Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments are not persuasive.
Applicant arguments contend in regards to prior art of reference Gao (US PG Pub No. 2024/0069144 A1), “none of this anywhere teaches or suggests any type of anomalous beacon communication” (see remarks, page 1).
Here, Examiner believes by “anomalous beacon communication” is taught by [0056] of Gau where at least classification from determining that a change has occurred is located. Examination believes the best instant support for “anomalous beacon communication” is found in instant paragraph [0005], “The method further comprises identifying the anomalous beacon communication in response to at least one of the baseline current consumption exceeding the modeled baseline current consumption by at least a first threshold amount or the current consumption exceeding the modeled current consumption by at least a second threshold amount.”
Gao specifically discloses “a change to a 100% beacon loss level ” and “determining that a change has occur[ed]” regarding the received beacon counts for communication in [0056]. Based on the identified Applicant support for ‘anomalous beacon communication’ there appears to be a reasonable interpretation here.
Furthermore, examination has further clarified the teachings of Gao here to show: “in response to determining the anomalous condition, classifying a type of an anomalous beacon communication (see [0056], classification from determining that a change has occurred, see “a change to a 100% beacon loss level” and “determining that a change has occur”);”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 21, 23, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US 2024/0069144 A1) in view of Muddu et al. (US Pat. No. 9516053).
Regarding claim 1, Gao discloses a computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause a system to perform a method comprising:
Receiving (may receive [0013]), in a machine learning (ML) classifier (see machine-learning and classification algorithm in [0013]), power plot information (see identifiable collection of different power levels, [0013]) associated with communication between a wireless device and an access point (see network of sending and receiving nodes; “transceiver node” [0013]);
analyzing, in the ML classifier (see analytic classification algorithm, [0013]), the power plot information (see [0013] “identifiable collection of different power levels”, regarding “quantifiable measures of beacons” and the collected beacon data is used to provide zone-specific signal fingerprint, ZRSF which are compared via the machine learning classification) comprising determining whether an anomalous condition exists with respect to beacon communication between the wireless device and the access point (see detected change, or change indication [0013] or significant change in conditions [0056]); and
in response to determining the anomalous condition, classifying a type of an anomalous beacon communication (see [0056], classification from determining that a change has occurred, see “a change to a 100% beacon loss level” and “determining that a change has occur”);and
Gao does not specifically disclose however Muddu et al. discloses determining a configuration for the wireless device based at least in part on the type of the anomalous beacon communication (see periodicity criterion and beacon type are anomalous in col. 118, lines 21-27);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Muddu with that of Gao. Doing so would conform to well-known conventions in the respective field of technology.
Regarding claim 2, Gao in view of Muddu discloses the computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises storing, in an entry of a database, information regarding the anomalous beacon communication, the entry associated with the access point (see databases [0061]).
Regarding claims 6, Gao in view of Muddu discloses the computer readable medium of claim 5, wherein the method further comprises providing configuration information to the wireless device, the configuration information to cause a controller of the wireless device to control at least one setting of an analog front end circuit of the wireless device (see control of circuitry [0063]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12, 14-17, 21-23 & 25 are allowed.
Claims 3-4, 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful.
/KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643