DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 11/28/2022.
Claims 1-17 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arimilli (U.S. Patent 7,921,275).
Regarding claims 1 and 16-17, Arimilli discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising machine-readable instructions that, when the machine-readable instructions are executed on a processor, causes the processor to: pre-fetch to a processor cache, using data transfer offloading circuitry of the processor, data being accessed by an application program from a main memory of the computer system [col. 22, lines 13-48; data is prefetched from a memory to a cache]; and execute the application program using the pre-fetched data that is stored in the processor cache [col. 23, lines 4-6; the data in the cache is then consumed by a program executing on the processor].
Regarding claim 3, Arimilli discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the data is prefetched to a last-level cache of the processor [col. 22, line 35; data is transferred to the L3 cache].
Regarding claim 5, Arimilli discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the machine-readable instructions comprise instructions to pre-fetch, using a core of the processor, second data being accessed by the application program from the main memory of the computer system to the processor cache of the processor [col. 22, lines 13-48; data is prefetched from memory into a cache in response to a request from a processor].
Regarding claim 6, Arimilli discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium according to claim 5, wherein the data being pre-fetched by the data transfer offloading circuitry is different from the second data being fetched by the core of the processor [col. 22, lines 13-48; data is prefetched from memory into a cache in response to a request from a processor].
Regarding claim 7, Arimilli discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium according to claim 5, wherein the machine-readable instructions comprise instructions to select at least one of the data being pre-fetched by the data transfer offloading circuitry and the second data being fetched by the core of the processor [col. 22, line 13 – col. 23, line 25; data is selected for prefetching and then selected for use in execution].
Regarding claim 8, Arimilli discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium according to claim 7, wherein the selection is based on at least one of a number of concurrent data transfers supported by the data transfer offloading circuitry, a number of computation threads of the application program being executed, and a number of cores of the processor being used for executing the application program [col. 22, lines 13-48; the selected data is dependent on the data being moved as part of an asynchronous memory move].
Regarding claim 9, Arimilli discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium according to claim 5, wherein the data and second data are processed simultaneously by the execution of the application program [col. 22, line 13 – col. 23, line 25; prefetching of data overlaps with execution of data].
Regarding claim 10, Arimilli discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium according to claim 5, wherein the data and second data are processed subsequently by the execution of the application program [col. 22, line 13 – col. 23, line 25; processing of data occurs subsequently to other processing of data].
Regarding claim 11, Arimilli discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the pre-fetching of the data and the execution of the application program are synchronized [col. 22, line 13 – col. 23, line 25; data is prefetched and then used in execution].
Regarding claim 15, Arimilli discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the data transfer offloading circuitry of the processor being used to pre-fetch the data is a data streaming accelerator circuitry of the processor [col. 22, lines 13-48; the data is prefetched using asynchronous memory move hardware].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arimilli in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 2, Arimilli does not explicitly disclose instructions to subsequently pre-fetch a first portion and a second portion of the data from the main memory to the processor cache, with the execution of the application program being based on the pre-fetched first portion of data while the second portion of the data is being pre-fetched, and with the execution of the application program being based on the pre-fetched second portion of data after the execution being based on the first portion of data is completed. However, the examiner takes official notice that such practice (known as DMA double buffering) and its benefits were notoriously well known at the time of the invention. Such practice allows for efficient execution of prefetched data in the same way that pipelining allows for efficient execution and would therefore have been obvious in the system of Arimilli.
Regarding claim 4, Arimilli does not explicitly disclose the use of dynamic random-access memory. However, the examiner takes official notice that the use and benefits of DRAM were notoriously well known at the time of the invention. Such use would therefore have been obvious in the system of Arimilli.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arimilli in view of Schroter (U.S. Patent 6,401,192).
Regarding claims 12-13, Arimilli discloses performing calculations based on the prefetched data [col. 23, lines 1-25; the data is used in program execution], but does not explicitly disclose using instructions in the application program to control the prefetching of data. However, Schroter discloses [col. 2, lines 43-67] such a system for controlling prefetching. Such a system allows for software control of prefetching data which allows for lower cache miss rates at a small hardware cost. Such operation would therefore have been obvious in the system of Arimilli.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/COREY S FAHERTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183