-20, the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 1-8, where the difference used is a “non-CRM” with a processor and a memory (Weizman: referring to FIG. 1, unit 102, 140) and the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims arid interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weizman-Xu-Gao further in view of Chiddarwar US 20160014550
21. The method of claim 1, further comprising: comparing an identification (ID) (Chiddarwar: i.e., displays a list of slave devices considered same as the ID) or an MAC address of the slave device with information of a check list to determine the limb that the slave device is mounted to (Chiddarwar: fig. 1-2, 10 [0040-0045] master device 210 displays a list of slave devices in communication and receives a user input for selecting one from among the list), wherein the connection interval is defined as a first connection interval in response to the limb being a hand, the connection interval is defined as a second connection interval in response to the limb being a leg (Chiddarwar: fig. 1-2, unit 201-203), and the first connection interval is shorter than the second connection interval (Chiddarwar: fig. 1-2, [0044] a time slot between time slot 201-2 and time slot 202-2 is shorter than time slot 203-1 for data traffic of smart eye glass 203 ….. such time slots may be managed in a way that time intervals between time slots changes to be longer or shorter). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above recited limitation into Weizman’s invention in order to intelligently configure/tune the BLE link layer parameters to the best performance tradeoffs in dynamic environment, as taught by Chiddawar.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 15-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
In addition, the examiner stresses that the rejected claims are too broad and require detail or specialization of the steps as recited in the claims. Alone and as claimed, the limitations are too open.
Examiner has cited particular portions of the references as applied to each claim limitation for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Regarding all other arguments presented by applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity; the Examiner directs the applicant to those responses above.
Remark:
In addition, an interview could expedite the prosecution.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sulaiman Nooristany whose telephone number is (571) 270-1929. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jeffrey Rutkowski, can be reached on (571) 270-1215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/SULAIMAN NOORISTANY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415