Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Applicant argues that Panasonic fails to describe “modifying one or more scheduled downlink communications based on the second configuration indicating the change from the at least one SBFD symbol/slot format to the different SBFD symbol/slot format”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Panasonic discloses an SBFD aware UE is configured with a new semi-static symbol/slot format that overwrites previously defined legacy downlink symbols with uplink or flexible symbols. Be redefining the direction of those symbols, the UE modifies previously scheduled downlink communications because the originally scheduled DL transmissions can no longer occur in symbols that are reconfigured as UL or flexible. Thus, the new configuration causes the UE to modify its scheduled downlink operation based on a change from one symbol/slot format to a different symbol/slot format in Page 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6,8-13,15-28,30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Panasonic (“Discussion on subband non-overlapping full duplex”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #111; R1-2211876; November 14th – 18th, 2022; Pages 1-9).
Regarding claim 1, Panasonic discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a network unit, a first configuration indicating time location and frequency location for a network side subband full duplex (SBFD) mode of operation, wherein the time location indicates at least one SBFD symbol or slot (SBFD symbol/slot) format (Page 3: 2.1.4 Subband time location indication: For SBFD operation, gNB needs to be able to configure different transmission directions to different UEs on the same symbol or slot. By Rel-15/16/17 specifications, cell common transmission direction is configured by SIB and different direction to different UEs can be realized by UE-dedicated RRC slot format configuration or a group common PDCCH (DCI 2_0)) and the frequency location indicates a plurality of downlink and uplink subbands or a plurality of uplink subbands and guard bands (Page 3: 2.1.4 Subband time location indication: Proposal 6: Frequency location of subbands types other than UL subband (i.e., DL subband, guard band if supported) is also explicitly indicated);
and receiving, from the network unit, a second configuration indicating a change from the at least one SBFD symbol/slot format to a different SBFD symbol/slot format; (Page 5: 2.2.1 Configured UL transmission: if the SBFD time pattern changes, reconfiguration of configured UL transmission is needed for new alignment, which increases the signaling overhead. Note that this issue does not happen when SBFD operation is carried out in Flexible symbol/slot as configured UL transmission is disabled in Flexible symbol/slots; Page 4: Proposal 8: Consider to introduce a new semi-static slot format for Rel-18 (and beyond) where the legacy semi-static DL symbol/slot can be re-configured as UL or Flexible symbol/slot.)
and modifying one or more scheduled downlink communications based on the second configuration indicating the change from the at least one SBFD symbol/slot format to the different SBFD symbol/slot format. (Page 4: In order not to change the legacy cell-common semi-static slot format, SBFD aware UE can be configured with a new semi-static symbol/slot format where the legacy DL symbol/slot can be overwritten to a UL or Flexible symbol/slot. With such approach, the SBFD operation between legacy UE and SBFD aware UE becomes possible.)
Regarding claims 2, 24, Panasonic discloses:
wherein the at least one SBFD symbol/slot is configured in a legacy downlink symbol/slot or flexible symbol/slot. (Page 1: 2.1.1 Transparent and non-transparent SBFD operation: Regarding the relationship between SBFD operation and symbol type, the following operations were discussed.
SBFD operation in legacy DL symbols
SBFD operation in legacy flexible symbols
SBFD operation in legacy UL symbols (2nd priority as per RAN guidance))
Regarding claims 3,25, Panasonic discloses:
wherein the at least one SBFD symbol/slot is configured on a legacy downlink symbol/slot or a legacy flexible symbol/slot (Page 1: 2.1.1 Transparent and non-transparent SBFD operation: Regarding the relationship between SBFD operation and symbol type, the following operations were discussed.
SBFD operation in legacy DL symbols
SBFD operation in legacy flexible symbols
SBFD operation in legacy UL symbols (2nd priority as per RAN guidance))
and is treated as a fixed SBFD configuration with a plurality of downlink and uplink subbands. (Page 1: 2.1.1 Transparent and non-transparent SBFD operation: Both time and frequency locations of subbands for SBFD operation are known to SBFD aware UEs.)
Regarding claims 4, 26, Panasonic discloses:
further comprising applying the first configuration to one or more component carriers. (Page 2: 2.1.3 Subband frequency location indication: DL/UL subband includes any intra or inter carrier guard band)
Regarding claims 5, 27, Panasonic discloses:
wherein the plurality of downlink and uplink subbands or the plurality of uplink subbands and guard bands are within a time-division duplex (TDD) carrier. (Page 4: 2.1.4 Subband time location indication: The new Rel-18 semi-static slot format can be configured in two ways: in a cell-common manner using a new parameter such as tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon-r18; or in a UE-dedicated manner reusing the existing parameter tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated.)
Regarding claims 6,28, Panasonic discloses:
further comprising: applying the second configuration after a gap time period following the receiving the second configuration. (Page 6-7: 2.2.3 Timing alignment: NTA,offset can be used for switching gap from UL symbol to DL symbol at gNB. For option 1, zero value of NTA,offset is applied for both SBFD UL symbols and normal UL symbols. For option 2, zero value of NTA,offset is applied for SBFD UL symbols and non-zero value of NTA,offset is applied for normal UL symbols. For option 3, non-zero value of NTA,offset is commonly applied for both SBFD UL symbols and normal UL symbols.)
Regarding claims 8, 13, 30, Panasonic discloses:
wherein the modifying comprises cancelling one or more scheduled downlink communications except physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) communications based, at least in part, on the second configuration indicating the change to a legacy downlink symbol/slot. (Page 4: 2.1.4 Subband time location indication: As a result, SBFD operation at cell level is made possible, by transmitting DL and receiving UL at the same time over “D->U” symbols. Instead of “D->U” using tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon-r18, “D->F” is also possible… UE may be scheduled with DL reception within the UL subband in the SBFD symbol (e.g., inherently PDCCH)
Regarding claim 9, Panasonic discloses:
further comprising: receiving, from the network unit, a third configuration comprising a parameter set associated with downlink communication based, at least in part, on the second configuration indicating the change to a legacy downlink symbol/slot. (Page 4: 2.1.4 Subband time location indication: The following figure shows one example of using cell-common signalling, where both parameters, tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon and tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon-r18, are broadcast by SIB, configuring slot formats for a periodicity of 5 slots. Rel-15/16/17 UEs recognize tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, and obtain the slot format as DDDDU. On the other hand, SBFD aware UEs may recognize both parameters, and obtain a different slot format from tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon-r18 as DUUUU. As a result, SBFD operation at cell level is made possible, by transmitting DL and receiving UL at the same time over “D->U” symbols. Instead of “D->U” using tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon-r18, “D->F” is also possible.)
Regarding claim 10, Panasonic discloses:
further comprising: receiving, from the network unit, a third configuration comprising a parameter set associated with uplink communication based, at least in part, on the second configuration indicating the change to a legacy uplink symbol/slot. (Page 4: 2.1.4 Subband time location indication: The following figure shows one example of using cell-common signalling, where both parameters, tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon and tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon-r18, are broadcast by SIB, configuring slot formats for a periodicity of 5 slots. Rel-15/16/17 UEs recognize tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, and obtain the slot format as DDDDU. On the other hand, SBFD aware UEs may recognize both parameters, and obtain a different slot format from tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon-r18 as DUUUU. As a result, SBFD operation at cell level is made possible, by transmitting DL and receiving UL at the same time over “D->U” symbols. Instead of “D->U” using tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon-r18, “D->F” is also possible.)
Regarding claim 11, Panasonic discloses:
wherein the modifying comprises: cancelling one or more scheduled downlink communications based, at least in part, on the second configuration indicating the change to a legacy flexible symbol/slot; (Page 5-6: 2.2.1 Configured UL transmission: the configured UL transmission can be associated with an applicable symbol type (e.g. SBFD symbol vs. normal UL symbol), such that UE will skip the UL transmission instance if it is not overlapping with the applicable symbol type.)
Regarding claim 15, Panasonic discloses:
further comprising: receiving, from the network unit, a third configuration comprising a parameter set associated with downlink communication based, at least in part, on the second configuration indicating the change to a legacy flexible symbol/slot. (Page 4: The new Rel-18 semi-static slot format can be configured in two ways: in a cell-common manner using a new parameter such as tdd-UL-DL ConfigurationCommon-r18; or in a UE-dedicated manner reusing the existing parameter tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated. Note that for the former case, although it is a cell common signaling, it would not be visible to Rel-15/16/17 UEs (meaning no impact to legacy UE configuration) because it is a newly introduced parameter in SIB.)
Regarding claim 15, Panasonic discloses:
wherein the change is from the SBFD symbol/slot to at least one of an initial radio resource control (RRC) configured symbol/slot or a symbol/slot format associated with a slot format indicator (SFI). (Page 3: 2.1.4 Subband time location indication: For SBFD operation, gNB needs to be able to configure different transmission directions to different UEs on the same symbol or slot. By Rel-15/16/17 specifications, cell common transmission direction is configured by SIB and different direction to different UEs can be realized by UE-dedicated RRC slot format configuration or a group common PDCCH (DCI 2_0). The following Figure 2 illustrates one example of using UE-dedicated RRC to configure different transmission directions. Note that the existing signalling schemes can only overwrite semi-static Flexible symbol/slot of SIB.)
Regarding claim 16, Panasonic discloses:
wherein the initial RRC configured symbol/slot is a RRC configured common downlink symbol/slot or a RRC configured dedicated downlink symbol/slot. (For SBFD operation, gNB needs to be able to configure different transmission directions to different UEs on the same symbol or slot. By Rel-15/16/17 specifications, cell common transmission direction is configured by SIB and different direction to different UEs can be realized by UE-dedicated RRC slot format configuration or a group common PDCCH (DCI 2_0). The following Figure 2 illustrates one example of using UE-dedicated RRC to configure different transmission directions. Note that the existing signalling schemes can only overwrite semi-static Flexible symbol/slot of SIB.)
Regarding claim 17, Panasonic discloses:
wherein the initial RRC configured symbol/slot is a RRC configured flexible symbol/slot. (For SBFD operation, gNB needs to be able to configure different transmission directions to different UEs on the same symbol or slot. By Rel-15/16/17 specifications, cell common transmission direction is configured by SIB and different direction to different UEs can be realized by UE-dedicated RRC slot format configuration or a group common PDCCH (DCI 2_0). The following Figure 2 illustrates one example of using UE-dedicated RRC to configure different transmission directions. Note that the existing signalling schemes can only overwrite semi-static Flexible symbol/slot of SIB.)
Regarding claim 18, Panasonic discloses:
wherein the RRC configured symbol/slot is a RRC configured common uplink symbol/slot or a RRC configured dedicated uplink symbol/slot. (Page 3: 2.1.4 Subband time location indication: The following Figure 2 illustrates one example of using UE-dedicated RRC to configure different transmission directions. Note that the existing signalling schemes can only overwrite semi-static Flexible symbol/slot of SIB.)
Regarding claim 19, Panasonic discloses:
wherein the change is from at least one of an initial radio resource control (RRC) configured downlink symbol/slot or a symbol/slot format associated with a slot format indicator (SFI) to an RRC configured uplink symbol/slot. ((Page 4: 2.1.4 Subband time location indication: The following figure shows one example of using cell-common signalling, where both parameters, tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon and tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon-r18, are broadcast by SIB, configuring slot formats for a periodicity of 5 slots. Rel-15/16/17 UEs recognize tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, and obtain the slot format as DDDDU. On the other hand, SBFD aware UEs may recognize both parameters, and obtain a different slot format from tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon-r18 as DUUUU. As a result, SBFD operation at cell level is made possible, by transmitting DL and receiving UL at the same time over “D->U” symbols. Instead of “D->U” using tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon-r18, “D->F” is also possible. Then the symbol used for SBFD operation for SBFD aware UEs is F symbol and the transmission direction can be determined dynamic manner based on SFI or dedicated DCI, which would be one simple way to realize the Option 2 (i.e. The SBFD aware UE may be scheduled with DL reception within the UL subband in the SBFD symbol) mentioned in Section 2.1.2.)
Regarding claim 20, Panasonic discloses:
wherein the change is from at least one of an initial radio resource control (RRC) configured uplink symbol/slot or a symbol/slot format associated with a slot format indicator (SFI) to an RRC configured downlink symbol/slot. ((Page 4: 2.1.4 Subband time location indication: The following figure shows one example of using cell-common signalling, where both parameters, tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon and tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon-r18, are broadcast by SIB, configuring slot formats for a periodicity of 5 slots. Rel-15/16/17 UEs recognize tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, and obtain the slot format as DDDDU. On the other hand, SBFD aware UEs may recognize both parameters, and obtain a different slot format from tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon-r18 as DUUUU. As a result, SBFD operation at cell level is made possible, by transmitting DL and receiving UL at the same time over “D->U” symbols. Instead of “D->U” using tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon-r18, “D->F” is also possible. Then the symbol used for SBFD operation for SBFD aware UEs is F symbol and the transmission direction can be determined dynamic manner based on SFI or dedicated DCI, which would be one simple way to realize the Option 2 (i.e. The SBFD aware UE may be scheduled with DL reception within the UL subband in the SBFD symbol) mentioned in Section 2.1.2.)
Regarding claim 21, Panasonic discloses:
wherein the second configuration indicates a change in at least one of a size of the downlink subbands, a size of the uplink subbands, or a size of the guard bands. (Page 3: 2.1.3 Subband frequency location indication: For semi-static configuration of subband frequency locations, to reuse RB set configuration can be considered. For RB set, frequency domain resources for each subband can be semi-statically configured by UE-specific RRC signalling (i.e., IntraCellGuardBandsPerSCS). Guard bands between subbands can also be configured. Subbands and guard bands consist of 1 RB or a set of consecutive RBs. Thus, the functionality and the configuration of RB set can be basically reused except that the configuration is sent over UE-specific signalling.)
Regarding claim 22, Panasonic discloses:
further comprising: monitoring for the second configuration in group-common downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control control (MAC-CE) communication; not detecting the second configuration in the group-common DCI or the MAC-CE communication; (Page 3: 2.1.4 Subband time location indication: For SBFD operation, gNB needs to be able to configure different transmission directions to different UEs on the same symbol or slot. By Rel-15/16/17 specifications, cell common transmission direction is configured by SIB and different direction to different UEs can be realized by UE-dedicated RRC slot format configuration or a group common PDCCH (DCI 2_0). The following Figure 2 illustrates one example of using UE-dedicated RRC to configure different transmission directions. Note that the existing signalling schemes can only overwrite semi-static Flexible symbol/slot of SIB.)
reserving resources associated with one or more flexible SBFD symbols/slots; (Page 4: 2.1.4 Subband time location indication: Observation 1: It is not sufficient to operate SBFD only over legacy semi-static Flexible symbol/slot. Method to utilize legacy semi-static DL symbol/slot should be studied.)
receiving at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) communication or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); wherein the modifying comprises: cancelling one or more scheduled downlink communications (Page 4: In order not to change the legacy cell-common semi-static slot format, SBFD aware UE can be configured with a new semi-static symbol/slot format where the legacy DL symbol/slot can be overwritten to a UL or Flexible symbol/slot. With such approach, the SBFD operation between legacy UE and SBFD aware UE becomes possible.); and cancelling one or more scheduled uplink communications. (Page 4: 2.1.4 Subband time location indication: The new Rel-18 semi-static slot format can be configured in two ways: in a cell-common manner using a new parameter such as tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon-r18; or in a UE-dedicated manner reusing the existing parameter tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated. Note that for the former case, although it is a cell common signaling, it would not be visible to Rel-15/16/17 UEs (meaning no impact to legacy UE configuration) because it is a newly introduced parameter in SIB. For the latter case, on the other hand, gNB has flexibility to select which UE to configure.)
Regarding claim 23 depending on claim 1, Panasonic discloses:
A user equipment (UE) comprising: a memory; a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver (Note: processor, memory, and transceiver are inherently included in the UE)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NHU PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479