DETAILED ACTION
Remark
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on April 14,2026, which has been entered into the file.
By this amendment, the applicant has amended claims 1, 2 ,4, 7, 8, 13, 14, and 15.
Claims 1-18 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US patent issued by Xu et al (US 2019/0339541 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Yonehara et al (PN. 12,092,840), US patent application publication by Ko et al (US 2016/0182891 A1) and US patent application publication by Hirai (US 2005/0200958 A1).
Claim 1 has been amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Xu et al teaches, with regard to claim 1, a diffractive optical element that is comprised of a diffractive optical element plane (DOE, 33 Figures 1-4) serves as the microstructure plane, the microstructure plane provided thereon with at least one phase pattern serves as the microstructure pattern unit. The diffractive optical element (DOE, 33, Figures 1-4 ), is capable of receiving a light beam emitted from a light source array (31, please see Figures 3, and 5) and projecting a light filed on a target surface wherein the light source array comprises a plurality of light sources, (311, 312 and 313, please see Figures 3, and 5), spaced at least in a first direction. The DOE or the microstructure pattern unit is configured to diverge and light homogenization-modulating (read as uniform speckle density, please see the abstract) each light beam emitted from the light sources along the first direction such that the light field regions is projected by adjacent light sources on the target surface are adjoined or overlapped with each other in the first direction, (please see Figures 1-6).
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. Xu et al teaches that the diffractive optical element with the microstructural pattern is configured to diverge and light homogenization modulating light beam emitted but it does not teach explicitly that the light beam is emitted from a light source in the plurality of light source arrays. Yonehara et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a diffractive optical element that is comprised of a diffractive optical element (20, Figure 1A) for diverging and homogenization-modulating (i.e. uniformity of intensity, please see column 2, lines 51-53), the light beam emitted from a light source (30) to provide a light field regions on the target surface, (please see Figure 1B). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Yonehara et al to modify the diffractive optical element to provide homogenizing modulation to each one of the light beam from each light source of the plurality of light sources.
Xu et al teaches to include a light source array but does not teach explicitly to include a partitioned light source array comprises a plurality of source arrays spaced along a first direction. However, it is within general level skilled in the art to modify the light sources to comprise more than a single light source array that each has a corresponding diffractive optical element to diverge and homogenizing-modulate the light beam from each of the light source array. To provide a partitioned light source arrays therefore is considered to be an obvious modification and design for one skilled in the art to provide desired light field patterns projected on the target surface.
These references however do not include the phrase “an interval between adjacent light source array is greater than a distance between adjacent light sources in the same light source array”. Ko et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a light source arrangement that is comprised of a partitioned light source array comprises a plurality of light source arrays (106_1 to 106_9, Figure 1b) spaced along a first direction wherein the interval between adjacent light source array is greater than a distance between adjacent light sources in the same light source array, (please see Figure 1b). Ko et al teaches that each of the light source array is associated with a microstructure (108 and 105, Figures 1b and 1c) to provide uniform intensity of light beam being modified by the microstructure. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Ko et al to make the light source array has the specific partitioned light source array for the benefit of allowing the diffractive optical element to provide desired diffracted light pattern from the portioned light source array.
Claim 1 has been amended include the phrase “the diffractive optical element is realized by a single piece do diffractive optical element (DOE)”. Ko et al teaches that the plurality of optics (107, Figure 1c) each associated with a light source array (106) is realized by a single piece of optical optics. Hirai in the same field of endeavor teaches a diffraction element that comprises a plurality of diffractive optical element (DOE) of homogenizers that each diffracts or homogenize a laser beam may be realized by a single piece. It would then have been obvious to provide a single piece diffractive optical element that is capable of diffracting light emitted from portioned light source arrays to generate light field regions projected by the adjacent light source array on the target surface being adjoined or overlapped with each other, (please see Figures 3 and 4).
Claim 1 also includes the phrase “wherein the diffractive optical element is configured to along the first direction limit a divergence angle and perform light homogenizing in a limited divergent angle”.
Xu et al teaches the diffractive optical element is configured to diverge along the first direction with a limited divergence agnel and perform light homogenizing in a limited divergence angle, (please see Figures 1-6).
Claim 1 also include the amended phrase “the diffractive optical element is further configured to along a second direction perform light homogenizing for the partitioned light source array and perform light homogenizing for a field of view of each light source to match with a field of view of target light field”. Both Xu et al and Yonehara et al teaches that the diffractive optical element is capable of also homogenizing modulating light field in a second direction (orthogonal to the first direction), (please see Figures 8-11 of Xu et al and Figure 1B of Yonehara et al). As shown in Figure 1B of Yonehara et al the light homogenizing for a field of view of each light source to match a field of view of a target light field.
Claim 1 has been amended to include the phrase “such that a uniform light field is projected out on the target surface by the light beam emitted from the plurality of light source arrays while any dark shadow regions that may be brought out by the interval between adjacent light source arrays can be eliminated”.
Hirai teaches that the plurality of light field regions projected from different diffractive optical elements (DOE(1), DOE(2), DOE(3), Figure 3) on the target surface are adjoined or overlapped with each other to create a uniform light field (please see Figure 4) while any dark shadow regions that may be brought out can be eliminated. In light of Xu et al and Yonehara et al each diffractive optical element (DOE) may diffract light beams from a light source array, with a plurality of light sources, to form uniform light field, (please see Figure 3 of Xu et al and Figures 1A and 1B of Yonehara et al). This means that the uniform light field taught by Hirai may be generated from a portioned light source array with a diffractive optical element (DOE) diffracts light beam from a light source array, within the portioned light source array.
Claim 1 has been amended to include the phrase “a field of view of each light source in the portioned light source array to match with a field of view of a target light field on the target surface so as to match an aspect ratio of the portioned light source array with that of the target light field in the first direction and the second direction”.
Xu et al in light of Yonehara et al and Hirai teaches that each light source generates a light field that would match with a field of view of a target light field so that the aspect ratio of the portioned light source array would be matched with that of the target light field, (please see Figure 3 of Xu et al, Figures 1A and 1B of Yonehara et al and Figures 3 and 4 of Hirai).
With regard to claim 2, Ko et al teaches that the light sources with a two dimensional pattern, the plurality of light sources arrays may have intervals along a second direction which is vertical to the first direction. The DOEs or the microstructures (33, Xu et al or 20, Yonehara et al) corresponds with each of the light source of the plurality of light sources, would be configured to diverge and light homogenization-modulating a light beam emitted from a light source in the plurality of light source arrays along the second direction such that the light field regions projected by adjacent light sources arrays on the target are either adjoined or overlapped with each other in the second direction.
With regard to claim 3, Yonehara et al teaches that the diffractive optical element has a focal power such that a light beam emitted by each light source array is diverged in the first direction and/or the second direction and the microstructural pattern unit is configured to the perform light homogenization modulation within a divergent scope, (please see Figures 1A and 1B).
With regard to claim 4, Yonehara et al does not teach explicitly that the diffractive optical element has different focal power in the first and second direction, however such modification is considered obvious to one skilled in the art to achieve desired of light field pattern. As shown in Figure 1B, the projected light field has a specific aspect ratio with respect to a light source. It is implicitly true the aspect ratio of the total light field therefore would match the aspect ratio of the light source array (with a plurality of light sources).
With regard to claim 5, both Xu et a and Yonehara et al teach that the microstructural pattern unit or DOEs (33, Figures 1-6 of Xu et al or 20, Figures 1A and 1B), is configured to split, diverge and homogenization modulate a light beam emitted from a light source along the first and second direction, (please see Figures 8-11 of Xu et al and Figure 1B of Yonehara et al).
With regard to claim 6, both Xu et al and Yonehara et al teaches that the microstructural pattern unit or DOEs is configured to allow light field projected by each light source array after divergence and homogenization to reach at least middle of the interval between adjacent light source array.
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US patent application publication by Xu et al (US 2019/0339541 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Ko et al (US 2016/0182891 A1), the US patent issued to Yonehara et al (PN. 12,092,840) and US patent application publication by Hirai (US 2005/0200958 A1).
Claim 7 has been amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Xu et al teaches, with regard to claim 7, a uniform light projection system, (please see Figures 1-4), that serves as the partitioned uniform light projection system, wherein the system is comprised of a light source including a plurality of sub-light sources arranged in two dimensional array, (please see the Abstract), which implicitly comprises partitioned sub-light source arrays with a plurality of sub-light sources arrays spaced along a first direction and the plurality of sub-light sources arrays having intervals along the first direction. Xu et al teaches that the partitioned uniform light projection system further comprises a diffractive optical element (33) provided downstream of light path of the partitioned light source array and receiving a light beam emitted from the plurality of light source arrays and projecting a light field on a target surface, (34, please see Figures 3 and 4). Xu et al teaches the diffractive optical element (DOE) comprises a microstructure plane, the microstructure plane provided thereon with at least one microstructure pattern unit or diffractive unit. The diffractive optical element or the microstructure pattern unit is configured to diverge and light homogenization-modulating (read as uniformity please see paragraph [0021]) a light beam emitted from a light source in the plurality of light source arrays along the first direction such that the light field region is projected on the target surface, (please see Figures 1A and 1B). It is implicitly true or obvious modification to one skilled in the art that the projected light field regions projected by adjacent light source arrays on the target surface are adjoined or overlapped with each other in the first direction.
Claim 7 also includes the phrase “an interval between adjacent light source array is greater than a distance between adjacent light sources in the same light source array”. Xu et al teaches that the light source may comprise a plurality of sub-light sources arranged in two dimensional array, (please see the abstract), and via the diffractive optical element, a diffracted light pattern may be generated. Xu et al does not teach that the light source of the plurality of sub-light source array have a specific arrangement, and does not teach that the light source have to have a specific arrangement in order for the diffractive optical element to generate diffracted light pattern. This means the light source may assume any arrangement for the diffractive optical element to project corresponding diffracted light pattern as desired. Ko et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a light source arrangement that is comprised of a partitioned light source array comprises a plurality of light source arrays (106_1 to 106_9, Figure 1b) spaced along a first direction wherein the interval between adjacent light source array is greater than a distance between adjacent light sources in the same light source array, (please see Figure 1b). Ko et al teaches that each of the light source arrays is associated with a microstructure (108 and 105) to diverge and homogenizing modulate the light beam from each of the light source array. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Ko et al to make the light source has the specific portioned light source array for the benefit of allowing the diffractive optical element to provide desired diffracted light pattern from the portioned light source array.
Claim 7 has been amended include the phrase “the diffractive optical element is realized by a single piece do diffractive optical element (DOE)”. Ko et al teaches that the plurality of optics (107, Figure 1c) each associated with a light source array (106) is realized by a single piece of optical optics. Hirai in the same field of endeavor teaches a diffraction element that comprises a plurality of diffractive optical element (DOE) of homogenizers that each diffracts or homogenize a laser beam may be realized by a single piece. It would then have been obvious to provide a single piece diffractive optical element that is capable of diffracting light emitted from portioned light source arrays to generate light field regions projected by the adjacent light source array on the target surface being adjoined or overlapped with each other, (please see Figures 3 and 4).
Claim 7 includes the phrase “wherein the diffractive optical element is configured to along the first direction limit a divergence angle and perform light homogenizing in a limited divergent angle”.
Xu et al teaches the diffractive optical element is configured to diverge along the first direction with a limited divergence agnel and perform light homogenizing in a limited divergence angle, (please see Figures 1-6).
Claim 7 includes the amended phrase “the diffractive optical element is further configured to along a second direction perform light homogenizing for the partitioned light source array and perform light homogenizing for a field of view of each light source to match with a field of view of target light field”. Xu et al teaches that the diffractive optical element is capable of also homogenizing modulating light field in a second direction (orthogonal to the first direction), (please see Figures 8-11 of Xu et al). Yonehara et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a diffractive optical element that is capable of diverging and homogenizing modulating the light beam from light source, (please see Figures 1A and 1B). As shown in Figure 1B of Yonehara et al teaches the light homogenizing for a field of view of each light source is to match a field of view of a target light field. It would then have been obvious to apply the teachings of Yonehara et al to modify the diffractive optical element to achieve the desired projected light field on a target surface.
Claim 7 has been amended to include the phrase “such that a uniform light field is projected out on the target surface by the light beam emitted from the plurality of light source arrays while any dark shadow regions that may be brought out by the interval between adjacent light source arrays can be eliminated”.
Hirai teaches that the plurality of light field regions projected from different diffractive optical elements (DOE(1), DOE(2), DOE(3), Figure 3) on the target surface are adjoined or overlapped with each other to create a uniform light field (please see Figure 4) while any dark shadow regions that may be brought out can be eliminated. In light of Xu et al and Yonehara et al each diffractive optical element (DOE) may diffract light beams from a light source array, with a plurality of light sources, to form uniform light field, (please see Figure 3 of Xu et al and Figures 1A and 1B of Yonehara et al). This means that the uniform light field taught by Hirai may be generated from a portioned light source array with a diffractive optical element (DOE) diffracts light beam from a light source array, within the portioned light source array.
Claim 7 has been amended to include the phrase “a field of view of each light source in the portioned light source array to match with a field of view of a target light field on the target surface so as to match an aspect ratio of the portioned light source array with that of the target light field in the first direction and the second direction”.
Xu et al in light of Yonehara et al and Hirai teaches that each light source generates a light field that would match with a field of view of a target light field so that the aspect ratio of the portioned light source array would be matched with that of the target light field, (please see Figure 3 of Xu et al, Figures 1A and 1B of Yonehara et al and Figures 3 and 4 of Hirai).
With regard to claim 8, Xu et al teaches the light sources has a two dimensional pattern, such that the plurality of light sources arrays may have intervals along a second direction which is vertical to the first direction. The microstructures of the diffractive optical element is configured to diverge and light homogenization-modulating a light beam emitted from a light source in the plurality of light source arrays along the second direction such that the light field regions projected by adjacent light sources arrays on the target are either adjoined or overlapped with each other in the second direction.
With regard to claim 9, Xu et al teaches that the diffractive optical element has a focal power such that a light beam emitted by each light source array is diverged in the first direction and/or the second direction and the microstructural pattern unit is configured to the perform light homogenization modulation within a divergent scope, (please see Figure 2).
With regard to claim 10, Xu et al does not teach explicitly that the diffractive optical element has different focal power in the first and second direction, however such modification is considered obvious to one skilled in the art to achieve desired of light field pattern. As shown in Figures 2-4, the projected light field has a specific aspect ratio with respect to a light source. It is implicitly true the aspect ratio of the total light field therefore would match the aspect ratio of the light source array (with a plurality of light sources).
With regard to claim 11, Xu et al teaches that the microstructural pattern unit or diffractive optical element (33, Figure 2), is configured to split, diverge and homogenization modulate a light beam emitted from a light source along the first and second direction.
With regard to claim 12, Xu et al teaches that the microstructural pattern unit or diffractive optical element is configured to allow light field projected by each light source array after divergence and homogenization to reach at least middle of the interval between adjacent light source array.
Claim(s) 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US patent application publication by Xu et al (US 2019/0339541 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Ko et al (US 2016/0182891 A1), US patent issued to Yonehara et al (PN. 12,092,840) and US patent application publication by Hirai (US2005/0200958 A1).
Claim 13 has been amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Xu et al teaches, with regard to claim 13, a preparation method for a diffractive optical element that serves as the design method of the diffractive optical element. The method comprises a step of forming a partitioned light source arrays which comprises a plurality of sub-light sources forming a two dimensional array, (please see the abstract), which therefore comprise a plurality of light source arrays, the plurality of light source arrays having intervals along a first direction. The method of forming the partitioned light sources array implicitly includes the step of obtaining parameters of the partitioned light source array. The parameters comprise widths of the intervals along the first direction, (please see Figure 3).
Xu et al teaches the design method or preparation method further comprises the step of determining parameters of a target light field on a target surface (23 or 34) comprising a distance between the target light field and partitioned light source array, (please see Figure 3, the distance being d+D).
Xu et al also teaches the design method or preparation method further comprises the step of determining parameters of the diffractive optical element (33, Figures 1-4, please see paragraphs [0039] to [0052]) such that the diffractive optical element diverges and light homogenization-modulates a light beam emitted from a light source in the plurality of light source array along the first direction that the light field regions projected by adjacent light source arrays on the target surface are adjoined or overlapped with each other in the first direction.
Claim 13 also includes the phrase “the parameters of the diffractive optical element comprising at least a first phase distribution, a second phase distribution of the diffractive optical element or focal powers of the diffractive optical element in the first direction and a second direction”. The diffractive optical element diverging properties and the light homogenization-modulation function taught by Xu et al and mentioned above read on the parameters concerning the optical powers and/or the phase distribution.
Claim 13 further includes the phrase “an interval between adjacent light source array is greater than a distance between adjacent light sources in the same light source array”. Xu et al teaches that the light source may comprise a plurality of sub-light sources arranged in two dimensional array (please see the Abstract), and via the diffractive optical element, a diffracted light pattern may be generated. Xu et al does not teach that the light source of the plurality of sub-light source array have a specific arrangement, and does not teach that the light source have to have a specific arrangement in order for the diffractive optical element to generate diffracted light pattern. This means the light source may assume any arrangement for the diffractive optical element to project corresponding diffracted light pattern as desired. Ko et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a light source arrangement that is comprised of a partitioned light source array comprises a plurality of light source arrays (106_1 to 106_9, Figure 1b) spaced along a first direction wherein the interval between adjacent light source array is greater than a distance between adjacent light sources in the same light source array, (please see Figure 1b). Ko et al teaches that each light source array of the partitioned light source arrays is associated with a microstructure (105 and 103, Figures 1b and 1c) to diverge and homogenizing modulating the light beam from the light source array. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Ko et al to make the light source has the specific portioned light source array for the benefit of allowing the diffractive optical element to provide desired diffracted light pattern from the portioned light source array.
Claim 13 has been amended include the phrase “the diffractive optical element is realized by a single piece do diffractive optical element (DOE)”. Ko et al teaches that the plurality of optics (107, Figure 1c) each associated with a light source array (106) is realized by a single piece of optical optics. Hirai in the same field of endeavor teaches a diffraction element that comprises a plurality of diffractive optical element (DOE) of homogenizers that each diffracts or homogenize a laser beam may be realized by a single piece. It would then have been obvious to provide a single piece diffractive optical element that is capable of diffracting light emitted from portioned light source arrays to generate light field regions projected by the adjacent light source array on the target surface being adjoined or overlapped with each other, (please see Figures 3 and 4).
Claim 13 also includes the phrase “wherein the diffractive optical element is configured to along the first direction limit a divergence angle and perform light homogenizing in a limited divergent angle”.
Xu et al teaches the diffractive optical element is configured to diverge along the first direction with a limited divergence agnel and perform light homogenizing in a limited divergence angle, (please see Figures 1-6).
Claim 13 includes the phrase “the diffractive optical element is further configured to along the second direction perform light homogenizing for the partitioned light source array and perform light homogenizing for a field of view of each light source to match with a field of view of target light field”. This phrase is rejected under 35 USC 112, second paragraph, for the reasons set forth above. This features can only be examined in the broadest interpretation. Xu et al teaches that the diffractive optical element is capable of also homogenizing modulating light field in a second direction (orthogonal to the first direction), (please see Figures 8-11 of Xu et al). Yonehara et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a diffractive optical element that is capable of diverging and homogenizing modulating the light beam from light source, (please see Figures 1A and 1B). As shown in Figure 1B of Yonehara et al teaches the light homogenizing for a field of view of each light source is to match a field of view of a target light field. It would then have been obvious to apply the teachings of Yonehara et al to modify the diffractive optical element to achieve the desired projected light field on a target surface.
Claim 13 has been amended to include the phrase “such that a uniform light field is projected out on the target surface by the light beam emitted from the plurality of light source arrays while any dark shadow regions that may be brought out by the interval between adjacent light source arrays can be eliminated”.
Hirai teaches that the plurality of light field regions projected from different diffractive optical elements (DOE(1), DOE(2), DOE(3), Figure 3) on the target surface are adjoined or overlapped with each other to create a uniform light field (please see Figure 4) while any dark shadow regions that may be brought out can be eliminated. In light of Xu et al and Yonehara et al each diffractive optical element (DOE) may diffract light beams from a light source array, with a plurality of light sources, to form uniform light field, (please see Figure 3 of Xu et al and Figures 1A and 1B of Yonehara et al). This means that the uniform light field taught by Hirai may be generated from a portioned light source array with a diffractive optical element (DOE) diffracts light beam from a light source array, within the portioned light source array.
Claim 13 has been amended to include the phrase “a field of view of each light source in the portioned light source array to match with a field of view of a target light field on the target surface so as to match an aspect ratio of the portioned light source array with that of the target light field in the first direction and the second direction”.
Xu et al in light of Yonehara et al and Hirai teaches that each light source generates a light field that would match with a field of view of a target light field so that the aspect ratio of the portioned light source array would be matched with that of the target light field, (please see Figure 3 of Xu et al, Figures 1A and 1B of Yonehara et al and Figures 3 and 4 of Hirai).
With regard to claim 14, Xu et al teaches that the plurality of light source arrays, with two dimensional pattern, have interval along a second direction which is vertical to the first direction. The step of determining parameters of the diffractive optical element comprise includes determining the parameters of the diffractive optical element such that the diffractive optical element diverges and light homogenization-modulates a light beam emitted from a light source in the plurality of light source arrays such that the light field regions projected by adjacent light source arrays on the target surface are adjoined or overlapped with each other in the second direction.
With regard to claim 15, Xu et al teaches that the diffractive optical element includes phase distribution that provides optical power to diverge the light source array in the first direction and to light homogenization-modulate light beam emitted by each light source array within a divergent scope of the first direction, (please see Figures 1-4, paragraph [0021]). Although this reference does not teach explicitly that the phase distribution including optical power for diverging light beam and the phase distribution for light homogenization-modulation are superimposed to form the optical diffractive optical element, such feature is either implicitly included or obvious modified by one skilled in the art to form the diffractive optical element has both functions.
With regard to claim 16, the method for designing the diffractive optical element taught by Xu et al includes the step of determining the parameters of the diffractive optical element also includes the step of determining the focal power of the diffractive optical element in the first and second directions. Although this reference does not teach explicitly that the focal power in the first and second direction may be different, such modification is considered obvious to one skilled in the art to achieve desired of light field pattern. As shown in Figures 2-4, the projected light field has a specific aspect ratio with respect to a light source. It is implicitly true the aspect ratio of the total light field therefore would match the aspect ratio of the light source array (with a plurality of light sources).
With regard to claim 17, Xu et al teaches that the microstructural pattern unit or diffractive optical element (33, Figure 2), is configured to split, diverge and homogenization modulate a light beam emitted from a light source along the first and second direction. This implicitly means that the method for designing the diffractive optical element includes the step of determining the parameters of the diffractive optical element that splits, diverges and light homogenization modulates the light beam emitted from the plurality of light source arrays in the first and second directions.
With regard to claim 18, Xu et al teaches that the microstructural pattern unit or diffractive optical element is configured to allow light field projected by each light source array after divergence and homogenization to reach at least middle of the interval between adjacent light source array.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on April 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly amended claims have been considered and they are rejected for the reasons set forth above.
Applicant’s arguments are mainly drawn to the newly amended features that have been fully addressed in the reasons for rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872