DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Louis J. Lovisek US 4,741,654.
As per claim 1 Lovisek disclose;
An apparatus (Fig. 7 and 8 item 10C screw) comprising: a shaft having (Fig. 8 threaded portion) a cylindrical shape (Fig. 7 and 8), the shaft comprising threads (Fig. 8) located on an outer surface of the shaft along at least a portion of a length of the shaft (Fig. 8); and a diaphragm spring (formed by item 26c) located at an end of the shaft, the diaphragm spring coaxially aligned with the shaft (Fig. 7 and 8).
As per claim 2 Lovisek disclose;
wherein the diaphragm spring comprises a plurality of spokes (item 26c) extending radially outward from a central axis of the diaphragm spring (Fig. 7).
As per claim 5 Lovisek disclose;
wherein the diaphragm spring is attached to the end of the shaft. (Fig. 7 and 8)
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carl G. Olson US 2,228,217.
As per claim 17 Olson disclose;
An apparatus comprising: a shaft having a cylindrical shape (Fig. 8 shaft of item 26 bolt), the shaft comprising threads located on an outer surface of the shaft (Fig. 8) along at least a portion of a length of the shaft (Fig. 8); and a wave spring (item 10 fig. 8 shows wave see col. 4 line 22-29) located at an end of the shaft (fig. 8 ), the wave spring coaxially aligned with the shaft.(Fig. 8)
As per claim 18 Olson disclose;
wherein the wave spring is attached to the end of the shaft. (Fig. 8)
Claim(s) 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Brett W. Degner (Degner) US 8964383 B2..
As per claim 24 and 25 Degner disclose;
An apparatus comprising: a printed circuit board (Fig. 1 for items 202); one or more processor units attached to the printed circuit board (Fig. 1 and 2); a heat transfer device (Fig. 1 and 2 item 106); and a fastening means (204) to attach the heat transfer device to the printed circuit board (Fig. 1 and 2).
wherein the heat transfer device is a vapor chamber or a heat pipe (Fig. 2 item 106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovisek in view of Carl G. Olson US 2'228,217.
As per claim 3 Lovisek do not teach,
well known in the art shape of diaphragm spring, the diaphragm spring further comprises an outer portion, individual of the spokes attached to the outer portion and physically separated from an adjacent spoke by a gap extending along a length of the individual spoke.
However in analogues art Olson disclose, the diaphragm spring further comprises an outer portion (Fig. 12 item 10), individual of the spokes (16) attached to the outer portion (10) and physically separated from an adjacent spoke by a gap (Fig. 12 shows gap between items 16) extending along a length of the individual spoke (Fig. 12).
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Olson to the device of Lovisek would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for to secure tabs at outer edge.
As per claim 4 Lovisek do not teach,
wherein the gap comprises a cutout at an end of the gap proximal to the outer portion, a width of the cutout greater than a width of the gap at a point along the gap that does not include the cutout.
However in analogues art Olson disclose, wherein the gap comprises a cutout (See fig. 11 reproduced below) at an end of the gap proximal to the outer portion, (Fig. 11)
a width of the cutout greater than a width of the gap at a point along the gap that does not include the cutout.(Fig. 11 reproduced above)
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Olson to the device of Lovisek would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for to secure tabs at outer edge.
Claim(s) 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovisek in view of Frederic Kramer US 7,198,445 B2
As per claim 6 Lovisek do not teach,
wherein the diaphragm spring is physically separate from the shaft, a diameter of the shaft at the end of the shaft is greater than a diameter of the shaft along the remainder of the shaft, the diaphragm spring comprising an opening at its center, the opening having an opening diameter larger than the diameter of the shaft along the remainder of the shaft and smaller than the diameter at the end of the shaft, the diaphragm spring to slide over the remainder of the shaft and abut against the end of the shaft.
However in analogues art Kramer disclose, wherein the diaphragm spring (fig. 4 item 23) is physically separate from the shaft (37), a diameter of the shaft at the end of the shaft (at item 42) is greater than a diameter of the shaft along the remainder of the shaft (item 37), the diaphragm spring comprising an opening at its center (Fig. 4), the opening having an opening diameter larger than the diameter of the shaft along the remainder of the shaft and smaller than the diameter at the end of the shaft (Fig. 4), the diaphragm spring to slide over the remainder of the shaft and abut against the end of the shaft (Fig. 4).
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Olson to the device of Lovisek would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for flexibility of using standard bolts and diaphragms to save cost.
Claim(s) 7, 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovisek in view of YI-SHIH HSIEH; US 20090168365 A1.
As per claims 7 and 8 Lovisek disclose
a fastener comprising the shaft and the diaphragm spring, but do not teach, use of fastener, e.g.
a heat transfer device, the heat transfer device comprising a surface, a hole, and a recess in the surface in a vicinity of the hole, the end of the shaft not extending past the surface of the heat transfer device when the fastener is inserted into the hole and the diaphragm spring is compressed.
a fastener comprising the shaft and the diaphragm spring; and a heat transfer device, the heat transfer device comprising a surface, a hole, and a recess in the surface in a vicinity of the hole, a depth of the recess greater than a combined height of the diaphragm spring and a portion of the shaft that extends beyond the diaphragm spring when the fastener is inserted into the hole and the diaphragm spring is compressed
However in analogues art HSIEH, disclose, well-known use of a heat transfer device (fig.1 and 2 item 21), the heat transfer device comprising a surface (Fig. 1 top surface of base 211 of 21 ), a hole (213), and a recess in the surface in a vicinity of the hole (fig. 2 formed by 216 and 218), the end of the shaft not extending past the surface of the heat transfer device when the fastener is inserted into the hole and the diaphragm spring is compressed. (Fig. 3 and para 0022 when item 27 is fully screwed in top end of item 27 do not extend past surface 211 or top of heat sink)
a heat transfer device (fig.1 and 2 item 21), the heat transfer device comprising a surface (Fig. 1 top surface of base 211 of 21 ), a hole (213), and a recess in the surface in a vicinity of the hole (fig. 2 formed by 216 and 218), a depth of the recess (fig. 2 formed by 216 and 218) greater than a combined height of the diaphragm spring and a portion of the shaft that extends beyond the diaphragm spring when the fastener is inserted into the hole and the diaphragm spring is compressed. (Fig. 3 and para 0022 when item 27 is fully screwed in top end of item 27 do not extend past surface 211 or top of heat sink)
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by HSIEH to the device of Lovisek would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for use fastener in heat sink assembly.
As per claim 16 Lovisek teach a fastener comprising the
shaft but do not teach, well-known in the art modification of heat transfer device,
a heat transfer device; one or more processor units; a printed circuit board; and a nut, wherein the nut is located on a surface of the heat transfer device, the heat transfer device is attached to the printed circuit board via the fastener being attached to the nut, the heat transfer device located on the one or more processor units when the fastener is fastened to the nut.
However in analogues art HSIEH disclose, a heat transfer device (fig. 2); one or more processor units (item 21); a printed circuit board (item 1); and a nut, (fig. 4 item 30) wherein the nut is located on a surface of the heat transfer device (31), the heat transfer device is attached to the printed circuit board (1) via the fastener (item 5) being attached to the nut (30), the heat transfer device (31) located on the one or more processor units (21) when the fastener is fastened to the nut (30).
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by HSIEH to the device of Lovisek and HSIEH would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for rearranging nut as required.
Claim(s) 9, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovisek in view of HSIEH and further in view of Hua-Feng Chen (Chen) US 10764990 B1
As per claim 9 combination of Lovisek and HSIEH teach a fastener but do not teach,
well-known in the art modification of heat transfer device,
wherein the surface of the heat transfer device is a top surface, the heat transfer device further comprising a bottom surface opposite the top surface, the bottom surface comprising a step located in the vicinity of the hole, the step extending outwards from the bottom surface of the heat transfer device.
However in analogues art Chen teaches, well-known in the art
modification of heat transfer device,
wherein the surface of the heat transfer device (fig. 2 and 3 item 31) is a top surface, the heat transfer device further comprising a bottom surface opposite the top surface (Fig. 3 item 31), the bottom surface comprising a step (Fig. 4 stepped portion 301 at hole 30) located in the vicinity of the hole (30), the step extending outwards from the bottom surface of the heat transfer device (Fig. 4).
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Chen to the device of Lovisek and HSIEH would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for providing stop part based on requirements of assembly and dimensions.
As per claim 10 combination of Lovisek and HSIEH teach a fastener comprising the
shaft but do not teach, well-known in the art modification of heat transfer device,
a heat transfer device, the heat transfer device comprising a surface and a nut located on the surface, the nut to receive the threads of the shaft of the fastener.
However in analogues art Chen teaches a heat transfer device, the heat transfer device comprising a surface (fig. 3 top surface) and a nut (item 40) located on the surface, the nut to receive the threads of the shaft of the fastener (item 5).
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Chen to the device of Lovisek and HSIEH would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for rearranging nut as required.
Claim(s) 11, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovisek in view of in view of Hsing-Sheng Liang (Liang) US 7064957 B1.
As per claim 11 combination of Lovisek teach a fastener comprising the
shaft but do not teach, well-known in the art modification of heat transfer device,
a heat transfer device; one or more processor units; a printed circuit board; and a nut, wherein the nut is located on a surface of the printed circuit board, the heat transfer device is attached to the printed circuit board via the fastener being fastened to the nut, the heat transfer device located on the one or more processor units when the fastener is fastened to the nut.
However in analogues art Liang disclose, a heat transfer device (Fig. 4 item 38); one or more processor units (item 40); a printed circuit board (item 36); and a nut (item 42), wherein the nut (item 42 standoff equivalent to nut to receive threaded fastener 52) is located on a surface (facing item 34) of the printed circuit board (36), the heat transfer device (item 38) is attached to the printed circuit board (36) via the fastener (item 52) being fastened to the nut (42 ), the heat transfer device located on the one or more processor units (40 electronic component includes processor e.g. “ball grid array (BGA) devices” Col. 1 line 12) when the fastener is fastened to the nut (item 42).
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Liang to the device of Lovisek would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for rearranging nut as required.
As per claims 12 and 13 combination of Lovisek and Liang further teach;
wherein the fastener is a first fastener, the shaft is a first shaft, the diaphragm spring is a first diaphragm spring, and the nut is a first nut, (As explained in rejection of claim 11) the apparatus further comprising: two second fasteners (Liang Col. 12 lines 54-62), individual of the second fasteners comprising: a second shaft having a cylindrical shape, the second shaft comprising threads located on an outer surface of the second shaft along at least a portion of a length of the second shaft; and a second diaphragm spring located at an end of the second shaft, the diaphragm spring coaxially aligned with the second shaft; and two second nuts located on the surface of the printed circuit board, the heat transfer device further attached to the printed circuit board via individual of the second fasteners being attached to one of the second nuts. (Col. 12 lines 54-62)
the fastener is a first fastener, the shaft is a first shaft, the diaphragm spring is a first diaphragm spring, and the nut is a first nut, (As explained in rejection of claim 11) the apparatus further comprising: three second fasteners, (Liang Col. 12 lines 54-62) individual of the second fasteners comprising: a second shaft having a cylindrical shape, the second shaft comprising threads located on an outer surface of the second shaft along at least a portion of a length of the second shaft; and a second diaphragm spring located at an end of the second shaft, the diaphragm spring coaxially aligned with the second shaft; and three second nuts located on the surface of the printed circuit board, the heat transfer device further attached to the printed circuit board via individual of the second fasteners being attached to one of the second nuts. (Col. 12 lines 54-62)
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Liang to the device of Lovisek would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would provide distribution of stress substantially evenly over the surface of circuit board. (Col. 12 item lines 58-62)
Claim(s) 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovisek in view of in view of Liang and further in view of Brett W. Degner (Degner) US 8964383 B2.
As per claims 14 combination of Lovisek and Liang further teach;
wherein the one or more processor units are at least two processor units, the printed circuit board comprising a first portion on which the at least two processor units are located, (Liang as per claim 11) But do not teach
the apparatus further comprising: a first fan located in a first cutout of the printed circuit board adjacent to a first edge of the first portion of the printed circuit board; and a second fan located adjacent to a second edge of the first portion of the printed circuit board, the second edge of the printed circuit board located opposite the first edge of the printed circuit board, a width of the first portion of the printed circuit board from the first edge to the second edge being less than about 100 millimeters.
However in analogues art Degner disclose, the apparatus further comprising: a first fan (fig. 1 item 102) located in a first cutout of the printed circuit board adjacent to a first edge of the first portion of the printed circuit board (Fig. 1); and a second fan (104) located adjacent to a second edge of the first portion of the printed circuit board, the second edge of the printed circuit board located opposite the first edge of the printed circuit board (Fig. 1),
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Degner to the device of Lovisek and Liang would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would improve cooling capacity, to increase processing power of the device by use of cooling fans and a heat pipe..
Combinations of Lovisek, Liang and Degner, disclose printed circuit board and rest of the components but do not teach, a width of the first portion of the printed circuit board from the first edge to the second edge being less than about 100 millimeters.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to keep width of the printed circuit board since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of circuit board.. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As per claim 15 combination of Lovisek and Liang disclose heat sink (Liang),
But do not teach well-known alternative,
wherein the heat transfer device is a vapor chamber or a heat pipe.
However in analogues art Degner disclose a heat pipe (Fig. 2 item 108)
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Degner to the device of Lovisek and Liang would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would improve cooling capacity, to increase processing power of the device.
Claim(s) 19-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson in view of HSIEH.
As per claim 19 Olsen disclose,
wherein the wave spring is physically separate from the shaft (Fig. 8), a diameter of the shaft at the end of the shaft is greater than a diameter of the shaft along the remainder of the shaft (At the head portion), the wave spring comprising an opening at its center (Fig. 8), the opening having an opening diameter larger than the diameter of the shaft along the remainder of the shaft (Fig. 8)
But do not teach to have a diameter, smaller than the diameter at the end of the shaft, the wave spring to slide over the remainder of the shaft and abut against the end of the shaft.
However in analogues art HSIEH disclose, a diameter of wave spring, smaller than the diameter at the end of the shaft (Fig. 3 end of shaft at 273), the wave spring to slide over the remainder of the shaft and abut against the end of the shaft. (Fig. 3)
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by HSIEH to the device of Olsen would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would improve assembly of device as required.
As per claim 20 and 21 Olsen disclose,
a fastener comprising the shaft and the wave spring;
But do not teach a heat transfer device, the heat transfer device comprising a surface, a hole, and a recess in the surface in a vicinity of the hole, the end of the shaft not extending past the surface of the heat transfer device when the fastener is inserted into the hole and the wave spring is compressed.
a heat transfer device, the heat transfer device comprising a surface, a hole, and a recess in the surface in a vicinity of the hole, a depth of the recess greater than a combined height of the wave spring and a portion of the shaft that extends beyond the wave spring when the fastener is inserted into the hole and the wave spring is compressed.
However in analogues art HSIEH disclose, the heat transfer device comprising a surface, a hole, and a recess in the surface in a vicinity of the hole, (Fig. 2 and 3) the end of the shaft not extending past the surface of the heat transfer device when the fastener is inserted into the hole and the wave spring is compressed. (Fig. 3 and para 0022 when item 27 is fully screwed in top end of item 27 do not extend past surface 211 or top of heat sink)
a heat transfer device (fig.1 and 2 item 21), the heat transfer device comprising a surface (Fig. 1 top surface of base 211 of 21 ), a hole (213), and a recess in the surface in a vicinity of the hole (fig. 2 formed by 216 and 218), a depth of the recess (fig. 2 formed by 216 and 218) greater than a combined height of the wave spring and a portion of the shaft that extends beyond the wave spring when the fastener is inserted into the hole and the wave spring is compressed. (Fig. 3 and para 0022 when item 27 is fully screwed in top end of item 27 do not extend past surface 211 or top of heat sink)
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by HSIEH to the device of Olsen would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for use fastener in heat sink assembly.
As per claim 23 combination of Olsen and HSIEH teach a fastener comprising the
shaft and wave spring but do not teach, well-known in the art modification of heat transfer device,
a heat transfer device; one or more processor units; a printed circuit board; and a nut, wherein the nut is located on a surface of the heat transfer device, the heat transfer device is attached to the printed circuit board via the fastener being attached to the nut, the heat transfer device located on the one or more processor units when the fastener is fastened to the nut.
However in analogues art HSIEH disclose, a heat transfer device (fig. 2); one or more processor units (item 21); a printed circuit board (item 1); and a nut, (fig. 4 item 30) wherein the nut is located on a surface of the heat transfer device (31), the heat transfer device is attached to the printed circuit board (1) via the fastener (item 5) being attached to the nut (30), the heat transfer device (31) located on the one or more processor units (21) when the fastener is fastened to the nut (30).
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by HSIEH to the device of Olsen HSIEH would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for rearranging nut as required.
Claim(s) 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsen in view of in view of Hsing-Sheng Liang (Liang) US 7064957 B1.
As per claim 22 Olsen disclose,
a fastener comprising the shaft and the wave spring; But do not teach,
a heat transfer device; one or more processor units; a printed circuit board; and a nut, wherein the nut is located on a surface of the printed circuit board, the heat transfer device is attached to the printed circuit board via the fastener being fastened to the nut, the heat transfer device located on the one or more processor units when the fastener is fastened to the nut.
However in analogues art Liang disclose, a heat transfer device (Fig. 4 item 38); one or more processor units (item 40); a printed circuit board (item 36); and a nut (item 42), wherein the nut (item 42 standoff equivalent to nut to receive threaded fastener 52) is located on a surface (facing item 34) of the printed circuit board (36), the heat transfer device (item 38) is attached to the printed circuit board (36) via the fastener (item 52) being fastened to the nut (42 ), the heat transfer device located on the one or more processor units (40 electronic component includes processor e.g. “ball grid array (BGA) devices” Col. 1 line 12) when the fastener is fastened to the nut (item 42).
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Liang to the device of Lovisek would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for rearranging nut as required.
Conclusion
/MUKUNDBHAI G PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835