Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 24 – 40 are pending in this application, wherein claims 1 – 23 are canceled, claims 32 – 39 are withdrawn, and claim 40 is new.
Claims 24 – 31 and 40 are currently examined.
Receipt is acknowledged of Declarations of Asha Amritraj filed on June 22, 2026 and July 20, 2026.
Priority
This application is a domestic application, filed November 28, 2022, which claims benefit of provisional application 63/283,800, filed November 29, 2021.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/283,800, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The domestic application 63/283,800 does not provide support for the limitations of “orientin”, “vitexin”, and “bergenin concentration of between about 25 micromoles per liter to 100 micromoles per liter” recited in claims 24 – 31 and 40. Thus, the priority date of claims 24 – 31 and 40 is November 28, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
i. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
ii. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
iii. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
iv. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or
nonobviousness.
Claims 24 – 25, 29, and 30 – 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (Journal of Molecular Neuroscience, 2019, Vol. 69, Issue 2, page 246 – 253, cited in the PTO-892 on September 30, 2025), in view of Yahaya et al. (Journal of Immunology Research, 2020, cited in the PTO-892 on September 30, 2025), Shal et al. (International Journal of Molecular Sciences, June 2021, Vol. 22, Issue 12, cited in the PTO-892 on September 30, 2025), and Barai et al. (Behavioural Brain Research, 2019, Vol. 356, page 18 – 40, cited in the PTO-892 on May 16, 2025).
Zhong et al. teach that orientin can enhance autolysosome clearance, decrease brain Aβ deposition, and improve learning and memory in AD mice (Abstract). The subject is treated with 10 mg/kg orientin in 0.5 mL saline daily (page 247, Left Col., para. 3).
However, Zhong et al. do not teach combining orientin with vitexin and bergenin as well as the concentration of bergenin. Zhong et al. also do not teach the reduction of tau protein.
Yahaya et al. teach that vitexin is an active compound found in abundance in most medicinal plant species such as pearl millet. The compound is said to possess a number of pharmacological properties including anticancer, antinociceptive, antiviral, and anti-inflammatory, and anti-AD. Yahaya et al. disclose that vitexin has shown its ability to limit the formation of Aβ via the inhibition of BACE1 enzyme (page 4, Left Col., para. 3 – 4).
Shal et al. teach studies performed in 5xFAD Tg mouse model, which bergenin is administered orally in the amounts of 1, 20, and 60 mg/kg. The results show that bergenin significantly attenuate the memory deficit observed in the Y-maze and Morris water maze test. The differential scanning calorimeter suggests an absence of Aβ aggregation in bergenin-treated mice (Abstract). Shal et al. teach the working concentrations of bergenin to be 1, 10, 50, and 100 μM (page 20, para. 5).
Barai et al. teach that bergenin possess efficacious antioxidant, antiulcerogenic, anti-HIV, hepatoprotective, neuroprotective, anti-inflammatory and immunomodulatory activity along with antinociceptive effect and wound healing properties. The bergenin treatment at 80 mg/kg leads to significant abatement of the raised Aβ-1-42 levels and alleviated the perturbed p-tau levels to significantly low levels of p-tau in brain homogenates of rats. The observed effects might be attributed to the cholinesterase inhibitory activity of bergenin coupled with its antioxidant effect, anti-inflammatory activity and reduction of Aβ-1-42 and p-tau levels which could have collectively helped in the attenuation of cognitive deficits (Abstract). Barai et al. disclose that the reports on inhibition of carrageenan-induced edema in rats, hPTP1B inhibitory activity and reduction of various inflammatory and pro-inflammatory mediators, like IL-1β, TNF-α, IFN γ, COX-1, COX-2, phospholipase A2, etc. indicate that anti-inflammatory activity of bergenin might have also contributed its part for the improvement of the morphology of neurons by reducing neuroinflammation (page 38, Left Col., para. 1). Barai et al. further demonstrate bergenin’s dose-dependent inhibition of AChE and BuChE in vitro and found to be safe up to 50 µM (Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine orientin as taught by Zhong et al. with vitexin and bergenin in view of Yahaya et al. and Shal et al. to administering the combination of orientin, vitexin, and bergenin to reduce Aβ protein. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to do this because orientin, vitexin, and bergenin are known separately in the art for the purpose of reducing Aβ protein, and it would have been obvious to combine them for the same purpose. Each of the references identifies orientin, vitexin, and bergenin as the essential active agents responsible for reducing Aβ/tau proteins. The references do not teach additional components that would materially affect the basic and novel characteristics of the claimed composition. Therefore, the combination of Zhong et al., Yahaya et al. and Shal et al. met the recitation of “consisting essentially of”. Barai et al. teach that bergenin is able to reduce tau protein, said combination containing orientin, vitexin, and bergenin will achieve the intended purpose when administered to a patient. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Zhong et al. with the teachings of Yahaya et al. and Shal et al. because it is well known to combine drugs to treat the same condition.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (Journal of Molecular Neuroscience, 2019, Vol. 69, Issue 2, page 246 – 253, cited in the PTO-892 on September 30, 2025), in view of Yahaya et al. (Journal of Immunology Research, 2020, cited in the PTO-892 on September 30, 2025), Shal et al. (International Journal of Molecular Sciences, June 2021, Vol. 22, Issue 12, cited in the PTO-892 on September 30, 2025), and Barai et al. (Behavioural Brain Research, 2019, Vol. 356, page 18 – 40, cited in the PTO-892 on May 16, 2025) as applied to claims 24 – 25, 29, and 30 – 31 above, and further in view of Varshney et al. (Critical Reviews in Food Science and Nutrition, 2021, cited in the PTO-892 on May 16, 2025).
Zhong et al., Yahaya et al., Shal et al., and Barai et al. teach the limitations discussed above.
However, Zhong et al., Yahaya et al., Shal et al., and Barai et al. do not teach the claimed concentration of vitexin.
Varshney et al. teaches 10 μM of vitexin was used in zebrafish larvae model (page 1760, Right Col., para. 1). About 50 μM of vitexin was found to inhibit aggregation of Aβ25-35 on Neuro-2a cells significant and restored the cell viability up to 92.86 ± 5.57% via inhibition of caspase-3 activation, and Bax protein expression. It has been reported that vitexin has low cytotoxicity and is able to reduce the releases of TNF-α, IL-1β, NO, etc (page 2760, Left Col., para. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings as taught by Zhong et al., Yahaya et al., and Shal et al. with the effective dose of vitexin in view of Varshney et al. because Varshney et al. disclose that 50 μM vitexin is able to inhibit aggregation of Aβ25-35 on Neuro-2a cells. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings as taught by Zhong et al., Yahaya et al., and Shal et al. with the effective dose of vitexin in view of Varshney et al. because of the therapeutic effects of vitexin against Aβ protein. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to combine the teachings taught by Zhong et al., Yahaya et al., and Shal et al. with the effective dose of vitexin in view of Varshney et al. as Varshney et al. disclose the therapeutic effects of vitexin.
Claims 27 – 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (Journal of Molecular Neuroscience, 2019, Vol. 69, Issue 2, page 246 – 253 cited in the PTO-892 on September 30, 2025), in view of Yahaya et al. (Journal of Immunology Research, 2020, cited in the PTO-892 on September 30, 2025), Shal et al. (International Journal of Molecular Sciences, June 2021, Vol. 22, Issue 12, cited in the PTO-892 on September 30, 2025), and Barai et al. (Behavioural Brain Research, 2019, Vol. 356, page 18 – 40, cited in the PTO-892 on May 16, 2025) as applied to claims 24 – 25, 29, and 30 – 31 above, and further in view of Lam et al. (Advances in Pharmacological Sciences, 2016, Vol. 2016, page 1 – 9, cited in the PTO-892 on November 28, 2023).
Zhong et al., Yahaya et al., Shal et al., and Barai et al. teach the limitations discussed above.
However, Zhong et al., Yahaya et al., Shal et al., and Barai et al. do not teach the claimed concentration of orientin.
Lam et al. disclose various medicinal properties of orientin (page 3 – 6). In one of the in vivo studies, 3, 10, and 30 μmol/L have been used to evaluate the cardioprotective effects in rats (page 4, Right Col., para. 4). Lam et al. further disclose that the use of orientin is able to produce neuroprotective effects in Amyloid β-protein induced mitochondrial dysfunction oxidative stress (Alzheimer’s disease, AD) mice. Moreover, Lam et al. find that orientin will improve cognitive impairment of the AD mice (page 5, Right Col., para. 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings as taught by Zhong et al., Yahaya et al., and Shal et al. with the dosing amount of orientin in view of Lam et al. because Lam et al. disclose that it has been safe to treat rat with 3, 10, and 30 μmol/L. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings as taught by Zhong et al., Yahaya et al., and Shal et al. with the dosing amount of orientin in view of Lam et al. because it is known in the art that it is safe to use up to 30 μmol/L in treatment. The dosage disclosed by Lam et al. is able to act as a guidance to establish a safe dose in other animals, such as human. The dose would be optimized by routine experimentation to discover the best effective amount for optimal Aβ protein reduction. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to combine the teachings taught by Zhong et al., Yahaya et al., and Shal et al. with the dosing amount of orientin in view of Lam et al. as Lam et al. teach the safety dosage for subject to administered.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (Journal of Molecular Neuroscience, 2019, Vol. 69, Issue 2, page 246 – 253 cited in the PTO-892 on September 30, 2025), in view of Yahaya et al. (Journal of Immunology Research, 2020, cited in the PTO-892 on September 30, 2025), Shal et al. (International Journal of Molecular Sciences, June 2021, Vol. 22, Issue 12, cited in the PTO-892 on September 30, 2025), and Barai et al. (Behavioural Brain Research, 2019, Vol. 356, page 18 – 40, cited in the PTO-892 on May 16, 2025) as applied to claims 24 – 25, 29, and 30 – 31 above, and further in view of Lam et al. (Advances in Pharmacological Sciences, 2016, Vol. 2016, page 1 – 9, cited in the PTO-892 on November 28, 2023) and Malar et al. (Toxicology in Vitro, 2018, Vol. 50 page 160 – 171, PTO-892).
Zhong et al., Yahaya et al., Shal et al., and Barai et al. teach the limitations discussed above.
However, Zhong et al., Yahaya et al., Shal et al., and Barai et al. do not teach the claimed concentration of orientin and vitexin.
Lam et al. disclose various medicinal properties of orientin (page 3 – 6). In one of the in vivo studies, 3, 10, and 30 μmol/L have been used to evaluate the cardioprotective effects in rats (page 4, Right Col., para. 4). Lam et al. further disclose that the use of orientin is able to produce neuroprotective effects in Amyloid β-protein induced mitochondrial dysfunction oxidative stress (Alzheimer’s disease, AD) mice. Moreover, Lam et al. find that orientin will improve cognitive impairment of the AD mice (page 5, Right Col., para. 3).
Malar et al. teach that vitexin has an anti-Aβ activity. Specifically, Malar et al. report that vitexin significantly inhibits aggregation of Aβ25 – 35 in a cell-free Thioflavin-T assay, including treatment with 10 μM vitexin, and further report that 50 μM vitexin protected Neuro-2a cells against Aβ25 – 35-induced toxicity and significantly restored cell viability (page 161, Left Col., para. 4; Abstract). Thus, Malar et al. teach vitexin as an active compound for inhibiting Aβ aggregation and protecting neuronal cells from Aβ-induced toxicity, and further teaches biologically effective vitexin concentrations within the range recited in the claims.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ orientin at about 20 μM, vitexin at about 20 μM, and bergenin at about 50 μM in the composition as taught by the combination of Zhong et al., Yahaya et al., Shal et al., and Barai et al. because the combination of references teach each of orientin, vitexin, and bergenin as having activity relevant to Aβ and further provides biologically effective concentrations for these compounds. Barai et al. specifically teach bergenin at 50 μM, while Lam et al. teach orientin at concentrations including 10 and 30 μM, and Malar et al. teach biologically effective vitexin concentration including 10 and 50 μM. Thus, the claimed concentration of about 20 μM orientin and about 20 μM vitexin fall between known effective concentrations taught in the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select and optimize the respective concentrations within these known working concentrations in order to obtain an effective composition for reducing Aβ, with a reasonable expectation of success, because the prior art already establishes the biologically activity of the respective compounds and teaches concentration as a variable affecting the biological effect.
Responses to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s Remarks, field July 20, 2026, have been considered and are found to be not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited references fail to teach or suggest the claimed combination of orientin, vitexin, and bergenin for reducing Aβ protein. Applicant contends that the individual references disclose the compound separately and do not provide a teaching or suggestion to combine the three compounds in the claimed composition. However, the argument is not persuasive because the rejection does not rely on any single reference as teaching the entire claimed composition. Zhong et al. teach orientin in connection with reduction of Aβ deposition, Yahaya et al. and Malar et al. teach the anti- Aβ activity of vitexin, and Shal et al. and Barai et al. teach bergenin in connection with Aβ-related effects. Thus, the compounds are individually known in the art for addressing the related Aβ/Alzheimer’s disease pathology. It would have been obvious to combine these known agents for the known purpose of reducing Aβ, with a reasonable expectation that the resulting composition would retain the known Aβ-related activity of the individual components. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980); see also MPEP § 2144.06.
Applicant argues that the experimental data demonstrate an unexpected synergistic effect because the combination of orientin, vitexin, and bergenin reduces Aβ to a greater extent than the individual compounds. Applicant relies on the Declaration and Exhibits A – C, including testing of orientin at 20 μM, vitexin at 20 μM, and bergenin at 50 μM, individually, and in combination. The evidence has been considered but is not sufficient to establish the asserted unexpected synergistic effect. The examiner acknowledges that the submitted data show that the three component composition reduce Aβ fibrillization to a greater extent than each component individually. For example, in Exhibit B, the reported normalized Aβ fibrillization values for orientin, vitexin, and bergenin individually are approximately 61.5%, 69.7%, and 75.8%, respectively, whereas the three component combination produces a value of approximately 54.5%, with a lower value representing greater reduction of Aβ fibrillization. Thus, the data demonstrate an improvement for the combination relative to the individual components and show that the combination is more effective than each component individually. However, the data do not establish that the improvement is achieved by the combination is unexpected. Because the prior art already teaches orientin, vitexin, and bergenin as compounds having Aβ-related activity, additive effect upon combining such active agents would reasonably have been expected. Applicant has not sufficiently explained why the magnitude of the observed improvement would have been unexpected to one of ordinary skill in the art. Accordingly, the evidence is insufficient to establish that the observed improvement constitutes an unexpected synergistic effect. The burden is on Applicant to establish that the relied-upon results are unexpected and significant. Further, Applicant has the burden of explaining the data in any Declaration proffered as evidence of nonobviousness. See MPEP § 716.02(b).
Applicant also argues that the Declaration cures the deficiencies previously identified by providing direct comparisons between the claimed three-component composition and the individual components. The examiner acknowledges that the Declaration with Exhibits A – C address the previously identified deficiency by providing testing of the individual components and the three component composition at corresponding concentrations. Accordingly, the examiner has considered these comparisons in evaluating Applicant’s assertion of unexpected results. Nevertheless, the comparative data do not establish that the claimed combination exhibits an unexpected synergistic effect. The data establish the actual performance of the individual compounds and the combination, but Applicant has not established what level of Aβ reduction would have been expected from combining the three known Aβ-active compounds or demonstrated that the observed combination effect materially exceeds that expected result. Thus, although the Declaration provides relevant comparative evidence and demonstrates improved activity of the combination, the evidence does not sufficiently establish that the degree of improvement is unexpected.
With respect to newly presented claim 40, Applicant argues that the specific combination of about 20 μM orientin, about 20 μM vitexin, and about 50 μM bergenin is not taught or suggested by the cited references. However, the argument is not persuasive. The combination of references establishes the relevant biological activities of orientin, vitexin, and bergenin and provides known working concentrations for the respective compounds. Barai et al. teach bergenin at 50 μM, Lam et al. teach orientin at concentration surrounding the claimed 20 μM concentration, and Malar et al. teach biologically effective vitexin concentrations including concentrations on either side of the claimed 20 μM concentration. Thus, selection of the claimed concentrations from the known working concentrations would have involved routine optimization of concentration to obtain an effective Aβ-reducing composition, absent persuasive evidence that the particular concentrations produce a result that would have been unexpected to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/H.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1693