DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4, 9, and 13-18 have been amended.
Claim 12 has been canceled.
Claims 1-11 and 13-18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, 14, and 16-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagae (US 9801602 B2) in view of Bruder (US 20100027736 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Nagae discloses a medical image processing apparatus, comprising:
processing circuitry (Fig. 1, elements 24-26) configured to
obtain a plurality of X-ray images that are sequentially collected (Fig. 2) during a partial period of time in a cardiac phase of a subject with a device inserted therein (Col. 24, lines 26-32: “as illustrated in FIG. 20, electrocardiographic equipment 28 that acquires an electrocardiographic waveform is attached to a subject P. The electrocardiograph information acquisition unit 26f then acquires, from the electrocardiographic equipment 28, the electrocardiographic waveform of the subject P having a stent inserted therein.”),
identify a characteristic region of the device captured in the obtained plurality of X-ray images (Fig. 5, stent markers 51 and 52), and
perform a registration in which
a position of the characteristic region identified in a reference image, which is one of the plurality of X-ray images, serves as reference position (Fig. 6A, first frame), and
a position of the characteristic region identified in each X-ray image of the plurality of X-ray images, which is collected after the reference image, is adjusted based on the reference position (Fig. 6A; Col. 7, line 62 -Col. 8, line 2: “…the image processor 26 obtains, as a reference position, the position of a target contained in a predetermined X-ray image. The second processing is processing where the image processor 26 sequentially generates corrected images by correcting newly generated X-ray images such that the target in the corrected images is positioned at the reference position”).
Nagae fails to teach wherein the plurality of X-ray images are sequentially collected during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein, and(2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject.
However, Bruder teaches a tomography unit (Fig. 1, 1) with processing circuitry (20) configured to
obtain a plurality of X-ray images that are sequentially collected ([0006]: “…carrying out sequential scans triggered prospectively by the ECG in order to minimize the radiation dose during cardiac computed tomography.”) during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein (Fig. 2, F1; [0059]: “…the windows F.sub.1, F.sub.2 are firstly defined for the end systole P.sub.1 and the end diastole P.sub.2…”), and(2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject (Fig. 2, F2; [0006]: “For example, it is possible to define a specific time window by a starting point and an end point that are determined relative to a previously measured last R-wave in the ECG. The data recording is mostly performed in this case in an accurately defined time window in the area of the end diastole, in order to display the coronary vessels in a fashion free from movement”; [0059]: “…the windows F.sub.1, F.sub.2 are firstly defined for the end systole P.sub.1 and the end diastole P.sub.2…”).
Nagae and Bruder are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of cardiac imaging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nagae to incorporate the teachings of Bruder and sequentially image an object during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein, and (2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject. One would be motivated to make such a modification on the basis of minimizing motion blur in the images.
Regarding Claim 2: Nagae in view of Bruder discloses the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
generate, based on the registration, a corresponding corrected image from each X-ray image (Nagae: Fig. 6A, corrected image 2), of the plurality of X-ray images, which is collected after the reference image (Nagae: Col. 3, lines 28-35: “The processing circuitry configured to execute first processing where…a position of a target contained in a predetermined X-ray image is obtained as a reference position, and second processing where corrected images in which positions of the target are set at the reference position are sequentially generated from newly generated X-ray images.”), and
display, on a display (Nagae: 23), an added image generated by adding a plurality of the generated corrected images (Nagae: Col. 18, lines 59-61: “The display control unit 21b displays on the display unit 23, as moving images, corrected images sequentially generated by the corrected-image generation unit 26b.”).
Regarding Claim 3: Nagae in view of Bruder discloses the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
sequentially generate, based on the registration, a corresponding corrected image from each X-ray image collected after the reference image (Nagae: Col. 11, lines 9-14: “Embodiments…may be configured such that corrected images from new images corresponding to the second and subsequent frames are generated while the coordinate point of the stent marker detected in the first frame is constantly used as the reference coordinate point.”), and
sequentially update the corrected image and display the updated corrected image on a display (Nagae: Col. 18, lines 59-61: “The display control unit 21b displays on the display unit 23, as moving images, corrected images sequentially generated by the corrected-image generation unit 26b.”).
Regarding Claim 4: Nagae in view of Bruder discloses the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to obtain, based on electrocardiogram information ([0006]: “…carrying out sequential scans triggered prospectively by the ECG…”), the plurality of X-ray images collected as a result of irradiation of X-rays during at least one of the first period of time and the second period of time (Bruder: Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 5: Nagae in view of Bruder discloses the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to perform the registration by performing a shape modification operation in which a shape of the characteristic region of the device captured in the X-ray image other than the reference image from among the plurality of X-ray images is modified in accordance with the shape of the characteristic region of the device captured in the reference image, from among the plurality of X-ray images (Nagae: Col. 10, lines 24-31: “The corrected-image generation unit 26b generates corrected images by performing image displacement such as translation and rotation, and image deformation such as affine transform on new images so that the coordinate points of the stent marker that have been detected by the marker coordinate detection unit 26a in the new images can be the same coordinate points as the reference coordinate point.”).
Regarding Claim 6: Nagae in view of Bruder discloses the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to perform the shape modification operation by
setting, with respect to the characteristic region captured in the X-ray image, a plurality of characteristic points reflecting the shape of the characteristic region (Nagae: Fig. 6A), and
matching or approximating a second plurality of characteristic points set in the characteristic region captured in the X-ray image other than the reference image to a first plurality of characteristic points set in the characteristic region in the reference image (Nagae: Fig. 6A; Col. 10, lines 24-31: “The corrected-image generation unit 26b generates corrected images by performing image displacement such as translation and rotation, and image deformation such as affine transform on new images so that the coordinate points of the stent marker that have been detected by the marker coordinate detection unit 26a in the new images can be the same coordinate points as the reference coordinate point.”).
Regarding Claim 7: Nagae in view of Bruder discloses the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to
detect at least one of a plurality of characteristic objects of the device,
identify, as the characteristic region of the device, a region in the X-ray image in which the characteristic object is captured, and
set positions of the plurality of characteristic points in the X-ray image according to the characteristic object captured in the characteristic region and according to the shape of the characteristic region (Nagae: Fig. 5; Col. 9, lines 55-65: “in FIG. 5, the marker coordinate detection unit 26a extracts pairs of coordinate points 51 and coordinate points 52 that give the highest scores in the respective frames, and then extracts a region R1 where these coordinate points are included. The extraction of the region R1 is performed, for example, in such a manner that, after rectangles of a predetermined size each centering on the midpoint between the corresponding coordinate point 51 and the corresponding coordinate point 52 are extracted from the respective frames, a region that includes all of the extracted rectangles is extracted as the region R1.”).
Regarding Claim 8: Nagae in view of Bruder discloses the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
evaluate a degree of flexion of the shape of each of a plurality of characteristic regions of the device, and
depending on an evaluation result, exclude the shape of the characteristic region from a target for the shape modification operation (Nagae: Col. 9, lines 55-59: “…the marker coordinate detection unit 26a extracts pairs of coordinate points 51 and coordinate points 52 that give the highest scores in the respective frames, and then extracts a region R1 where these coordinate points are included.”).
Regarding Claim 9: Nagae in view of Bruder discloses the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, among the plurality of X-ray images obtained, the processing circuitry is further configured to set, as the reference image (Nagae: Fig. 6A, first frame), an image that is initially collected during the at least one of the first period of time and the second period of time (Bruder: Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10: Nagae in view of Bruder discloses the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to set, as the reference image, an image decided according to an operation performed by an operator (Nagae: Col. 25, lines 61-65: “Here, suppose that the operator selects, as a reference point, the coordinate point of the stent marker in the “preliminary image at 70% in the R-R interval” out of the two preliminary images in which the stent marker has been designated.”).
Regarding Claim 11: Nagae in view of Bruder discloses the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, based on shapes of a plurality of characteristic regions of the device, including the characteristic region, the processing circuitry is further configured to evaluate a degree of flexion of each of the shapes and set, as the reference image, an image having a least flexion of the device based on an evaluation result (Nagae: Col. 9, lines 55-59: “…the marker coordinate detection unit 26a extracts pairs of coordinate points 51 and coordinate points 52 that give the highest scores in the respective frames, and then extracts a region R1 where these coordinate points are included.”; Col. 10, lines 21-24: “…the corrected-image generation unit 26b sets, as reference coordinate points, the coordinate point of the stent marker that has already been detected by the marker coordinate detection unit 26a”).
Regarding Claim 13: Nagae discloses a medical image processing apparatus, comprising;
processing circuitry (Fig. 1, elements 24-26) configured to
obtain a plurality of X-ray images, which is sequentially generated (Fig. 2) regarding a subject with a device inserted therein (Fig. 4A),
identify a corresponding characteristic region of the device captured in each of the obtained plurality of X-ray images (Fig. 5, stent markers 51 and 52),
perform a shape modification operation for
modifying, in the identified characteristic regions of the device, a shape of the characteristic region of the device captured in an X-ray image, from among the plurality of X-ray images, other than a reference image, which is one of the plurality of X-ray images, to the shape of the characteristic region of the device captured in the reference image (Col. 10, lines 24-31: “The corrected-image generation unit 26b generates corrected images by performing image displacement such as translation and rotation, and image deformation such as affine transform on new images so that the coordinate points of the stent marker that have been detected by the marker coordinate detection unit 26a in the new images can be the same coordinate points as the reference coordinate point.”), and
matching the shape of the plurality of identified characteristic regions of the device (Fig. 6A; Col. 10, lines 24-31: “The corrected-image generation unit 26b generates corrected images by performing image displacement such as translation and rotation, and image deformation such as affine transform on new images so that the coordinate points of the stent marker that have been detected by the marker coordinate detection unit 26a in the new images can be the same coordinate points as the reference coordinate point.”), and
add, to the reference image, a plurality of shape-modified images generated from X-ray images other than the reference image based on the shape modification operation, and display the generated added image on a display (display 23; Col. 18, lines 59-61: “The display control unit 21b displays on the display unit 23, as moving images, corrected images sequentially generated by the corrected-image generation unit 26b.”).
Nagae fails to teach wherein the plurality of X-ray images are sequentially collected during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein, and(2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject.
However, Bruder teaches a tomography unit (Fig. 1, 1) with processing circuitry (20) configured to
obtain a plurality of X-ray images that are sequentially collected ([0006]: “…carrying out sequential scans triggered prospectively by the ECG in order to minimize the radiation dose during cardiac computed tomography.”) during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein (Fig. 2, F1; [0059]: “…the windows F.sub.1, F.sub.2 are firstly defined for the end systole P.sub.1 and the end diastole P.sub.2…”), and(2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject (Fig. 2, F2; [0006]: “For example, it is possible to define a specific time window by a starting point and an end point that are determined relative to a previously measured last R-wave in the ECG. The data recording is mostly performed in this case in an accurately defined time window in the area of the end diastole, in order to display the coronary vessels in a fashion free from movement”; [0059]: “…the windows F.sub.1, F.sub.2 are firstly defined for the end systole P.sub.1 and the end diastole P.sub.2…”).
Nagae and Bruder are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of cardiac imaging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nagae to incorporate the teachings of Bruder and sequentially image an object during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein, and (2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject. One would be motivated to make such a modification on the basis of minimizing motion blur in the images.
Regarding Claim 14: Nagae discloses an X-ray diagnostic apparatus (Fig. 1), comprising:
an X-ray tube (12) configured to irradiate a subject, with a device inserted therein, with X-rays during a partial period of time in a cardiac phase of the subject (Col. 25, lines 21-27: “a preliminary image at the timing of 30% in the interval between R waves (30% in the R-R interval) is designated as the preliminary image corresponding to the end-systole, a preliminary image at the timing of 70% in the interval between R waves (70% in the R-R interval) is designated as the preliminary image corresponding to the end-diastole.”);
an X-ray detector (16) configured to detect X-rays which have passed through the subject (Fig. 1, dotted circle in patient P); and
processing circuitry configured to
control the X-ray tube and the X-ray detector (Fig. 13), and collect a plurality of X-ray images based on the X-rays detected by the X-ray detector (Fig. 2),
identify a characteristic region of the device captured in the plurality of X- ray images collected during the partial period of time in the cardiac phase of the subject (Fig. 5, stent markers 51 and 52), and
perform a registration in which
a position of the characteristic region identified in a reference image, which is one of the plurality of X-ray images, serves as reference position (Fig. 6A, first frame), and
a position of the characteristic region identified in an X-ray image of the plurality of X-ray images, which is collected after the reference image is adjusted based on the reference position (Fig. 6A; Col. 7, line 62 -Col. 8, line 2: “…the image processor 26 obtains, as a reference position, the position of a target contained in a predetermined X-ray image. The second processing is processing where the image processor 26 sequentially generates corrected images by correcting newly generated X-ray images such that the target in the corrected images is positioned at the reference position”).
Nagae fails to teach wherein the plurality of X-ray images are sequentially collected during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein, and(2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject.
However, Bruder teaches a tomography unit (Fig. 1, 1) with processing circuitry (20) configured to
obtain a plurality of X-ray images that are sequentially collected ([0006]: “…carrying out sequential scans triggered prospectively by the ECG in order to minimize the radiation dose during cardiac computed tomography.”) during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein (Fig. 2, F1; [0059]: “…the windows F.sub.1, F.sub.2 are firstly defined for the end systole P.sub.1 and the end diastole P.sub.2…”), and(2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject (Fig. 2, F2; [0006]: “For example, it is possible to define a specific time window by a starting point and an end point that are determined relative to a previously measured last R-wave in the ECG. The data recording is mostly performed in this case in an accurately defined time window in the area of the end diastole, in order to display the coronary vessels in a fashion free from movement”; [0059]: “…the windows F.sub.1, F.sub.2 are firstly defined for the end systole P.sub.1 and the end diastole P.sub.2…”).
Nagae and Bruder are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of cardiac imaging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nagae to incorporate the teachings of Bruder and sequentially image an object during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein, and (2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject. One would be motivated to make such a modification on the basis of minimizing motion blur in the images.
Regarding Claim 15: Nagae discloses the X-ray diagnostic apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
identify the at least one of the first period of time and the second period of time, based on electrocardiogram information of the subject (Bruder: [006]: “…the time window in which the projections are produced being defined as a function of the ECG signal. For example, it is possible to define a specific time window by a starting point and an end point that are determined relative to a previously measured last R-wave in the ECG.”), and
control the X-ray tube and the X-ray detector to ensure that X-ray irradiation occurs during the identified partial period of time and that the plurality of X-ray images are collected (Nagae: Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 16: Nagae discloses an X-ray diagnostic apparatus (Fig. 1), comprising:
an X-ray tube (12) configured to irradiate a subject, with a device inserted therein, with X-rays;
an X-ray detector (16) configured to detect X-rays which have passed through the subject; and
processing circuitry configured to
collect a plurality of X-ray images, which is sequentially generated, based on the detected X-rays (Fig. 2),
identify a corresponding characteristic region of the device captured in each of the collected plurality of X-ray images (Fig. 5, stent markers 51 and 52),
perform a shape modification operation for
modifying, in the identified characteristic regions of the device, a shape of the characteristic region of the device captured in an X-ray image, from among the plurality of images, other than a reference image, which is one of the plurality of X- ray images, to a shape of a characteristic region of the device captured in the reference image (Col. 10, lines 24-31: “The corrected-image generation unit 26b generates corrected images by performing image displacement such as translation and rotation, and image deformation such as affine transform on new images so that the coordinate points of the stent marker that have been detected by the marker coordinate detection unit 26a in the new images can be the same coordinate points as the reference coordinate point.”), and
matching the shape of the plurality of identified characteristic regions of the device (Fig. 6A; Col. 10, lines 24-31: “The corrected-image generation unit 26b generates corrected images by performing image displacement such as translation and rotation, and image deformation such as affine transform on new images so that the coordinate points of the stent marker that have been detected by the marker coordinate detection unit 26a in the new images can be the same coordinate points as the reference coordinate point.”), and
add, to the reference image, a plurality of shape-modified images generated from X-ray images other than the reference image based on the shape modification operation, and display a generated added image on a display (display 23; Col. 18, lines 59-61: “The display control unit 21b displays on the display unit 23, as moving images, corrected images sequentially generated by the corrected-image generation unit 26b.”).
Nagae fails to teach wherein the plurality of X-ray images are sequentially collected during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein, and(2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject.
However, Bruder teaches a tomography unit (Fig. 1, 1) with processing circuitry (20) configured to
obtain a plurality of X-ray images that are sequentially collected ([0006]: “…carrying out sequential scans triggered prospectively by the ECG in order to minimize the radiation dose during cardiac computed tomography.”) during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein (Fig. 2, F1; [0059]: “…the windows F.sub.1, F.sub.2 are firstly defined for the end systole P.sub.1 and the end diastole P.sub.2…”), and(2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject (Fig. 2, F2; [0006]: “For example, it is possible to define a specific time window by a starting point and an end point that are determined relative to a previously measured last R-wave in the ECG. The data recording is mostly performed in this case in an accurately defined time window in the area of the end diastole, in order to display the coronary vessels in a fashion free from movement”; [0059]: “…the windows F.sub.1, F.sub.2 are firstly defined for the end systole P.sub.1 and the end diastole P.sub.2…”).
Nagae and Bruder are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of cardiac imaging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nagae to incorporate the teachings of Bruder and sequentially image an object during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein, and (2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject. One would be motivated to make such a modification on the basis of minimizing motion blur in the images.
Regarding Claim 17: Nagae discloses a storage medium (25) storing therein, in a non-transitory manner, a program that causes a computer to execute processes (“…processing functions to be performed by the C-arm/table mechanism controller 19, the collimator controller 20, the system controller 21, the image data generator 24, and the image processor 26 are stored in computer-executable forms in the image data storage unit 25”) of:
identifying a characteristic region in a device which is inserted into body of a subject and which is captured in a plurality of X-ray images sequentially collected (Fig. 5, stent markers 51 and 52) during a partial period of time in a cardiac phase of the subject (Col. 25, lines 21-27: “a preliminary image at the timing of 30% in the interval between R waves (30% in the R-R interval) is designated as the preliminary image corresponding to the end-systole, a preliminary image at the timing of 70% in the interval between R waves (70% in the R-R interval) is designated as the preliminary image corresponding to the end-diastole.”); and
performing a registration in which
a position of the characteristic region identified in a reference image, which is one of the plurality of X-ray images, serves as reference position (Fig. 6A, first frame), and
a position of the characteristic region identified in an X-ray image of the plurality of X-ray images, which is collected after the reference image, is adjusted based on the reference position (Fig. 6A; Col. 7, line 62 -Col. 8, line 2: “…the image processor 26 obtains, as a reference position, the position of a target contained in a predetermined X-ray image. The second processing is processing where the image processor 26 sequentially generates corrected images by correcting newly generated X-ray images such that the target in the corrected images is positioned at the reference position”).
Nagae fails to teach wherein the plurality of X-ray images are sequentially collected during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein, and(2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject.
However, Bruder teaches a tomography unit (Fig. 1, 1) with processing circuitry (20) configured to
obtain a plurality of X-ray images that are sequentially collected ([0006]: “…carrying out sequential scans triggered prospectively by the ECG in order to minimize the radiation dose during cardiac computed tomography.”) during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein (Fig. 2, F1; [0059]: “…the windows F.sub.1, F.sub.2 are firstly defined for the end systole P.sub.1 and the end diastole P.sub.2…”), and(2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject (Fig. 2, F2; [0006]: “For example, it is possible to define a specific time window by a starting point and an end point that are determined relative to a previously measured last R-wave in the ECG. The data recording is mostly performed in this case in an accurately defined time window in the area of the end diastole, in order to display the coronary vessels in a fashion free from movement”; [0059]: “…the windows F.sub.1, F.sub.2 are firstly defined for the end systole P.sub.1 and the end diastole P.sub.2…”).
Nagae and Bruder are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of cardiac imaging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nagae to incorporate the teachings of Bruder and sequentially image an object during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein, and (2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject. One would be motivated to make such a modification on the basis of minimizing motion blur in the images.
Regarding Claim 18: Nagae discloses a storage medium (25) storing therein, in a non-transitory manner, a program that causes a computer to execute processes (“…processing functions to be performed by the C-arm/table mechanism controller 19, the collimator controller 20, the system controller 21, the image data generator 24, and the image processor 26 are stored in computer-executable forms in the image data storage unit 25”) of:
identifying a corresponding characteristic region of a device captured in each of a plurality of X-ray images that is sequentially created regarding a subject with the device inserted therein (Fig. 5, stent markers 51 and 52);
performing a shape modification operation for
modifying, in the identified characteristic regions of the device, a shape of the characteristic region of the device captured in an X-ray image, from among the plurality of X-ray images, other than a reference image, which is one of the plurality of X-ray images, to a shape of a characteristic region of the device captured in the reference image (Col. 10, lines 24-31: “The corrected-image generation unit 26b generates corrected images by performing image displacement such as translation and rotation, and image deformation such as affine transform on new images so that the coordinate points of the stent marker that have been detected by the marker coordinate detection unit 26a in the new images can be the same coordinate points as the reference coordinate point.”), and
matching the shape of the plurality of characteristic regions of the device (Fig. 6A; Col. 10, lines 24-31: “The corrected-image generation unit 26b generates corrected images by performing image displacement such as translation and rotation, and image deformation such as affine transform on new images so that the coordinate points of the stent marker that have been detected by the marker coordinate detection unit 26a in the new images can be the same coordinate points as the reference coordinate point.”); and
adding , to the reference image, a plurality of shape-modified images generated from X-ray images other than the reference image based on the shape modification operation, and displaying the generated added image on a display (display 23; Col. 18, lines 59-61: “The display control unit 21b displays on the display unit 23, as moving images, corrected images sequentially generated by the corrected-image generation unit 26b.”).
Nagae fails to teach wherein the plurality of X-ray images are sequentially collected during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein, and(2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject.
However, Bruder teaches a tomography unit (Fig. 1, 1) with processing circuitry (20) configured to
obtain a plurality of X-ray images that are sequentially collected ([0006]: “…carrying out sequential scans triggered prospectively by the ECG in order to minimize the radiation dose during cardiac computed tomography.”) during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein (Fig. 2, F1; [0059]: “…the windows F.sub.1, F.sub.2 are firstly defined for the end systole P.sub.1 and the end diastole P.sub.2…”), and(2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject (Fig. 2, F2; [0006]: “For example, it is possible to define a specific time window by a starting point and an end point that are determined relative to a previously measured last R-wave in the ECG. The data recording is mostly performed in this case in an accurately defined time window in the area of the end diastole, in order to display the coronary vessels in a fashion free from movement”; [0059]: “…the windows F.sub.1, F.sub.2 are firstly defined for the end systole P.sub.1 and the end diastole P.sub.2…”).
Nagae and Bruder are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of cardiac imaging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nagae to incorporate the teachings of Bruder and sequentially image an object during at least one of the following periods of time: (1) a first period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within systole of a subject with a device inserted therein, and (2) a second period of time in which there is relatively less movement in cardiac pulsation within diastole of the subject. One would be motivated to make such a modification on the basis of minimizing motion blur in the images.
Conclusion
/MIYA DOWNING/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/DAVID J MAKIYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884