DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to communication: response to amendments/arguments filed on 09/23/2025.
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9-16, 18, 19, and 21-24 are currently pending in this application. Claims 5, 8, 17, and 20 have been cancelled.
No new IDS has been filed for this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Applicants argue that the references do not teach dynamically defining the zero trust access control policy based on an observable state of an identity of the first requestor, an observable state of the project data, and one or more environmental attributes. However, this would have been obvious over the applied references. As seen in Brannon paragraph 35, access to the resources may be based on compliance rules and further whether the user is allowed to perform particular actions. Compliance rules may include the identity of the user (paragraph 32) and further traits of the user such as age, gender, etc (paragraph 50). The identity of the user and the actions he is allowed to take are examples of an observable state of an identity of the requestor and dynamically define the access policies. Brannon paragraph 32 further teaches that the compliance rules are based on the sensitivey and nature of the resource, which different compliance rules. Further, paragraph 32 teaches time windows for particular content. Such examples dynamically define the access polices based on the project data. Further, as seen in paragraph 32 of Brannon, Brannon teaches compliance rules based on geographic areas. This is an example of dynamically defining the access policies based on environmental attributes. Therefore, as seen in the cited areas, the claimed limitations are obvious over the prior art. See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 9, 12, 13, 18, 19, 21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Brannon US Patent Application Publication 2014/0201816 (Brannon) in view of Siavoshy et al. US Patent Application Publication 2019/0303546 (Siavoshy), and further in view of Aoki et al. US Patent Application Publication 2004/0260699 (Aoki)
As per claim 1, Brannon teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a computer system and from a first request, a first access request requesting access to a first project of a plurality of projects hosed by the distribute computing system (paragraph 68, 69, Figure 4, and throughout with user request to access resources); each project of the plurality of projects comprising respective project data governed by a respective compliance regime (see paragraph 32 and throughout with resources/projects having compliance rules); each respective compliance regime enforcing one or more respective compliance requirements for accessing the respective project data (see paragraph 33, with compliance rules including hardware requirements, device functionality, etc; see also paragraph 32 with compliance including time or geographical); dynamically defining, by the computing system and based on an observable state of an identity of the first requestor, the respective project data, and one or more environmental attributes, a zero trust access control policy (see paragraph 32 with different compliance rules/policy; see paragraph 32, 35, and 50 with compliance rules based on user features, user actions, user attributes, sensitivity of data, time of access, and environmental features such as geographic areas); for each respective compliance requirement of the one or more respective compliance requirements of the first project, determining, by the computing system, whether the first access request satisfies the respective compliance requirement by at least applying the zero trust access control policy to the first access request (see paragraphs 34, 35, and throughout with system determining whether user is in compliance; see paragraph 35 wherein system makes decision to grant or deny the request based on compliance; see also paragraph 67 with determining whether user is in compliance based on request).
Brannon further teaches a second access request requesting access to a second project of the plurality of projects; for one of the one or more respective compliance requirements of the second project, determining that the second access request fails to satisfy the one of the more respective compliance requirements; and responsive to determining that the second access request fails to satisfy the one of the one or more respective compliance requirements of the second project, denying the second requestor access to the second project (paragraph 35, 36, and throughout, wherein in the instance a user device does not comply, the resources/projects are denied. Brannon does not explicitly teach a “second requestor” although this would have been obvious, if not inherent. Brannon teaches throughout the reference that there are plurality of users and user devices (see paragraph 18 and 19). Thus, in a system taught by Brannon with an access control management server that provides multiple resources to different users, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, if not inherent, that the access control system would teach granting access or denying access to multiple users based on compliance as a system providing access control should include more than a single user. However, for a further teaching on multiple users accessing a system, see Siavoshy (abstract and throughout with users requesting access to resources).
Siavoshy further teaches determining, by the computing system, that the one or more respective compliance requirements of the first project comprises an access justification having a validity, wherein the validity of the access justification is based on an identity of the first requestor (abstract and throughout, with users requesting access to resource; access depends on use cases which are dependent on user’s qualifications to access the resource; further see paragraphs 63-65)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Siavoshy with Brannon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to provide efficient and sufficient ways for protecting and auditing access to computer resources (paragraph 6 of Siavoshy).
Although the Brannon combination teaches access justifications based on an identity of the first requestor, the combination does not explicitly teach whether the access justification corresponds to the requested access to the first project via the first access request. However, checking whether an access request justification corresponds to a requested access of a particular resource would have been obvious (see Aoki paragraph 35, 63, 64, and throughout with access request includes data usage type and business purpose type, and access is granted based on access control rules).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the Brannon combination with Aoki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to increase security by providing privacy and high rlieability with a high security level (Aoki paragraph 5).
As per claim 6, Brannon teaches wherein the zero trust access control policy requires each access request comprise: two-factor rauthentication (see paragraph 50 with username/password; see also paragraph 51 with management identifier required to gain access as well, which may require combinations of string, word, certificate, tokens, etc)
As per claim 7, Brannon teaches wherein determining that the first access request satisfies the respective compliance requirement comprises determining that the access justification of the first access request is a valid justification for the requested access (see paragraph 50 with user data which may include access levels, roles, policy groups, etc; see paragraph 35 wherein compliance may be based on user data such as those taught in paragraph 50).
As per claim 9, Brannon teaches wherein the distributed computing system provides a community cloud environment for the first request and the second requestor (paragraph 24 and throughout with resource server over cloud based providers; see paragraph 29 with cloud-based solutions).
As per claim 12, Brannon teaches wherein each respective compliance regime specifies at least one of: a geographical region for storage of the respective project data; an encryption requirement for the respective project data; or a usage requirement constraining use of the respective project data (see paragraph 32 with compliance rules including resource/project restricted to use during certain times and geographical areas).
Claim 13 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 1 above.
Claim 18 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 6 above.
Claim 19 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 7 above.
Claim 21 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 9 above.
Claim 24 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 12 above.
Claim(s) 2-4, 10, 11, 14-16, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over the Brannon combination as applied above, and further in view of Astete et al. US Patent Application Publication 2009/0288084 (Astete)
As per claim 2, the Brannon combination does not explicitly teach wherein each project comprises a plurality of infrastructure primitives, each infrastructure primitive representing an atomic unit of capacity of the distributed computing system. However, this would have been obvious. For example, see Astete (abstract, paragraph 54, and throughout with access control for each MTVMI environment; see also paragraph 33 and 46).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Brannon with Astete. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to provide more security and efficiency by providing adequately isolated or independent network services or storage services for users (paragraph 9).
As per claim 3, the Brannon combination teaches wherein each infrastructure primitive comprises one of: a virtual machine; a persistent storage disk; or a storage bucket (see Astete abstract, paragraph 33, 54 and throughout with access to different virtual machines, or also establishing access control to storage space of different users).
As per claim 4, the Brannon combination teaches wherein each project of the plurality of projects is isolated from the infrastructure primivites of each other project (obvious over Astete; see paragraph 9 of system providing isolated services for virtual machines; paragraph 33, 40, and throughout with isolation of network services for some or all of its tenants).
As per claim 10, it would have been obvious wherein the first request comprises a first user of a first organization and the second requestor comprises a second user of a second organization different from the first organization (see throughout Brannon with resource server over a cloud network; it would have been obvious that users may come from other organizations; see paragraph 19 wherein access is to at least one enterprise, which implies there are more than one). However, for a further teaching on a cloud network with different users from different organizations, see Astete (paragraph 33 wherein MTVMI utilizies multipole tenants, with each tenant being a single company).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Brannon with Astete. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to provide more security and efficiency by providing adequately isolated or independent network services or storage services for users (paragraph 9).
As per claim 11, it would have been obvious wherein the first requestor is an administrator of the first project (Brannon paragraph 23 teaches an administrator; see paragraph 83 with enterprise/employee and wherein am employee of the IT team may be an administrator; obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a member of an IT team will need to access resoruces and request documents). However, for a further teaching on users being administrators, see paragraph 38 (users may have administrative privileges).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Brannon with Astete. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to provide more security and efficiency by providing adequately isolated or independent network services or storage services for users (paragraph 9).
Claim 14 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 2 above.
Claim 15 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 3 above.
Claim 16 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 4 above.
Claim 22 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 10 above.
Claim 23 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 11 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON K GEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495