DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received 03/03/2026, the following rejections and objections have been withdrawn from the previous office action:
Objection to claim 1
35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 2-3
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Publication DE102015204678A1 (supplied by applicant, used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Bosch, in view of Published Application US20120315517A1, hereafter Duff.
Regarding claim 1, Bosch discloses a climate module ([0137] battery conditioning system 1) of a battery housing (100*), comprising:
an adsorber unit ([0139] Fig 1, sorbent container 5 with sorbent 2) for adsorbing humidity during an adsorption mode ([0146] dehumidification operation) of the climate module (1);
a heater unit ([0140] sorbent heater 4) for regenerating the adsorber unit (5,2) during a regeneration mode ([0147] sorbent regeneration operation) of the climate module (1);
an outlet of the climate module (1) ([0142] gas inlet opening 8, Fig 1 battery conditioning system 1 side) that is connected to an inlet ([0142] gas inlet opening 8, Fig 1 battery housing 100* side) of the battery housing (100*) and an inlet ([0142] water discharge opening 9, Fig 1 battery conditioning system 1 side) of the climate module (1) that is connected to an outlet ([0142] water discharge opening 9, Fig 1 external side) of the battery housing (100*), the inlet (8) of the battery housing (100*) being separate from the outlet (9) of the battery housing (100*);
an airflow generator for generating an airflow within the climate module ([0080] fan for air circulation and inflow of air into gas inlet opening 8 of battery conditioning system 1); and
a valve system ([0142] solenoid valves 8a, 9a) for switching the climate module (1) from the adsorption mode into the regeneration mode and for switching the climate module from the regeneration mode into the absorption mode ([0148]),
wherein the climate module (1) takes in an ambient air during the adsorption mode ([0142] admitting gas to be dehumidified from the battery system 100 during dehumidification; [0079] pressure equalization unit brings in air from environment into battery housing),
wherein the airflow generator forces the ambient air through the adsorber unit (5,2) for dehumidifying the ambient air and guides the dehumidified ambient air via the outlet (8) and the inlet (8) of the battery housing (100*) into the battery housing (100*) during the adsorption mode ([0080] air circulation fan for inflow of air into gas inlet opening 8 of battery conditioning system 1), and
wherein the climate module (1) is an external device attachable to the battery housing (100*) (Fig 1, battery conditioning system 1 with outer container 7 attached to battery housing 100*).
Bosch is silent on wherein the airflow generator is disposed within the climate module.
In the analogous art of battery housing humidity control, Duff discloses wherein the airflow generator ([0050] fan 719) is disposed within the climate module ([0050] fan 719 mounted within entrance to the container) to pull air through the desiccant ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Bosch to rearrange the airflow generator to be inside the climate module as disclosed by Duff in order to directly affect and control the airflow therein and force the air through the desiccant, as suggested by Duff, and because the rearrangement of parts has been held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (C)).
Bosch is further silent on wherein the ambient air taken in by the climate module during the absorption mode is from an ambient external to the climate module and the battery housing.
However, since the outlet (9) of Bosch is capable of opening and closing to the ambient environment outside of the climate module (1) and battery housing (100*), it is clear that the apparatus of Bosch would have been capable of taking in ambient air from the external environment through the climate module during the absorption mode. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (MPEP 2114 (II)).
Regarding claim 4, Bosch further discloses wherein the valve system (8a,9a) reverses a direction of the airflow through the adsorber unit (5,2) when switching the climate module (1) from the adsorption mode into the regeneration mode ([0147] gas inlet opening 8 is closed and water discharge opening 9 is opened in sorbent regeneration operation).
Regarding claim 5, the examiner notes a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (MPEP 2114 (II)). In this case, the reversing of the work direction of the airflow generator when the climate module is switched from the adsorption mode into the regeneration mode is considered to constitute a manner of operating the device, and not a structural limitation of the apparatus. The examiner further notes the device of Bosch would have been capable of reversing the work direction of the fan when the climate module is switched from the adsorption mode into the regeneration mode, since the fan is necessarily connected to the electronics 12, which control the valves 8a and 9a to switch modes ([0144]), and the fan facilitating inflow of gas into the gas inlet opening performs this operation during the dehumidification operation, but otherwise the fan is circulating air in the battery housing ([0075]).
Regarding claim 6, Bosch further discloses wherein a pressure compensation is performable via the outlet (8) of the climate module when a negative pressure is present in the battery housing (100*) ([0079] pressure balancing unit for pressure equalization between the environment and interior of battery housing 100*, but also the valves 8a and 9a will perform pressure balancing when switched between dehumidification and sorbent regeneration operations, since one valve 8a opens between the battery housing 100* and the battery conditioning system 1, and the other 9a opens between the battery conditioning system 1 and the exterior environment).
Regarding claim 7, Bosch further discloses wherein the climate module (1) takes in a used air from the battery housing (100*) that passes through the adsorber unit (5,2) and enters the battery housing (100*) via the outlet (8) of the climate module and the inlet (8) of the battery housing together with the ambient air during the adsorption mode ([0142] admitting gas to be dehumidified from the battery system 100 during dehumidification; [0079] pressure equalization unit brings in air from environment into battery housing).
Regarding claim 9, Bosch further discloses an interface ([0142] water discharge opening 9) for discharging humidity into the ambient and for taking in the ambient air from the ambient ([0142]).
Regarding claim 10, Bosch further discloses wherein the interface (9) comprises a separation element that fully covers a fluidic cross section of the interface (9) ([0142] water discharge opening 9 has solenoid valve 9a).
Regarding claim 11, Bosch further discloses wherein the valve system (8a,9a) comprises a first valve (8a) and a second valve (9a), and wherein each valve (8a,9a) comprises an adsorption position and a regeneration position ([0142] solenoid valve 8a, solenoid valve 9a; [0146] air drawn in from battery housing 100* during dehumidification, solenoid valve 8a is open; [0147] during regeneration, opening 8 is closed with solenoid valve 8a and water vapor is discharged through opened water discharge opening 9 through an open solenoid valve 9a).
Claim(s) 2-3, 8, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Publication DE102015204678A1 (supplied by applicant, used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Bosch, in view of Published Application US20120315517A1, hereafter Duff, as stated above for claim 1, and further in view of Foreign Publication DE102014200789A1 (used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Zucchini.
Regarding claim 2, Bosch further discloses wherein the valve system (8a,9a) switches the climate module (1) from the adsorption mode into the regeneration mode when the adsorber unit (5,2) reaches a predetermined saturation level ([0148] spring switch 3 switches on sorbent heater 4 when weight of sorbent 2 reaches predetermined level).
Bosch is silent on the predetermined saturation level being determined by a sensor that senses the relative humidity of the dehumidified ambient air supplied to the battery housing.
In the analogous art of battery housing humidity control, Zucchini discloses the use of a sensor for determining the relative humidity of the housing ([0018] capacitive sensor for detecting relative humidity within housing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify the invention of Bosch to add a capacitive humidity sensor into the climate module in order to detect the relative humidity therein and thereby inform the electronics about the progress of the dehumidification, thereby enabling the electronics to have detailed information about the precise time to regenerate the sorbent while balancing the dehumidification needs of the battery pack within the housing.
Regarding claim 3, Bosch further discloses wherein the predetermined saturation level is reached when a desiccant (2) of the adsorber unit (5,2) is saturated with humidity ([0148] spring switch 3 switches on sorbent heater 4 when weight of sorbent 2 reaches predetermined level).
Regarding claim 8, Bosch further discloses wherein the climate module (1) takes in either the ambient air or a used air from the battery housing (100*) during the regeneration mode ([0142] admitting gas to be dehumidified from the battery system 100 during dehumidification; [0079] pressure equalization unit brings in air from environment into battery housing).
Bosch is silent on wherein the climate module is configured to recognize if the ambient air is dry enough for regenerating the adsorber unit.
In the analogous art of battery housing dehumidification, Zucchini discloses wherein the climate module is configured to recognize if the ambient air is dry enough for regenerating the absorber unit or not ([0016] at least one sensor arranged outside the housing; [0017] sensor for detecting relative air humidity inside the housing; [0019] sensor for detecting air pressure outside the housing; [0019] controller initiates regeneration when air pressure inside is greater than air pressure outside (air pressure decreases when it has higher humidity due to the lower density of water molecules vs molecules that make up dry air)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Bosch to use humidity and pressure sensors to inform the controller for deciding when to initiate regeneration of the sorbent, as disclosed by Zucchini ([0019]).
Regarding the limitation, “wherein when the ambient air is not dry enough, only the used air from the battery housing is used for regenerating the adsorber unit”, the examiner notes a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (MPEP 2114 (II)). In this case, the solenoid valves 8a and 9a of Bosch are controlled by electronics 12, and so the apparatus of modified Bosch which includes the ambient humidity sensors also would have been capable of performing the cited limitation ([0144]).
Regarding claim 14, Bosch discloses a pressure balancing unit for pressure equalization between the environment and interior of battery housing 100* ([0079]).
Bosch is silent on a pressure relieve valve that is configured to release a pressure inside the battery module when a predetermined pressure is reached,
wherein the pressure relieve valve opens and closes based on a sensor signal from a pressure sensor.
In the analogous art of battery housing dehumidification, Zucchini discloses a pressure relieve valve that is configured to release a pressure inside the battery module when a predetermined pressure is reached ([0013]),
wherein the pressure relieve valve opens and closes based on a sensor signal from a pressure sensor ([0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Bosch to replace the pressure balancing unit with the pressure sensor responsive pressure relieve valve and pressure sensor as disclosed by Zucchini since the results of doing so would have been predictable, with the control device controlling the relieve valve in response to the outside pressure sensor to equalize the pressure between the inside and outside of the battery housing (MPEP 2143 (I) (B)).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Publication DE102015204678A1 (supplied by applicant, used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Bosch, in view of Published Application US20120315517A1, hereafter Duff, as stated above for claim 11, and further in view of Foreign Publication DE102009059278A1 (used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Honjo.
Regarding claim 12, Bosch discloses the solenoid valves (8a,9a, these have bodies and actuators by definition) are for moving the valve body into the adsorption position or into the regeneration position ([0148]).
Bosch is silent on each valve body being rotated between adsorption and regeneration positions.
In the analogous art of housing dehumidification, Honjo discloses an electromagnetic on/off valve turned between open and closed positions ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Bosch to use rotating solenoid valves as disclosed by Honjo to achieve the predictable result of opening and closing the respective openings controlled by the valves, thereby enabling the valve bodies of Bosch to be rotated between adsorption and regeneration positions (MPEP 2143 (I) (B)).
Regarding claim 13, Bosch further discloses wherein at least one of the valves (8a,9a) comprises a block and release mechanism ([0148] solenoid valves for opening/closing openings 8 and 9).
Bosch is silent on wherein at least one of the valves comprises a check valve.
In the analogous art of housing dehumidification, Honjo discloses a check valve ([0019] check valve G).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Bosch to use a check valve as disclosed by Honjo to achieve the predictable result of allowing one way fluid communication between either side of the opening controlled by the valve (MPEP 2143 (I) (B)).
Claim(s) 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Publication DE102015204678A1 (supplied by applicant, used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Bosch, in view of Published Application US20120315517A1, hereafter Duff, as stated above for claim 1, and further in view of Foreign Publication DE102008034698A1 (used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Meintschel.
Regarding claim 15, Bosch further discloses a battery housing (100*) of a high voltage ([0013] for vehicle) battery box (100) comprising: the climate module (1) according to claim 1 (see above 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1); and wherein the inlet (8) of the battery housing is attached to the outlet (8) of the climate module (1).
Bosch is silent on wherein the inlet is removably attached to the outlet of the climate module.
In the analogous art of battery housing dehumidification, Meintschel discloses wherein the climate module (4) is detachable from the battery housing (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Bosch to have the battery conditioning system (1) be removably attached to the battery housing at the opening (9) in order to allow for easy replacement of the battery conditioning system (1) without the need to open the battery housing (100*), thereby removably attaching the modified battery housing inlet to the outlet of the climate module, and because it has been held to be obvious to modify a prior art device to have components become separable and rearranged (MPEP 2144.04 (V) (C) and (VI) (C)).
Regarding claim 18, Bosch further discloses a high voltage ([0013] for vehicle) battery box (100) comprising: the climate module (1) according to claim 1 (see above 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1); and
the battery housing (100*) of a high voltage battery box (100);
wherein the inlet (8) of the battery housing is attached to the outlet (8) of the climate module (1).
Bosch is silent on wherein the inlet is removably attached to the outlet of the climate module.
In the analogous art of battery housing dehumidification, Meintschel discloses wherein the climate module (4) is detachable from the battery housing (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Bosch to have the battery conditioning system (1) be removably attached to the battery housing at the opening (9) in order to allow for easy replacement of the battery conditioning system (1) without the need to open the battery housing (100*), thereby removably attaching the modified battery housing inlet to the outlet of the climate module, and because it has been held to be obvious to modify a prior art device to have components become separable and rearranged (MPEP 2144.04 (V) (C) and (VI) (C)).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Publication DE102015204678A1 (supplied by applicant, used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Bosch, in view of Published Application US20120315517A1, hereafter Duff, and further in view of Foreign Publication DE102008034698A1 (used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Meintschel, as stated above for claim 15, and further in view of Foreign Publication DE102019121575A1, hereafter Koenigs (used previously attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 16, Bosch is silent on an emergency degassing unit for degassing the battery housing in the event of a thermal runaway of the high voltage battery box.
In the analogous art of battery housing safety devices, Koenigs discloses an emergency degassing unit (20) for degassing the battery housing (14) in the event of a thermal runaway of the high voltage battery box ([0001] electrical energy storage device for a motor vehicle; [0002] monitoring for thermal runaway).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify the invention of Bosch to include an emergency degassing device operable in the event of thermal runaway as disclosed by Koenigs in order to improve the overall safety of the battery.
Regarding claim 17, Koenigs further discloses detecting a pressure increase for an early recognizing of a threatening thermal runaway, wherein a warning signal is emitted when a thermal runaway is detected ([0036] warning signal triggered by mechanical switch in response to overpressure detection).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/03 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claim 1 on page 7 of applicant’s remarks that the battery housing 100* of Bosch does not comprise an inlet for receiving the dehumidified air from the sorbent 2 of the outer container 7, the examiner disagrees, and notes, as stated in the rejection, that the gas inlet opening 8 performs this function.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claim 1 on page 7 of applicant’s remarks that although it could be argued that in Bosch the gas inlet opening 8 of the outer container 7 that also serves as the gas outlet of the battery housing 100* further also serves as a gas inlet into the battery housing 100*, such an argument fails the limitation of claim 1 that requires the inlet of the battery housing to be separate from the outlet of the battery housing, the examiner disagrees, and notes, as stated in the rejection, that the inlet of the battery housing and outlet of the climate module as claimed are mapped to the gas inlet opening 8 of Bosch, and the outlet of the battery housing and inlet of the climate module as claimed are mapped to the water discharge opening 9 of Bosch.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claim 2 on page 8 of applicant’s remarks, this argument is rendered moot in view of the new 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 2.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claim 9 on page 8 of applicant’s remarks that Bosch teaches a separate water discharge opening 9 for discharging humidity into the ambient, the examiner notes that with regard to claim 9, the water discharge opening necessarily both discharges humidity to the ambient and takes in less humid air from the ambient, since during the regeneration operation, the inlet 8 is closed.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claims 8 and 14 on page 8 of applicant’s remarks that the cited references to not render obvious an absorber unit that takes in either ambient air or used air from the battery housing in the regeneration mode, the examiner notes, as stated above, the water discharge opening 9 of Bosch necessarily brings in less humid air from the ambient in the regeneration mode since the inlet 8 is closed, as the humidity when fluidically connected to the ambient, will disperse into the ambient, less humid air, with the pressure naturally balancing and bringing in less humid air.
Conclusion
/T.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754