DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 3/16/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 16-19 have been amended.
Claims 3-6, 12-15, and 20 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 2, 7-11, and 16-19 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/2/2026 and 2/26/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101
Due to the amendment filed 3/16/2026, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, new references have been applied to teach the contended limitations.
Upon further evaluation of the amendment filed 3/16/2026, additional indefinite issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been identified and are detailed below.
Examiner’s Note
To enhance clarity, claim language is underlined throughout this Office Action.
Citations to the prior art are provided in parentheses following each claim limitation, along with any necessary supplemental explanations.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites the limitation of the anonymized mobility data. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, claim 1 has been amended to recite “anonymized location probe data.” Claim 9 should be amended to recite “anonymized location probe data” to maintain consistent claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation of last location probe data point in the junction. The term “last” can be interpreted as either temporal or spatial. While the claim describes the “sequence of location probe data points” as being received “during the travel of the vehicle,” sensor drifts or a stopped vehicle can decouple time from space. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot reasonably determine whether this limitation is intended for evaluating a chronological sequence or a spatial geometry of data points. Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for similar reasons.
Claims 7 and 16 recite the limitation of the junction behavior. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, claim 1 has been amended to recite “junction behavior classification.” One of ordinary skill cannot reasonably determine if the “junction behavior” of claims 7 and 16 is intended to be interpreted as separate and distinct from the “junction behavior classification” of claim 1 or if this is a typographical error.
Claims 8 and 17 recite the limitation of the junction behavior. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, claim 1 has been amended to recite “junction behavior classification.” One of ordinary skill cannot reasonably determine if the “junction behavior” of claims 8 and 17 is intended to be interpreted as separate and distinct from the “junction behavior classification” of claim 1 or if this is a typographical error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7-11, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Busser (US 2019/0017832 A1), hereinafter Busser, in view of Wan et al. (“A Long Short-Term Memory-Based Approach for Detecting Turns and Generating Road Intersections from Vehicle Trajectories,” Sept. 15, 2022, MDPI), hereinafter, Wan, and Viente et al. (US 2019/0272389 A1), hereinafter Viente.
Claim 1
Busser discloses the claimed apparatus (see Figure 6, depicting apparatus 100) comprising processing circuitry and at least one memory including computer program code instructions (see ¶0056-0057, regarding apparatus 100 includes different units comprising one or more microprocessors for carrying out the method steps of method 10; ¶0040, regarding that the invention includes a computer program product that is loaded into microprocessor for carrying out the steps of the method), the computer program code instructions configured to, when executed by the processing circuity, cause the apparatus to obtain a sequence of location probe data points via an electronic control unit of a vehicle and during travel of the vehicle along a road network (see ¶0056, regarding that apparatus 100 includes a capture unit 110 that receives captured routes; ¶0012, regarding a route, defined as spatial movement of an object from a starting point to a destination point via successive waypoints, is recorded via a navigation system belonging to a vehicle, as described in ¶0003), wherein the sequence of location probe data points corresponds to a trajectory and represents respective locations of the vehicle during the travel of the vehicle along the road network (see ¶0049, with respect to the example in Figure 1, regarding that a first route R1 from starting point S1 to destination point Z1 includes dots that represent waypoints W for which position indications are available). As specifically described in ¶0042, Figure 1 of Busser is a road map, and therefore, the route R1 may reasonably correspond to “travel of the vehicle along a road network.” Further, the vehicle navigation system of Busser may be reasonably interpreted as an “electronic control unit of a vehicle,” given its known specialized function to process GPS and sensor data for generating various forms of guidance.
Busser does not further disclose that the claimed apparatus is further caused to generate a vehicle-related feature set based on the sequence of location probe data points detected via the electronic control unit of the vehicle and input the vehicle-related feature set to a machine learning model to generate a junction behavior classification for a junction of the trajectory where two or more turn maneuvers via the road network are possible by the vehicle, wherein the machine learning model is trained based on a set of vehicle-related labels associated with junction probe data points and non-junction probe data points, so as to further identify, based on the junction behavior classification and the sequence of location probe data points obtained via the electronic control unit of the vehicle, a last location probe data point in the junction. However, given that Busser identifies a junction from a route of waypoints (see ¶0056, regarding the use of a segmentation point for segmenting each route into two partial routes, where the segmentation point is defined as an intersection or T-junction in ¶0054), it would be reasonable to modify the identification of a junction in Busser to be performed using a machine learning model trained using sets of labels associated with junction probe data points and non-junction probe data points, in light of Wan.
Specifically, Wan teaches the known technique of generat[ing] a vehicle-related feature set based on a trajectory T that contains a sequence of tracking points p1, p2,…, pN (similar to the sequence of location probe data points of Busser) detected via GPS trackers in vehicles (similar to the electronic control unit of the vehicle of Busser) (see page 4, sections 2.1-2.2, regarding that raw trajectories including tracking points for a vehicle, defined as trajectory T that contains a sequence of tracking points p1, p2,…, pN with associated timestamps t1, t2,…, tN, captured by GPS trackers in vehicles, as described on page 9, section 3.1; page 5, section 2.2.1, regarding that trajectory T is converted into a sequence of vectors that store attributes that describe motion characteristics of the vehicle), and input the vehicle-related feature set to a machine learning model to generate a junction behavior classification for a junction of the trajectory T (similar to the trajectory of Busser) where two or more turn maneuvers via a road (similar to the road network of Busser) are possible by the vehicle (see page 3, first paragraph, regarding that an LSTM-based model identifies the turning trajectory segments (TTSs), each of which represents a turn occurring at an intersection, by capturing a deep representation of the input feature sequence, as further described on page 4 in section 2.2; page 7, section 2.2.3, regarding that output layer of the LSTM-based model generates a classification decision for each line segment of the input trajectory T), wherein the machine learning model is trained based on a set of vehicle-related labels associated with junction probe data points and non-junction probe data points (see page 10, section 3.2, regarding that the LSTM-based model for detecting TTSs is trained using line segments (training set) manually labeled as parts of TTSs or non-TTSs).
Wan further teaches identify[ing], based on the junction behavior classification and trajectory T that contains a sequence of tracking points p1, p2,…, pN (similar to the sequence of location probe data points of Busser) detected via GPS tracker in a vehicle (similar to the electronic control unit of the vehicle of Busser), a last probe data point in the junction (see page 7, section 2.2.3, regarding the generation of a classification decision of each line segment of the input trajectory T as being part of a TTS or not being part of a TTS, where trajectory segments are associated with tracking points pi to pj, as described on page 3 in section 2, with respect to Figure 2; page 4, sections 2.1-2.2, regarding that raw trajectories including tracking points for a vehicle, defined as trajectory T that contains a sequence of tracking points p1, p2,…pN with line segment ei between two consecutive tracking points pi and pi+1, captured by GPS trackers in vehicles, as described on page 9, section 3.1). For example, with respect to Figure 1, by identifying that the line segment from tracking point pj-1 to tracking point pj on the trajectory T is part of a TTS, Wan clearly teaches that the “last probe data point in the junction” is identified.
Since the systems of Busser and Wan are directed to the same purpose, i.e. identifying junctions from a trajectory of location points acquired from a vehicle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the step of identifying junctions in Busser to further generate a vehicle-related feature set based on the sequence of location probe data points detected via the electronic control unit of the vehicle, input the vehicle-related feature set to a machine learning model to generate a junction behavior classification for a junction of the trajectory where two or more turn maneuvers via the road network are possible by the vehicle, wherein the machine learning model is trained based on a set of vehicle-related labels associated with junction probe data points and non-junction probe data points, and identify, based on the junction behavior classification and the sequence of location probe data points obtained via the electronic control unit of the vehicle, a last location probe data point in the junction, in light of Wan, with the predictable result of detecting turns at intersections from raw trajectories using a robust method that can benefit from the movement pattern information hidden in each trajectory (last paragraph on page 2 of Wan).
Busser, as modified by Wan, discloses that the claimed apparatus is further caused to apply, based on a junction point that corresponds to a partial route (similar to a location probe data point immediately after the last location probe data point in the junction depicted as a tracking point occurring after tracking point pj in Figure 1 of Wan), a gap placement or a sub-trajectory in the sequence of location probe data points detected via the electronic control unit of the vehicle to generate at least a first subsequence of the location probe data points and a second subsequence of the location probe data points (see ¶0056-0057, regarding segmentation unit 120 of apparatus 100 uses a waypoint as the segmentation point in order to segment the route into two partial routes, where waypoints in the region of the segmentation point are removed, and the segmentation point is defined as an intersection of roads, as described in ¶0023-0024). The “gap placement” is not defined to include the “location probe data point immediately after the last location probe data point in the junction” and is merely based on this point in the claim. Since Wan teaches identifying an intersection by detecting whether each segment of a trajectory is a TTS or not, the segment from tracking point pj to the subsequent tracking point outside of the intersection of Figure 1 is clearly a basis for identifying the intersection in Wan, such that modifying the intersection in which a segmentation point (i.e. “gap placement”) is set in Busser to be identified using the technique of Wan reasonably teaches applying the gap placement “based on a location probe data point immediately after the last location probe data point in the junction,” as claimed. Due to the issues discussed in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), prior art is applied under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Busser further discloses that the claimed apparatus is caused to generate anonymized location probe data for the trajectory associated with the vehicle based on the first subsequence of the location probe data points and the second subsequence of the location probe data points (see ¶0056, regarding anonymization unit 150 of apparatus 100 removes object-identifying data before further processing in the capture unit 100, which identifies segmentation points for segmentation into at least two partial routes by segmentation unit 120; ¶0023-0024, regarding that the segmentation point is an intersection or T-junction of a road, where waypoints in the region of the segmentation point are removed, so that the turning direction or selected lane cannot be accurately discerned from the start or end of a partial route). The partial routes of Busser are applied to teach the “anonymized location probe data,” similar to the Applicant’s disclosure that describes “the first subsequence of the location probe data points and the second subsequence of the location probe data points correspond to anonymized mobility data for the vehicle” in at least paragraph [0038] of the specification filed 11/28/2022.
While Busser discloses that the waypoints associated with the partial routes (i.e. “anonymized location probe data”) are associated with time or height indications (see ¶0049), time and height are acquired using the same GPS as the “sequence of location probe data points” (see ¶0004) and may not reasonably teach separate and distinct vehicle-related sensor data. However, it would be obvious to acquire vehicle-related sensor data in combination with the location data of Busser for augmenting similar partial routes, in light of Viente.
Specifically, Viente teaches the known technique of obtain[ing] outputs indicative of motion of a host vehicle that include position from a GPS sensor (similar to the sequence of location probe data points of Busser) (see ¶0327, with respect to step 2510 of Figure 25) and vehicle-related sensor data (see ¶0329, with respect to step 2530 of Figure 25, regarding receiving an image representative of an environment of the host vehicle along the road segment using a camera associated with the host vehicle, which is analyzed to determine a road characteristic associated with the road section, as described in ¶0330, with respect to step 2540) via processor 2315 included in navigation system 2300 (similar to the electronic control unit of a vehicle of Busser) on a road section traversed by the host vehicle (similar to the condition of during travel of the vehicle along a road network of Busser) (see ¶0324, regarding that process 2500 of Figure 25 is for collecting anonymized drive information relative to a road section traversed by a host vehicle and is performed by processor 2315 included in a navigation system 2300). Viente further teaches augment[ing] a first portion and second portion of a road section, defined as being spatially separated in ¶0342 (similar to the anonymized location probe data of Busser) with the vehicle-related sensor data to generate vehicle data for the vehicle (see ¶0334, with respect to step 2550 of Figure 25, regarding the assembly of first road segment information relative to a first portion of the road section, where the first road segment information includes motion representation determined at step 2520 and a road characteristic determined at step 2540; ¶0339, with respect to step 2560 of Figure 25, regarding the assembly of second road segment information relative to a second portion of the road section, where the second road segment information includes motion representation determined at step 2520 and a road characteristic determined at step 2540), and encod[ing] the vehicle data in a database to enable anonymized localization for provision of location-based services to a plurality of vehicles (see ¶0348, with respect to step 2570 of Figure 25, regarding the first road segment information and second road segment information is transmitted to a server for assembly of an autonomous vehicle road navigation model, which is distributed to one or more vehicles for navigation along a road section, as described in ¶0404).
Since the systems of Busser and Viente are directed to the same purpose, i.e. anonymizing position data by separating the position data into portions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the obtained data of Busser to further include vehicle-related sensor data, so as to further augment the anonymized location probe data with the vehicle-related sensor data to generate vehicle data for the vehicle, and encode the vehicle data in a database to enable anonymized localization for provision of location-based services to a plurality of vehicles, in light of Viente, with the predictable result of ensuring sufficient information is included in the segmented road information to generate a navigational model (¶0321 of Viente) while assuring anonymity of the data (¶0348 of Viente).
Claims 2, 11, and 19
Wan further teaches determin[ing] one or more features for the vehicle-related feature set based on a combination of at least two of speed data for the vehicle (similar to the vehicle of Busser) during capture of one or more location probe data points within trajectory T that contains a sequence of tracking points p1, p2,…, pN (similar to the sequence of location probe data points of Busser) and heading data indicative of a direction of travel associated with the vehicle during capture of one or more location probe data points within the trajectory T (see page 5, section 2.2.1, regarding that the sequence of vectors stores attributes that describe the motion characteristics of the vehicle including tortuosity, turning angle, speed, and acceleration, which are further processed by the encoder, as described on page 6, section 2.2.2).
Claims 7 and 16
Busser further discloses that the computer program code instructions are configured to, when executed by the processing circuity, cause the apparatus to:
identify a first portion in the sequence of location probe data points as a potential origin location of the vehicle during a journey associated with the travel of the vehicle along the portion of the road network (see ¶0012, regarding the recorded route includes a starting point to a destination point via successive waypoints, where the route is segmented by removing waypoints in a region of a segmentation point, as described in ¶0023);
apply the gap placement in the first portion in the sequence of location probe data points (see ¶0023, regarding that waypoints in the region of the segmentation point are removed, where the segmentation point may be an intersection or T-junction).
The partial route (i.e. “first portion”) that includes the starting point (e.g., partial route R2.1 includes starting point S2 in Figure 3) may reasonably teach a “potential origin location.” The term “potential origin location” is not defined in the Applicant’s specification and may reasonably pertain to the origin of a partial route, in light of paragraph [0098] of the specification filed 11/28/2022. The term “potential” does not require the “first portion” to be an origin location.
Wan further teaches the technique of identify[ing] the junction behavior in a line segment of a trajectory T (similar to the first portion in the sequence of location probe data points of Busser) (see page 3, first paragraph, regarding that an LSTM-based model identifies the turning trajectory segments (TTSs), each of which represents a turn occurring at an intersection, by capturing a deep representation of the input feature sequence, as further described on page 4 in section 2.2; page 7, section 2.2.3, regarding that output layer of the LSTM-based model generates a classification decision for each line segment of the input trajectory T), as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Due to the issues discussed in the rejection of claims 7 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), prior art is applied under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claims 8 and 17
Busser further discloses that the computer program code instructions are configured to, when executed by the processing circuity, cause the apparatus to:
identify a last portion in the sequence of location probe data points as a potential destination location of the vehicle during a journey associated with the travel of the vehicle along the portion of the road network (see ¶0012, regarding the recorded route includes a starting point to a destination point via successive waypoints, where the route is segmented by removing waypoints in a region of a segmentation point, as described in ¶0023);
apply the gap placement in the last portion in the sequence of location probe data points (see ¶0023, regarding that waypoints in the region of the segmentation point are removed, where the segmentation point may be an intersection, T-junction, highway exit, or bus stop).
The partial route (i.e. “last portion”) that includes the destination point (e.g., partial route R2.3 includes destination point Z2 in Figure 3) may reasonably teach a “potential destination location.” The term “potential destination location” is not defined in the Applicant’s specification and may reasonably pertain to the destination of a partial route, in light of paragraph [0093] of the specification filed 11/28/2022. The term “potential” does not require the “last portion” to be a destination location.
Wan further teaches the technique of identify[ing] the junction behavior in a line segment of a trajectory T (similar to the last portion in the sequence of location probe data points of Busser) (see page 3, first paragraph, regarding that an LSTM-based model identifies the turning trajectory segments (TTSs), each of which represents a turn occurring at an intersection, by capturing a deep representation of the input feature sequence, as further described on page 4 in section 2.2; page 7, section 2.2.3, regarding that output layer of the LSTM-based model generates a classification decision for each line segment of the input trajectory T), as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Due to the issues discussed in the rejection of claim 8 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), prior art is applied under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim 9
Busser further discloses that at least the first subsequence of the location probe data points and the second subsequence of the location probe data points correspond to the anonymized mobility data for the vehicle (see ¶0056, regarding anonymization unit 150 of apparatus 100 removes object-identifying data before further processing in the capture unit 100, which identifies segmentation points for segmentation into at least two partial routes by segmentation unit 120; ¶0023-0024, regarding that the segmentation point is an intersection or T-junction of a road, where waypoints in the region of the segmentation point are removed, so that the turning direction or selected lane cannot be accurately discerned from the start or end of a partial route). The partial routes of Busser are applied to teach the “anonymized location probe data,” similar to the Applicant’s disclosure that describes “the first subsequence of the location probe data points and the second subsequence of the location probe data points correspond to anonymized mobility data for the vehicle” in at least paragraph [0038] of the specification filed 11/28/2022.
Claim 10
The combination of Busser, Wan, and Viente disclose the claimed computer-implemented method, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 18
The combination of Busser, Wan, and Viente disclose the claimed computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer-executable program code instructions stored therein (see ¶0040 of Busser, regarding the invention is a computer program product loaded into a microprocessor and comprises code for carrying out the steps of the method), the computer-executable program code instructions comprising program code instructions to perform the steps described in the rejection of claim 1.
Viente further teaches the step of caus[ing] transmission of the vehicle data to a server computing device (see ¶0348, with respect to step 2570 of Figure 25, regarding the first road segment information and second road segment information is transmitted to a server for assembly of an autonomous vehicle road navigation model, which is distributed to one or more vehicles for navigation along a road section, as described in ¶0404), as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Specifically, Zuberi et al. (“Detection of Road Intersections Using History Trajectory Data for Evolving Mix-Zones,” 2014, Department of Electronics & Communications, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi-11025) teaches the use of mix-zones at intersections to protect location privacy of mobile users, Mao et al. (US 2019/0360819 A1) teaches removing probe data points within an intersection for map matching probe data points to road segments (see ¶0061), and Ostadzadeh et al. (US 2021/0019425 A1) teaches splitting trajectories into sub-trajectories by deliberately eliminating probe data points from the trajectory data using customized gap settings (see ¶0053-0055).
/SARA J LEWANDROSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3661